The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Tidewaters River Lodge | TravelGround
+31

Tidewaters River Lodge

B&B

Review Summary

4.4 out of 5from 35 reviews for Tidewaters River Lodge
Cleanliness
4.4/5
Service
4.4/5
Location
4.5/5
Safety
4.6/5
Value for money
4.1/5
Catharina K - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Catharina K
Family with young children

Nie wat ons verwag het nie.

Die kamer wat ons bespreek het, is nie die kamer wat ons gekry het nie. Ontvangs was ook nie bewus van ons bespreking en die feit dat ons alreeds betaal het nie en moes heelwat rond bel om dit te bevestig. Die kamer wat ons wel gekry het, het egter gewerk. Die kamer is selfsorg, maar het nie genoeg messegoed vir die hoeveelheid mense in die kamer nie en ons moes vir ekstras gaan vra. Die kamer was ook baie oppervlakkig skoongemaak wat onsmaaklik was. Die kamer beskik ook nie oor genoegsame kragpunte vir die toebehore nie en een moet byvoorbeeld uitgetrek word om 'n ander in te prop. Ek beveel 'n multiplug aan. Die houtvloere bo ons het veroorsaak dat die gaste bo ons 'n verskriklike stoornis was. Prysgewys, met al die in ag geneem, het ons al op heelwat plekke gebly wat heelwat goedkoper was en beter was. Op 'n positiewe noot, die personeel is vriendelik en die ontbyt lekker. Ons sal ongelukkig nie terug kom nie.

Tidewaters River Lodge's response

Good day
All bookings are done online and we cant change rooms without the system notified.
The room that was booked is our budget room and the cheapest room.
Some people confuse our luxury with budget accommodation.

Tidewaters River Lodge
Schalk D - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Schalk D
With spouse/partner

Baie lekker ervaring.

Verblyf was baie lekker met goeie diens en 'n heerlike ontbyt en gasvryheid.

Eugene N - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Eugene N
With spouse/partner

Vriendelike personnel en luukse kamers.

Mens word vriendelike verwelkom met aankoms en heerlik ontbyt word bedien. Kamer is goed toegerus en als wat jy nodig het is daar.

Hendrik W - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Hendrik W
With spouse/partner

Comfortable, clean and good service.

The location is ideal if you travel from the Southern Cape to Natal (or the other way around) with good service, clean and different accommodation options. Staff is friendly and helpful. Good value for money.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Gerieflik, skoon en goeie diens.

Die ligging is ideaal as mens van Suid Kaap na Natal reis (of andersom) met goeie diens, skoon em verskeie opsies van verblyf. Staf vriendelik en behulpsaam. Goeie waarde vir geld.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Corrie D - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Corrie D
On business

Such calming experience.

The environment just forces you to slow down and relax. This ones on my list for future stays.

Ronel G - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ronel G
On business

Sprokies mooi verblyf.

Vriendelike, behulpsame personeel, ongelooflike mooi ligging naby die riviermond. Die perseel is baie gerieflike en skep 'n sprokie mooi atmosfeer. Sal enige tyd weer daar oornag.

Rudiger F - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Rudiger F
Family with teenagers

Nice place.

Would have liked to stay a few extra days. The lady that received us was absolutely great and made us feel welcome. Great service, very friendly.

Alan R - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Alan R
With spouse/partner

Awesome.

The service was brilliant. The service excellent. Totally impressed. Bedroom and facilities super. We will be back.

Suzette M - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Suzette M
Family with young children

It is a priceless and perfect location.

All staff is friendly and extremely on point. Thanks, will visit again.

Letitia S - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Letitia S
Family with young children

Quiet friendly place that instantly makes you feel at home!

Thank you for a wonderful experience. Linda our hostess made us feel at home and always helped. Very neat rooms and delicious breakfast!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Rustige vriendelike plekkie wat jou dadelik laat tuis voel!

Baie dankie vir ;n wonderlike ervaring. Linda wat ons gasvrou was het ons laat tuis voel en het altyd bygestaan om te help. Baie netjiese kamers en heerlike ontbyt!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Ingrid S - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ingrid S
Family with teenagers

Pragtige omgewing, heerlike verblyf, baie behulpsame en vriendelike personeel, asook ontbyt uit die boonste rakke.

Pragtige omgewing, heerlike verblyf, baie behulpsame en vriendelike personeel, asook ontbyt uit die boonste rakke.

Christel S - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Christel S
Family with young children

Pragtige lodge by die rivier.

Kamer was skoon en netjies. Baie rustige atmosfeer. Gasheer en alle personeel was behulpsaam en vriendelik. Heerlike ontbyt. Sal enige tyd weer teruggaan.

Kobus P - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Kobus P
With spouse/partner

Goeie ligging en naby alles.

Ons het die verblyf daar baie geniet. Die ontbyt was smaaklik en keurig voorberei. Baie vriendelike personeel.

Wendy D - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Wendy D
On business

Quaint place with everything you need.

Tidewaters is a lovely place to rewind.

Wendy B - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Wendy B
With spouse/partner

Absolutely amazing place and friendly, helpful staff.

From the minute we arrived it was instant relaxation and rest. Heartfelt greeting on arrival and nothing was too much trouble. Our hostess, Phumzi, was an absolute gem and always had a smile. Wonderful stay and we will definitely be visiting again. A huge thanks to Tidewaters River Lodge for hosting us.

Tidewaters River Lodge's response

Thanks Wendy.

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you back soon.

Tidewaters River Lodge
Carol-anne B - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Carol-anne B
Family with young children

Convenient and close to everything.

Very close to the river, nice breakfast and close to everything.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Gerieflik en naby alles.

Baie naby aan die rivier, lekker ontbyt en naby alles.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Johan F - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Johan F
Individual traveler

Gerieflik geleë.

Pragtige, goed versorgde eenheid wat gerieflik geleë is vir 'n enkel aand of langer verblyf in Gonubie.

Kobus M - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Kobus M
With spouse/partner

Omgewing baie mooi en rustig.

Personeel baie vriendelik, kamer baie skoon en netjies met goedversorgde tuin. Kamer waarin ons gebly het, kort lugversoring. Waaier is onvoldoende en die kamer word baie warm. Daar is 'n gebrek aan natuurlike sonlig in die betrokke kamer. Verkies 'n variasie vir ontbyt.

Corne S - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Corne S
Family with young children

Lekker!

Baie lekker gebly. Behalwe dat ons kamer nie 'n aircon gehad het op een van die warmste dae van die jaar was dit 'n uitstekende kuiertjie. Die swembad het ons wel lekker afgekoel.

Elizabeth M - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Elizabeth M
With spouse/partner

Nice but needs some attention.

The person on duty was very friendly, attentive and nice. But for the price we paid, there really needed to be better maintenance - things were breaking or broken in the room (toilet seat, kettle, light fixtures) and in the general space. It was a pleasant stay but for the price and the promotion of it being a 4 star place, we really expected a lot more.

Tidewaters River Lodge's response

Good day,
Thanks for your review, our peek season rate is in line with most 4 star guesthouses in Gonubie
Thanks for the good review on the staff as we strive to give good service
I will look into the maintenance aspect as nothing was reported to the staff or myself.

Tidewaters River Lodge
Mariaan H - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Mariaan H
With spouse/partner

Vriendelik en aangenaam.

Aangename verblyf. Vriendelike diens. Ontbyt lekker (tog baie basies).

Johan V - Aug 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Johan V
With spouse/partner

Uitstekend, hoogs aan te beveel.

Enigste klagte, ek was te kort daar, verder uitstekend, gaan weer teruggaan.

Tidewaters River Lodge's response

Baie dankie, bly julle het dit geniet.
Groete,
Deon

Tidewaters River Lodge
Leon V - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Leon V
With spouse/partner

Very private and nice and quiet.

We can really recommend this guesthouse. Absolutely a true resting place for any traveller. Friendly staff, beautifully clean room and even dinner is brought to your room. Of all the guesthouses we've stayed at over the years, we will put this one in the top 3. Thank you.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie privaat en lekker stil.

Hierdie gastehuis kan ons regtig aanbeveel. Absoluut 'n ware rusplek vir enige reisiger. Vriendelike personeel, pragtige skoon kamer en selfs aandete word na jou kamer gebring. Van al die gaste huise wat ons oor die jare by gebly het, sal ons hierdie gastehuis onder die top 3 plaas. Baie dankie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Sean R - Feb 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
1/5
Location
3/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
1/5
Sean R
Family with young children

No air cons nor management to assist.

I booked this facility because it was a 4 star B&B. When we arrived there was a nice young lady Pumzi who received us, no management. The rooms did not have air con's in, surely, surely a four star rated B&B would have air cons, when I asked Pumzi to speak to the owners she said they did not give her airtime to phone them so there was no contact. It was probably 30 degrees, weekend of the Ironman in East London, hence the need for the air con! So with that kind of poor service we left and checked in somewhere else where there were air cons and the service was great.

Tidewaters River Lodge's response

Thank you for the feedback.

1. Guest booked online and did not book room with air-con.
2. The nice lady, Pumzie, did phone me and I did talk to the guest and explain to him that he did not book rooms with air-con’s but did try to see if the rooms with air-cons was available but wasn’t. I would have taken air-coolers from our other guesthouse down to Tidewaters for them.
3. Pumzie phoned me from the Guesthouse phone and I did have a conversation with the guests.
4. Pumzie phoned me back and told he they left and that he told her that he’s going to put a bad review on the site.
5. The guests had contact with me on the Guesthouse phone.

Tidewaters River Lodge
Willem R - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Willem R
Family with young children

Excellent location.

The bathroom urgently needs attention. Our bed lamp didn't have a light bulb and we couldn't be assisted with one. The mattress was terrible and it has to be replaced immediately.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Puik ligging.

Badkamer kort dringend aandag. Ons bedlampie het nie 'n gloeilamp ingehad nie en die diensafdeling kon nie ons van 1 voorsien nie. Laastens was ons matras baie swak en moet dit onmiddellik vervang word.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Steven A - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Steven A
With spouse/partner

Rustige omgewing en goeie, vriendelike diens.

Kamers is ruim en netjies. Personeel was baie vriendelik. Die ligging van die gastehuis is baie goed.

Sandra O - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sandra O
With spouse/partner

Baie skoon en netjies en rustige atmosfeer.

Die dame wat ons verwelkom het was baie goed, het ons onmiddellik alles gewys en ook 'n heerlike ontbyt die volgende oggend vir ons gemaak. Kamer was baie mooi en ruim.

Jan B - Jan 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Jan B
With spouse/partner

Goed vertoeven.

Mooie kamer, prima ontbijt. Gastvrouw was heel attent. Jammer dat er bij het zwembad geen stoelen stonden. Bij de kamer buiten was een bank, hele avond daarop zitten was minder.

Michele V - Sep 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Michele V
With spouse/partner

Baie lekker gebly.

Goeie waarde vir geld. Die koffie is net baie flou, maar verder uitstekende waarde vir geld. Die koffie kan sterker wees en ontbyt warmer.

Maryn V - Feb 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Maryn V
Family with young children

Ek sal weer in die toekoms daar bly.

Ons het in die gesinskamer gebly. Ons langnaweek se besoek vir die Ysterman 2015 was regtig waar aangenaam. Die ligging is naby die see asook restaurante en winkels. Die gesinskamer was baie ruim en ons kinders het die swembad baie geniet.

Sharlene M - May 2011
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sharlene M
Family with young children

It was a wonderful place and it was exceptionally clean.

Great place and it will definately be used by us again.

Leana J - Apr 2011
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Leana J
Family with young children

Ons is met baie vriendelikheid en gasvryheid ontvang. Plek is pragtig en alles was goed en

Lekker. Sal definitief in die toekoms weer daar tuisgaan. Baie dankie.

Teresa L - Oct 2010
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Teresa L
With spouse/partner

VALUE FOR MONEY.

WE ENDED UP STAYING AT THE SELF-CATERING CHALET FOR THE NIGHT. IT WAS SO LOVELY WE WISH WE COULD HAVE STAYED LONGER.

Bennie F - May 2010
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Bennie F

Excellent establishment

Dealing with a large group could sometimes become complicated. There are various requests and at times causes confusion for the establishment. In this instance we had a combination of this, but Antoinette handled it extremely well.

Dorothy M - Apr 2010
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Dorothy M
With spouse/partner

Most hospitable and comfortable - lovely 'home from home'.

Wonderful, helpful hostess - felt totally 'at home'

From R900
per night (for 2 people)
From R900
per night (for 2 people)
From R900
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 15 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 20:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 1 Tidewaters Drive, Gonubie, East Londen, 5257, Eastern Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDc4ZGNkNzQyLTA2M2QtNDk4ZS05NTA4LWIxMzgwNWY1MDg3ZA?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R900  per night (for 2 people) 35 5 1 5 1 Tidewaters Drive Gonubie 5257 Eastern Cape 0860 022 102 14:00-20:00 10:00 -32.93444241991 28.011341392994
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!