The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Gooderson Tropicana Hotel | TravelGround
+19

Gooderson Tropicana Hotel

Hotel

Review Summary

4 out of 5from 24 reviews for Gooderson Tropicana Hotel
Cleanliness
4.0/5
Service
3.8/5
Location
4.4/5
Safety
3.9/5
Value for money
3.9/5
Mathilda S - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mathilda S

Value for money with a delicious breakfast and friendly people.

Very pleasant accommodation with staff that go out of their way to accommodation you. Breakfast was delicious with a big variety and very good and fast room service. We'll definitely go there again!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Waarde vir geld met heerlike ontbyt en vriendelike persone.

Baie aangename verblyf met personeel wat uit hulle pad gaan om gaste te akkomodeer. Ontbyt was heerlik met ‘n groot verskeidenheid opsies en baie goeie en vinnige kamerdiens. Ons gaan definitief weer daar kuier!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Lucky V - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Lucky V
With friends

Not good at all.

Very bad and the hotel is not up to minimum standards. I booked a suite room and I was told that they don't have a key for my room, at all times when I was going out of the hotel I had to request a master key to open my room. The carpet had a terrible smell.

Lucia K - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lucia K

The hotel was welcoming.

Gooderson Tropicana Hotel was welcoming, the reception desk was very helpful in helping us check in and getting to our rooms. The TV was losing signal, the reception desk immediately called the manger for assistance, within 10 minutes he arrived and within 5 minutes the TV was back on and we could watch the channels.

Dineho M - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Dineho M

The accommodation was the best and breakfast was delicious and with friendly reception.

All staff from the hotel, they are very friendly and helpful. The service is very excellent. Breakfast was the best. Accommodation very clean and nice.

Thabang M - Nov 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Thabang M
With spouse/partner

Great stay st Tropicana.

It wasn’t my first time staying there. The room was always attended to. For the safety of the guests, the hotel needs to look into servicing their lifts or something. Same experience as previously, the lift got stuck.

Mmamodise B - Nov 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Mmamodise B
With friends

Great location close to everything.

The only problem is the noise from the club behind the hotel, as it's open 24 hours. Staff is friendly and were willing to assist. Place clean and well kept, will visit again.

Noleen N - Sep 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Noleen N
With spouse/partner

Baie aangenaam.

Daar is regtig geen problem nie, die ontbyt nodig net om bietjie opgeknap te word. Anders is alles piekfyn.

Dorette P - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Dorette P
Family with teenagers

Lekker gebly in 'n lewendige deel van die stad.

Ons 'interlinked' kamer was voldoende, alhoewel die lugverkoeling nie gewerk het nie. Parkeerarea was ook nie lekker. Hotel is goed/sentraal geleë, stapafstap van uShaka en ander toeriste aanloklikhede. Ontbyt was heerlik.

Joseph M - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Joseph M
Family with teenagers

Fantastic location with friendly staff.

We had a lovely stay at Tropicana Hotel. Nice and comfortable walking distance from everything en to hear the waves from morning till night was food for the soul. With the security that was upgraded, our children could walk to the beach every morning without any problems. Bus stop could just have been changed.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Fantastiese ligging met vriendelike personeel.

Ons het baie lekker gebly by Tropicana Hotel. Lekker gemaklike stapafstand van alles en om die branders van oggend tot aand te hoor was kos vir die siel. Met die veiligheid wat op geskerp is, kon ons kinders elke oggend strand toe stap sonder enige probleme. Bushalte kon dalk net aangepas word.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Rushda K - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Rushda K
Family with teenagers

We enjoyed our stay and will definitely return soon.

Tropicana is a very nice place to stay, but I think they can upgrade on their carpets. Staff very helpful.

Lillian K - Nov 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lillian K
Family with young children

Beautiful place.

It was the first time for us in Durban with my family. We really enjoyed staying at Tropicana, the best place to visit. The staff is friendly, from the reception to the hotel. The food is excellent. Keep up the good work and stay blessed.

Alice P - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Alice P
Family with young children

A little expensive but worth staying.

We had a wonderful 6 days' stay, big nice rooms, friendly and helpful staff at all times, will definitely come back and also recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Nomasonto M - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nomasonto M
With friends

The best place to be with the best sea view.

Thank you to the staff that was on duty 1 July to the 3 July, from the cleaners up to the management you guys are the best. Gugu, keep up the good work love, thank you thank you again.

Andrew M - Jun 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Andrew M
Individual traveler

Excellent service.

Excellent service from everyone including management and staff.

Thabang M - Jan 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Thabang M
Family with young children

Gooderson Tropicana Hotel is a nice place to stay.

Our stay at Gooderson Tropicana Hotel was a pleasant one. Right in front of the beach. The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis and my kids enjoyed the breakfast buffet. The only snag was the miscommunication regarding payment.

Princess M - Jan 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Princess M
Family with young children

I was very happy and I enjoyed my self!

We are coming back soon! We enjoyed ourselves. It was the perfect place! Everything is near the hotel. Management is on top! Breakfast is nca! Friendly staff!

Nkululeko K - Jan 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
1/5
Nkululeko K
Individual traveler

It was not at the standard expected!

I am allergic to cold water. Their geyser was not functioning properly. I was itching throughout the whole New Year's celebration. The hotel's standard has drastically dropped from what it used to be.

Hennie B - Feb 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
3/5
Hennie B
With spouse/partner

Heel aanvaarbaar.

Kos was baie goed gewees. Veral deur die dag is dit goeie vakansieverblyf.

Lawrence N - Feb 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lawrence N
With spouse/partner

It was a great pleasure to be hosted at your hotel

We really enjoyed our stay at Gooderson Tropicana Hotel, more so because it was our first time in Durban. The only improvement that needs to be attended to is the food at the restaurant, as we did not enjoy it at all.

Nokwazi N - Dec 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nokwazi N
Family with young children

Family enjoyed their stay and want to come back again next year

The staff was friendly and the place was sportless; a good place for kids.

Gerda W - Sep 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
2/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Gerda W
With friends

Die personeel was nie baie professioneel nie, gelukkig was die kelners in die eetsaal baie vriendelik.

Matte moet ordentlik skoongemaak word. Die kos is lekker en oor die algemeen goeie waarde vir geld. Die sekuriteitswag, Benjamin, is baie behulpsaam en vriendelik. Dames het 'n kragprop naby aan die spieël nodig, asb. Die haardroër is ook nie geskik vir mense met lang, dik hare nie.

Pieter G - Sep 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Pieter G
Family with young children

In general, a good stay

As we are smokers, it would have been nice to have a smoking area close to where we were staying - as the smoking location made it difficult to go and have a smoke and it was a probem taking the children down to the outside area at night (we were staying on the eight floor of the hotel).

Emmarentia T - Dec 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Emmarentia T

Good stay

Good stay.

Gilbert M - Dec 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Gilbert M
With friends

Enjoyed my stayed

In a lovely location.

From R830
per night (for 2 people)
From R830
per night (for 2 people)
From R830
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 588 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 00:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 85 OR Tambo Parade, Durban Beachfront, Durban, 4091, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDY2MTIxNTc4LTA1NTctNDI0NS1iMjZmLWI4MWZhNmE4YmFhZg?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R830  per night (for 2 people) 24 5 1 4 85 OR Tambo Parade Durban Beachfront 4091 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-00:00 10:00 -29.856727777778 31.038930555556
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!