The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Ultima Thule Cottages | TravelGround
+56

Ultima Thule Cottages

27 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

4.9 out of 5from 27 reviews for Ultima Thule Cottages
Cleanliness
5.0/5
Service
5.0/5
Location
4.9/5
Safety
5.0/5
Value for money
4.9/5
Sunette L - Jun 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sunette L
With friends

The stay was all we wished for. All that you need is available. The hosts were very helpful in every way possible. Loved every moment.

Soft bed with lovely bedding and 2 electric blankets on the double bed. Heater in the room. TV with full DStv. Nice wine glasses just like we like it. Hot shower. Beautiful views.

Ultima Thule Cottages's response

Dear Sunette,
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review. It was so good to meet you and hope that we will see you both again.
Take care.
Warm regards,
Liz

Ultima Thule Cottages
Lynne O - Jun 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lynne O
With friends

Wonderful views, wonderful hosts!

The cottage has a beautiful view and is warm and cosy with its lovely fireplace. Liz was such a warm and welcoming host and she made sure we had everything we needed for our stay. This is a lovely private spot for a getaway in the midlands.

Ultima Thule Cottages's response

Dear Lynne,
Thank you for the lovely review.
You were lovely guests and it would be good to see you again.
Warm regards,
Liz

Ultima Thule Cottages
Jan E - Apr 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jan E
With spouse/partner

Awesome experience and fantastic stay. The unit is perfectly equipped and clean.

Most pleasant stay with Liz and Colin ensuring everything is in place and comfortable. Will most definitely recommend Ultima Thule Cottages to anyone that is visiting the area. Cleanliness and comfort is of highest quality and friendliness is over and above what you will expect. Your home away from home.

Ultima Thule Cottages's response

Dear Jan,
Thank you so much for that perfectly lovely review.
You were wonderful guests and it was such a pleasure to meet you both.
We really hope that we will see you again sometime.
Warm regards,
Liz.

Ultima Thule Cottages
Mariette S - Apr 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Mariette S
With spouse/partner

Oulike plek as basis vir Midlands Meander.

Pragtige natuurskoon en alles wat nodig is. Dit is egter hele ent vanuit Howick. Baie lekker vir wegbreek van alles.

Ultima Thule Cottages's response

Dear Mariette,
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review.
We hope that you both enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Warm regards,
Collin and Liz

Ultima Thule Cottages
Samantha A - Apr 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Samantha A
Individual traveler

Very friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Beautiful location.

A wonderful getaway for those seeking some peace and quiet in the country side. Very friendly and helpful hosts.

Ultima Thule Cottages's response

Dear Samantha,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your lovely review.
You were a pleasure to host and we would be happy to see you again if you are ever this way.

Warm regards,
Collin and Liz

Ultima Thule Cottages
Mandy K - Mar 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mandy K
With spouse/partner

Ons het ’n wonderlike tyd gehad. Ongelooflike gasheer en pragtige uitsig.

Alles is naby - winkels, Umgeni Natuurreservaat en Midma-dam. Beslis waarde vir geld. lekker weggekom en gaan dit beslis weer binnekort besoek.

Ultima Thule Cottages's response

Dear Mandy,
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review.
It was lovely meeting you and hope that we will see you again.
Warm regards,
Collin and Liz

Ultima Thule Cottages
Herman E - Feb 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Herman E
With spouse/partner

Die ligging is fantasties, pragtige uitsig op pad soontoe.

Die gasvryheid is daar en hulpvaardig en die rondawel is baie skoon en alles is daar wat jy nodig het. Hulle sal uit die pad gaan om jou te help as jy erens wil gaan en jy weet nie of die plek oop is.

Ultima Thule Cottages's response

Dear Henny and Erica,
Thank you very much for your kind review.
You were both delightful guests and it was a real pleasure meeting you.
I'm sorry that you missed out on your cold meat. It was delicious. :-)
Warm regards,
Liz and Collin

Ultima Thule Cottages
Ilze D - Feb 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ilze D
With spouse/partner

Mid-month getaway.

Ultima Thule Cottage is nestled in the heart of the Midlands. It was wonderful to wake up to sunshine and birds chirping instead of the usual noise of the city we're used to. Liz and Colin were amazing hosts and they made sure we were comfortable during our stay. We had a relaxing weekend and would definitely recommend it!

Ultima Thule Cottages's response

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your lovely review. You were great guests and it would be lovely you see you both again if ever you are in need of chirping birds.

Ultima Thule Cottages
Valerie C - Feb 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Valerie C

Dit was 'n wonderlike ondervinding met ’n aangename gasvrou en gasheer.

Ons sal Ultima Thule Cottages aanbeveel vir enige vakansieganger. Die omgewing is natuurryk en daar is baie om te sien in die omgewing. Dit was 'n goeie keuse.

Ultima Thule Cottages's response

Thank you for that great review.
It was lovely to meet and we really hope that it won't be the last time. Perhaps we will be fortunate enough to see you again on your next sojourn in KwaZulu-Natal.
Look after yourself and stay safe.



Ultima Thule Cottages
Marcha V - Dec 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marcha V
With spouse/partner

Uitstekend! Ultima Thule Cottages het ons verwagtinge oortref.

Ideaal vir 'n wegbreek as jy wil afskakel en rus, of selfs as jy deur die Meander wil toer. Vir seker 'n "hidden gem". Elizabeth en Collin se gasvryheid is uit die boonste rakke!

Ultima Thule Cottages's response

Dear Marcha,
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such a kind review.
You were both such lovely guests and next time, if you come this way, bring an empty vehicle.
Look after yourselves and keep safe.
Warm regards,
Collin and Liz

Ultima Thule Cottages
Emri G - Dec 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Emri G
With friends

Pragtige plek alles wat jy nodig het in ‘n botique kothuis.

Pragtige tuine en uitsig. Die stap dam toe is die uitsig werd. En die gasheers is ongelooflik oulik en hulpvaardig Ons was vir net onder ‘n week by Ultima Cottages. Die ry daarheen is pragtig alles in die kothuis is skoon/higiënies, en baie goed wat mens nodig het, waaraan ons nie eens gedink het nie, is daar. Die tuine is pragtig en netjies sowel as die uitsig. Mens kan lekker gaan stap na die dam en piekniek plek onder die bome. Die gasvryheid is asof mens ou vriende raak geloop het na 'n lang ruk.

Ultima Thule Cottages's response

Dear Emri,
Thank you for that delightful review.
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really enjoyed meeting you both, you were great guests and it would be lovely to see you again sometime in the future.
Keep safe,
Warm regards,
Collin and Liz

Ultima Thule Cottages
Eric N - Nov 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Eric N
With spouse/partner

Just like home, only better.

Extremely friendly hosts who made us feel very welcome.

Ultima Thule Cottages's response

Dear Eric and Ann,
Thank you for your kind review.
Colin and I enjoyed meeting you both, you were lovely guests and we hope to see you again in the future.
Warm regards
Liz

Ultima Thule Cottages
Belinda L - Sep 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Belinda L
With spouse/partner

Ontspannend, goeie diens, plaas lewe, rus vir die siel

Liz en Collin was die vriendelikste en behulpsaamste gashere. Daar was niks wat ons nie vir hulle kon vra of aanbevelinge kon ontvang nie. Hulle was altyd bereid om n vinnige hand te leen en om die ekstra myl vir ons te stal. Ek beveel Ultima Thule Cottages vir almal aan.

Ultima Thule Cottages's response

Dear Belinda,
Thank you so much for that lovely review. You were both such lovely guests and with a bit of luck we may see you sometime in the future.
Warm regards,
Collin and Elizabeth

Ultima Thule Cottages
Henk L - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Henk L
With spouse/partner

Rustige wegbreek op die plaas.

Baie netjiese en skoon plek. Liz en Collen het uit hulle pad gegaan om seker te maak alles is in orde, selfs na 'n donderstorm wat ons gehad het. Baie mooi uitsig oor die berge. Ons het sommer twee weke later na ons verlof weer daar geslaap.

Ultima Thule Cottages's response

Dear Henk and Magda,
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a lovely review.
We enjoyed meeting you both and hope that you can stay longer next time you are this way.
You were great guests.
Warm regards,
Collin and Liz

Ultima Thule Cottages
Carolyn C - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Carolyn C
Family with teenagers

Magnificent views, perfectly located and extremely comfortable for our Midlands weekend!

We received such a warm welcome from Liz and Collin. The farm is situation atop a hill outside of Howick - magnificent views across the hills. The cottage was fully equipped with everything we needed for our self-catering weekend stay - we braai'ed but we’re also able to use the gas/electric cooker or microwave. The beds were extremely comfortable for a good night's rest and the whole cottage was spotlessly clean. There was full DStv although we didn’t use it, preferring to take in the views and enjoy the sound of silence and surrounding animals and birds. The trails and pastures were perfect for my teenagers to explore in safety, after having completed the Midmar Mile swim. We had a wonderful weekend and will definitely be back. Thank you Liz and Collin.

Ultima Thule Cottages's response

Dear Carolyn
Thank you for your perfect lovely review.
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay; we certainly enjoyed meeting you and your lovely family and look forward to seeing you again.
Warmest regards,
Liz and Colin

Ultima Thule Cottages
Dries V - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Dries V
With spouse/partner

Great!

Friendly host. Cute well-equipped rondawel.

Ultima Thule Cottages's response

Dear Dries,
Thank you for your review and we hope that you enjoy the rest of your holiday.
Travel safely.
Warm regards
Collin and liz

Ultima Thule Cottages
Ronald N - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ronald N
With spouse/partner

Hosts were very helpful in all regards even with our car breakdown.

Hosts went out there way.

Ultima Thule Cottages's response

Dear Ronald,
Thank you for the lovely review and for the equally lovely curry. We were happy to help you and it was great to meet you both.

Ultima Thule Cottages
Marina V - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marina V
Individual traveler

Pleasant home away from home.

Friendly, caring, beautiful and comfortable stay.

Ultima Thule Cottages's response

Dear Marina,
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay. It was lovely meeting you. Look after yourself.
Warm regards,
Collin and Liz

Ultima Thule Cottages
Hanlie R - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hanlie R
With spouse/partner

Gerieflike verblyf in 'n pragtige omgewing.

Gerieflike verblyf in 'n pragtige omgewing, met baie persoonlike diens. Stap op die plaas tussen beeste wat rustig wei. Spesiale bederfies is die vars hoendereiers, en sitrusvrugte van die boom af wanneer in seisoen. Wonderlike gasheer en -vrou wat maklik jou vriende word.

Ultima Thule Cottages's response

Dear Hanlie,
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here.
Collin and I really enjoyed meeting you. You were lovely guests; easy to talk to and you both have a lovely sense of humor. Hopefully, there will be many more weddings down here and we will get to host you both again in the future.
Take care.
Warm Regards,
Liz and Collin

Ultima Thule Cottages
Nadine E - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nadine E
With spouse/partner

Enough to keep me coming back and I am not easy to please!

Perfect destination for a touch base/romantic getaway. The Liz and Collin were thorough and generous. The place was perfect, the setting was tranquil, all in all, all that was needed was in one place.

Ultima Thule Cottages's response

Dear Nicole,
Thank you for your lovely review.
You were lovely guests and look out for the new cottage coming soon.
Warm regards,
Collin and Liz

Ultima Thule Cottages
Luann L - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Luann L
With spouse/partner

Highly recommended!

We absolutely loved our stay! The cottage is neat and well equipped and the owners make you feel right at home. Wish we could've stayed longer!

Ultima Thule Cottages's response

Dear Luann
Thank you so much for your kind review.
We're very glad that you enjoyed your short stay here.
You were lovely guests.

Warm regards
Collin and Liz

Ultima Thule Cottages
Helene R - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Helene R
With spouse/partner

Stil, rustig en sorgvry.

'n Juweel op 'n plaas. Alles was baie skoon en netjies. Eienaars was baie vriendelik en gasvry. Hulle respekteer gaste se privaatheid.

Ultima Thule Cottages's response

Dear Helene,

How very kind of you to give us such a lovely review. You were such lovely guests and perhaps we will see you both again in the future.
We hope that you and Jan enjoyed your cruise.

Fond regards
Collin and Liz

Ultima Thule Cottages
Wikus C - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Wikus C
With spouse/partner

Fantasties asemrowend.

As ons die plekkie asook die gasheer en gasvrou moet beskryf in een woord is: awesome. Die persoonlike kontak en tog ook vryheid is baie lekker. Die hele opset, plek asook natuur is fantasties. Well done Collin and Liz. We appreciate your personal touch.

Ultima Thule Cottages's response

Dear Wikus,
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
You were marvellous guests and we hope to see you again.
Warmest regards,
Collin and liz

Ultima Thule Cottages
Estelle N - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Estelle N
With spouse/partner

Dit was uit die boonste rakke!

Elizabeth en Collin was wonderlike gashere en ons sal beslis weer daar bly!

Ultima Thule Cottages's response

Dear Estelle,
Thank you for your lovely review.
We hope to see you again some time.
Sorry that this reply is so late, we are out of the country and have very few places where there are comms.
Warm regards,
Liz Hughes

Ultima Thule Cottages
Rina L - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rina L
With spouse/partner

Awsome and fantastic, best hosts ever.

Owners of the cottage is the most caring people. Beautiful and cosy cottage with everything you need and a spectacular view from your doorstep. Very neat and clean. We will stay over again.

Ultima Thule Cottages's response

Dear Rina,
Thank you for your lovely review. We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay here and Collin and I really enjoyed getting to know you and Jean.

Ultima Thule Cottages
Wayne T - Jun 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Wayne T
With spouse/partner

Cosy and extremely clean cottage.

The owners, Colin and Liz, are lovely hosts and warmly welcomed us. The cottage is so cosy, well equipped, extremely clean and beautiful views. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend. See you again.

Ultima Thule Cottages's response

Dear Janet and Wayne,
Thank you very much for your review.
We really enjoyed meeting you and think of you both as we pass the chillies.
Hope to see you both again.
Kindest regards,
Liz

Ultima Thule Cottages
Pinky V - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Pinky V
With spouse/partner

Owners fabulous and cottage in wonderful spot, very clean.

See stars.

Ultima Thule Cottages's response

Dear Pinky,

Thank you for the lovely review.
We hope that you and Richard enjoyed yourselves whilst on the coast playing golf.
We hope to see you both again.

Elizabeth

Ultima Thule Cottages
was R600
From R480
per night (sleeps 2)
was R600
From R480
per night (sleeps 2)
was R600
From R480
per night (sleeps 2)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 6 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 21:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: off the D735, Farm 10, Currys Post, 3290, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAA1c7eb7bf7530622e99d71486a097bb849e7164c18cdecd649c310db5efc6be0235aeb86426efc1cf0df514f8f7001be51fcf?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=enhance,format,compress&q=80 was R600, now From R480  per night (sleeps 2) 27 5 1 5 off the D735 Farm 10 3290 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-21:00 10:00 -29.389341282955 30.158884763747
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!