The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Umbrella Tree House | TravelGround
+42

Umbrella Tree House

B&B

Review Summary

4.7 out of 5from 31 reviews for Umbrella Tree House
Cleanliness
4.9/5
Service
4.6/5
Location
4.8/5
Safety
4.9/5
Value for money
4.5/5
Charles V - Sep 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Charles V
With spouse/partner

Netjies, goed geleë.

Baie netjiese plek met pragtige uitsig oor die see.

Brian R - May 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Brian R
On business

Umbrella Tree was great, I will use it again.

It was convenient, comfortable and value for money - despite the flood realted challenges.

Umbrella Tree House 's response

Thank you so much Brian, it was an absolute pleasure hosting you. Hope to see you soon.

Umbrella Tree House
Trixie S - May 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Trixie S
With spouse/partner

Naby aan alles.

Een van die skoonste plekke wat ons al besoek het. Heerlike ontbyt. Bietjie op mekaar, maar alles wat mens nodig het en naby aan inkopiesentrums, die strand en hoofweë.

Jan V - Apr 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jan V
On business

Friendly and good service.

Friendly and well-mannered staff assisted every morning at arranged time with breakfast and assisted with any quarry’s raised during my stay.

Umbrella Tree House 's response

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback, you are always welcomed back at Umbrella Tree. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you.

Umbrella Tree House
Lambert W - Mar 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lambert W
With spouse/partner

Baie lekker, sal definitief weer gaan kuier.

Die kamers is baie netjies, die kos is uit die boonste rakke. Dit voel soos "home away from home". Ons kan hulle definitief aanbeveel.

Umbrella Tree House 's response

Ek is bly dat ek al jou bokse kon merk. Jy was 'n plesier om aan te bied.

Umbrella Tree House
Sue G - Feb 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sue G
With spouse/partner

Pleasant overnight stay, five minutes from from Umhlanga Village/sea front and lovely paved walkway in front of hotels.

One of three double rooms, with sliding door onto small private verandah with room just for two chairs and small table, overlooking the main house, onto seafront hotels and sea views. Clean small bathroom with shower only, modern fittings. Double bed too soft for our liking, but nice to see top sheet and blanket in cupboard for sleeping preferences instead of using the duvet, a little hot for summer. Cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, fruit juice and toast, as well as beautifully cooked breakfast by Lesley. Kettle, tea, coffee and milk available when guest requires. Pleasant undercover outside dining area, surrounded by lush garden. Guesthouse has very recently been sold, and TK the new manager was friendly, making us comfortable.

Umbrella Tree House 's response

Good day Sue, it was an absolute joy making your acquaintance and hosting you. Our doors are always open for you. Looking forward to accommodating you in the future. Thank you so much.

Umbrella Tree House
Sandy W - Feb 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sandy W
On business

Thank you to Lesley for making my stay so pleasant, I enjoyed the peace and quiet in Room 4 and even enjoyed a cool swim in the pool on a very hot afternoon!

I was very comfortable and self-contained with all the facilities for self catering, as well as excellent air conditioning and wifi which made working from Umbrella Tree House for part of the day a pleasure.

Umbrella Tree House 's response

I am glad that you had a wonderful stay.
It was an absolute pleasure hosting you.

Umbrella Tree House
Christa L - Jan 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Christa L
With spouse/partner

Het lekker gebly.

Baie rustig en netjiese gastehuis. Baie ruim slaapkamer en badkamer.

Anthony B - Dec 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Anthony B
Individual traveler

Very happy

Does what it said on the box.

Hennie C - Sep 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Hennie C
On business

Waarde vir geld.

Vriendelik ontvang.

Dries P - Jun 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
1/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
1/5
Dries P
With spouse/partner

Vroeë ontbyt/kospakkie 'n probleem en ander gaste wat 02:30 in nag lawaai!

Ons moes 06:00 vertrek, ons moes haar oortuig om vir ons 'n kospakkie te verskaf, kospakkie was pateties. My dogter en haar man het ook daar oorgebly, hulle het nie kospakkie gevra nie, Umbrella Tree het ook nie aangebied nie. Om 02:30 het gaste ingekom en vreeslik lawaai tot 03:30 - onaanvaarbaar, en dit was in elk geval gedurende curfew. Ons sal nooit weer daar slaap nie, sal ook nie aanbeveel nie.

Umbrella Tree House 's response

I am very sorry to hear that you had an unhappy experience. Unfortunately, I was away. I have spoken to my locum and she says that she didn't need to be convinced to do a packed breakfast, we have done it many times in the past. Also, she says she gave you exactly what you asked for, boiled eggs and sandwiches, fruit and yoghurts. It was discussed with you what you would prefer.
As for the other noisy guests, I can't be held responsible for other guests behaving badly. If you had called the locum, she would have had words with the other guests. Unfortunately, we have no control over other people's behaviour and them coming back past curfew.
Unfortunately, sometimes people will have a less than satisfactory experience. We do try our very best to ensure that guests have a positive experience. I'm sorry that your experience was not good. As can be seen from other reviews, many guests have had very good experiences.

Umbrella Tree House
Nico E - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nico E
With spouse/partner

My wife an I thoroughly enjoyed the visit and we were made to feel very welcome.

My wife and I had a great time. We were made to feel very welcome and the service was excellent. We can recommend the facility and it is well worth visiting the Umbrella Tree House B&B.

Japie W - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Japie W
On business

Had a great stay, neat and the host is very friendly.

Good location, close to good restaurants and beautiful view.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie lekker gebly, netjies en gasvrou baie vriendelik.

Goed geleë naby goeie restaurante en mooi uitsig.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

William K - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
William K
With spouse/partner

Friendly owner and staff. Fully enjoyed our stay.

Friendly and clean. Well located near shops and beaches.

Nicolene J - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Nicolene J
With spouse/partner

Neat and comfortable for a quick getaway.

Very neat and cute place for a quick weekend getaway, will definitely recommend them. The parking is a bit of a problem with the challenge to get up and down the steep driveway.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Netjies en gerieflik vir 'n vinnige wegbreek.

Baie netjiese en oulike plekkie vir 'n vinnige wegbreek, sal hulle beslis aanbeveel. Die ontbyt was heerlik. Die parkering is so klein bietjie van 'n uitdaging om in en uit te gaan teen die steil bult.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Hennie K - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hennie K
On business

Awesome.

We at Big Autism just want to say thank you.Thank you for the kindness and that they open their harts to us. Without people like this it wont be possible for us to do our work. Regards Hennie.

Umbrella Tree House 's response

It's a pleasure Hennie. Well done to you for all the work you do for Autism.

Umbrella Tree House
Rianet W - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rianet W
Individual traveler

Lieflike, goed geleë en jy kan die see sien. Baie nice.

Die verblyf by Umbrella Tree House was lieflik. Alhoewel mens eers van 2 uur af kan inboek, het 'n persoon gebel om te vra of ek nie dalk vroeër kan in nie en ek is met ope arms verwelkom. Verblyf was pragtig, skoon en ek het 'n uitsig gehad. Kon ook sit en werk - wat lieflike was, en om nie van die see uitsig te praat nie.

Umbrella Tree House 's response

Ek is so bly dat jy jou verblyf so geniet het. Kom wee terug.

Umbrella Tree House
Kate G - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Kate G
On business

Very pleasant and well established with a hands on hostess who was very helpful.

Highly recommended and well situated to Umghlanga/Gateway and Balitto/Airport and Durban. Neat and tidy and very comfortable.

Umbrella Tree House 's response

Thank you so much Kate. It is always such a pleasure to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay.

Umbrella Tree House
Yvette V - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Yvette V
With spouse/partner

Baie netjies en skoon.

Baie dankie aan Umbrella Tree House, ons het ons verblyf geniet. Die plek is baie skoon en netjies. Die ontbyt was ook baie lekker, en ons kon kies en keur wat ons wou eet. Baie dankie.

Umbrella Tree House 's response

Baie dankie vir u positiewe resensie. Ek is so bly om te hoor julle het jou verblyf geniet.

Umbrella Tree House
Hannalie C - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hannalie C
With friends

Aangename verblyf in rustige deel van Umhlanga.

Gawe gasvrou wat ons ontvang het. Kamers is goed ingerig en alles was baie netjies. 'n Heerlike ontbyt is bedien. Die gastehuis is goed geleë. Ons sal beslis weer van Umbrella Tree House gebruik maak.

Umbrella Tree House 's response

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed it, and will be ever so happy to see you back. I was going to try to reply in Afrikaans, but I got stuck on too many words.

Umbrella Tree House
Zirk J - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Zirk J
Family with young children

Netjies en skoon. Gerieflik.

Skoon en netjies. Gerieflik. Goeie ligging.

Kylee L - Jun 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Kylee L
With spouse/partner

Beautiful location and setting.

We stayed in the self-catering unit which was perfect for what we needed for a long weekend. The room was well laid out and the doors opened onto a veranda with ocean views in the distance but set in a beautiful garden overlooking the pool. It was very relaxing to stay here. The room was serviced daily which was lovely and every attention to detail was thought of. We were very close to some fantastic restaurants - can recommend Fish and The Butcher Boys and a large Spar with everything you could think of. We will be back and thank you for such an enjoyable stay.

Umbrella Tree House 's response

So very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you for your lovely review

Umbrella Tree House
Natasja T - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Natasja T
With spouse/partner

Super aangenaam, skoon, vars, vriendelik, ontspannend.

Die verblyf is hoogs aanbeveelbaar, dis skoon, mooi, netjies, vars, daar is geen snaakse reuke in die gastehuis of aan die beddegoed of handdoeke nie. Elke oggend was daar 'n super mooi ontbyttafel gedek met baie moeite, die gasvrou was vriendelik en aangenaam en het mens nooit uit plek laat voel nie. Dis ook nogal heelwat sentraal geleë naby lekker restaurant en die hoofstrand. Ons sal vir seker weer daar gaan kuier.

Umbrella Tree House 's response

'n Hartlike dankie vir die mooi woorde, en ek is so bly julle het die verblyf hier so geniet. Ons sien uit na julle volgende besoek. Met groot waardering, Lesley.

Umbrella Tree House
Yolandi B - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Yolandi B
Individual traveler

Heerlik ontspan.

Pragtige juweel met pragtige uitsig. Ek het so lekker daar ontspan en die ontbyt was heerlik. Hul gee aandag op die klein dingetjies wat saak maak.

Hendrik B - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hendrik B

Very pleasant and accommodating.

Excellent. Good value for money, neat and clean and very accommodating with our needs. Highly recommended.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Uiters aangenaam en akkomoderend.

Uitstekend. Goeie waarde vir geld, netjies en skoon en uiters akkommoderend t.o.v. ons behoeftes. Beveel sterk aan.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Blantina B - Nov 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Blantina B
Family with young children

Beautiful.

Very welcoming beautiful view of the ocean. Breakfast was lovely.

Umbrella Tree House 's response

Thank you for your lovely review. It is always a pleasure to get positive feedback.

Umbrella Tree House
Ever R - Jun 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Ever R
With spouse/partner

We really enjoyed our stay. Everything was clean and neat.

Good location. We received a hearty welcome and we enjoyed our stay. Everything was clean, neat and done in good taste.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ons get baie lekker hier gebly. Alles was mooi skoon en netjies gewees.

Baie goed geleë en ons is hartlik ontvang en lekker gebly. Alles was skoon, netjies en met goeie smaak gedoen.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Helga L - Apr 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Helga L

Was voortreflik.

Ons het dit baie geniet. Almal is baie hulpvaardig.

Dora J - Aug 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Dora J
With spouse/partner

Gerieflik.

My man moes hospitaal toe en Lesley was baie hulpvaardig en het gehelp om verblyf vir 'n derde nag te kry. Ek het veilig gevoel en dit geniet om op die klein balkon te sit. Baie dankie.

Umbrella Tree House 's response

Hi Dora,
Sorry, I really was going to try to do this in Afrikaans but I got stuck on the word review. Thank you so much for your lovely review, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay here.
Lesley

Umbrella Tree House
Gudrun L - Oct 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Gudrun L
With spouse/partner

The perfect place to stay while hubby was in hospital. So conveniently situated!

The perfect location, being close to the Umhlanga Hospital as well as shops, restaurants and the beach front. The views were food for the soul and the hospitality beyond reproach. A B&B to be recommended. Thank you.

Israel D - Aug 2011
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Israel D
With friends

It was amazing, we enjoyed every single second, and Leley she is out of this world.

I enjoyed every single moment of my stays and i have highly recommended the place to all my friends, i am looking forward to my next holiday at the same venue in December with my family.

From
R1 040
per night, for 2 ppl
From
From R1 040
per night, for 2 ppl
From
R1 040
per night, for 2 ppl
Make a Booking
  • Free cancellation up to 1 week before your stay!
  • Capacity: 8 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 37 Hilken Drive, Umhlanga Rocks, Durban, 4319, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJGEzMmQ5NjIwLThmZTAtNDNhMS04ZWFiLWIyY2NlM2QyMmQ5Zg?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=enhance,format,compress&q=80 From R1 040  per night, for 2 ppl 31 5 1 5 37 Hilken Drive Umhlanga Rocks 4319 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -29.72270975973 31.081073284149
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!