Mtubatuba Accommodation at Umfolozi River Lodge & Bird Park | TravelGround
+28

Umfolozi River Lodge & Bird Park

B&B

Review Summary

3.4 out of 5from 9 reviews for Umfolozi River Lodge & Bird Park
Cleanliness
3.0/5
Service
3.7/5
Location
3.2/5
Safety
3.8/5
Value for money
3.4/5
Judy M - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
2/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
2/5
Judy M
Family with teenagers

The place is very run down.

The room was cramped and dark with poor ventilation and very cluttered. We were told that we could braai there but there was no provision for crockery and cutlery which we thought they might have if we were going to braai. The restaurant was of a very low standard - some of the meals we ordered were mediocre and the others really bad. I do not think this was good value for money as you can get a self-catering venue on the area for half the price and with better amenities. My son has special needs (Down Syndrome) and is unable to cope with loud noises. As the peacocks were nesting next to our room we heard them screeching until it was dark and starting up at 4 in the morning. He was terrified by this kind of noise and so we had to check out after the first night. The owner was sympathetic and encouraged us to stay as he thought our son would get used to it but we know the anxiety and stress that he goes through and we were not prepared to subject him to that. All in all, despite the friendliness of the staff, this was not a pleasant experience and turned out to be very costly due to having to move and pay for new accommodation.

Dayna W - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Dayna W
With spouse/partner

Beautiful location and all employers are delightfully friendly.

See stars.

Umfolozi River Lodge & Bird Park's response

Dear Dayna,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again.

Blessings
Danita Brandon

Umfolozi River Lodge & Bird Park
Vanessa M - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
4/5
Location
1/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
1/5
Vanessa M
Family with teenagers

The place definitely needs maintenance, the room was dirty and dusty, the toilet was leaking and the lights was faulty!

The staff were vere accomodating however the place is definitely not worth the price. I was extremely uncomfortable. There was so much noise the entire night that I ended up sick in the morning. Unfortunately I will never visit that place again.

Eddy Steenkamp N - Feb 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
2/5
Eddy Steenkamp N
With spouse/partner

Not a good place to stay, although the restaurant and pub is OK.

After a thunderstorm there was power by a generator but it was used wrong, so that there was no water pumped. So water was taken out of the swimming pool to flush the toilet. The whole place did not have maintenance. Hooks for the towels hang loose, boards in the bathroom for the shampoo came from the walls, rooms were not clean. The birds in the bird park were sad, many empty cages. So the whole place needs a huge upgrade and staff that sees the problems. Because of the hard times I can understand why many birdcages are empty so that is not the problem, but don't advertise with that then. When you advertise with a beautiful walking trail and pool, then make sure that it is accessible. The management was friendly and the kitchen and pub were OK. And from the place, the Hluhluwe/Umfolozipark is just a short drive.

Cornelia A - Jan 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
2/5
Location
2/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Cornelia A
Family with teenagers

Be prepared to stay in average accommodation.

Very humid and hot in the bedrooms, would advise to install ceiling fans. Upright fans did not work. Rooms clean and tidy. Walking around the property gives you the idea of neglect. Enjoyed the food and breakfast, very reasonably priced.

Umfolozi River Lodge & Bird Park's response

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to say that the rooms now do have ceiling fans. Hope to see you soon!

Umfolozi River Lodge & Bird Park
Ryan W - May 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Ryan W
Family with young children

We enjoyed our stay

We enjoyed our stay but a few small changes and it would have been excellent. Staff service was very good but it was one lady who served us at the bar, dinner, brought us spare towels for the room, at the bar again, breakfast and even check us out which I don't even think was her job. The only thing with cleanliness was upstairs where we stayed hadn't been dusted for ages lots of dust and cobwebs.

Umfolozi River Lodge & Bird Park's response

We regret when we get negative feedback from any of our customers. However, Easter weekend is the busiest time of the year. We have been accommodating contract workers who initially booked for 3 weeks but ended up staying 3 months. They are stretching our resources to the limit.

Bird Park greetings

Umfolozi River Lodge & Bird Park
Danie P - Oct 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Danie P
Family with young children

Ongelooflik skoon en netjies.

Puik diens! Toe my kind siek was het hul dadelik vir my 'n dokterafspraak gemaak en gehelp waar hulle kan. Baie dankie Sally, jy was 'n ster.

Jill C - Jun 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jill C
Family with young children

Good value for money

Felt very safe while here.

Linette V - Dec 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
2/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Linette V
With friends

Nice atmosphere ....

Its a very beautiful place, just wish there were double beds in the rooms and that the rooms were more private from each other (ie if a group of friends share a room with partners). But I will stay here again.

From R1 430
per night (for 2 people)
From R1 430
per night (for 2 people)
From R1 430
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 42 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 11:00
  • Address: Lot k 85 Umfolozi village, Mtubatuba, 3935, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDMyODE3ZWQxLThkZDgtNDRiYy04MTk5LTViOGM0M2YwMTBiNQ?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R1 430  per night (for 2 people) 9 5 1 4 Lot k 85 Umfolozi village Mtubatuba 3935 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 11:00 -28.480316 32.182533
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

0860 022 102 | bookings@travelground.com