The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Umhlanga on the Rocks | TravelGround
+27

Umhlanga on the Rocks

17 reviews
Guest House

Review Summary

4.9 out of 5from 17 reviews for Umhlanga on the Rocks
Cleanliness
5.0/5
Service
4.9/5
Location
4.9/5
Safety
5.0/5
Value for money
4.8/5
Rudi J - Mar 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rudi J
With spouse/partner

Our accommodation was great!

Michelle was an awesome hostess! I’ll definitely go back there. She went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable. I highly recommend her accommodation.

Dominique V - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Dominique V

Amazing.

Baie lekker tyd gehad. Alles was mooi netjies en goed verduidelik. Naby aan die strand maklik om by ander plekke uit te kom. Vriendelike eienaars.

Tony And Marinda C - Dec 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tony And Marinda C
With spouse/partner

A Beautiful holiday.

When we arrived the TV was broken in our room so we were transferred to the luxury on suite room. A Magnificent view over the sea. The place is so close to all amenities and everybody was very friendly and helpful. Definitely return, well recommended. Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

Michael K - Dec 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Michael K
With spouse/partner

In a nutshell. Amazing.

Firstly starting with the hostess, Michelle: What a vibrant, unbelievably friendly person. Not only did we have full privacy all the time, whenever we needed any assistance or service she was available immediately. Our unit had a spectacular view of the ocean. The unit was top notch, fully equipped to cater for our every need. Guesthouse is located only a short walk to the best pubs and restaurants. This is by far the best guesthouse we stayed in and truly food to our souls. Would highly recommend.

Umhlanga on the Rocks's response

Wow, Michael thank you so much for your kind words! This is so appreciated.
Keep well and hope to see you both again.

Umhlanga on the Rocks
Rina C - Dec 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rina C
With spouse/partner

Perfect stay in Umhlanga.

As soon as we arrived the welcome was outstanding! What an amazing place. The ambience was great. From the second you enter this magical place you are awed by views, decor and friendly service. Excellent location with lovely ocean view. Thank you to our hostess Michelle, you were awesome ! You will definitely see us again.

Frans B - Nov 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Frans B
With spouse/partner

Pragtige, skoon en netjiese verblyf. Sal dit enige tyd aanbeveel.

Ons gasvrou Michelle, is voorwaar 'n persoon wat net gedurig haar gaste wil bederf. Baie dankie Michelle, ons het so tuis gevoel en ons Yorkie het dit ook geniet, want daar was oorgenoeg spasie vir hom om rond te beweeg wat ook baie veilig was. Die kamer het moderne dekor en alles wat nodig is was daar en natuurlik silwerskoon. Ons verblyf was regtig uitstekend en sal ons dit enige tyd aanbeveel.

Ursula M - Nov 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ursula M
With spouse/partner

Immaculate accomodation and the host and hostess were amazing.

Michelle and David went out of their way to make me feel at home. Fantastic bedroom with a gorgeous view! I would highly recommend this venue and will definitely be back!

Umhlanga on the Rocks's response

Thank you so much for this lovely review Ursula! This is much appreciated.

Umhlanga on the Rocks
Suhana S - Nov 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Suhana S
Family with young children

Birthday Weekend @ the beautiful Umhlanga on the Rocks

Hubby and I booked a day at this lovely place. The Owner is a wonderful lady, who is super friendly. She literally went the extra mile in ensuring we are super well taken care of and comfortable. The home/rooms are spotless and extremely clean and neat. The security is excellent, and you feel very safe and at home.. The place is about 500 m to the beach, easily walkable. It is also very central to Gateway and various other restaurants, etc. Was simply an awesome birthday, and we all enjoyed ourselves, especially my toddler. It was super special. Will definitely see us again soon!

Umhlanga on the Rocks's response

Wow, Suhana! Thank you so much for this incredible review! You left a huge lump in my throat.
I am so glad you had a wonderful stay. Hope to see you again in the future.

Umhlanga on the Rocks
Marischen V - Nov 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marischen V
With friends

Fantastiese ligging, vriendelike en welkome ontvangs, baie netjies.

Hierdie is 'n gastehuis wat ek vir seker op my padkaart na Durban sal stoor. Fantastiese ligging, vriendelike en welkome ontvangs. Ons was verras deur ons mooi, netjiese, goed ingerigte kamer. Ons het werklik tuis gevoel.

Debra P - Nov 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Debra P

Oornag voor 'n vlug van King Shaka Lughawe.

Die gasvrou was daar om ons te verwelkom, die plek is netjies met al die basiese geriewe en is goed geleë, binne stapafstand van die strand en eetplekke.

Mark V - Nov 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mark V
On business

Very clean and cosy !

Hosts very friendly and helpful. Ideal for the business traveler if staying over for 1 or 2 nights.

Lyda B - Nov 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lyda B
With spouse/partner

Great!

Super nice hosts, felt like family. They tick all the boxes, we didn't wait for anything. Very relaxing couple of days. Our pets were very comfortable and happy too. We will absolutely see you guys again soon!

Umhlanga on the Rocks's response

Wow, Lyda thank you so much for your kind words. We can't wait to see you guys again!

Umhlanga on the Rocks
Ancile P - Nov 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ancile P
Individual traveler

Wonderlike wegbreek.

Michelle is ‘n wonderlike gasvrou wat uit haar pad uit gaan om jou kuier so gerieflik as moontlik te maak. Die kamer is goed toegerus, skoon, netjies en baie rustig. My twee honde kinders het dit net so geniet. Ek sal Umhlanga on the Rocks met liefde aanbeveel.

Kevin N - Oct 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Kevin N
Individual traveler

Excellent, from start to finish.

The host was super friendly and efficient and went out of her way to make me feel welcome. Her husband went so far as to offer up space in his personal garage for my motorbike, in order to ensure that it was 100% safe and secure. Excellent establishment and owners, that make you feel most welcome and a part of the family.

Umhlanga on the Rocks's response

Thank you so much for your kind words Kevin! We appreciate this so much!

Umhlanga on the Rocks
Antonette B - Oct 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Antonette B
With spouse/partner

Absolutely wonderful.

Warm welcome. Beautiful clean room. The hosts go out of their way to make you feel welcome, at home and to make your stay enjoyable. Absolutely lovely hostess!

Umhlanga on the Rocks's response

Thank you so much for your kind words Antonette! We hope to see you again soon! Take care God Bless

Umhlanga on the Rocks
Jolene L - Oct 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jolene L
With spouse/partner

Rustig, veilig en ontspannend.

Michelle het ons vinnig baie welkom en tuis laat voel. Sy loop die ekstra myl en dadelik beskikbaar as jy haar nodig het. Ons sou by geen ander plek so lekker gebly het nie. Baie dankie Michelle. You are awesome.

Umhlanga on the Rocks's response

Thank you so much for your kind words Jolene! We appreciate it so much!!

Umhlanga on the Rocks
Melany S - Oct 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Melany S
With spouse/partner

Beautiful and clean accommodation

The room was really clean and nicely set up. The owner and hostess is very friendly and made you feel welcome from the get-go. It is a safe area with 24/7 security, we even took walks to the beach after 9 pm. The location is practical as it is walking distance from the beach and most of the shops. I highly recommend this listing.

Umhlanga on the Rocks's response

Thank you so much for your kind words Melanie! We appreciate it so very much!

Umhlanga on the Rocks
was R780
From R702
per night (sleeps 2)
was R780
From R702
per night (sleeps 2)
was R780
From R702
per night (sleeps 2)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 6 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 23:00
    Check-out: 11:00
  • Address: 86 Chartwell Drive, Umhlanga Rocks, Umhlanga, 4320, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAadca5346f8626a632b2a49f22b481ac0bee4aceddd869adc30b779932e1d2e036b8ea980d46e44b52045ada8df6ae3aab81e?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format was R780, now From R702  per night (sleeps 2) 17 5 1 5 86 Chartwell Drive Umhlanga Rocks 4320 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-23:00 11:00 -29.73797365794 31.077583813492
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!