The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Wild Fox Hill Eco Cabin | TravelGround
+23

Wild Fox Hill Eco Cabin

Self Catering

Review Summary

4.4 out of 5from 11 reviews for Wild Fox Hill Eco Cabin
Cleanliness
4.5/5
Service
4.5/5
Location
4.4/5
Safety
4.5/5
Value for money
4.2/5
Alana D - Aug 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Alana D
With spouse/partner

Peaceful, beautiful surroundings, lovely friendly hostess.

The cabin is on the rustic side but was clean and has everything you need. Stunning views. Great indoor fireplace. Be prepared to be eco-conscious in terms of water and electricity use but that is not a bad thing!

Maura R - May 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Maura R
Individual traveler

Friendly service, value for money.

Perfectly located in Hogsback. Cabin was very comfortable and cosy - wish I could have stayed there longer! Great value for money as well, and the owner was super kind and helpful. Would recommend!

Mandus T - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mandus T
With spouse/partner

Rus vir die siel en mooiste natuurskoon.

Die "cabin" het die mooiste uitsig van die berge, ons het ure op die stoep deurgebring. Van ontbyt eet tot laatnag koffie drink. Helen is ongelooflik vriendelik en behulpsaam. Ons het vanuit die berge gebel sodat sy die donkie kan aansteek vir 'n lekker warm bad, sy het dit vir ons gedoen. Sy het ook aanbevelings gemaak oor watter watervalle ons in ons kort tydjie daar moes gaan sien, en wow! Ons kan nie wag om weer by haar te boek nie.

Loni E - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Loni E
With friends

Lovely secluded fairy stay.

Friendly host. Eco-friendly accommodation.

Sharon C - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sharon C
With friends

Ons is definitief weer volgende jaar daar.

Fantastiese atmosfeer en natuurskoon. Wonderlike gasvryheid. Off the grid so ons was nie geraak deur loadshedding nie. Lieflike verblyf met alles wat jy nodig het. Uitstekend, ek kan nie wag om weer soontoe te gaan nie.

Kobus K - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Kobus K
With spouse/partner

Baie gesellige wegbreek-plekkie met 'n pragtige uitsig!

Wild Fox Hill Eco Cabin is 'n pragtige plekkie! Afgesonder, netjies, gesellig en vol karakter! Die kaggel was wonderlik tydens ons eerste koue aand. Die gasvrou, Helen is baie vriendelik en hulpvaardig. Ons het heerlik hier gebly en sal definitief weer kom!

Wild Fox Hill Eco Cabin's response

Thank you Kobus for your generous review :) I so enjoyed having you both come and stay and am delighted that you will return one day!

Wild Fox Hill Eco Cabin
Jeneane J - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
2/5
Location
2/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
2/5
Jeneane J
Family with young children

Not what we expected.

Unfortunately we will not book here again. The cottage was not well equipped, no hot water, the shower was very weak and we had to light the donkey for hot water. Washbasins had no water. The bath was also out of order. The roof leaked inside and outside our room. No privacy at window, no curtains. The owner's workers were constantly passing by and even her guests. It was a bad experience for a holiday we'd been looking forward to.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Nie wat ons verwag het nie.

Ons sal ongelukkig nie weer daar bespreek nie. Huisie was nie goed toegerus nie, nie warm water nie, stort was baie flou en ons moes donkie aansteek vir warm water. Wasbakke het geen water gehad nie. Die bad was ook buite werking. Die dak het gelek binne huis en buite ons kamer. Geen privaatheid van venster, geen gordyne. Die eienaar se werkers het gedurig verby geloop en selfs haar gaste. Dit was slegte ervaring vir vakansie wat jy na uitsien.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Wild Fox Hill Eco Cabin's response

It is with joy that I share my beloved eco-cabin with friends and strangers alike. I, therefore, deeply regret any negative experiences guests may have. I am truly sorry Jeneane and family for your unfortunate experience at my Wild Fox Hill eco-cabin.

I do, however, feel that I must respond to this review to provide a more balanced picture. For starters, Hogsback is currently in a severe water crisis. Our dam has run dry, as has our municipal water and many establishments are struggling to meet the water expectations of our guests. A water aware campaign has begun in Hogsback with the message, "the last drop". In this campaign there are requests for guests to bring their own linen, only wash plates when necessary, consider a top and tails wash, and absolutely NO baths...the list continues. Being passionate about self-sufficiency I've never been connected to the municipal water, but have rather invested in 10 rainwater tanks. Unfortunately, due to a serious of mishaps (burst pipes) and lack of rainfall, my tanks were running low and there wasn't enough pressure for the water to get into the solar geyser (problem no 1).

My back up plan is a donkey boiler, allowing hot water to still flow in the cabin. I saw it as my duty to light the boiler morning and evening and expressed this to my guests. However, on a few occasions, I saw that the guests had taken it upon themselves to light the boiler. This was NOT expected of them! (I can thankfully say that I border a flowing river, and now with my ram pump finally working, my feeder tank is almost full and water now flows into the cabin's geyser, providing hot water at a decent pressure.

Regarding privacy, guests generally don't have such expectations of privacy. I now realise the importance of this and will be constructing a fence around the cabin as one of my next projects.

In summary, my passion is the environment and my cabin has been designed to have as little negative environmental impact as possible. There might, consequently, be a few quirks along the way. If you don't mind such quirks and are passionate about treading lightly on the earth, while enjoying beautiful views, quietness, cosy log fires, outside bonfires, deep sleeps, and rustic, simple living then this cabin is for you.

Wild Fox Hill Eco Cabin
Juan R - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Juan R
With spouse/partner

Breathtaking.

The place is any nature lover's heaven. If you love adventure I would recommend hiking trails or even if you just like reading a nice book in front of a nice fire, the place is for you. Very basic, yet fully equipped.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Asemrowend.

Die plekkie is enige natuurliefhebber se hemel. As jy hou van avontuur sal ek die hiking trails aanbeveel of al hou jy net van 'n lekker boek lees voor 'n lekker kaggelvuur, die plek is dan vir jou. Baie basies, maar tog volledig toegerus.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Elsabe W - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Elsabe W
Family with teenagers

Was voorwaar n ondervinging.

Baie hoog op in die berg, pragtige uitsig. Plek was redelik toegerus. Niks fancy nie. Alleenlik vir mense wat baie van die ongerepte natuur hou. Houthuisie, afgesonder. Ons het net een nag daar geslaap, sal nie rêrig vir langer daar bly nie. Aanbeveel vir ernstige natuurliefhebbers.

Joey N - Feb 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Joey N
With spouse/partner

Fantastic.

Fantastic off-grid accommodation. Amazing views and tranquility that no money can buy.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Fantasties.

Fantastiese 'off the grid'-verblyf. Ongelooflike mooi uitsig en rustigheid wat geen geld kan koop.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Burnita S - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Burnita S

Baie rustig en ontspannend.

Dis baie rustig en ontspannend. Eienaar so seker gemaak alles is reg en netjies en volg op dat ons gemaklik was. Sal enigetyd weer Wild Fox Hill Eco Cabin kies.

From
R1 525
per night, for 6 ppl
From
From R1 525
per night, for 6 ppl
From
R1 525
per night, for 6 ppl
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 6 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 21:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: Plaatjieskraal Road, 27 Wolfridge Road, Hogsback, 5721, Eastern Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAA4165797de20335eb45e921a9269aad905eafc6fd2bf4bcd42199bfb55c4454a09acaecf5560730aeb679554c330b850ee301?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=enhance,format,compress&q=80 From R1 525  per night, for 6 ppl 11 5 1 5 Plaatjieskraal Road 27 Wolfridge Road 5721 Eastern Cape 0860 022 102 14:00-21:00 10:00 -32.583324293118 26.914270100858
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!