The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Wildflower Cottage | TravelGround
+14

Wildflower Cottage

Self Catering

Review Summary

4.6 out of 5from 34 reviews for Wildflower Cottage
Cleanliness
4.7/5
Service
4.4/5
Location
4.5/5
Safety
4.6/5
Value for money
4.8/5
Muda V - Sep 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Muda V
With friends

Heerlik rustig.

Wildflower Cottage is by die toeriste-roete van Barrydale en ons kon na al die winkeltjies en restaurante stap. Die huisie is direk agter 'n bekende "pub" waar mens kan gaan TV kyk as jy moet, maar dit was doodstil in die nag.

Diane V - Aug 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Diane V
With spouse/partner

Lovely, quirky cottage.

Unusual, quirky cottage but comfortable for our overnight stay. Thank you to Francine.

Ishmael J - Jul 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Ishmael J
With friends

Very enjoyable.

Very cosy and clean. Nice place to relax.

Nerine S - Jul 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nerine S
Family with teenagers

Lekker huisie met vriendelike stoep en tuin.

Daar is elektrisiteitsprobleme - waarskuwings van krag wat sal afslaan as jy die ketel en geiser gelyk aansit!? Dis mos die eienaar se probleem? Die ligte in die huisie is regtig onvoldoende - dis erg donker. Dit wil voorkom asof dit 'n algemene probleem by verblyfhuise is. Vertel hulle tog van LED-ligte asseblief?

Wildflower Cottage 's response

Thank you for your review of my house, but I must put you right regarding the electricity. There is no inherent problem with the electricity the house is approved with 35 amps. This I inform each client beforehand in the email I send. I also inform them how to manage the amps so that the amps don't become overloaded. You failed to read my email, this caused a power outage and I had to get an electrician in to reset the machine, not a difficult task but at a great expense to myself. If you had read the email you would have not had this problem. The issue is not the electrics but rather that it was not managed correctly as stated in my email.

Wildflower Cottage
Suzanne M - May 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Suzanne M

We were 3 people on a road trip and needed a one night stay. The cottage catered for everything we needed.

We thoughroughly enjoyed our stay at Wildflower Cottage. Braai facilities were excellent. Everything was clean and functional. Just a pity about the load music from the ajacent restaurant which caried on into the night.

Elzette R - Mar 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Elzette R
With spouse/partner

Goeie ligging, lekker privaat en ontspanne.

Baie lekker, regte kothuis, sal weer daar bly.

Gerrie G - Feb 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Gerrie G
With friends

Goeie waarde vir geld.

'n Regte nagmaaltipe huisie. So gevoel of ons in my ouma se ou, skoon plaashuis gekuier het. Die mees vriendelike dame het ons ontvang en geen moeite was ontsien om ons welkom te laat voel.

Gideon M - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Gideon M
On business

Uitstekend.

Mooi plekkie met alles wat jy nodig het. Skoon, vriendelike diens.

Tersja S - Aug 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
1/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tersja S
With friends

Baie lekker.

Ligging baie lekker. Die poele by Barrydale by Tredoux pas is lieflik. Alles was fantasties! Kon die Springbok wedstryd kyk by die Bar reg oorkant die cottage. Was te lekker!

Sybelle S - Jul 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
2/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Sybelle S
With friends

It was a reasonable place to stay but don't expect luxury. It is a rustic home.

We were there in the winter and the house was cold and there was not enough warm bedding, just a thin summer duvet, and thin blankets. There was a dirty washing-up sponge and a pot brush that had seen better days. I did not use them at all. There was nobody wash in the showers and notices that said you use the shower at your own risk. If the showers are not safe, then surely you would have handrails to hang onto? There is no TV nor is there a radio, so heed their advice and take your own music and entertainment. I also noted that the house was up for sale.

Wildflower Cottage 's response

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not get the luxury treatment you were expecting. The price reflects that this is not a luxury home but a quirky and rustic place as you have described. As I always say in my detailed email if you have any issues or problems to contact either myself or my key lady. It would not have been a problem to provide you with more warm bedding, there are wall heaters and hot water bottles to make the place more comfortable I can't imagine why you did not avail yourself of them. As for the dirty washing up sponge, that is a minor detail which I am sure we could have resolved very quickly with a replacement if you had indeed contacted us with your complaints. My description on the website does indeed say that there is no TV or wifi. It's a pity that you did not read that clearly first before you decided to book with us.

Wildflower Cottage
Jacques D - May 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jacques D
With friends

Goeie en gemaklike verblyf.

Op kort kennisgewing bespreek en ons het die eenheid baie geniet. Goed geleë en goeie waarde vir geld.

Ronel S - Feb 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
2/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ronel S
Family with teenagers

Very pleasant.

We had a very pleasant stay and enjoyed the outside area where we had a lovely braai. On arrival, the lady who runs the accommodation on behalf of the owner and who lives right next door, complained continuously about all and sundry which was unfortunate, and was still topping up tea and coffee once she handed over the keys. After having been informed that the cleaner was not coming in on Sunday morning to clean upon our check out and that no other visitors were checking in on Sunday, the lady was standing at the gate of the cottage at 10:00 sharp (check-out time) watching us packing the last few items in our car complaining again about her knees, the heat, load shedding.

Christine D - Oct 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Christine D

Lekker plekkie!

Wildflower Cottage het 'n warm, hartlike gevoel. Dis baie netjies en lekker geleë in die hartjie van Barrydale! Reg by al die restaurante. Sal beslis weer hier tuisgaan.

Wildflower Cottage 's response

Thank you Christine for a wonderful review would love to have you back. Kind regards Mary

Wildflower Cottage
Trudie F - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Trudie F
With spouse/partner

Wat 'n juweel!

Heerlike plek om te bly, reg in die hartjie van die dorp! Sit op die stoep en kyk na die berge, wat 'n plesier. Net jammer ons was net een aand daar, sal volgende keer vir seker langer bly!!

Errol S - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Errol S
With friends

An excellent choice of self-catering facility and we booked it without having stayed in Barrydale before!

We were part of group of 22 people going to Barrydale to visit their Open Gardens and thought there could a shortage of suitable accommodation so relied on their website for info. We were not disappointed and felt that it was excellent value for money. The only negative aspect was that we took too much with us and so a bit difficult to offload everything as access was limited. Excellent braai pit available.

Anneke F - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Anneke F
With friends

Neat, safe and warm atmosphere.

Neat and safe. Slept well.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Netjies, veilig en warm atmosfeer.

Netjies en veilig. Lekker geslaap.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Johan C - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Johan C
Family with teenagers

Plek was netjies en goed toegerus.

Diens was baie goed. Waarde vir geld.

Sharlotte Catherine B - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sharlotte Catherine B
Family with young children

We had an awesome time there.

We had an awesome time, my kids could play outside with friends till dark. We enjoyed it. Thank you guys!

Jean P - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jean P
With friends

Van die beste.

Absolute puik diens. Pragtige en netjiese kothuis. Het die beste tyd gehad. Sal sterk aanbeveel.

Wynand D - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Wynand D
With spouse/partner

Gerieflike verblyf, naby verskeie eetplekke.

Bekostigbare, netjiese verblyf naby restaurante en winkels in stil straat.

Tanya N - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tanya N
With spouse/partner

We loved the cottage: the only thing which could make it better is if we could bring our dogs with us next time.

The cottage is a delight: clean, beautifully decorated and charming. We loved it.

Kirsten V - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Kirsten V
With friends

Great place to stay in Barrydale.

Beautiful cottage in Barrydale. Very conveniently located and a great place to stay at on a stopover in Barrydale.

Tricia S - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Tricia S
Family with teenagers

It was very cosy and nicely decorated with a homely feel, and we loved sitting on the stoep enjoying the view.

It was very cosy and nicely decorated with a homely feel, and we loved sitting on the stoep enjoying the view. We lunched at Diesel and Creme one of days which was very convenient, and would have loved to sit around the fire but were out with family most of the time. We liked being close to nature so it suited us.

Francois D - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Francois D
Family with teenagers

Goeie waarde vir geld en lekker ruim! Beveel dit aan!

Werklik goeie waarde vir geld en lekker ruim. Dis ook baie goed toegerus! Dit was ook baie mooi skoon en lekker warm. Opsigter het vooraf die verwarmers aangesit sodat die winterkoue verdryf kon word! Lekker!

Wildflower Cottage 's response

Dear Francois, thank you so much for your kind review would love to have you all back here. Kind regards, Mary

Wildflower Cottage
Bronwyn W - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Bronwyn W
With friends

Lovely cosy cottage.

Wonderful location places you within walking distance of almost every restaurant and shop in Barrydale. Cottage is nice and clean and we felt quite safe.

Wildflower Cottage 's response

Thank you, Bronwyn for your kind review. We enjoyed having you stay and would welcome you back anytime. Kind regards, Mary

Wildflower Cottage
Heila V - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Heila V
With friends

Very convenient and cosy.

Very convenient accommodation and will definitely stay there again in the future.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie gerieflik en gesellig.

Baie gerieflike akkommodasie en sal beslis weer daar oorbly in die toekoms.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Susan L - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Susan L
With friends

Lovely cottage and very comfortable.

A great stay, would recommend to others.

Wildflower Cottage 's response

Thank you so much for your lovely review, Susan. We look forward to the day you will visit us again.

Kind regards
Mary

Wildflower Cottage
Lurinda M - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lurinda M
Family with young children

Very cute and peaceful cottage.

Cottage looks smaller on the photos than it actually is. Has beautiful large stoep with an amazing view of the mountains. Has a lovely braai area under a huge oak tree. The garden is absolutely beautiful and very big, loads of space for small children to play. Would have been nicer if the cottage had a television and maybe DVD Player, especially for smaller children to keep them entertained but luckily I took my laptop with to keep my daughter entertained. Overall we had a very pleasant stay at The Wildflower Cottage.

Wildflower Cottage 's response

Thanks so much Lurinda, for that amazing review. There is a note in the main narrative of the house about there not being any entertainment for the kids, though I am not sure everyone reads all the detail. But now that you mention it, I may just add that people bring along their laptops or tablets with some movies to entertain their kids. You were the perfect guests and left the place so clean and tidy. We'd love to have you all back again.

Wildflower Cottage
Ansie M - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ansie M
With friends

Baie interessante huisie.

Ons het heerlik in die pragtige huisie gekuier. Die eienaar is nog nie klaar met huisverbeterings nie, sal graag huisie wil sien as alles voltooi is.

Wildflower Cottage 's response

Dear Ansie,

Thank you for your positive review. it was lovely having you all stay. We are now complete with all our renovations and hope to see you again in the not-too-distant future.

Kind regards,
Mary

Wildflower Cottage
Juanita L - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Juanita L
With spouse/partner

Cute, neat cottage.

Had a lovely one night stop over stay in this cottage which was close to everything. Sure once the bathroom is completed it will be great. Main bedroom could have a change in bed maybe a little bigger. All in all had a lovely stay.

Wildflower Cottage 's response

Dear Juanita,

Thank you for your positive review, it was great having you stay.

I am happy to say the alterations are all now complete and looking great. The bedroom will be increasing in size later this year as will the kitchen with a new kitchenette added to the main bedroom. We probably won't be replacing the queen-size bed anytime soon, as the cottage is small and cute and does not really lend itself to a large king-size bed.

I hope you will come again soon.

Kind regards,
Mary

Wildflower Cottage
Simonn L - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
5/5
Simonn L
With spouse/partner

Dit was baie gemaklik en rustig.

Die dame wat daar werk is baie vriendelik en behulpsaam. Alles was netjies en skoon. Dis 'n ou plekkie met lae deure en 'n klomp fitterjasies, maar dis baie gemaklik en baie rustig.

Annemé C - Nov 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Annemé C

Salige rustigheid en ou wêreldse bekoring!

Die lieflike klein huisie aan die kant van Barrydale was 'n heerlike verrassing! 'n Ou wêreldse atmosfeer begroet jou sodra jy die deur oopmaak. Alles is baie netjies en skoon en die plekkie is volledig ingerig met alles wat jy moontlik kan benodig. Die tuin was net so 'n verrassing met sitplekke onder die bome wat jou behoorlik uitnooi om te benut! Ons sal enige tyd weer gebruik maak van Wildflower Cottage.

Wildflower Cottage 's response

Dear Johan,

Thank you for your lovely review. You were the ideal guests who appreciated the charms of the cottage, not glamorous but very homely and comfortable. We will have lots more improvements by early next year, like a new bathroom, possibly an en-suite as well and also access to Wi-Fi. You are very welcome here.

Kind regards
Mary

Wildflower Cottage
Rene K - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Rene K

It was lovely and comfy, but not suitable for young kids.

We visited the place for a family event and were very satisfied with the accommodation. There's nothing to do for young people and maybe they should mention it in the advertisement. Basics such as coffee, tea, and sugar were stale and tasteless. The crockery was neat and clean. The fact that they have electricity issues should also be mentioned when you book. The lady who helped us (neighbour) was friendly and helpful. Great rates, that's one of the things that caught my eye.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Dit was baie aangenaam en gerieflik, maar nie geskik vir jong kinders nie.

Ons het die plekkie besoek vir 'n familiegeleentheid en was baie tevrede met die akkommodasie. Daar is niks vir jong mense om te doen nie en dit moet dalk genoem word in die advertensie. Die basiese benodighede in die huis soos koffie, tee en suiker was oud en smaakloos - die koffie het al verslaan. Die breekware was alles baie netjies en skoon. Die feit dat die blyplek sukkel met kragtoevoer en gereeld onderbrekings het, is dalk ook iets wat genoem moet word tydens die bespreking. Die dame wat ons gehelp het (die buurvrou) was vriendelik en behulpsaam. Die prys was beslis baie goed en iets wat ek baie beslis as 'n aantrekking gevind het.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Wildflower Cottage 's response

Thank you for your review of Wildflower Cottage Rene, we appreciate all constructive comments as this will enable us to improve and give guests a better experience. I will mention to parents that they should ensure they bring sufficient items for their children's entertainment. I do ensure that guests are aware of the low amps of the house, due to the house being very old we do send them an email beforehand to inform them of such and how to ensure they have enough for the appliances they need I will add this to the description so they can be aware of this.

Kind regards
Mary

Wildflower Cottage
Nicole W - Aug 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Nicole W
With friends

Pragtig en netjies - 'n regte klein juweeltjie.

Alles was maklik en stresloos - van die bespreking tot die kennismaking met die eienares tot die aankoms en vertrek. Die feit dat mens deur die een kamer moet loop om by die 3de kamer te kom is 'n bietjie ongemaklik. Vir ouers en jong kinders sal dit egter nie pla nie. Daar is ook nie 'n stort nie, wat jammer is.

Wildflower Cottage 's response

Dear Elza,

Thank you so much for your positive response, we value all comments greatly and will endeavour to rectify any and all issues that need addressing. The geography of the rooms is a bit awkward at present and not having a shower I can see that it would be a negative factor, though the lack of these are reflected in the price. That being said, plans are afoot to renovate the bathroom complete with a new shower installed at year end. Also, we will be changing the geography of the bathroom leading into the bedroom and open up a new entrance into the house which will alleviate this problem.

We enjoyed having you stay and welcome your return.

Kind regards
Mary

Wildflower Cottage
From
R1 800
per night, for 6 ppl
From
From R1 800
per night, for 6 ppl
From
R1 800
per night, for 6 ppl
Make a Booking
  • Free cancellation up to 24 hours before your stay!
  • Capacity: 6 people
  • Check-in: 15:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 2 Sprigg Street, Barrydale, 6750, Western Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJGE4NDFmNTJkLTNhNDEtNDdlMi05MTY4LTkzOTMzNGViNWExYQ?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=enhance,format,compress&q=80 From R1 800  per night, for 6 ppl 34 5 1 5 2 Sprigg Street Barrydale 6750 Western Cape 0860 022 102 15:00-19:00 10:00 -33.905617768133 20.715570598841
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!