The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Woodlands Cottages and Backpackers | TravelGround
+75

Woodlands Cottages and Backpackers

13 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

3.6 out of 5from 13 reviews for Woodlands Cottages and Backpackers
Cleanliness
3.3/5
Service
3.5/5
Location
3.8/5
Safety
4.0/5
Value for money
3.5/5
Zander F - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Zander F
Individual traveler

Vriendelike omgewing. Baie dankie.

Sien sterre.

Woodlands Cottages and Backpackers's response

Baie Dankie Zander vir julle verblyf and goeie worde van ons en ons plekkie. Groete en sien julle weer.
Woodlands span.

Woodlands Cottages and Backpackers
M'lani B - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
M'lani B
Family with young children

Great staff, loads to do for the kids.

We were so pleasantly surprised with our beautiful little cottage hideaway. It was even serviced daily.

Woodlands Cottages and Backpackers's response

HI Iani , it was great to have you stay with us, and enjoy our space and place. We try and keep the place clean and neat with all the pets, bush and weather it can be quiet a job. Kids are free and enjoy the exploring Thank you for the kind review, much appreciated.

Kind regards,
Allen and Woodlands team.

Woodlands Cottages and Backpackers
Beverkey W - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
1/5
Beverkey W
Family with young children

Lots of money for such basic facilities. Feels like school field trip accommodation.

Everything was dusty and the outdoor bath, table and chairs weren't even clean.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie geld vir verskriklike basiese geriewe. Veldskool-tipe verblyf.

Alles was so stowwerig en buitebad en tafel en stoeltjies was nie eens skoon gewees nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Lyndene J - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Lyndene J
With spouse/partner

Friendly service, secure and private. No short comings found.

Perfect, owner well respected by community as we visit shops in surrounding area, noting we were only visiting for the weekend. Have already recommended cottage to friends and working colleagues.

Bertram H - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Bertram H
With spouse/partner

Rustig en moeite vry.

Die plek was sprokies tussen die woude met lekker lewens positiewe aktiwiteite. Dit was baie lekker.

Woodlands Cottages and Backpackers's response

Thank you Bertram, appreciate your great enjoyment of Woodlands, we really try and make guests feel at home on the property.

Kind regards,
Allen and Woodlands team.

Woodlands Cottages and Backpackers
George H - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
2/5
Location
2/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
1/5
George H
With spouse/partner

Bad condition.

We stayed in a very unpleasant little cottage, which was not very clean. The bathroom was a total disaster, with no hot water. The whole appearance of the cottage was tatty. It was obvious that very little maintenance has been carried out over the years.

Woodlands Cottages and Backpackers's response

HI George,
IT would be great if you could have contacted me immediately on your stay, and would have assisted. We are not a fancy place, actually very rustic, and try and make do with the vibe we have. I am extremely focused on clean, so very sad to hear this statement. Yes, some of the cottages are older, however priced accordingly. We are a low volume guest travel spot, and value your input, thank your your feedback and we will continually try and improve where possible.
Regards Allen

Woodlands Cottages and Backpackers
Beppi H - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Beppi H
With spouse/partner

Dit was lekker gewees.

Ons het lekker gekuier by woodlands. Net op die netheid dat wanneer daar skoon gemaak word, soos leë sjampoobottels, en ander goed wat die vorige kliënte gelos het opgeruim word. Verder was alles netjies gewees.

Woodlands Cottages and Backpackers's response

HI Beppi,

I am sorry about these bottles not being removed. We are continually training and checking on the tidiness and cleanliness in on the property. This is not good, and apologize for this.I am glad that you enjoy the free space and bush vibe we offer, and hope to see you again. 0

Kind regards Allen

Woodlands Cottages and Backpackers
Natalie F - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Natalie F
With spouse/partner

Nothing fancy, but comfortable enough.

The setting is lovely, high up on the hill above the Bushman's river. The overall feel is maybe a little run down, beautiful place with a large amount of potential. As we were the only guests at the backpackers, we did not try the restaurant, but had some drinks at the bar - great gin selection. Overall, was a pleasant stop - room was clean, no real atmosphere (but this is not really the backpacker's fault) and nothing super fancy.

Woodlands Cottages and Backpackers's response

Hi Natalie
Thank you for the reply. Glad you enjoyed a good Gin. Yes, agreed, Kenton is a tough business model, with mostly holiday vibe and group stays for events thought the year. Long weekends and weekends are normally busier. Most people enjoy the peace ,tranquility, birding and chilled vibe away from the race.

Adventurers and explorers enjoy the Hikes, and Kayaking trips.

There is a great promise i have to myself to make Woodlands better and better as we try attract more guests.
Thank you again, hope to see and meet you again soon. Allen

Woodlands Cottages and Backpackers
Estelle Z - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
2/5
Location
2/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
3/5
Estelle Z
With friends

The place is ok but it needs maintenance.

The place was clean. Our request for single bed linen was handled efficiently. Dogs and cats jump unto the couch, cupboards and beds. Won't book again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Plek is ok, maar kort instandhouding.

Plek was skoon. Ons versoek vir enkelbed-beddegoed is gemaklik hanteer. Honde en katte spring op jou bank, kaste of beddens. Ek sal nie sommer teruggaan nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Woodlands Cottages and Backpackers's response

Hi Estelle,
We are really sorry to hear this. Sadly we could have made your stay better should you have made us aware. Lexi is a new pup ( busy) sorry she irritated you in your cottage. We do want people to enjoy there stay. It looks like your complete stay was concerning. We are not the fanciest place, but make a huge effort to be clean and safe. Our staff is also on-site all the time.
Kind regards,
Allen

Woodlands Cottages and Backpackers
Jo-anne B - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
1/5
Jo-anne B
With spouse/partner

Good for pathfinders and school tours.

The owner was absent. The place didn't look like the advertisement on the website. The hot water shower is constantly stopping while showering. Uncomfortable toilet with bookcase on your chest. The two-plate stove was out of order.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Dit is goed vir padvinders en skooltoere.

Die eienaar was nie daar nie. Die akkommodasie het nie gelyk soos op die webwerf nie. Die warmwaterstort stop kort-kort terwyl mens stort. Ongemaklike toilet met boekrak op jou borskas. Die tweeplaatstoof werk nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Woodlands Cottages and Backpackers's response

Hi Jo-anne,
I will investigate this. We have various cottages, with different characteristics and features, they do however have strengths and weaknesses per. We have a relaxed vibe and enjoy the peace and bush vibe. Our prices are extremely competitive.

Woodlands Cottages and Backpackers
Yvonne V - Nov 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Yvonne V
With friends

Our stay was excellent. It was calm and protected from the wind.

We enjoyed our stay at Woodlands immensely. We made a cosy fire and barbecued. reception was very friendly and made us feel at home.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ons verblyf was uitstekend. Dit is baie rustig en baie beskut teen die wind.

Ons het die verblyf by Woodlands baie geniet. Ons het 'n gesellige vuur gemaak en ook gebraai. Die ontvangs was baie vriendelik en ons het baie tuis gevoel.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Woodlands Cottages and Backpackers's response

Thank you so much, this is the place for you.
Kind regards,
Allen

Woodlands Cottages and Backpackers
Jayachandren J - Mar 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jayachandren J
Family with young children

Good stay with a peaceful and private ambience.

We enjoyed the stay, though short it was sweet.

Woodlands Cottages and Backpackers's response

Good morning,
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, looking forward seeing you again.

Woodlands Cottages and Backpackers
Cornelia D - Mar 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Cornelia D

Dit was magies!

Ons was werklik ontvang met vriendelike behulpsame mense. Ons keer graag terug. Die kos was uit die boonste rakke. Waarde vir geld.

Woodlands Cottages and Backpackers's response

Lovely, you welcome anytime, and we trying to improve as we grow financially. Thank you for the good and kind write-up.
Kind regards,
Allen

Woodlands Cottages and Backpackers
From R450
per night (sleeps 2)
From R450
per night (sleeps 2)
From R450
per night (sleeps 2)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 51 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 16:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: Grahamstown Road, Kenton-on-Sea, 6191, Eastern Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAca211dfd88f4999003c424fdf14807bd5be319809aaf68344f9556138bd3c85377639c6a0f259035c155bdbc2d61567de257?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R450  per night (sleeps 2) 13 5 1 4 Grahamstown Road Kenton-on-Sea 6191 Eastern Cape 0860 022 102 14:00-16:00 10:00 -33.670738 26.651674
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!