Fort Frederick is a stone fort that sits predominantly on a hilltop overlooking the mouth of the Baakens River in Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape. Named after Frederick the Duke of York and Commander of the British Army, the fort was built in 1799 by British soldiers as protection against a possible landing of French troops in the harbour during the Napoloeonic wars.
At over 200 years old, the fort is one of the oldest stone forts in the region and contains a powder magazine and blockhouse. It was originally defended by two 8-pounder guns and a 5.5 inch Howitzer. Today it contains a collection of muzzle-loaders dating back to the 18th century. On the north of the fort lies the grave of Captain Francis Evatt, Commandant of Fort Frederick between 1817 – 1847. Despite its military purpose, not one of the eight cannons has fired a shot at war.
Today the fort is little more than a few brick walls, but it is worth visiting purely for the history and views alone. The fort is close enough to the Donkin Reserve to incorporate in the Donkin Heritage Trail.