North West University

Contact Details


North West University (NWU) is a multi-campus university stretching across two provinces. The Mafikeng and Potchefstroom campuses are situated in the North West province and the Vaal Triangle Campus is in Gauteng. The head office, known as the Institutional Office, is in Potchefstroom.

North West University was established in January 2004 through the merger of two universities: the Potchefstroom University for Christian Higher Education and the University of the North-West. The merge made the university one of the largest in South Africa. Today the university continues to encourage multiculturalism, multilingualism, and multinationalism, setting them apart from other universities and colleges in the area.

The university offers students a diverse choice of study options at both undergraduate and postgraduate level, including agriculture, arts, commerce, engineering, education, health, law, natural sciences, and theology. The campus has its own cricket academy, cycling academy, and rowing club. Sports include rugby, hockey, cricket, netball, soccer, body building, dance, and chess.



Nearby Attractions

If you've gotten this far, you've clearly enjoyed reading about North West University! Why not make a holiday of it and check out our list of accommodation near North West University?
Nearby Accommodation Click to show accommodation options close to North West University

You may also be interested in browsing our selection of accommodation in Kanonierspark or reading about Kanonierspark

Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

0860 022 102 |