University Of Pretoria

Contact Details


The University of Pretoria (UO), commonly Tuks or Tukkies, is a multi-campus public research university in Pretoria. Established in 1908 as the Pretoria campus of the Johannesburg-based Transvaal University College, the University of Pretoria has 7 academic campuses, the top business school in Africa, and the only veterinary school in South Africa.

The main campus and administration offices are located in Hatfield and house six out of nine of the university’s faculties. The Hatfield campus covers 24 hectares and has over 60 historical buildings. Other campuses include LC de Villiers Sports Ground, Groenkloof, Prinshof, Mamelodi, Onderstepoort, and the Gordon Institute of Business Sciences.

The university is made up of 9 faculties and a business school which has consistently been ranked as the top business school in Africa for executive education. The University of Pretoria’s Faculty of Veterinary Science (1920) is the second oldest veterinary school in Africa and the only veterinary school in South Africa.

Since 2007, University of Pretoria has produced more research outputs annually than any other university in South Africa. In 2008, it awarded 15.8% of all masters and doctorate degrees in South Africa - the highest in the country.

The campus is serviced by the Hatfield Gautrain station that connects Pretoria and Johannesburg. A university bus shuttle operates between the Hatfield campus and the Groenkloof and Prinshof campuses, while a park and ride shuttle operates between the Hatfield campus and the LC de Villiers Sport Grounds.

Other facilities include an experimental farm, the Old Merensky Library (housing the Edoardo Villa Museum), Van Wouw Museum, Christo Coetzee collection, Sci-Enza, Kya Rosa Victorian house, chapel, amphitheatre, university newspaper, Tuks FM radio station, and the Aula theatre. A retired SAAF Mirage FICZ was donated to the university and assembled by the South African Air Force Museum with the aim of promoting science and technology at the university.

The University of Pretoria’s art collection consists of paintings, sculptures, and graphic works by South African artists like Jacobus Hendrik Pierneef, William Kentridge, and Sam Ngethwa, as well as international artists like Otto Mueller, Max Pechstein, and Thomas Benton.

The Old Arts Building was declared a provincial heritage site in 1968 and houses the Van Tilburg Collection, Van Gybland-Oosterhoff Collection, and Mapungubwe Museum. The university is the custodian of the artefact collection at Mapungubwe National Park.


  • Economic and management sciences
  • Education
  • Engineering, the Built Environment and IT
  • Health sciences
  • Humanities
  • Law
  • Natural and agricultural sciences
  • Theology
  • Veterinary science
  • GIBS Business School



Nearby Attractions

If you've gotten this far, you've clearly enjoyed reading about University Of Pretoria! Why not make a holiday of it and check out our list of accommodation near University Of Pretoria?
Nearby Accommodation Click to show accommodation options close to University Of Pretoria

You may also be interested in browsing our selection of accommodation in Hillcrest or reading about Hillcrest

Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

0860 022 102 | [email protected]