The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Bumblebees B&B | TravelGround
+29

Bumblebees B&B

Review Summary

4.7 out of 5from 33 reviews for Bumblebees B&B
Cleanliness
4.7/5
Service
4.7/5
Location
4.6/5
Safety
4.8/5
Value for money
4.6/5
Noleen A - Dec 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Noleen A
Family with teenagers

Fantastic place to stay.

Five star service and would definitely go back again. Phil & Alison were absolutely wonderful.

Bumblebees B&B's response

Noleen, thank you so much for your wonderful review. We need all the encouragement we can get after what has been a truly awful year in the hospitality industry.
Wishing you and your family all the very best. Stay safe and healthy. We do hope you will consider returning to Bumblebees at some stage.
Warm regards,
Alison and Philip

Bumblebees B&B
Fanie D - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Fanie D
On business

Wonderlike gasheer en gasvrou.

Lekker verblyf. Sentraal geleë.

Bumblebees B&B's response

Baie dankie Fanie vir jou lekker review. Kom terug!

Bumblebees B&B
Adriaan R - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Adriaan R
With spouse/partner

The people who own this place made me feel uncomfortable, that doesn't mean people are bad people.

They are what I would call outdated in the sense that the DStv was really old, the fact that one could not vape - I find it very uncomfortable that we qualified as smokers. The room itself looks very decent, the television set is very minute and I would suggest something larger then a 20 inch. The sheets which present activities are outdated, as I believe the pamphlet was made a few years ago, they do need to strongly consider that Wi-Fi is something of the new age. I am a chronic diagnosed Insomniac, which means I sleep on weekends so breakfast at 08:00 is harsh for me. The breakfast itself was decent - rushed but decent since they press themselves for time, I also believe the old tradition of clocking out at 10:00 is nonsense, as me and my spouse had nothing else to do for the rest of the day and we did not have a lot of fuel to drive out, and we do not visit Durban often, the soul purpose was to spend the remainder of the day relaxing, yet the check out time says 11:00 on the pamphlet provided we where politely asked to leave 10:20 indiscreetly and indirectly which I did not appreciate. The bathroom has a fancy look about it as well as the room. We were provided with powdered milk to make coffee which I do not agree with, the shower/bath was decent but leaked a lot so I tried to be as careful as possible, the most inconvenient thing to me was the fridge which was not even stocked with a single beverage - you pay a lot of money to stay for a single night but that is not provided it was stipulated that the bar could be accessed which I did not completely understand, but to my knowledge it meant the main house which I was not obligated to enter out of respect since we only arrived 21:30- may be a bit later, nothing I could do. I did apologise for arriving so late. We only ate at 22:30, so we rushed all the way and being asked to leave so early was unearthing, over all, it was a decent rest but not effective and not flexible and that is my honest opinion, and I believe that they are a decent B&B they just require some maintenance and upgrades.

Bumblebees B&B's response

Hi Juan and Nina,

Many thanks for taking the time to review Bumblebees.

I have no idea what you mean by the DStv is really old?
Our TV sets are 57cms which is a perfectly acceptable size for a B&B bedroom.
Free unlimited Wi-Fi is available at all times. You merely needed to ask for the password.
When you checked in we informed you that breakfast was served between 7 and 9 and you told us that you would have breakfast at 8.30 as weather permitting you wanted to go to the beach. At no time did you tell us that these times did not suit you.
Our breakfasts are cooked to order and once the food is ready it is served. If you prefered breakfast at a later time this should have been communicated and we would have welcomed your request.
During breakfast you asked if you could vape and were told that you could with pleasure outside your room or outside the public areas.

Our rooms are smoke free regardless of what you’re smoking.
At breakfast you asked what time check-out was and when you were told 10am, you asked if you could stay longer and Philip said you could, you then checked out at about 10.20. These checks out times are there for a reason as we have other guests checking in and we need to ensure we have enough time to make sure the rooms are ready for the next guest.
I’m afraid we don’t automatically put fresh milk in the rooms but are more that happy to oblige those guests who ask for fresh milk. The standard is coffee, creamer, white & brown sugar sachets.
I’m not sure how familiar you are with B&B’s but I have yet to hear of any B&B that provides free alcohol or beverages in the room bar fridges unless it is included in the rates.
Our fridges are there as a convenience for you to put your own purchases in. You were shown the bar on arrival where you could purchase beverages.
The shower only “leaks a lot” when you don’t put the shower glass door in the correct position, something you were shown on arrival.
When you made the reservation Adriaan informed us that you would be arriving at 23:30 (which we had no problem with), then you phoned to say you were arriving at 18:30, then another call to say you’d be arriving at 20:30 and then another call to say your be arriving at 22.30 and then you finally arrived at 21:30.
On arrival you were greeted in a friendly manner, shown around the room and main lodge, I assisted you with food options at that late hour, we had a long and what I thought was friendly chat about your and Nina’s tattoos so I’m left totally baffled as to how we made you feel uncomfortable, then or at any time during your stay.
On departure Nina said she travels the country extensively and how much she enjoyed her stay with us and would be back.

Our apologies if you felt we were not effective and flexible and were less than satisfied with your stay.

Bumblebees B&B
Johan V - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Johan V
On business

Lekker plekkie.

Lekker geslaap, baie netjies. Heerlike ontbyt en ongelooflike diens.

Bumblebees B&B's response

Johan, baie dankie vir jou gaaf beoordeel. Ons hoop u kom terug een dag. Groete Alison

Bumblebees B&B
Stephen S - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Stephen S
On business

Good service.

Good location, will make use of Bumblebees again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Goeie diens.

Goeie ligging, sal weer gebruik van Bumblebees.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Bumblebees B&B's response

Thank you, Stephen! So glad you enjoyed your stay at Bumblebees. We'd love to welcome you back!

Bumblebees B&B
Elize B - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Elize B
With spouse/partner

Quiet area with hospitable owners and delicious breakfast.

It is definitely recommended. Excellent service with very neat rooms that has everything that you need. Had a delicious breakfast.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Stil area met gasvrye eienaars en heerlike ontbyt.

Word beslis aanbeveel. Uitstekende diens met baie netjiese kamer wat alles bevat wat nodig is. Het 'n uitsonderlike ontbytervaring ook gehad.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Bumblebees B&B's response

Baie dankie Elize! Ons hoop u sal een dag terug kom Bumblebees toe. Geseënde Kersfees vir julle almal.
Groete
Alison

Bumblebees B&B
Zanele N - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Zanele N
Family with young children

Wonderful warm welcome.

We had a great stay at Bumblebees as a family, even a couple would enjoy staying there. It's a lovely place in the most beautiful neighbourhood.

Bumblebees B&B's response

Thanks so much for your review, Zanele.
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Bumblebees - it certainly was lovely having you here. Wishing you and your family a joyful Christmas and we do hope you'll consider staying here again next time you visit Durban.
Warm regards,
Alison

Bumblebees B&B
Chris Niemeijer N - Nov 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Chris Niemeijer N
With spouse/partner

Zeer vriendelijke ontvangst op prima plek.

Hoewel wij door vertaging vrij laat aankwamen (dat hadden wij uiteraard wel even per SMS aan de gastvrouw laten weten!), werden wij zeer vriendelijk ontvangen. De volgende dag, na een uitstekend ontbijt moesten wij verder reizen, maar ik kan deze plaats zeer zeker aanbevelen en zal een volgende keer graag weerkomen!

Bumblebees B&B's response

Thank you so much for your lovely review Chris! We really appreciate you taking the time to rate our B&B. I hope you will consider staying here longer next time you visit Durban.
Warm regards,
Philip and Alison

Bumblebees B&B
Pierre V - Oct 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Pierre V

Baie lekker gebly. Kamers is netjies en skoon met lugverkoeling. Die ontbyt is fantasties!

Alison en Philip is baie vriendelik en behulpsaam. Ons het geen probleme gehad nie, die plek is maklik om op te spoor en is tussen Umhlanga en Durban. Die kamers is netjies en het meer as genoeg spasie. Die ontbyt is wonderlik en die kliëntediens is rêrig fantasties. Sal definitief dit voorstel en sal graag weer daar bly as ons weer in die area verblyf nodig het.

Bumblebees B&B's response

Pierre, jammer dat en in Engels antwoord! - thank you so much for your fabulous review of Bumblebees. It was such a pleasure hosting all of you, what a lovely family! I do hope you'll consider returning to Bumblebees next time you're coming to Durban - we love it when people come back.
Warm regards to you all - Philip and Alison

Bumblebees B&B
Philip V - Sep 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Philip V
Individual traveler

Baie gerieflik en toepaslik vir die doel.

Sien gerus die sterre.

Bumblebees B&B's response

Philip, baie baie dankie vir jou vriendelik woorde. Ons waardeer die baie. En ons hoop u sal weer by Bumblebees kom bly!
Groete - Alison en Philip.

Bumblebees B&B
Bertus E - Sep 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Bertus E
Individual traveler

Safe and very comfortable.

Friendly service and wonderful breakfast. Thank you!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Veilig en baie gemaklik.

Vriendelike diens en wonderlike ontbyt. Dankie!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Bumblebees B&B's response

Thanks so much for your kind words Bertus. Philip and I do hope you'll consider staying at Bumblebees again next time you're in the area. Warm regards - Alison

Bumblebees B&B
David C - Aug 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
David C
With spouse/partner

Extremely hospitable, relaxing environment, comfortable well-appointed rooms and an amazing breakfast.

Alison really went out of her way to make us feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble. We thoroughly recommend this B&B.

Bumblebees B&B's response

Thanks so much for your kind review John. I'm delighted you and Yvonne enjoyed your stay at Bumblebees. I hope you'll consider staying here again next time you need accommodation in the area.
Warm regards,
Alison

Bumblebees B&B
Jana B - Aug 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jana B
With spouse/partner

A gem!

Bumblebees B&B was a wonderful find and the perfect place for a quiet getaway. The location is excellent, the room neat and tidy, and the breakfast delicious! To top it off, Alison and Philip are the most friendly and accommodating hosts who make you feel as though you've known them you for years. We will be back there for sure!

Bumblebees B&B's response

Aw Jana! What a lovely review! Phil and I are delighted you had such a good experience at Bumblebees. It was lovely meeting you and Omar and we do hope it's not the last time we see you. Thanks again for your kind words - Alison.

Bumblebees B&B
Hans M - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hans M
On business

Lekker.

Skoon, netjies, lekker ontbyt en so sentraal geleë.

Bumblebees B&B's response

Dankie Hans. Ons hoop u kom terug!

Bumblebees B&B
Prieur D - Jun 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Prieur D
Individual traveler

Perfect place to stay for a few nights.

I was in Durban for the Comrades and needed a place to stay close to the finish line. Bumblebees B&B was a very good choice. The owners are friendly, the rooms are clean and neat and the whole experience was very pleasant. I will definitely stay there again for the next Comrades down run.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Perfekte plek om vir 'n paar aande te bly.

Ek was in Durban vir die Comrades en het 'n blyplek naby die einde gesoek. Bumblebees B&B was 'n baie goeie keuse. Die eienaars is vriendelik, die kamers netjies en skoon en alles was sommer net oor die algemeen lekker. As dit weer die Comrades "down run" is sal ek vir seker weer daar bly.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Bumblebees B&B's response

Prieur - baie dankie vir jou puik oorsig. Ons sien uit om jou veer by Bumblebees te welkom. (hope I didn't mash the Afrikaans too much!!).
Warm regards,
Alison

Bumblebees B&B
Rene R - May 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
1/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Rene R
With spouse/partner

Geen ontbyt ontvang nie, geen koffiemaakgeriewe nie en geraas deur die loop van die nag.

Ek sal nie weer van Bumblebees B&B gebruik maak nie. Ons het die ontbyt-opsie gekies en alhoewel ons vroeg moes vertrek was daar geen poging aangewend om vir ons ontbyt te voorsien of om ons geld terug te betaal nie. Parkering is baie beperk (mens word vasparkeer). Daar is ook geen koffiemaakgeriewe nie. En ons kon nie veel slaap kry as gevolg van die geraas deur die eienaars nie. Die slaapkamer is bitter klein. Verder was die kamer en badkamer baie skoon. Die dekor lyk goed. Die badkamer is groot, gemaklik en modern. Die ligging is goed.

Bumblebees B&B's response

Thank you for your comments Rene. As mentioned in my apology email, we offer an accommodation only option which was not requested either at the time of booking or on arrival - you booked and paid for breakfast which we were expecting to serve you. On arrival you informed us that you had a 07:10 flight which would have meant serving you breakfast at around 05:15. At no time did you request a refund. I apologise for the noise level 04:15 which was not acceptable. As I mentioned, we had been having problems with a group of guests over the previous 3 nights and were at the end of our tether. We will be looking into putting coffee facilities into that room.
Sorry you had such an unpleasant and unhappy stay. Fortunately judging from other comments on most sites, this kind of experience is not the norm at Bumblebees.
Regards Alison

Bumblebees B&B
Hans P - May 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Hans P
With spouse/partner

Baie vriendelike en hulpvaardige gasheer.

Netjiese en baie veilige gastehuis. Sou graag 'n yskas in ons kamer wou gehad het.

Bumblebees B&B's response

Baie Dankie Hans!

Bumblebees B&B
Sally P - Apr 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Sally P
With spouse/partner

Private and tranquil.

Very comfortable, quiet and peaceful. Suggestion: Automated gate should have a sensor to avoid the gate closing onto vehicles.

Bumblebees B&B's response

Thanks so much for your kind review. We have for some time now been contemplating putting a sensor on the gate to avoid it closing on cars. Thanks for reinforcing the need for this.

Bumblebees B&B
Rigardt G - Mar 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rigardt G
With friends

Great weekend!

Great hosts, good breakfast spread made to your liking. Extremely clean. I highly reccommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in La Lucia!

Bumblebees B&B's response

Thanks so much for your great review Rigardt (Greg!). It was such a pleasure having you guys here and do hope you'll consider staying with us again next time you're in Durban. Warm regards from both of us.

Bumblebees B&B
Frans S - Mar 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Frans S
On business

Baie lekker en gerieflik.

Verblyf was aangenaam en gasvry. 'n Plek waar jy met gemak kan oornag.

Bumblebees B&B's response

Baie baie dankie vir jou by lekker "review" Frans. Ons is so bly jy het jou kort tyd hier by ons geniet. Ons hoop om u weer te sien. Groete Philip en Alison

Bumblebees B&B
Ronel D - Mar 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Ronel D
With spouse/partner

Baie gerieflike verblyf!

Sal dit aanbeveel met rein gemoed.

Frans P - Jan 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Frans P
On business

Philip en Alison is beide baie aangename persone en laat jou dadelik tuis voel.

Die gastehuis is ideaal geleë indien jou besigheidsafsprake in Umhlanga is. 10 min na die Gateway-inkopiesentrum. Dit is 3 min se stap na 'n Virgin Active en 10 min per motor na Gateway Mall. Alison was ook heeltemal geneë om my te help met die skandering en kopiëring van dokumente.

Jan V - Nov 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Jan V
On business

Vriendelike diens!

Baie hulpvaardig en skoon.

Martin M - Oct 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Martin M
With spouse/partner

Uitstekende gasvryheid!

Baie tuis gevoel. Uitstekende diens en vriendelikheid ontvang vanaf Allison en Phillip. Duisend dankies!

Estie S - Aug 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Estie S
On business

Lekke!

Sien die sterre hieronder.

Marianne L - May 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marianne L
Family with teenagers

Heerlik gerus en gekuier. Goed gelee.

Ons het die gastehuis en die gasheer en gasvrou baie geniet. Die area is wonderlik en die gastehuis self was presies wat ons nodig gehad het.

Dimakatso T - Jan 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Dimakatso T
Family with young children

The area and the premises were fine -

My stay was marvelous and I enjoyed every moment of it. The managers of the venue were also good and understanding. They provided us with valuable information for the things that we could do in and around Durban. Only issue was the parking spaces.

Rochelda K - Dec 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rochelda K
With spouse/partner

Allison and Philip was very welcoming

Very friendly service and accommodation hosts. It was situated in the best place for me, as it's very central. It's near to Durban Central, Umhlangha Rocks, and Balito. I will definitely stay here again.

Ben B - Jun 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ben B
On business

Gasvry

Bumblebees B & B was goeie waarde vir geld. Phil en Alison is gasvrye mense en het uit hul pad gegaan om my verbly aangenaam te maak.

Franzelle J - Jun 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Franzelle J
With spouse/partner

Splendid!

Will definitely visit this B&B again! Very clean and tidy! Enjoyed our stay there! The Judeels from Gauteng.

Jan S - May 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jan S
With spouse/partner

Good

A wonderful B&B!

Charity G - Jan 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Charity G
With spouse/partner

Great

A fantastic B&B.

Megan R - Dec 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Megan R
Family with young children

Fantastic

Clean and comfortable, with friendly atmosphere and outstanding breakfasts! World-class!

From R1 190
per night (for 2 people)
From R1 190
per night (for 2 people)
From R1 190
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 10 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 14 Tara Crescent, La Lucia, 4051, KwaZulu-Natal
  • No children under 12
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDcyNmJkMWEwLWNjM2YtNGY5Zi1iODU3LWZkODQ4NzNmZTQyYQ?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R1 190  per night (for 2 people) 33 5 1 5 14 Tara Crescent La Lucia 4051 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -29.75055 31.064193
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!