The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Ikhaya Guest House | TravelGround
+27

Ikhaya Guest House

28 reviews
Guest House

Review Summary

4.4 out of 5from 28 reviews for Ikhaya Guest House
Cleanliness
4.3/5
Service
4.1/5
Location
4.8/5
Safety
4.8/5
Value for money
4.1/5
Moses S - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Moses S
With spouse/partner

Located safely.

The place is clean but waited for a long time before the gate opened.

Ikhaya Guest House's response

Thank you for your comments, the gate's intercom had been struck by lightning. I sincerely apologize.

Ikhaya Guest House
Morris F - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Morris F
Individual traveler

Good.

Location is good.

Christell L - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Christell L
Individual traveler

Die plek was prentjiemooi net soos in die advertensie.

Ek het die verblyf baie geniet. Vriendelik diens en gasvryheid. Ontbyt en aandete was fantasties. Sal enige tyd weer hier inboek as die geleentheid daar is.

Andre K - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Andre K
Individual traveler

Baie rustig.

Dit was baie rustig en voel of jy in die bosveld is met al die voëlgeluide.

Lee J - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Lee J
With spouse/partner

Only fault with accommodation was 1 stained white towel and noisy heater.

Coffee in the morning needs some work, it has a sandy taste. Option of rye bread would be good. Otherwise breakfast staff were friendly, helpful and polite.

Ikhaya Guest House's response

Dear Lee,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am saddened to hear about the stained towel and will address with my staff urgently.

The heater is noisy if you put it on the fan selection, however, your points are noted and I will ask all my staff to please explain this on check in.

We import the filter coffee but may need to look at changing the brand.

Rye bread is very pricey and as much as we would like to offer specialty brands, this would increase our prices to you the customer.

We wish you a good day further.

Regards,
Ikhaya Guest House

Ikhaya Guest House
René P - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
René P
With friends

Exceptional customer service and perfect location.

The service was phenomenal.

Ikhaya Guest House's response

Dear René,

Thank you so much for your review. The staff will be so pleased with your kind words.

We sincerely hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,
Ikhaya Guest House

Ikhaya Guest House
Henriette C - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Henriette C
With spouse/partner

Friendly service with clean and neat rooms.

Had a wonderful stay. Staff and management friendly and efficient.

Alan M - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Alan M
With spouse/partner

Very accommodating owners.

In summer, air-conditioning could be provided in the rooms.

Ikhaya Guest House's response

Bait dankie, ons sal na die lugversorging kyk. Voorheen was dit nie nodig nie, maar deesdae is dit so warm. Ons hoop om jou weer te sien en dankie vir jou eerlike tergvoering. Groete.

Ikhaya Guest House
Werner R - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Werner R
With spouse/partner

Was lekker.

Die plek is pragtig. Die feit dat daar 'n mikrogolf en yskassie was, was wonderlik. Die ontbyt was heerlik. Wens net dat die vorige persoon se seep weggevat was langs bad. Dat hul papier van vorige persoon se vlug wat op vloer langs asblik was, weggegooi het. Dié dinge het my bietjie afgesit. Maar ek sal definitief sê behalwe vir dit is dit 'n rustige, wonderlike plek.

Jen P - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jen P
Individual traveler

Very comfortable and peaceful with lovely friendly staff who were so warm and genuine!

Please see summary above.

Susan S - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Susan S
With friends

Waarde vir geld.

Kamer was skoon. Kombuispersoneel was baie vriendelik.

Flip D - Nov 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
2/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
2/5
Flip D
With friends

Below average.

Kitchen dirty, owner not friendly.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ondergemiddeld.

Kombuis baie vuil, eienaar onvriendelik.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Liezel P - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
1/5
Liezel P

Ikhaya Guest House was dirty and substandard!

Ikhaya Guest House gave us a dirty room. The sheets were dirty and stained brown. The bathroom carpets were dirty and stained. I was so disappointed. This place is supposed to be 4 star. We couldn't stay there for the night.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ikhaya Guest House was vuil en benede standaard!

Ikhaya Guest House het vir ons 'n vuil kamer gegee. Die lakens was ongewas en bruin van die vuil. Die badkamer matjies was vuil en vol kolle. Ek was bitter teleurgesteld. Hierdie is 'n sogenaamde 4 ster eenheid. Dit was nie moontlik om in die gastehuis te oornag nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Ikhaya Guest House's response

Dear Liezel, Thank you for informing me of your experience for a second time. You phoned me yesterday regarding this and my first response was to refund your full stay , you had even taken photos, which I sent to me, as I was going to use this in a disciplinary hearing, I must agree the mat was definitely dirty & this is totally unacceptable. Strangely, you do not mention the long strand of black hair that you found on the pillow, which you also have a photograph of, I e-mailed you straight after our conversation, offering you a full refund and elaborated that we were going to further investigate who was on duty that day (which happened to be a newer employee) and that the the hair on the pillow, which was a long dark hair could not have belonged to the white gentleman who had stayed in the room the previous evening. I even tried to play devils advocate, saying maybe my staff's strand of extension fell on the pillow. I also was incredibly apologetic and then asked for your ID number or Document with banking details and I heard nothing further until now. Last night I immediately spoke with the owner, who was also very angry about your experience and I also told him that informed you that we were going to be taking further consequences with the staff member concerned, in the form of a disciplinary hearing. I also offered to reimburse you again on WhatsApp last night and now you have decided to complain on LekkerSlaap. I said I am so sorry about your experience, Cleanliness is something we have always got great comments and ratings for, so for us the dirty carpet was unforgivable. I have done everything in my power to try to correct the situation, you did not accept my offer a full refund, or my apology letter or my WhatsApp asking for banking details and ID. What really concerns us is that, our telephone numbers are clearly marked in a frame on the desk in that room. We are finding it hard to understand why you did not phone us immediately to move you to another room. I remain apologetic.

Ikhaya Guest House
Annalie V - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Annalie V
With friends

Nice.

Hospitable, clean and gorgeous gardens. Unfortunately the TV didn't work and there was no remote, but we were only there for one night and reported it.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Lekker.

Gasvry, skoon en baie mooi tuine. Ongelukkig het die TV nie gewerk nie en daar was nie 'n "remote", maar ons was net een aand daar, en het dit aangemeld.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Ikhaya Guest House's response

Baie dankie vir jou terugvoer, ons waardeer dit baie. Ons het die TV en remote dadelik vervang. Ons het dit so geniet dat julle by ons kom bly.

Ikhaya Guest House
Adri S - Oct 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Adri S
On business

Comfortable and convenient, but for the cost a few upgrades could be made. Bedside tables have swollen, swimming pool green.

Friendly reception, calm and safe environment, neat rooms, but improvements on smaller aspects of the accommodation are necessary - such as the bedside tables which have swollen. The breakfast was sufficient and tasty. My colleague's bathroom had no hot water.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Gemaklik en gerieflik, maar vir prys kan daar 'n paar opgraderings aangepak word. Bedkassies wat opswel, swembad groen.

Vriendelike ontvangs gehad, veilige rustige omgewing, netjiese kamers, maar opgraderings op kleiner aspekte tog nodig soos badkamer kassies wat "blom". Ontbyt was genoeg en smaaklik. Kollega se badkamer het geen warm water gehad nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Ikhaya Guest House's response

Thank you so much for your feedback, yes you are correct in your observations of the bathroom counter and we are wanting to totally replace the bathroom top in that room, we must apologise for the water being cold, that is 100% our fault, as we have a geyser timer and my staff member forgot to switch this on, hence the cold water. I am so sorry. We do really appreciate your feedback and I will follow up all your comments with my staff. Thank you for the constructive, balanced feedback, it is greatly appreciated. We so hope to see you again.

Ikhaya Guest House
Johan P - Oct 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Johan P
With spouse/partner

Alles was netjies en skoon.

Baie goeie ontbyt.

Ikhaya Guest House's response

My Afrikaans is nie so goed nie, maar jy het ons dag gemaak. Baie dankie, ons staf sal jou woorde baie waardeer. Ons hoop jy kom gou terug, jy is altyd welkom by Ikhaya.

Ikhaya Guest House
Zandile S - Sep 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Zandile S
With friends

Excellent experience.

The owner welcomed us with a friendly smile. She was very kind when we arrived late, but she was not angry at us. They served our breakfast on time. We would like to thank them for their hospitality.

Anna R - May 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Anna R
With spouse/partner

I will definitely go back and recommend Ikhaya

Thank you Rui for an exceptional service, Ikhaya is indeed a home. Very warm and homely environment and the staff members are very professional and value the customers. I had a very peaceful and pleasant stay with my partner Samuel and we will be visiting Ikhaya again very soon. A big "Thank you" to Meagan from TravelGround for an awesome service in arranging our stay at Ikhaya, much appreciated!!

Helen T - Sep 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Helen T
On business

Fantastic place to stay with great friendly host

This is a great guest house that is clean and comfortable. Highly recommended!

Alida D - Apr 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Alida D

Great atmosphere!

We really enjoyed our recent stay at Ikhaya Guest House. What a beautiful place! Friendly welcome from the owner and the staff too! Cant wait for our next visit!!

Daleen B - Nov 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Daleen B
On business

Nice

Wonderful location.

Mark d - Aug 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mark d
Family with young children

Excellent. Will definitely see you again

All you need for a stay over. It was great. The owner and staff are all friendly and helpful. Thanks very much

Magda W - May 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Magda W
Family with teenagers

Excellent!!

Very friendly and welcoming. Will definitely stay there again.

Sophia S - Aug 2011
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sophia S
With spouse/partner

The rooms were beautiful and clean. The owner was friendly.

It was wonderful, the rooms where beautifully decorated.nI would go back there at any given chance!

Renata R - May 2011
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Renata R
With spouse/partner

5 star stay

Great stay!

Beatrix G - Mar 2011
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Beatrix G
With spouse/partner

Good value for money

We enjoyed our short stay. Excellent location!

Lenie B - Jan 2011
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lenie B
With spouse/partner

Lovely stayover.

Very friendly stayover, everything 100%, will visit again.

From R830
per night (for 2 people)
From R830
per night (for 2 people)
From R830
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 21 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 18:00
    Check-out: 11:00
  • Address: 31 Boschkop Avenue, Randburg, 2188, Gauteng
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHaSws2eLuaGXlxDi6eW7aDGOkSMHjHgDwbX3iXHKSf31AiDPZq?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R830  per night (for 2 people) 28 5 1 5 31 Boschkop Avenue Randburg 2188 Gauteng 0860 022 102 14:00-18:00 11:00 -26.090357578359 27.954481593918
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!