The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Knysna Wayside Inn | TravelGround
+11

Knysna Wayside Inn

B&B

Review Summary

4.5 out of 5from 25 reviews for Knysna Wayside Inn
Cleanliness
4.5/5
Service
4.6/5
Location
4.5/5
Safety
4.5/5
Value for money
4.4/5
Yvette A - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Yvette A
Family with teenagers

We were welcomed by Bernie - very helpful & friendly guy.

All Covid protocols were observed, friendly staff too. Great breakfast.

Paul W - Dec 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Paul W
With friends

Fantastic service and location.

Great stay. It was as very comfortable and a great location, Would definitely stay again.

Shera-lynn B - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Shera-lynn B
On business

Fantastic.

Absolutely beautiful place with the friendliest hostess and staff. When I come back to Knysna it is the first place I go. Very neat and clean and also the most delicious breakfast! If I could give them 6 stars, then I would.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Fantasties.

Absolute pragtige plekkie met die vriendelikste gasvrou en personeel. As ek weer in Knysna kom is dit die eerste plek waarheen ek gaan. Baie netjies en skoon en ook die lekkerste ontbyt! As ek hulle 6 sterre kon gee, dan sou ek.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Appel E - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Appel E
With friends

Vintage. Quiet and absolute value for money.

Our stay here reminded me of my childhood sleepover in hotel accommodation. The room was spacious and the sleeping facilities were good. We slept very well. Our breakfast was prepared according to our personal preferences and we were treated like honorary guests. I will certainly recommend the stay.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ouwêrelds. Rustig en absolute waarde vir geld.

Ons verblyf hier het my herinner aan my kinderdae se oorslaap in hotel-akkommodasie. Die kamer was ruim en die slaapgeriewe goed. Ons het baie lekker geslaap. Ons ontbyt was voorberei volgens ons persoonlike voorkeure en ons is soos eregaste behandel. Ek sal vir seker die verblyf aanbeveel.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Derick E - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Derick E
With friends

Good, friendly service.

Service excellence. Well-received.

Nora V - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nora V
With spouse/partner

Wonderlik

Ontvangs was vriendelik en kamers was skoon.

Rocky L - Sep 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rocky L
With spouse/partner

Uitstekende waarde vir geld!

Baie professioneel ontvang en uitstekend geleë.

Glen L - Sep 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Glen L
With friends

Very pleasant stay, well situated with comfortable accommodation and efficient, friendly staff.

Although we did not stay for long, we found the experience very pleasant and great value for money. Staff were efficient, helpful and friendly. Comfortable, clean rooms and a lovely breakfast in the morning.

Rosemarie O - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rosemarie O
With spouse/partner

Nice.

Good location and very neat.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Nice.

Goed geleë en baie netjies.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Wilma G - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Wilma G
With spouse/partner

A real little inn that warms the heart.

Cosy, comfortable and a lovely homely feeling. Staff great. Thank you for my phone that I left behind. I was contacted about my phone and picked it up on my way back. Breakfast was excellent.

Ray C - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Ray C
With spouse/partner

Not an experience I'd like to repeat in the future.

The staff were accommodating, and not what I read which was welcoming. Breakfast was the same each morning with a choice of an omelette, or bacon, eggs, tomato and mushrooms (same ingredients). Even though completely sufficient, they could put in the extra effort to just vary the menu a bit. The room was cleaned, but superficially. The floors were dirty, the scatter cushions had oil marks on them. The sheets were clean, but the towels, even though they were changed daily, had a strange smell. There's also no bar fridge in the room, which makes a stay of 5 days and longer a bit difficult. The location is good seeing as how it's close to everything and a good walk from the Waterfront and Thesen Islands. So you get good exercise. The building itself was very noisy. You can hear everything the people above you do and each time they enter or leave the building, you can hear it. There is also no undercover or shaded parking for your car.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Nie 'n ervaring wat ek graag in die toekoms sou wou herhaal nie.

Die personeel was akkomoderend en nie wat ek gelees het verwelkomend nie. Ontbyt was alke oggend dieselfde met 'n keuse van 'n omelette of bacon, eiers, tamatie en mushrooms (dieselfde bestanddele). Alhoewel heeltemal voldoende gaan 'n bietjie ekstra moeite om 'n spyskaart af te wissel baie verder. Die kamer was wel skoongemaak, maar oppervlakkig. Die vloere was vuil, die scatter kussings het oliekolle opgehad. Die lakens was skoon, maar die handdoeke, alhoewel daagliks vervang, het 'n snaakse reuk gehad. Daar 's ook geen yskassie in die kamer nie, wat 'n verblyf van 5 dae en langer kan bemoeilik. Die ligging is goed aangesien dit baie naby aan als is en 'n goeie stappie na die Waterfront en Thesen-eiland is. Dus goeie oefening gekry. Die gebou self was baie lawaaierig. Jy kan als hoor wat die mense bo jou doen en elke keer wanneer mense inkom of die gebou verlaat, hoor jy dit. Daar is ook geen onderdak- of koelteparkering vir jou voertuig nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Knysna Wayside Inn's response

Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment. We listen to both positive and negative, and take it seriously. As for the breakfast, English breakfast consist of bacon, eggs, tomorrow toast etc. We offer eggs in four different ways that it can be cooked. We also offer the option to create your own omelette. There is also cereal, fruit salad and a spread of continental. I am sorry you found it boring.

The towels are sent to the off site laundry everyday and are washed ever day. I cannot think what could have caused the smell on your towels.

Thank you again for your comment.

Regards,
Trish.

Knysna Wayside Inn
Lee-ann H - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lee-ann H

Thank you for a very pleasant stay - definitely to be recommended!!

See stars.

Knysna Wayside Inn's response

Thank you so much for your comment.

It is greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Trish

Knysna Wayside Inn
Christoffel C - Oct 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Christoffel C
With spouse/partner

The room (no 2) had a view of the square which is quite noisy until early in the morning. We didn't get much sleep on Friday evening.

For our purposes, literally just a place to sleep and to have breakfast at, this was a good choice. The noisy neighbours (restaurant and night club) in front of the guest house can't be helped, but after an entire day's activity one would appreciate a good night's rest. I would recommend wat the location be mentioned in the brochure. Breakfast was good and the service was fast and friendly.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Die kamer (no 2) het uitgekyk oor die plein waar dit maar erg rumoerig was tot vroegoggend, dus min geslaap Vrydagnag.

Die verblyf vir ons doeleindes, letterlik net 'n slaap en ontbyt plek, was goed. Die raserige bure (restaurant en nagklub) kan nie voor die deur van die gastehuis gehelp word nie, maar na 'n dag se aktiwiteit sal mens 'n rustige nag waardeer. Ek sal voorstel dat die ligging wel in die brosjure genoem word. Ontbyt was goed en die diens flink en vriendelik.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Knysna Wayside Inn's response

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our establishment. As we are in the center of town there is pro's and con's to it. The pro being, very central and in walking distance to everything that Knysna has to offer, and the con being, it is in town.

Kind regards,
Trish.

Knysna Wayside Inn
M'lani B - Aug 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
M'lani B
Individual traveler

Super vriendelike mense wat regtig uit hulle pad gegaan het om my 7 nagte soos huis te laat voel.

Ek het 7 nagte by die Wayside Inn gebly terwyl ek op kursus was. Dit was heerlik. Die ontbyt was great!

Knysna Wayside Inn's response

Thank you so much for the review. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on our establishment.

Kind regards,
Trish

Knysna Wayside Inn
Martin V - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Martin V
With spouse/partner

OK for a night, but not for longer. Not really a place to camp out.

Trish was incredibly helpful and willing to do anything to make the accommodation as comfortable as possible. There was nothing wrong with the accommodation itself. The only problem is that the TV and fireplace is in the foyer/reception and people were lying on the only couch in front of the TV. It wasn't nice, but that's OK. The lighting in the rooms - it would be good to ensure that all the lamps have bulbs and that all of them work. The room my daughters slept in only had one light that worked. Otherwise it was OK. Ideal place to overnight if you have something to do in town, so it was ideal for the Oyster Festival, but not a place to stay for a whole weekend if there is nothing on in Knysna or if you have to be inside the whole time.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Heel okay vir oornag, maar nie vir langer nie. Nie juis uitspanplek nie.

Trish was ongelooflik behulpsaam en bereid om enige iets te doen om ons verblyf so gemaklik moontlik te maak. Daar was niks fout met die verblyf self nie. Al probleem is dat die TV en kaggel in die voorportaal/ontvangsarea is en daar het mense gelê op die enigste bank voor die TV, so dit was nie so nice nie, maar is regso. Die beligting in die kamers - sal goed wees om te sorg dat alle lampe gloeilampe in het en dat alle ligte brand. Die kamer waar my dogters in geslaap het, het net een liggie gehad wat brand. Verder was alles okay. Ideale plek vir oornag as jy iets het om in die dorp te doen, so dit was ideaal vir die Oesterfees, maar nie plek om 'n hele naweek oor te bly as daar nie iets in Knysna aangaan of as jy heeldag binnenshuis moet wees nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Hannelize J - May 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hannelize J
With friends

Fantasties.

Was baie lekker en baie billik.

Knysna Wayside Inn's response

Thank you so much.

Trish

Knysna Wayside Inn
Annabella C - Feb 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Annabella C
With spouse/partner

Waarde vir geld.

Ek sal die blyplek aan gaste aanbeveel as vars en vry.

Knysna Wayside Inn's response

Thank you so much for the comment.

It is much appreciated.

Regards,
Trish

Knysna Wayside Inn
Kathrin H - Jan 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Kathrin H
With spouse/partner

Knysna Wayside Inn was very nice.

Friendly staff.

Knysna Wayside Inn's response

Thank you for your comment. Much appreciated.

Regards,
Trish

Knysna Wayside Inn
Sugnet W - Sep 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Sugnet W

Goeie verblyf!

Goeie skoon en vriendelike verblyf.

Knysna Wayside Inn's response

Thank you so much for taking the time to respond. Much appreciated.

Knysna Wayside Inn
J.t S - Aug 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
J.t S
Family with young children

Het baie lekker gebly, kamer was lekker warm vir die winterweer buite.

Die plek is lekker sentraal en jy kan sommer stap na winkels toe. Diens was baie goed gewees!

Knysna Wayside Inn's response

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our establishment.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Trish

Knysna Wayside Inn
Angelique S - Jul 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Angelique S
With spouse/partner

My eerlike opinie: vir die prys, het ons meer verwag.

Dit is vir ons baie om R830 'n nag te betaal vir 2 enkelbedjies (vir 'n getroude paartjie) en die duvet-oortreksels was wit maar was vol vlekke.

Knysna Wayside Inn's response

Thank you for taking the time to do a review on our accommodation.

Our rates are in line, if not cheaper, than most of the bed and breakfasts in our area.

As for our sheets, we have a severe water problem with the water here in Knysna, and we are trying everything in our power, not to get those marks on our brand new sheets.

Kind regards,
Trish.

Knysna Wayside Inn
Francois D - May 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Francois D
With spouse/partner

Vyf nagte se lekke verblyf op vakansie.

Ons het deel van ons vakansie in Knysna plek bespreek en op die laaste oomblik ook besluit om my ouers ook te nooi om die tyd saam met ons te deel. As gevolg van ons vorige ondervinding met LekkeSlaap het ons weer van hulle diens gebruik gemaak. Wat 'n verrassing om die juweel in Knysna te ontdek. Dit is sentraal geleë binne loop afstand van die sakesentrum. Die eenheid was skoon, netjies en goed uitgelê. Die ontbyt wat ingesluit was, was heel smaaklik en 'n redelike verskeidenheid. Beslis weer 'n besoek werd.

Knysna Wayside Inn's response

Thank you so much for your review.
It is very much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you back here again in future.

Kind regards,
Trish

Knysna Wayside Inn
Andries G - Feb 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Andries G
With friends

Aan my behoeftes voldoen as slaapplek voor fietswedren.

Sien gerus die sterre hieronder.

Mario V - Jan 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mario V
With friends

PERFEK!

Wayside is perfek geleë. Loopafstand van alles. Die gasvrou is puik en baie hulpvaardig. Skoon netjiese kamers. Ontbyt op die stoep was 'n wenner.

Knysna Wayside Inn's response

Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review on our establishment. Much appreciated.

Hope you return soon.

Regards,
Trish

Knysna Wayside Inn
Lily H - Dec 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lily H
With spouse/partner

Nice!

Great location to get going to all the shops and buzz of Knysna. A good place to start from.

Knysna Wayside Inn's response

Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Regards,
Trish

Knysna Wayside Inn
From R840
per night (for 2 people)
From R840
per night (for 2 people)
From R840
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 28 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 48 Main Street, Pledge Square, Knysna, 6571, Western Cape
  • No children under 5
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJGZlNGY1YmVhLTQ0ODYtNDA1NC04ZDBlLTMxZjA3ZTRlZWFiMg?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R840  per night (for 2 people) 25 5 1 5 48 Main Street Pledge Square 6571 Western Cape 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -34.034412 23.044527
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!