The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Palm and Banana Palm Cottage | TravelGround
+89

Palm and Banana Palm Cottage

Self Catering

Review Summary

4 out of 5from 14 reviews for Palm and Banana Palm Cottage
Cleanliness
4.1/5
Service
3.9/5
Location
4.5/5
Safety
4.3/5
Value for money
3.4/5
Dineo M - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Dineo M

Pleasant.

The stay was OK. Clean place and location, thanks to Master, the caretaker. He was very helpful. The only problem is that the pool was closed due to certain reasons, but they can't make other guests suffer for other people mistakes. Other challenges was when we wanted to cook since we where a large group. It was a hassle. At least they should have 2 big pots and the tissues where finished. They said we should buy more, they only supply once. We booked the whole place - 15 ladies - so you can imagine. But we enjoyed it. Thank you, Bridget, for allowing me to check in before time to leave my bags since I arrived in the morning.

Thobeka L - May 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
1/5
Thobeka L
Family with teenagers

I booked 2 bedrooms according to what I saw on the advert.

To my surprise when I got to the guest house we were allocated a small one bedroom with a couch and I was supposed to have squeezed my husband, myself, my 3 children aged 16,12 and 7. I was very specific about what I wanted. Supposedly to what I viewed online. A 2x single beds and 2 double beds. The owner was very rude and would not hear me out. Told me to take it or leave. How disgusting is that service. If she saw that I made an error why did she not send a message to rectify it on time. She had a nerve to ask me on the day of arrival how old were my children. The place was very dirty. I had to ask for extra bathing towels. There was only 2. I had to ask for everything. There was not enough toilet paper, we had to go ask for that too. We had to take out our own dustbin. I have never been so disappointed in my entire booking with Travel ground. The place was full of dust. The kitchen taps were so sticky. I cleaned them myself, the blinds are full of dust. It was such an overwhelming 4 nights of my entire trip with my family.

Phindile S - Apr 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
1/5
Phindile S
With friends

The whispering palm cottage is not enough for 5 guests there’s one bed. The guard told us the sleeper couch is broken we can’t use it. He then gave us mattresses to sleep on the floor.

This cottage is only enough for a couple not for 5 guests I wasn’t happy about the room too small to accommodate 5 people with the amount of 3k. There was no pool as advertised (also the daily room service wasn’t available as advertised). The Wi-Fi was 100% good. Thank you.

Anele S - Feb 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
1/5
Location
5/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Anele S
With friends

The place was clean but it wasn’t what we booked for and it wasn’t what was on the pictures. The owner or who ever she was (Bridget) is very rude and racist.

False advertisement, what in the pictures is not what you find and when you asked them what’s going on they tell you to ignore the pictures, because they are old and things have changed.

Seala L - Dec 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
1/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
1/5
Seala L
Family with teenagers

Not what we expected.

We booked for 11 people not knowing what the sleeping arrangements would be like. However, when you book, it’s expected for the place to be able to cater to the amount of people or for them to simply say they’re fully booked and cannot take you. They gave us 2 cottages: one with 1 bed to fit 3 people. And the other with 2 bedrooms and 1 bathroom to fit 8 people (8 adults, which makes absolutely no sense). I enquired about this upon arrival to say that it was too crammed for 8 adults, 8 adults who now have to share 1 bathroom (they put 3 extra beds by the dining room and lounge area, and bear in mind that this is a cottage and not a house so it is a very small space) and I was told that I can’t be helped regarding that, given an extra cottage to fit everyone so we can comfortably enjoy our holiday. We were staying 7 nights and had to request a change of towels and were told that we won’t be getting a change of bedding as they are not a hotel. There wasn’t enough cutlery and crockery upon arrival. The swimming pool shown in the pictures is also not available for use. The cottages are beautifully decorated and clean. However, I’m definitely not happy with the service we received. They should’ve taken us knowing that they don’t have enough capacity to properly host us. Not a good experience for a 7 day holiday.

Nozuko N - Dec 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Nozuko N
Family with young children

We had fun, thanks.

We had a good time and hospitality was so impressive.

Siphiwokuhle N - Dec 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Siphiwokuhle N
With friends

It was fabulous and fantastic.

Everything was prefect, but the bed was painful and hard. The fridge on top was not working fine. But everything was perfect.

Palm and Banana Palm Cottage 's response

I’m so sorry you to hear you found the bed hard. I think it’s possibly because it’s a brand new foam mattress so it will still be firm .

Palm and Banana Palm Cottage
Alouette G - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Alouette G
Family with teenagers

Heerlik oornag, alles skoon en baie gerieflik. Vriendelike diens!

Sien sterre.

Zanele M - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Zanele M
Family with young children

The pictures on the internet, it's a different story.

The place is good for a couples. Very quiet place with a lot of house rules. Truly speaking is not good for kids. Not friendly for disabled people. There are a lot of steps to the room since I have a foot problem. It was a disaster every time I had to go to the car, because we already paid. Nowhere to go. But I didn't enjoy the place.

Antoinette K - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Antoinette K
Family with teenagers

Ligging is uitstekend en dekor vars en modern.

Brigitte het baie vinnig gereageer met een of 2 klein probleempies wat ons gehad het. Parkering is bietjie knap vir 'n groot voertuig (ons het 'n SUV). En dit is moeilik om teen 'n baie steil inrypad in trurat uit te ry, in 'n besige pad in. Maar, die ligging is uitstekend! Ons was omtrent 5 minute weg van Kings Park Pool, en so 15 minute van Umhlanga. Daar is lekker restaurante naby, en ook 'n Pick 'n Pay Hyper. Ek was saam met my 19 jarige-seun, so Brigitte het die slaapbank in die sitgedeelte vir ons oorgetrek. Privaatheid was dus bietjie van 'n probleem, maar as dit 'n enkelpersoon of 'n paartjie is sal die eenheid perfek wees. Dankie!

Maryke S - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Maryke S

Perfect for our purposes.

Very neat, well equipped and peaceful atmosphere. Perfect for 2 people who want their own room but don't mind using the same bathroom. It still has a separate guest bathroom.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Perfek vir ons doeleindes.

Baie netjies, goed toegerus en rustige atmosfeer. Perfek vir 2 mense wat elkeen hul eie kamer wil hê, maar nie omgee om dieselfde badkamer te gebruik nie. Het wel nog ‘n aparte gastebadkamer.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Nico D - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nico D
With spouse/partner

Enjoyed it very much. Had a great rest.

Enjoyed it, we could book in earlier.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Het dit baie geniet. Lekker gerus.

Het dit baie geniet, hulle het ons vroeër laat inbook.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Anneke F - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Anneke F
Family with young children

Comfortable and tidy.

We had a nice stay. It is a beautiful place and cosy.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Gerieflik en netjies.

Ons het baie lekker gebly. Dit is 'n pragtige plekkie en gesellig.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Phumzile M - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Phumzile M
Family with young children

Tranquil, convenient and beautiful house.

What a beautiful and clean house. The owner was super friendly. My family and I are definitely coming back!

From R1 000
R1 000 R900
per night (sleeps 3)
From R1 000
R1 000 R900
per night (sleeps 3)
From R1 000
R1 000 R900
per night (sleeps 3)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 19 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 21:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 86 Kenneth Kaunda Rd, Athlone, Durban North, 4051, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAA5nP1VjKnOoIFDXAv9Ih4YLtGbWzzg6zMkJqKVDaIvB7AU5kiVo?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=enhance,format,compress&q=80 was R1 000, now From R900  per night (sleeps 3) 14 5 1 4 86 Kenneth Kaunda Rd Athlone 4051 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-21:00 10:00 -29.796243 31.032996
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!