Manaba Accommodation at Shad Bay Apartments | TravelGround
+93

Shad Bay Apartments

26 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

4.3 out of 5from 26 reviews for Shad Bay Apartments
Cleanliness
4.2/5
Service
4.3/5
Location
4.7/5
Safety
4.2/5
Value for money
4.3/5
Preggie C - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
2/5
Preggie C
With spouse/partner

Not good.

The apartment needs fumigation. There were cockroaches and ants all over in the apartment. The gates locks are hard to open because they are rusting. The outside light fitting was not working and I had to do a change of globe that the maid had provided for me but the sensor is still faulty. So my braai was done mostly by cell phone light. The water pressure in the shower is too low. I could not have a decent shower. You also do not cater for load shedding with portable lights ect. Your alarm system cannot be activated because it does not have a remote. Altogether the apartment was quite expensive for this type of situation I went through.

Shad Bay Apartments's response

Hi Preggie, thank you for your feedback.
Shad Bay apartments get fumigated once a year. Ants are lured by open food and unfortunately, sometimes cockroaches travel with guests.
We will do a full inspection on the locks, this remains a problem because of the proximity to the ocean.
Apologies for the light, this has now been fixed and we urge guests to please let us know directly about any issues, to have them resolved A.S.A.P. All relevant numbers are on the fridge.
Water pressure has been checked by our maintenance team, and found to be in order - this could have been a municipal fault.
Load-shedding readiness remains the responsibility of the guests, as we have had too much loss of portable lights in the past.
The alarm can easily be armed and disarmed when entering and leaving the building.

We remain committed to providing a great holiday experience at affordable prices in an unbeatable location.

Kind regards,
Team Shad Bay

Shad Bay Apartments
Rene D - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Rene D
Family with young children

Homely.

Stunning place to stay, clean and conveniently close to the beach and shops. Lungi was very friendly and helpful.

Shad Bay Apartments's response

Hi Rene,
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Team Shad Bay.

Shad Bay Apartments
Tj K - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tj K
Family with teenagers

Very centrally located, very nice area.

I was quite surprised with the size of the unit and the layout. Very neat premises and costs were really a bargain. The property is nothing short of a great unit for a holiday destination. Very close to Uvongo Beach d and Manaba Beach. Very nice coastal route for jogging, hiking or cycling that is full of people active all day.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie sentraal geleë, baie lekker area.

Ek was nogal heel verras met die grootte van die eenheid en die uitleg. Baie netjiese perseel en koste in ag geneem was dit regtig 'n winskoop. Die perseel kort niks nie en is 'n baie lekker eenheid vir 'n vakansiebestemming. Baie naby aan Uvongostrand en Manabastrand. Baie lekker kusroete om te draf, stap of fiets te ry wat heeldag vol is van mense wat aktief is.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Shad Bay Apartments's response

Hi TJ,
Ons is baie bly julle het dit geniet by ShadBay.
Ons woonstelle het beslis baie spasie en mens kan lekker kuier op die stoep en net na die see star, of baljaar op een van die nabye strande.

Hoop om julle gou weer te sien.

Groetnis,
Shad Bay.

Shad Bay Apartments
Pieter S - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Pieter S
Family with teenagers

We will definitely go back to Shad Bay. It was awesome to stay there.

We were a group of 8 people who stayed at Shad Bay. What a lovely experience we had. Everything was just right.

Shad Bay Apartments's response

Hi Pieter,
We are glad that your family had fun and enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Team Shad Bay.

Shad Bay Apartments
Ermien B - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ermien B

Dit was absoluut wonderlik! Beste see-vakansie ooit! Uitsig fantasties!

Die plek is pragtig! Goed geleë. Sien die see uit elke venster! Absoluut alles is daar wat jy dalk mag nodig kry. Dit was skoon en netjies. Ons het die vakansie terdëe geniet dankie! Sal definitief weer soontoe gaan.

Shad Bay Apartments's response

Hi Ermien,
Dankie vir die terugvoer. hoop ons sien julle gou weer.

Shad Bay Apartments
Junior N - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Junior N

The apartment is highly recommended. Good customer service and hospitality.

Perfect holiday getaway!

Shad Bay Apartments's response

Hi Junior, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family again.

Shad Bay Apartments
Pascale E - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Pascale E
Family with teenagers

Very nice and peaceful especially in a busy season like end of December or beginning of January.

We really enjoyed our stay, it was fantastic.

Shad Bay Apartments's response

Hi Pascal,
Shad Bay is perfectly located away from the hustle and bustle, but close enough not to be left out, and so close to the beech. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Shad Bay Apartments
Ekhurleni Fire Detectors Cc V - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
2/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Ekhurleni Fire Detectors Cc V
Family with young children

We enjoyed our holiday.

Thank you for a lovely holiday. The apartment needs some attention. Carpets and couch were dirty and had a bad odour. The microwave stopped working and the oven is stuck on the highest setting. The fridge is faulty. The TV had no aerial. Other then that we had a good time.

Shad Bay Apartments's response

Hi Collin,
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We endeavor to provide great family accommodation and regularly do maintenance, your concerns have been noted. Each apartment is supplied with a DStv dish and cable, all you need to do is plug in your decoder. We have also installed OpenView, which offers 18 channels for free.

We look forward to welcoming you to ShadBay again.

Shad Bay Apartments
Wally S - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Wally S
Family with young children

Lekker - kort net 'n laundry om self klere te was.

Sien sterre.

Magda B - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Magda B
Family with teenagers

Absolutely enjoyed ourselves.

Had a great stay and will do so again!

Shad Bay Apartments's response

Hi Magda,
Thank you for choosing ShadBay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Shad Bay Apartments
Jaques V - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Jaques V
With spouse/partner

Baie lekker, mooiste view van die see.

Baie lekker verlof gehad, gerieflik en skoon met al die nodige in die kombuis.

Shad Bay Apartments's response

Hi Jacques,
Ons is bly julle het die vakansie geniet. ShadBay het een van die beste uitsigte van Manaba beach.

Shad Bay Apartments
Dullin V - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Dullin V

Very nice with the perfect view.

We felt that they could maybe update the place because it felt like the furniture/bedding and kitchenware were all quite old (it has everything, but it's rusted, maybe consider getting plastic equipment). We will definitely consider another holiday there. Thanks so much.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie lekker met perfekte uitsig.

Ons voel dat jul net bietjie kan "vernuwe" want ons voel baie van die meubels/beddegoed en kombuistoerusting is al redelik verouderd (alles is daar maar geroes eerder dalk oorweeg om plastiektoerusting te gebruik. Ons definitief weer n vakansie daar oorweeg. Baie dankie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Shad Bay Apartments's response

Hi Dullin
Ons is bly julle het die vakansie geniet, en ons sien uit om julle weer te verwekom.
Elke jaar doen ons onderhoud aan die plekke, maar dis so moeilik om by te hou omdat die plek so naby aan die see is. Selfs die plastiek goed roes, maar ons sal beslis daaraan aandag gee.

Shad Bay Apartments
Yolande D - Mar 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Yolande D
With friends

Lungi is very friendly and it's a lovely apartment.

Lungi is very friendly and it's a lovely apartment close to the ocean. It's the perfect place to get away from the city life.

Shad Bay Apartments's response

Hi Yolande,
Thank you for the compliment, we also love Lungi, who always has a big smile on her face.
ShadBay is definitely, perfectly located away from the hustle, but still close enough to be part of the action, not to mention how close you are to Manaba beach.
Come back soon.

Shad Bay Apartments
Trudi M - Mar 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Trudi M
Family with young children

Home away from home.

Home away from home with everything you need. Will go back. Very nice.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Huis ver van huis.

Dis 'n huis ver van huis met alles wat jy nodig het, sal weer daar tuisgaan, baie baie lekker.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Shad Bay Apartments's response

Hi Trudi
Dis vir ons ook 'n lekker huis, weg van die huis. Ons is bly julle het dit geniet.
Kom gou terug.

Shad Bay Apartments
Ettiene N - Feb 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
2/5
Ettiene N
With spouse/partner

Never again.

We stayed 2 nights of the 6 nights that we booked. Everything in the apartment is old, the smell in the kitchen is awful, beds uncomfortable. No, never again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Nooit weer nie.

Ons het 2 aande daar deurgebring van die 6 aande wat ons geboek het. Alles in die woonstel is verouderd, die reuk in die kombuis is aaklig, beddens ongemaklik. Nee, nooit weer nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Shad Bay Apartments's response

Hi Ettiene
Ons is baie jammer vir die negatiewe ervaring by ShadBay.
Ons het onlangs nuwe beddens in gesit, en die woonstel word na elke gas skoon gemaak.

Shad Bay Apartments
Susan A - Feb 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Susan A

Accommodation with great view.

Had a great stay with relaxing sounds of the waves. Thank you Lungi for the friendly reception. Highly recommended to all and will go back.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Blyplek met die mooiste uitsig.

Het heerlik gebly, met die rustige klanke van die golwe. Dankie Lungi vir die vriendelike ontvangs. Sal dit aanbeveel vir enigeen. Kan nie wag om weer te gaan nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Shad Bay Apartments's response

Hi Susan
Die klank van die golwe in die aand is ook my gunsteling deel van ShadBay.
Ons is baie bly dat julle die vakansie geniet het, en julle is altyd weer welkom om by ons te bespreek.

Shad Bay Apartments
Gussie S - Nov 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Gussie S
With spouse/partner

Very well located and the necessities are available in the apartment.

Warm welcome. The place was quite neat and clean. Would stay here again in future. However, I am sorry for the people who drive far and arrive late: no toilet paper, coffee, milk and sugar at reception. It is a pity that the accommodation isn't cleaned during one's stay and there are no rules regarding bins or rubbish.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie goed geleë en die nodigste is beskikbaar in die woonstel.

Goed ontvang die plek was baie netjies en skoon sal weer van die plek gebruik maak in die toekoms. Jammer vir mense wat ver ry en laat aankom geen toiletpapier, koffie, melk en suiker beskikbaar vir ontvangs nie. Dit is 'n jammerte dat die plek nie skoongemaak word tydens verblyf nie, en geen reëls van asblikke en vuilgoed word voorsien nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Shad Bay Apartments's response

Hi Gussie, ons is baie bly julle het lekker gebly en sien uit om julle weer te verwelkom!
Die woonstelle is self-sorg, dus moet die vakansiegangers alles self voorsien.
Daar is wel 'n skoonmaak diens, wat direk met Lungi (die opsigter) gereël en betaal kan word.
Ons sal beslis 'n nota in sit i.v.m. die asblikke.

Groetnis,
Joe

Shad Bay Apartments
Wilmaru V - Oct 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Wilmaru V
With spouse/partner

Wonderlik!

Ons het heerlik gebly. 'n Pragtige, rustige plekkie! Ons sal verseker weer daar gaan bly!

Shad Bay Apartments's response

Dankie Wilmaru, ons sien uit daarna om julle terug te verwelkom.
Groetnis,
Shad Bay

Shad Bay Apartments
Marlene S - Jul 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
3/5
Marlene S
Family with teenagers

Sal definitief glad nie Shad Bay aanbeveel by vakansiegangers nie!

Shad Bay is dalk net 'n klipgooi van die strand af, maar beslis net so naby aan groot skade vir vakansiegangers! Die plek se veiligheid en sekuriteit dek glad nie vakansiegangers nie en na 'n inbraak die nag terwyl ons daar oorgeslaap het, is dit met geen simpatie ontvang van die eienaars nie, volgens hulle is ons veiligheid ons eie verantwoordelikheid. Die stukkende venster en gebuigde diefwering is nie eers herstel deur hulle nie. My man het dit self op 'n manier reggemaak sodat ons nog 'n aand kon slaap, maar die volgende dag het ons geskuif na 'n ander woonstel met die hulp van LekkeSlaap. Ons is baie tevrede met die diens van LekkeSlaap, maar Shad Bay Apartments is beslis nie die geld werd wat mens betaal nie. Buiten die inbraak is die garage is hopeloos te klein nadat ek spesifiek gevra het oor die grootte voor ek bespreek het. Die hele plek was net 'n teleurstelling van die eerste oomblik af en die inbraak het dit net soveel erger gemaak om nie eers te praat van die eienaars se ongevoelige houding na die inbraak nie.

Pieter V - Jul 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Pieter V
With spouse/partner

Baie bekostigbaar en uitmuntende ligging.

Baie gerieflike toegang tot die strand en naby aan alles met die beste uitsig op die see.

Willie V - May 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Willie V
Family with young children

Lekker blyplek!

Shad Bay is lekker sentraal tussen al die strande. Dit is lekker om in die aand te lê in jou bed en die branders op die rotse te hoor. Naby aan Uvungo se strand wat prentjiemooi is en lekker swem in die branders of die lagoon met 'n waterval. Margate is self slegs 3 km weg met al sy winkels en eetplekke.

Marianne V - Dec 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marianne V
Family with young children

The view was awesome, we had a great time

Thank you for making our stay so fun, we will definitely go there again!

Christoff E - Oct 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Christoff E
Family with young children

Heerlike verblyf, rustig op die see.

Veilig en vir seker veilig vir kinders. Rustige omgewing.

Sera B - Jul 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sera B
With spouse/partner

'n Pragtige plek, loopafstand van die strand.

'n Groot plek, naby die strand. Baie netjies. Die warm en koue krane in die stort en kombuis is omgeruil en 'n probleem. Behalwe vir dit, het ons baie lekker gebly en sal ons enige tyd weer soontoe gaan.

Rozanne D - Jul 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rozanne D
Family with teenagers

Baie netjies in 'n rustige omgewing met 'n ongelooflike uitsig!

Ons het dit baie geniet en sal dit enige tyd aanbeveel. Ons wil ook graag weer in die toekoms daar tuisgaan. Die diens van LekkeSlaap was ook uitstekend en al die reëlings het seepglad verloop. Baie dankie.

Candice D - May 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Candice D
Family with young children

Great

No complaints.

From R550
per night (sleeps 4)
From R550
per night (sleeps 4)
From R550
per night (sleeps 4)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 16 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: Corner of Lilliecrona Road and Collis Road, Manaba Beach, Margate, 4276, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAtrS7YLGeUE18QhBEIpbRuY6F1507OBJAE71D4cPXtRbRe6rK8r?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R550  per night (sleeps 4) 26 5 1 5 Corner of Lilliecrona Road and Collis Road Manaba Beach 4276 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -30.852333046952 30.384008657333
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

0860 022 102 | bookings@travelground.com