Meer-en-See Accommodation at The Holiday House | TravelGround
+29

The Holiday House

4 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

3.8 out of 5from 4 reviews for The Holiday House
Cleanliness
3.8/5
Service
3.5/5
Location
3.5/5
Safety
4.3/5
Value for money
4.0/5
Jack V - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
2/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Jack V
Family with young children

Baie aangename, skoon en goed versorgde akkommodasie.

Ons is gedurende November deur die eienaars van Holiday House gekontak en alternatiewe akkommodasie aangebied aangesien daar herstelwerk aan Holiday House gedoen moes word in die tyd wat ons daar bespreek was. Ons is verblyf aangebied in twee cottages by Aristo Manor Guest house. Ons verblyf daar was baie aangenaam. Dit was net heelwat verder van die strand af, maar siende dat ons in elk geval moes ry strand toe, het die nie gepla nie.

Indranee R - Aug 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Indranee R
Family with young children

We had a very pleasant stay. The owners were hospitable and what we saw in the pictures is what we got! Value for money.

There was a cleaner on site that ensured the place was clean. The place is safe and the area is awesome, so quiet and peaceful. A great getaway, for the price we got more than our money's worth. Our family reunion was so blessed we were able to eat together on the large tables provided.

Elaine N - Apr 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
1/5
Location
4/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
3/5
Elaine N
With friends

Good value for money but mis-represented, which can break a holiday.

We had to wait for about 30 minutes for the owner to bring the keys even though we gave them ample notice of our arrival time. There is a major gas safety violation in the house as the gas bottle stands right next to the gas stove. The electric fence is not on, even though we were told that it was. We had to get a security guard to watch our boat every night as it wouldn't fit into the yard even though we specifically asked about this when the booking was made. We had to ask for a hose pipe to wash our boat (which apparently only gets given when requested). There was only 1 pan and 7 plates although it is advertised as a 12 sleeper. We also haven't received our breakage deposit back to date.

The Holiday House's response

Hi Elaine

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.

However we would like to clarify and give feedback on the points mentioned-
Originally you said your estimated time of arrival would be 2-3pm and you did let us know that you were running late. This wasn't a problem for us. You arrived at 17.30pm and we did let you know that we don't stay on the property so we travel from our house to meet you in person.
With regards to the gas safety. We have installed the gas according to the law. The gas we use is safety gas and is allowed to be stored inside.
My hubby and I did not mention anything about the electric fence. The fence however is not working as we are waiting for the battery to arrive as it was damaged during a lightning storm.
With regards to your boat, before you finalised your booking we did ask for measurements of your boat in order to give an accurate response. We never received any feedback and our emails were also not responded to. We have however had two men who have both stored their boats inside the property successfully and both were much bigger than yours. In fact the one guy stayed on the property for 12 months and could park his boat right by the front door. We do understand that reversing a boat in is not for everyone. However most people that visit Richards Bay with boats generally store their boats at the boat club. We do feel it's unfair that you expected us to pay for a security guard when it was not our error. However, we did, as a courtesy, arrange for a security guard for the first night at our own expense. We also provided you with contacts for 2 security guards who charge R200 a night in comparison with local security companies that charge R495 per shift. The guard you hired at R200 even washed your boat for you.
Umhlathuze is currently in stage 4 water restrictions/shortage. We are actually not allowed to make use of hose pipes hence why we do not keep it on the property. We accommodated your needs and borrowed the hose pipe even though we can be fined heftily for the violation of the municipal laws. The boat club however also offers the facility to wash boats there.
Your reservation was made for 5 adults and 1 child. In the information folder guests are encouraged to check the inventory lists that go up on your arrival day. The house is equipped with 1 pan & 5 pots. The house is also serviced daily and dishes are washed for guests. We stock the house for 8 people and should more arrive then we do stock accordingly. Unfortunately guests have taken advantage of our generosity in the past hence why we have had to become more strict with this.
Your breakage fee was refunded and we did explain and apologise for the delay.

The main reason for creating The Holiday House was to make holidays affordable for larger families who would not normally be able to make it possible. We have prided ourselves in providing a "B&B" feeling with crisp white linen, cosy throws and large space where this would normally cost much more, we have provided it at a much affordable rate. As mentioned, I think our sister establishments would perhaps be better suitable for your needs in future.

We trust that you will return and we truly look forward to it. May you have a blessed week futher

The Holiday House
Marlien S - Feb 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Marlien S
With friends

Gerieflike spasie en ons het lekker gekuier.

Baie gasvry. Die huis is gemaklik en gerieflik en die eienaars is vriendelik en hulpvaardig. Daar is bietjie opknapping nodig, soos die dakkie agter. Anders is dit baie gerieflik en leefbaar. Baie dankie vir die gebruik van julle huis.

The Holiday House's response

Baie dankie vir die positiewe terugvoering, ons waardeer dit BAIE :)
Dit was 'n absoluut plesier om julle hier te hĂȘ. Ons sal beslis bietjie kyk na daai dakkie.
Ons hoop om julle weer te sien in die toekoms. Come as a guest and return as a friend ;)

The Holiday House
From R2 500
per night (sleeps 12)
From R2 500
per night (sleeps 12)
From R2 500
per night (sleeps 12)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 12 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 18:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 29 Crayfish Creek, Meerensee, Richards Bay, 3900, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDk1M2QyNzJmLWU5ODktNGZlYS05MWJhLTM2YzcwYWY4N2U0Yw?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R2 500  per night (sleeps 12) 4 5 1 4 29 Crayfish Creek Meerensee 3900 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-18:00 10:00 -28.788363775975 32.094566076994
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

0860 022 102 | bookings@travelground.com