The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at The Knoll Historical Farm Guest House & Budget Accommodation | TravelGround
+84

The Knoll Historical Farm Guest House & Budget Accommodation

40 reviews
Guest House

Review Summary

4.1 out of 5from 40 reviews for The Knoll Historical Farm Guest House & Budget Accommodation
Cleanliness
4.1/5
Service
4.0/5
Location
4.1/5
Safety
4.3/5
Value for money
4.1/5
Marius P - Nov 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Marius P
On business

Wonderful environment.

Thank you. Enjoyed the stay. Beautiful environment.

The Knoll Historical Farm Guest House & Budget Accommodation's response

Good day Marius,

Our pleasure, we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
The Knoll

The Knoll Historical Farm Guest House & Budget Accommodation
Durandt V - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
2/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Durandt V
On business

Not the ideal accommodation.

I would not recommend this place when going on a trip. We found a huge spider in our room. There were random animals outside our room and at a certain time our lights just switched off and we couldn't get it back on. We had to work at night and there wasn't even a desk for us to work at and no WiFi was supplied. Will not recommend The Knoll to anyone and most certainly won't go back.

The Knoll Historical Farm Guest House & Budget Accommodation's response

Good Day Quintus,

Thank you for your feedback, as we are able to improve our business though the feedback we receive from our customers.

With regards to the animal life you encountered. We are a Guest Farm in the country-side, we do try to maintain a balanced relationship with the natural environment that we are part of. With regards to the lights we apologize for the inconveniences caused, we try our best to react to the RSA electricity crisis. We will revise our power outage protocols so that future inconveniences are avoided.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope you give us another fair chance.

Kind regards,
The Knoll

The Knoll Historical Farm Guest House & Budget Accommodation
Roland D - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Roland D
Family with young children

Waarde vir geld en baie rustig.

Daar is boonop elke tweede week 'n vertoning van plaaslike kunstenaars wat gaste gratis kan bywoon. Heerlike bunny chow by die vertoning gekoop so aandete was uitgesorteer. Rustige area en pragtige tuin. Sal graag weer bespreek.

The Knoll Historical Farm Guest House & Budget Accommodation's response

Thank you Roland, we are glad you had a good time here.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
The Knoll

The Knoll Historical Farm Guest House & Budget Accommodation
Yvonne T - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Yvonne T
Family with young children

A perfect place to get away from it all.

This is the second time we stayed here and it is unbelievably peaceful. It is close enough to Pietermaritzburg to be close to a city, but far enough away to feel like you are in nature.

Le Roux L - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Le Roux L
Individual traveler

Expected more.

The cord for the kettle in the upper creamery suite is too short - it makes it difficult to make a simple cup of tea. They haven’t done anything about it since my stay there last year.

Antionette B - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Antionette B
Family with young children

Perfect stop over.

We stayed in the Groenekloof 1 Family Room. Lovely, neat and clean accommodation. Perfect for a one night stop over, but not recommended for longer than that as space is limited and there's no lounge.

Retha S - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Retha S
With spouse/partner

Vriendelike ontvangs, baie pragtige ligging, perfek geleë vir Comrades Runners - baie naby aan die start van Comrades met 'n down run.

Oulike "budget" akkommodasie, mooi ligging. Baie dankie vir die vriendelike ontvangs by aankoms.

Nqobile R Z - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Nqobile R Z
With friends

The best farm experience.

Linda was a great host. Very accommodating. It was a great stay

Wilna V - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
5/5
Wilna V
With spouse/partner

Rustig.

The Knoll was voorwaar 'n lekker rustige wegbreektuiste. Die akkommodasie was goed en netjies, die omgewing mooi, die mense baie vriendelik en hulpvaardig. Net jammer dat die plaas 'n ietwat van 'n slordige indruk skep.

Arno H - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
1/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
1/5
Arno H
With spouse/partner

Hulle het nie geweet van my vooruitbetaalde bespreking nie.

Met ons aankoms daar is ons begroet met 'n verwarring soos wanneer gaste onverwags opdaag, wat presies die geval was. Klaarblyklik was ons bespreekte en betaalde kamer op daardie stadium reeds deur ander gaste betrek. Daar is inderhaas 'n plan gemaak om wel 'n kamer tot ons beskikking te stel, maar dit was nie waarvoor ek betaal het of na uitgesien het nie.

Daleen M - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Daleen M
Family with young children

No accommodation - their phone was off.

I tried to phone them, but their phone was off. We stood in the cold before a closed door and couldn't go in. Shockingly bad.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Geen verblyf, hulle telefoon was af.

Ek het probeer skakel, maar hulle selfoon was af. Ons het in die koue voor dooiemansdeur gestaan en kon nie ingaan nie. Skokkend swak.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Molly B - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Molly B

Huislik, netjies en skoon.

Warm verwelkoming gehad, sekuriteit het my as enkelouer gemaklik laat voel. Perseel is mooi skoon en netjies. Kamer was mooi en beddegoed vars en warm. Ongelukkig het die bedlampies nie gewerk nie, asook die badkamer se ligskakelaar/toutjie lol bietjie, jy moet hom paar keer trek voor lig aanskakel.

Rudolph V - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
2/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Rudolph V

Uitstekende ligging, so bietjie weggesteek in die bos - regtig amper remote.

Ons het heerlik gebly!

Riekie D - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Riekie D
Family with young children

Baie rustig. Pragtige plek met die mooiste uitsig.

Ons het 'n wonderlike tyd gehad.

Danny L - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Danny L
With spouse/partner

Natuur en rustig.

Baie naby aan Hilton se lekker craft koffiewinkels en lekker plaaslewe winkels.

Danny L - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Danny L
With spouse/partner

Rustige wegbreek in natuur en ook nie te ver van alles nie.

Amazing plek vir mense wat net alleen wil wegbreek uit daaglikse besige lewe en veral vir wittebrood is dit amazing met hidden gardens en piekniekplek.

Vernon V - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Vernon V
With spouse/partner

Had real great service.

My room wasn't ready on arrival so I was upgraded to a bigger better room free of charge. Very friendly staff and great security.

The Knoll Historical Farm Guest House & Budget Accommodation's response

Hello Vernon,
Thank you for your understanding and patience and we were only too happy to upgrade you.

The problem of this happening in the future has been looked into and we have a new system that will support the arrival and room moves of our guests.

Thank you once again.

Kind regards,
Niki D
Duty Manager

The Knoll Historical Farm Guest House & Budget Accommodation
Ivy S - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ivy S
Family with teenagers

Veilig en skoon met asemrowende uitsig oor bos en perde kamp.

Was gelukkig om gehuis te wees in "Library" eenheid. Netjies, skoon en het wonderlike uitsig oor die bos en die perdekamp. My dogters het die perde ten volle geniet.

Roelien T - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Roelien T
With spouse/partner

Tranquil.

Nice break away from the noise.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Rustig.

Lekker wegbreek van geraas.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Le Roux L - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Le Roux L
Individual traveler

Good experience.

Friendly service. Clean facilities.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Dit was 'n lekker ervaring.

Vriendelike diens. Skoon geriewe.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Knoll Historical Farm Guest House & Budget Accommodation's response

Goeie dag Mnr. Le Roux, ons is baie dankbaar dat jy by The Knoll gebly het.

Baie dankie vir die resensie.

Niki D

The Knoll Historical Farm Guest House & Budget Accommodation
Suzette I - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Suzette I
With spouse/partner

Very gorgeous and relaxing.

When you are on your way home and you need a good night's rest and relaxing, this is the place to go!

The Knoll Historical Farm Guest House & Budget Accommodation's response

Dear Suzette,

Thank you for your wonderful review and we are very happy that you enjoyed and relaxed at The Knoll.

All the very best.
Kind regards,
Niki D

The Knoll Historical Farm Guest House & Budget Accommodation
Stifanus L - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
2/5
Stifanus L
Family with teenagers

Dit was aanvaarbaar, maar sal nie weer daar bly nie.

Geleë in 'n baie mooi deel van ons land, maar stel bietjie teleur.

George J - Feb 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
5/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
George J
On business

Worst experience I've ever had.

No reservation booked out on my arrival. My accommodation was arranged and paid a week before my arrival. Got booked in to the wrong room. Nikki then booked me in to the right room after a debate. She claims that the rooms are the same but I paid for the most expensive room that has wonderful views and a table where I can do my work. I had to wait for about a half an hour because not one of the two room I was booked into had sheets over the bed. When I finally got in bed that night I was surprised with a terrible smell. It seemed like the sheets that was made up for me was dirty and full of stains and smelled really bad. This guest house will never see me again and I will make a point of it to inform as many people as possible about this horrendous service I received. It's sad, because the property itself and the landscapes are absolutely beautiful. If only the service could have been on the same level.

The Knoll Historical Farm Guest House & Budget Accommodation's response

Dear Conraad,
I am surprised at your comments, we had a discussion and a handshake to agree that we started off on the wrong foot by issuing you the incorrect room, after that you were moved immediately to the room you required, you mentioned that you had been travelling since 05:00 that morning, your check-in time was 17:30, and that you were over- tired. We shook hands and all seemed quite alright by the time I had made up your bed, clean toweling. I apologise for the detergent smell on your sheets. Thank you for your review and comments, they do assist us with our standards and our guests expectations.

Kind regards,
Niki

The Knoll Historical Farm Guest House & Budget Accommodation
Jacqueline D - Feb 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Jacqueline D
With friends

Beautiful and cozy.

The venue was beautiful, client service excellent!

David B - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
David B
Family with teenagers

Must just distinguish between Backpacker and Guest Farm.

Was good value for money to just sleep over.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Moet net beter onderskeid tref tussen Backpacker en Guest Farm.

Was goeie waarde vir geld net vir oorslaap.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Knoll Historical Farm Guest House & Budget Accommodation's response

Dear David,

Thank you for your thoughtful insight, our backpacker's units are our budget accommodations, we do have suites available at higher rates, I hopefully with rectify the difference with our Travel Agents so that everyone is well aware of what they are paying for.

All the best and thank you for your review, all comments are taken seriously and we try to assist our guests and their experience at our destination.

Kind regards
Niki

The Knoll Historical Farm Guest House & Budget Accommodation
Theuns C - Oct 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Theuns C
On business

Very calm and quiet.

Beautiful place between the mountains with a farm atmosphere. Would definitely stay there again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie stil en rustig.

Pragtige plek tussen die berge met 'n plaasatmosfeer. Sal definitief weer daar gaan bly.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Andy S - Oct 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Andy S
Family with young children

Stunning place and enjoyed the stay for the night.

Very stunning place. Enjoyed the stay.

Susan B - Oct 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Susan B
With spouse/partner

Stunning, peaceful and everyone was friendly (the animals too).

This is the ideal place to go find yourself again. Peaceful, stunning, no TV, close to a lovely restaurant (Jaxx) for delicious food.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ongelooflik mooi, rustig, almal vriendelik (diere ook).

Dit is die ideale plek om te gaan as jy jouself wil vind. Rustig, mooi, geen TV, met 'n heerlike restaurant naby (Jaxx) vir heerlike kos.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Reinet B - Sep 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
3/5
Reinet B
On business

Stunning place but needs a bit of maintenance.

Great location, blankets not clean and cat urine smell in room, as well as bad smell from drains.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

'n Pragtige plek, maar miskien moet daar meer klem geplaas word op instandhouding.

Pragtige ligging, komberse nie skoon nie en slegte kat urine-reuk in kamer, asook slegte reuk uit dreine.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Knoll Historical Farm Guest House & Budget Accommodation's response

Dankie vir jou eerlike resensie en vir die totstandkoming van ons aandag waar ons nie ons hoë kliënt tevredenheid koers wat die Knoll trots op is, bereik het nie. Ons word aangemoedig om harder te werk om 'n hoë tevredenheid indeks in stand te hou

The Knoll Historical Farm Guest House & Budget Accommodation
Liesl L - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Liesl L
With spouse/partner

Great!

Will definitely be back!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Uitstekend!

Sal verseker weer 'n draai maak by Knoll Historical Guest Farm.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Annelize H - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Annelize H
Family with teenagers

Beautiful and neat.

Beautiful, clean and well looked after. Soft blankets and a lovely shower.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Pragtig en netjies.

Pragtig, skoon en mooi opgepas. Sagte komberse en heerlike stort.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Christo B - May 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Christo B
Individual traveler

Very pretty.

Definitely a place to visit again. Nature is beautiful, garden is beautiful, cottage was clean and there was more than enough hot water. Go on Wednesdays. Nice social in the barn every Wednesday evening!

Janice P - Apr 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Janice P
Individual traveler

Ongelooflik!

Baie dankie vir die gasvryheid. Mooi, netjiese kamers. Tuin is mooi.

Amanda S - Mar 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Amanda S
With spouse/partner

Rustige landskap en omgewing.

Pragtige plaas omgewing, rustige atmosfeer!

Karien K - Mar 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Karien K
With spouse/partner

Uitstekend vir 'n eenvoudige oornagplekkie.

Ons is vriendelik deur Rudi en sy vrou ontvang. Hulle was baie behulpsaam en die fasiliteit word goed in stand gehou. Baie dankie.

Kobus En Juliana O - Jan 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Kobus En Juliana O
With spouse/partner

Perfekte plaasatmosfeer.

Verrassende platteland met lowergroen velde en perde wat deur die reën skoon gewas is wat ons met ligdag begroet voor ons venster. Perfekte oornag-akkommodasie. Dis 'n landelike atmosfeer te midde van 'n dolle gejaag van vakansiegangers, 2 kilometer daarvandaan. Baie vriendelike ontvangs. Uiterste gasvryheid. Ons sal weer en weer en weer daar wou oornag in die toekoms.

Hannelie V - Jan 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hannelie V
Family with teenagers

The Knoll Guestfarm is absoluut die moeite werd.

Ons is ontvang deur Rudi met ons aankoms. Hy het ons onmiddellik na ons kamer geneem. Die akkommodasie is smaakvol gemeubileer en skoon. Die omliggende area en tuin is asemrowend mooi.

Petro V - Dec 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Petro V
Family with teenagers

Ons het heerlik geslaap, die plaasgevoel het dit veroorsaak.

Baie vriendelike en behulpsame ontvangs. Die plek is ongelooflik mooi. Die plaasgevoel het ons definitief tuis laat voel. Ons het alreeds vir baie mense van die Knoll Historical Guest Farm vertel.

Jan V - Oct 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jan V
With spouse/partner

Interessant en mooi.

Ons is vriendelik ontvang en die blyplek was mooi en skoon. Dit het ons egter opgeval dat daar by dieselfde gasteplaas verskillende tipes verblyf beskikbaar is en ons kan ons nie oor al die plekke uitspreek nie.

Andre D - Sep 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
2/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Andre D
Individual traveler

Netjies, verfrissend en lekker om in die natuur te kan gebly het.

Dit sou ook meer gerieflik gewees het as ek ontbyt kon eet.

From R600
per night (sleeps 2)
From R600
per night (sleeps 2)
From R600
per night (sleeps 2)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 36 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: The Knoll, Knoll Drive, Hilton, 3201, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDYwNmYzZjYwLWJhMjYtNDc5OC1iMjE3LTIxZmU3NmU0ZjQ0Nw?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R600  per night (sleeps 2) 40 5 1 5 The Knoll Knoll Drive 3201 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -29.580275 30.279383
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!