The Lutheran Church on Strand Street was built in 1771 and was disguised as a warehouse to avoid prosecution for not following the Dutch Reformed Church prevalent at the time. It forms part of the Lutheran Church Complex which consists of 4 historical buildings, namely the Lutheran Church, Parson’s House, Sexton’s House, and the warehouse which has been declared an urban conservation area due to its 18th century architecture.
The Lutheran Church is located next door to the Martin Melcke House which features the Gold of Africa Museum. Anton Anreith, the sculptor and carver, was involved in the creation of the facade and the pulpit. The room behind the pulpit has a collection of old Bibles which are worth a look.