The remains of the Queen's Fort (also known as the Bloemfontein Fort) can be found south of the Bloemfontein city centre in the Free State. Dating back to 1848, the fort was named after Queen Victoria. The building was not an impressive structure and even at the time it was built, it was considered ineffective.
The powder magazine collapsed during heavy rains in 1850 and when the Republic of the Orange Free State was established, it was taken over by Republican forces. The fort is not believed to have fired a shot in anger, and when it was taken over by the British in 1900, it was converted into a military hospital and as quarters for the Royal Engineers. After the war, it was occupied by a division of the South African Constabulary, and following the armed uprising of 1914-1915, its leader, General CR de Wet and many of his supporters were held here during their trial. In 1930 the fort was taken over by the Union Defence Force and became the headquarters of the Free State Command. Today, it forms part of the Orange Hospital.