University Of Limpopo

Contact Details


The University of Limpopo is a public university in Limpopo at the foot of the Hwiti (Wolkberg) mountain range in Mankweng, halfway between Polokwane and Magoebaskloof. The university was formed by the merging of the University of the North and the Medical University of South Africa.

The University of the North was established in 1959 under the policy of racially segregated institutions during apartheid. It was situated at Turfloop farm about 40km east of Pietersburg. The town that grew around it was called Sovenga - after the Sotho, Venda, and Tsgona cultures that were supposed to study here. Today, most people call the town Mankweng after one of the chiefs who lived in the area.

The University of the North was a key institution during apartheid and merged with the former Medical University (MEDUNSA) of Southern African in 2005. MEDUNSA was established in 1976 to provide tertiary education and training for the previously disadvantaged in the fields of medicine, allied health and nursing sciences, and dentistry.


  • Health sciences
  • Humanities
  • Science and agriculture
  • Management and law


If you've gotten this far, you've clearly enjoyed reading about University Of Limpopo! Why not make a holiday of it and check out our list of accommodation near University Of Limpopo?
Nearby Accommodation Click to show accommodation options close to University Of Limpopo

You may also be interested in browsing our selection of accommodation in Mankweng or reading about Mankweng

Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

0860 022 102 |