The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at 18 on Douglas | TravelGround
+22

18 on Douglas

34 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

4.8 out of 5from 34 reviews for 18 on Douglas
Cleanliness
5.0/5
Service
4.8/5
Location
4.5/5
Safety
4.8/5
Value for money
4.9/5
Mark P - Aug 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mark P
With spouse/partner

Lovely place.

Sal enige tyd weer daar gaan bly.

Yolandi E - May 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Yolandi E
Family with young children

Rustig en gerieflik.

Ek sal dit beslis aanbeveel en ek sal beslis weer daar bespreek.

Tim D - Feb 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tim D
Individual traveler

I was in Pennington for four days to view some homes, with the aim of buying a house.

Thank you Dion and Pieter! At ‘18 on Douglas’, I stayed in a 3 bedroom flat upstairs. Although alone, I was still stunned at how spacious, clean and tidy the flat was. It was also fully equipped for the self-catering traveler. What a pleasure to come ‘home’ to pure comfort and such a peaceful setting after a long day of viewing houses. Dion and Pieter are awesome hosts and the two small problems I encountered in the flat (not worth naming), were rectified almost immediately. I would gladly recommend ‘18 on Douglas’ to anyone looking for self-catering accommodation in Pennington, whether on your own for business, or a family on holiday.

Martine R - Dec 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Martine R
Family with teenagers

Lieflike plek.

Ons het tuisgegaan in die 4-slaapplek-eenheid op die grondvloer. Baie oulike en praktiese eenheid wat alles het. Dion was baie behulpsaam met alles.

Linda W - Nov 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Linda W
Family with teenagers

Very comfortable and value for money.

Sadly it was raining throughout our 4 night stay in Pennington, however, given that we were largely housebound, we were very happy with our accommodation. It was spacious and clean, well laid out and pleasantly furnished. The only improvement I would suggest is to have sheets on the beds as well as duvets and the duvets are too hot.

Angelique V - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Angelique V
With friends

Great accommodation and hospitality.

It was such a great stay, honestly! Dion was very informative and helpful and super friendly, he gave recommendations for activities and restaurants in and around Pennington. The accommodation itself was lovely, very comfortable beds and pillows, fully equipped kitchen. We will definitely recommend staying at 18 on Douglas, if we ever travel to Pennington again, we will definitely want to stay with them again.

Naomi S - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Naomi S
Family with young children

Baie lekker. Vriendelike mense.

Dion is baie vriendelike en behulpsaam. Plek is goed toegerus en het al die nodige benodighede. Sal beslis weer daar gaan bly.

Fanie B - Nov 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Fanie B
With spouse/partner

So rustig en gasvry en huislik.

Die eienaars is ervare reisigers en weet presies wat in 'n selfsorg-eenheid behoort te wees om die verblyf baie bevredigend te maak.

Joseph M - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Joseph M
With friends

Best place ever.

We received excellent treatment from the owner and it's clean, best rooms.

Cindy L - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Cindy L
Family with teenagers

Home away from home.

We truly had an awesome time staying in Pennington. The friendly paw pals truly make you feel at home.

Leon E - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Leon E
Family with young children

Definitely value for money. Neat and contains everything one needs for a short stay.

Beautiful area. Neat home. Very well equipped. Value for money.

Francois V - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Francois V
Family with teenagers

Very quiet place with friendly people.

If you're looking for a break from everything, this is the place to be.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Lekker stil plek met vriendelikke mense.

As jy 'n blaaskans weg van alles nodig het, is die plek vir jou.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Mara S - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mara S
On business

Lovely!

Thank you to Don for 3 lovely days in his beautiful self catering unit. Clean, comfortable, value for money.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Heerlik!

Baie dankie aan Dion vir 3 heerlike dae in sy pragtige selfsorg-eenheid. Skoon, gerieflik, waarde vir geld.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Calvin M - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Calvin M
Family with teenagers

Ons verblyf was gemaklik en baie lekker!

Ons is baie vriendelik ontvang en na 'n vinnige toer het ons gou tuis gevoel. Die decor is baie mooi en alles wat nodig is was daar, selfs noodligte in die sitkamer en badkamer. Die stort is lekker ruim!

Liezel H - Feb 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Liezel H
With spouse/partner

Comfortable and a wonderful location!

This place is affordable and had a wonderful location close to Pennington beach. Dion was very friendly and delivered fantastic service.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Gemaklik en wonderlik geleë!

Die plek is regtig bekostigbaar en wonderlik geleë naby aan Pennington-strand. Dion was baie vriendelik en het fantastiese diens gelewer.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Hendrik D - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Hendrik D
Family with teenagers

Pleasant stay.

Pleasantly surprised, very neat, everything was very good except that the people in the apartment above ours made noise outside our window at 5:30 and even had an argument which woke us up, but I didn't complain at all. Then my wife and I and our two boys who are students where chastised one night when we were laughing and playing games one night - by the very same tenants. It was unpleasant, but it had nothing to do with the landlords.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Aangename verblyf.

Aangenaam verras, baie netjies, alles was baie goed behalwe die ander woonstel bo ons s'n se mense, soggens so 5h30 met 'n lawaai buite ons venster en selfs 'n argument ons wakker lawaai, maar ek het glad nie gekla nie, toe ek en my vrou en ons twee seuns wat studente is, een aand lekker lag en speletjies speel is ons geroskam deur dieselfde huurders. Dit was onaangenaam, maar dit het niks met die verhuurders te doen nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Zacharias S - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Zacharias S
Family with young children

Hospitable, comfortable, private and excellent.

We had a lovely time and the service was friendly and great.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Gasvry, gerieflik, privaat, uitstekend.

Baie lekker gewees met gerieflike dienste en vriendelike diens.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Trish L - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Trish L
Family with teenagers

A comfy bed with comfy pillows and very accommodating owners.

We had a lovely experience and will definitely go back in the future.

Farida M - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Farida M
With friends

Amazing.

We had an amazing stay, we felt very welcome, the place is very clean and beautiful. The pictures do not do justice to it. Absolutely amazing.

Tanita B - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tanita B
With friends

Waarde vir geld.

Die eenheid het verras met gerief en Dion was baie gasvry. Die koffie tee en melk was baie welkom. Eenheid is baie skoon, veilig en gerieflik geleë.

Janneman K - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Janneman K
Family with young children

Will go there again.

Accommodation was nice and clean. The beds and pillows were good. A pity the DStv didn't have any channels. Reception was friendly and we weren't bothered by them. We liked that. Would go there again. Thanks.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Sal weer soontoe gaan.

Plek was mooi skoon. Beddens en kussings is goed. Net jammer die DStv het geen kanale nie. Ontvangs was vriendelik en mens word glad nie gepla nie. Ons het daarvan gehou. Sal weer soontoe gaan. Dankie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Penny R - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Penny R

Great!

The unit was spotless, lovely taste in furnishing. The owners are great people.

Rene K - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rene K
With spouse/partner

Uitstekende gasvryheid.

Dankie Dion vir jou gasvryheid en hulp. Ook vir die gereelde skoon handdoeke en skoonmaak van die woonstel.

Mandy-lee C - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mandy-lee C
Family with young children

Asemrowend.

Ons het vreeslik lekker gebly. Woonstel was skoon en netjies.

Mandy-lee C - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mandy-lee C
Family with young children

Very neat and lovely place.

Thank you for the lovely stay.

Reinette P - Aug 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Reinette P
Family with young children

Heerlik gebly!

Netjies, sal dit aanbeveel. Alles wat mens nodig het is daar!

Olga O - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Olga O
With friends

Very pleasant, but definitely needs an upgrade of TV channels.

Accommodation neat and clean. Only problem was the TV channels. You need a little more to choose from.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie angenaam, maar kan definitief kyk na opgradering van TV-kanale.

Verblyf netjies en skoon. Enigste probleem is die TV-kanale. 'n Mens kort 'n bietjie meer om van te kies.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Pj T - Nov 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Pj T
With spouse/partner

Excellent and neat!

We had a friendly welcome. The unit that we stayed in was well equipped, very neat and met all our needs. The bouquet of TV programs available to watch are very limited!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Uitstekend en netjies!

Ons is vriendelik ontvang. Die eenheid waarin ons gebly het was volledig toegerus, baie netjies en het aan ons behoeftes en verwagtinge voldoen. Die bouquet van TV programme beskikbaar om te kyk is baie beperk!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Siyabonga M - Mar 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Siyabonga M
With friends

What a beautiful place to be at!

I had a wonderful time. Would actually love going back. The owner was so welcoming and made sure everything is alright.

Susan S - Oct 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
5/5
Susan S
Family with young children

Verblyf was baie aangenaam.

Rustige vakansie-atmosfeer. Aan te beveel is 'n besem en skoppie vir elke eenheid. Die glas-skuifdeur kan nie sluit nie. Andersins heerlik vakansie gehou.

Leilani R - Dec 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Leilani R
Family with young children

Waarde vir geld!

Baie lekker gebly! Sal definitief weer daar gaan bly.

Andries B - Oct 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Andries B
Family with young children

Goed!

Alles was goed, die stort se waterdruk was bietjie swak. Verder is die plek skoon en netjies, dit sal goed wees as hulle 'n mikrogolf kan aanskaf. Die mense is ook baie vriendelik.

Cassie K - Oct 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Cassie K
Family with young children

Dit was baie aangenaam en sal verseker weer daar oorbly!

Baie aangename verblyf. Als was 100% na ons wense. Die enigste negatiewe kommentaar (en nou moet ek ver gaan soek) is dat daar nie 'n swembad is nie, en die braai is 'n gemeenskaplike braai (maar dit was altyd skoon en roosters netjies).

Ravi N - Jul 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ravi N

Superb place for a getaway and a relaxing mode

Thoroughly enjoyed the place, looking forward to our next visit! Definitely recommendable to others looking for a peaceful getaway, would recommend that a microwave be put into the units as it would save on electricity and is more convenient. Five stars to Dion and company, well done!

From R500
per night (sleeps 4)
From R500
per night (sleeps 4)
From R500
per night (sleeps 4)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 10 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 21:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 18 Douglas Road, Pennington, 4184, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJGFmN2VlMWRjLWJkYTgtNDllNC04YTZlLTI2ZmQyMWIxMjJmZg?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=enhance,format,compress&q=80 From R500  per night (sleeps 4) 34 5 1 5 18 Douglas Road Pennington 4184 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-21:00 10:00 -30.383355865622 30.688705042922
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!