Scottsville Accommodation at 79 On Ridge Bed & Breakfast | TravelGround
+55

79 On Ridge Bed & Breakfast

20 reviews
Guest House

Review Summary

4.7 out of 5from 20 reviews for 79 On Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Cleanliness
4.8/5
Service
4.9/5
Location
4.5/5
Safety
4.8/5
Value for money
4.7/5
Hendrik J L - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hendrik J L
On business

It is not a stay, it is a holiday!

I thought I was going to Pietermaritzburg to conduct a soul depleting four-day workshop, but it turned out to be a glorious four day holiday! The workshops went smooth, the stay at 79 Ridge Road was the perfect holiday I needed. Who could ever think that the sleepy hollow could provide such a retreat for a tired of life and overworked guy like me? After four days I left more invigorated and refreshed than when I arrived. Magic is in the air at this B&B. Go and experience it for yourselves. I am not going to give away any clues, go and explore them for yourselves. The surprise is yours to have, at absolute best prices you can imagine. The tip to kick of the experience: ask Gys for his best G&T on arrival!

Willie V - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Willie V

Besondere gasvryheid, heerlike ontbyt.

Die gasheer was bereid om die kothuis en 'n enkelkamer spesiaal in te rig vir drie kollegas wat saam 'n kongres bywoon en enkelbeddens verkies. Die heerlike ontbyt is elke oggend presies op die tyd wat ons versoek het na die kothuis gebring. Terwyl ons nog op pad was, het ons 'n telefoonoproep ontvang om ons gerus te stel dat ons ingewag word en om reëlings rondom die aankoms te tref. Ek stel voor dat die volledige naam van 79 On Ridge aangebring word om dit vir gaste maklik te maak om te weet waar die toegangshek is. Die karaktervolle tuin en swembad bied lekker ontspanningsruimte. Die hondjies en koi-dam skep 'n huislike atmosfeer.

Christopher L - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Christopher L
With friends

Most enjoyable stay.

Comfortable and welcoming establishment.

Cy F - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Cy F
With spouse/partner

Very well located near Maritzburg College for our visit.

Beautiful decor. They thought of everything and the apartment where we stayed was well equipped. Gys was very nice and helpful. Nice bed with good linen and electric blanket was great for the cold weather. Please note that breakfast is not included in the price and must be booked in advance. We then went to eat breakfast at the Spur nearby. Good reference of the delicious Olive n Oil restaurant for dinner. We will definitely stay here again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie goed geleë naby Maritzburg College vir ons besoek.

Pragtige decor. Hulle het aan alles gedink en is die woonstel waar ons gebly het baie goed toeggerus. Gys was baie gaaf en behulpsaam. Lekker bed met goeie linne en elektriese kombers was welkom vir die koue weer. Let net daarop dat ontbyt nie ingesluit is in prys en moet vooraf bespreek word. Ons het toe maar by die Spur naby gaan ontbyt eet. Goeie verwysing na die heerlike Olive n Oil restaurant vir aandete. Ons sal definitief weer hier bly.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Zodwa M - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Zodwa M
On business

Home away from home.

Loved it. Clean. Host very kind.

79 On Ridge Bed & Breakfast's response

Dear Zodwa,
Thank you for your wonderful review. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Take care and safe travels.

79 On Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Cobus V - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Cobus V
With spouse/partner

This guesthouse is a few cuts above the rest.

Gys en Denzel is fantastiese gashere. Ek en my vrou het soos vriende daar weggegaan. Die kamer en fasiliteite is besonders, dit voel asof jy in tyd terug beweeg met die unieke decor. As ons weer in Pietermaritzburg moet oorbly sal 79 on Ridge die enigste keuse wees vir ons.

79 On Ridge Bed & Breakfast's response

Dear Cobus,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are overjoyed that you enjoyed your stay and thoroughly enjoyed hosting you and your Wife. Thank you once again for staying with us it was such a privelage to meet you both. You arrived as guests and left as special friends.
Take care and safe travels, we hope to see you both again soon.
Take care and best wishes,
GYS

79 On Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Muller & Yvette V - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Muller & Yvette V
With spouse/partner

Baie lekker.

Baie lekker. Ingang bietjie ongemaklik. Nie die perseel se skuld.

Geraldine M - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Geraldine M
Family with young children

Vriendelike diens, heerlik in die kothuis gebly, heerlike ontbyt.

Ek en my seun het by die gastehuis gebly, ons het in die kothuis gebly. Heerlik om die kombuis en sitkamer ook te hê. Die tuin is pragtig. My seun het die swembad geniet. Die diens was baie goed, almal baie vriendelik. Ontbyt was pragtig bedien en heerlik. Die huis was goed geleë naby die skole.

Sylvain C - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sylvain C
Individual traveler

Well managed B&B and excellent hosts.

Highly recommended stay over. Room and bedding clean and very comfortable. An excellent British breakfast was on offer.

79 On Ridge Bed & Breakfast's response

Dear Sylvain,

Thank you for your kind words and wonderful review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to welcome you back again in the near future. It is good to know that our guests are enjoying their time with us and that our efforts are being appreciated

Take care.
Kind regards
Gys

79 On Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Morne H - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
2/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
5/5
Morne H
Family with young children

'n Buitekamer is ongelukkig nie 'n gastehuis nie.

Die foto's op die webtuiste is ongelukkig misleidend. Ons gesin van 4 het 'n buitekamer gekry met 1 enkelbed en 1 dubbelbed. Baie lank vooruit bespreek en ons is gesê om voor 14h00 in te boek want eienaars moes by troue wees. Dis later gewysig na 15h00. Die eienaars is vriendelik maar toe ons arriveer het 'n helper nog die plek skoongemaak. Daar's ook vir ons gesê dat daar baie gaste sal wees wat min spasie vir motor sou gee. Ongelukkig teleurstellend.

Tharina P - Feb 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tharina P
Individual traveler

Magnificent

Thank you for a comfortable and friendly stay. Much attention is given to detail and the breakfast is delicious! Safe for a young student and very close to Varsity College makes it ideal.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Manjifiek.

Baie dankie vir 'n gerieflike en vriendelike oorslaap. Baie aandag word aan detail gegee en die ontbyt is heerlik! Veilig vir 'n jong student en baie naby aan Varsity College maak dit ideaal.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Sunette T - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sunette T
Family with young children

As at home as in your own home.

We had a lovely stay and will definitely stay there again if we are in Pietermaritzburg (see you again next year)! 79 On Ridge Bed & Breakfast is located near the N3, across the road from the University and offers a peaceful atmosphere. The owners, Gys and Denzil are friendly and make you feel at home right away. We stayed in the self-catering cottage - which is a beautiful place, very clean and tidy (with stylish decor). The unit has everything you need - a spacious bedroom with the most awesome bed / bedding and plenty of space for everyone's clothes, a big bathroom with clean and soft towels, a kitchen with everything you need and a lounge where the children slept. There were also extras that one does not always expect - a container of purified drinking water, coffee / tea and a box of cappuccinos and extra soap / shower gel in the bathroom. The children's favourites were the soft comforters, the cute dogs - especially Mitsie, the free WiFi and then of course the Lindt Lindor Truffles, each of them found next to the bed. The breakfast was delicious and served on a cosy veranda. We also looked at the rest of the guesthouse's rooms and the standard (and attention to detail) also applies here. Gys and Denzil, thank you very much for your hospitality, your place is definitely one of the most beautiful and cleanest we have already stayed at and we definitely recommend you to anyone who needs accommodation in your area.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

So tuis soos by jou eie huis.

Ons het heerlik gebly en sal beslis weer daar bly as ons in Pietermaritzburg is (sien jul beslis weer volgende jaar)! 79 On Ridge Bed & Breakfast is naby aan die N3 geleë, regoorkant die Universiteit en bied ‘n rustige atmosfeer. Die eienaars, Gys en Denzil is vriendelik en laat mens dadelik tuis voel. Ons het in die “self-catering cottage” gebly - wat ‘n pragtige plekkie, baie skoon en netjies (met stylvolle dekor). Die eenheid het alles wat jy benodig weg van die huis - ‘n ruim slaapkamer met dié awesomeste (ek weet dis nie regtig ‘n woord nie) bed / beddegoed en genoeg pakplek vir almal se klere, ‘n groot badkamer met skoon en sagte handdoeke, ‘n kombuis met alles wat jy benodig en ‘n sitkamer waar die kinders dan ook geslaap het. Daar was ook ekstras wat mens nie noodwendig altyd verwag nie - ‘n houer met gesuiwerde drinkwater, koffie / tee asook ‘n boksie cappuccinos en tot ekstra seep / shower gel in die badkamer. Die kinders se “favourites” van die plek - die sagte kombersies, die oulike hondjies - veral Mitsie, die gratis WiFi en dan natuurlik die lekker bederf van Lindt Lindor Truffles wat hul elke aan langs die bed gekry het. Die ontbyt was heerlik en word op ‘n knus, kuier-stoep bedien. Ons het ook gaan loer na die res van die gastehuis se kamers - en die standaard (en “attention to detail”) geld ook hier. Gys en Denzil, duisende dankies vir jul gasvryheid - jul plek is definitief een van die mooistes en skoonstes waar ons al tuisgegaan het en ons beveel jul definitief aan vir enigeen wat akkommodasie benodig in jul area.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Ludwig O - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Ludwig O
On business

Very nice and clean, friendly owner.

The best breakfast that I've had in a long time. Very comfortable and clean.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie lekker en skoon, vriendelike eienaar.

Die beste ontbyt wat ek in 'n baie lang tyd gehad het. Baie gerieflik en skoon.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Monika P - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Monika P
With friends

Fantastic.

Stylish and comfortable. Will definitely stay there again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Fantasties.

Stylvol en gerieflik. Sal beslis weer daar bly.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Jopie B - Feb 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Jopie B
Individual traveler

Pragtige plek en besondere gasvryheid.

Dankie aan Gys vir die gasvryheid en heerlike ontbyt spesiaal aangepas vir my met my beprekinge op wat ek kan eet!

Louise J - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Louise J
On business

Uitstekende diens

Baie tevrede met die gastehuis. Hulle gaan uit hul pad om dit so aangenaam as moontlik te maak. Sal definitief weer gebruik, en aanbeveel vir ander.

Ilze M - Jun 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ilze M
Family with teenagers

More than satisfied.

We were enchanted by the space behind the big, safe walls, beautiful, tasteful house and hospitality! Lovely lasagne, breakfast in such a pretty environment. Best B&B ever!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Meer as tevrede.

Ons was betower deur die omgewing binne die groot veilige mure, pragtige smaakvolle huis en die gasvryheid! Heerlikste lasagne, ontbyt in so 'n mooi omgewing. Beste B&B ooit!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Stephanie S - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Stephanie S
With spouse/partner

Excellent.

We had a lovely stay, just too short. Service very good. Breakfast excellent and beautifully served. Just with people who visit, they have to be very careful with the in and out of the property, quite dangerous. Hospitality excellent. My wife is already there again at the moment.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Uitstekend.

Baie baie lekker gebly, net te kort. Diens baie goed. Ontbyt puik en mooi aangebied. Net met mense wat kom kuier, baie versigtig wees met die ingang en uitgang van en na perseel, nogal gevaarlik. Gasvryheid puik. My vrou is sommer al weer daar op die oomblik.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Jean-pierre S - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jean-pierre S
Individual traveler

Hospitality at its best.

See stars.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Gasvryheid op sy beste

Sien die sterre.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Christopher L - Oct 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Christopher L

Warm, friendly service.

Classic Victorian house well restored with an obsession to detail and collectibles. Families with small children may find the décor overwhelming. Excellent service and attention to detail by the hosts. An enjoyable place to visit.

From R1 000
per night (for 2 people)
From R1 000
per night (for 2 people)
From R1 000
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 12 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 79 Ridge Road, Scottsville, Pietermaritzburg, 3201, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDExMWJkM2U4LWEwZDYtNDVmZC1iNzUzLTI1N2IxOTNlMzg2NQ?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R1 000  per night (for 2 people) 20 5 1 5 79 Ridge Road Scottsville 3201 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -29.62101 30.39824
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

0860 022 102 | bookings@travelground.com