The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Abalone Lodges | TravelGround
+90

Abalone Lodges

Review Summary

4.6 out of 5from 56 reviews for Abalone Lodges
Cleanliness
4.8/5
Service
4.5/5
Location
4.6/5
Safety
4.8/5
Value for money
4.6/5
Adri J - Oct 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Adri J
Family with young children

Baie lekker, ontspannende atmosfeer.

Abalone Lodges is ’n plekkie waar ons definitief weer sal kom kuier, juis oor dit ’n veilige omgewing is vir ons kleine seuntjie.

Elsa V - Aug 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Elsa V
With spouse/partner

Lieflike plek.

Ons het dit baie geniet om daar te bly, was skoon en netjies en fantasties geleë.

Megan J - Aug 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Megan J
With spouse/partner

Peaceful and tranquil.

We stayed for a 18th anniversary. Our cabin was between other cabins but we felt quite secluded. We spent a lot of our time on the balcony enjoying the view of the lagoon. We also made use of the braai facility which was really nice and clean and the complimentary wood was a lovely added bonus. On our last night there the wind was pumping but we were nice and cosy in our cabin. Really good value for money.

Grant V - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Grant V
With spouse/partner

Beautiful.

Had an amazing stay. Would definitely recommend to anyone. Great value for money and extremely good service.

Nicole F - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nicole F
With spouse/partner

Short and sweet.

We were 2 couples staying over at Abalone Villas and we had everything we needed. The wooden cabins was very nice and had a very nice setting.

Christoph C - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Christoph C
With spouse/partner

Mooi huise, baie gemaklike beddens, goeie uitsig.

Verblyf geniet, ietwat verkeerlawaai in die aande. Het kombuis-yskas onvoldoende gevind, heeltemal te klein.

Liezel H - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Liezel H
With spouse/partner

Tranquility. Fantastic service.

On arrival the greet was friendly and warm. The lodge was nice and clean. The next day service is great as they come and clean your space, which is not what we expected as we clean after ourselves, but that was nice to have. Peace and quiet was great. Would of loved to make use of the pool area, but the weather wasn’t allowing for it unfortunately. All in all. I’m definitely going back.

Errol T - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Errol T
With spouse/partner

Great breakaway. Safe and great for relaxation.

We enjoyed our stay!

Ashlyn M - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Ashlyn M
With spouse/partner

Very nice place and quieter environment.

Nice place to relax and forget about all the business in your life. Quiet environment, beautiful views will definitely book in there again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie mooi plek en rustiger omgewing.

Lekker plek om te ontspan en te vergeet van al die bedrywigheid in jou lewe. Rustige omgewing, baie mooi uitsig sal definitief weer daar inboek.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Diederik P - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Diederik P
With spouse/partner

Het ons tyd baie geniet, huis baie ruim en baie skoon, sal defnitief weer hier bly.

Sien sterre.

Floyd J - Nov 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Floyd J
With spouse/partner

Fantastic.

I was a great experience for me and my spouse. We totally enjoyed our stay.

Heinrich C - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Heinrich C
With spouse/partner

Dit was 'n welverdiende wegbreek. Rustig en stil.

Dit was alles wat ons verwag het. Pragtige uitsigte. Rustig en veilig. Welverdiende wegbreek.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

It was a well deserved break. Peace and quiet.

It was everything that we have expect of it. Beautiful views. Peaceful and safe. Well deserved break.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Wanja M - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Wanja M
With spouse/partner

A beautiful place with secure parking, security was absolutely amazing.

A beautiful place, very secure and an amazing view. Very quiet with no disturbances. Fully equipped. Absolutely awesome place.

Desrae V - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
2/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Desrae V
With spouse/partner

Baie netjies en mooi toegerus.

Eerste keer wat ons in Knysna kom. Sou bietjie meer gasvryheid waardeer het, deur ons in te lig oor plekke om te gaan sien wat die moeite werd is, ons het maar gegoogle.

Bertus V - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Bertus V
With spouse/partner

Great.

Aanbeveel vir 'n lekker vakansie.

Karen K - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Karen K
With spouse/partner

Delightful!

Lovely place for a holiday or stop over, very clean and comfortable, lovely view of lagoon.

Danie V - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Danie V
With spouse/partner

Nice. Waarde vir geld.

Lekker man, lekker. Goeie waarde vir geld.

Heinrich F - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Heinrich F
With spouse/partner

It was perfect.

Well, it was awesome and we enjoyed it. And we will come again anytime.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Dit was perfek.

Wel, dit was awesome en ons het dit geniet. En ons sal enige tyd weer kom.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Erlreza B - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Erlreza B
With spouse/partner

Wouldn't mind to book it again.

Reception was of excellent service, the accommodation was exactly what we expected. Space was enough, and the perfect place to stay for relaxation.

Elzette M - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Elzette M
With spouse/partner

Pragtige huisies en veilige area.

Ons was vir 4 aande by Abalone Lodges ingeboek. Die ligging is taamlik sentraal, tien minute van die Waterfrontarea af. One is baie vriendelik ontvang en ons eenheid is daagliks skoongemaak. Sekuriteit was vir ons 'n prioriteit, omdat ons met ons fietse getoer het. Hulle het 'n sekuriteitshek en 'n sekuriteitsman wat elke aand toesig hou. Daar is braaigeriewe en die kombuis het alles in wat jy moontlik sou nodig hê.

Nadine B - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nadine B
With spouse/partner

Baie lekker en netjies.

Dis Bbaie veilig en lekker rustige, netjiese plek.

Lezaan D - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lezaan D
Family with young children

Heerlike verblyf met mooi uitsig.

Ons het heerlik gebly en baie lekker geslaap. Dis ‘n baie rustige omgewing, die huisies het als wat mens nodig het en dis baie cosy.

Chane D - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Chane D
With spouse/partner

Best view.

Very nice view with an amazing forest feel.

Guilermo J - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Guilermo J
With spouse/partner

Dit was asemrowend!

Abalone Lodge is regtig 'n fantastiese plek in die hart van alles: natuur, netheid, ligging, veiligheid, vriendlike personeel en vir my en my vrou is Abalone lodge en Knysna baie spesiaal! Dis 'n besonderse plek - a home away from home.

Grant T - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Grant T
With spouse/partner

Friendly, clean and value for money.

Found our stay to be delightful, the staff were friendly efficient and the place was very clean. It is also very well located with great views. Will definitely be using them again.

Christelle H - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Christelle H
Family with young children

Ruim, mooi en baie netjies.

Ons was op pad huis toe en het net een aand oorgeslaap. Maar was baie spyt ons kon nie langer bly. Afgepak en nie eers gaan uiteet nie. Wou net daar bly. Lieflik en mooi ingerig en ruim, met die lekkerste spa-bad. Sal beslis weer daar kom oorbly, dankie!

Kelly H - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Kelly H
With spouse/partner

Was amazing!

Very relaxing, amazing views, awesome service, will definitely go back.

Elmarie D - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
1/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Elmarie D
With spouse/partner

Bad location. Lay a block under the highway. All day a noise of vehicles and trucks moving through them. Couldn't get a proper night's sleep.

Location is poorly located. The idea you get from pictures is that it is in a quiet environment.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Swak geleë. Lê 'n blok onder die hoofweg. Heelnag 'n geraas van voertuie en trokke wat daardeur beweeg. Kon geen behoorlike nagrus inkry nie.

Plek is swak geleë. Die idee wat 'n mens kry volgens foto's is dat dit in 'n rustige omgewing is.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Lorenza H - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lorenza H
With spouse/partner

More than I expected.

It's a very nice place to stay. It is quiet, clean, close to everything and you feel safe.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Meer as wat ek verwag het.

Dit is 'n baie mooi plek om te bly. Dit is rustig, skoon, naby alles en jy voel veilig.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Jana V - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jana V
With spouse/partner

Excellent place.

Good service. Friendly and helpful. Clean and neat. Excellent view.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Uitstekende plek.

Goeie diens. Vriendelik en behulpsaam. Skoon en netjies. Uitsig uitstekend.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Daniella V - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Daniella V
With spouse/partner

Breathtaking with the most beautiful view.

Fantastic. The best place to stay for a lovely getaway with your partner. The rooms are very beautiful, neat and very comfortable.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Asemrowend met die mooiste uitsig.

Fantasties. Die beste blyplek om te gaan vir 'n lieflike wegbreek met jou lewensmaat. Die kamers is so mooi, netjies en baie gerieflik.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Abalone Lodges's response

Dear Daniella

Thank you for your lovely review!
We are so pleased to hear that you loved your stay with us.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best wishes from us all.

Abalone Lodges
Shaheed A - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Shaheed A

Uitstekend! Sal beslis weer terug Abalone Lodges toe kom.

Die netheid en asemrowende uitsig van Abalone Lodges af het gemaak dat dit my beste vakansie-wegbreek was in jare!

Paul S - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Paul S
With spouse/partner

Heerlik.

Veilig, netjies, skoon.

Christo O - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Christo O
With spouse/partner

Value for money.

Quiet and safe with a lovely view.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Waarde vir geld.

Rustig en veilig met 'n lieflike uitsig.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Shaun V - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Shaun V
With spouse/partner

Absolutely stunning and clean. Perfectly positioned.

We loved our stay at Abalone. Rooms are stunning, clean and have everything you need. Will stay there again.

Amelia K - Feb 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Amelia K
With spouse/partner

Baie netjies, gerieflik, sekuriteit in die aand, veilig, definitief waarde vir geld.

Alles is uitstekend skoon en netjies, word daagliks deur personeel skoongemaak. Alles werk, spabad, lugversorging maak dit so gemaklik, parkering op perseel, onderdak is gerusstellend, met nagwag snags. Baie sentraal en veilig.

Horatio E - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Horatio E
With spouse/partner

Worth every km driven.

A great place to get away from the city life.

Ryan H - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ryan H
With spouse/partner

What a place!

Abalone is a perfect place, if you wanna relax and just unwind around mother nature. Beautiful place. I loved every minute of it. Will definitely go again.

Vanessa M - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
1/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Vanessa M

Adequate facilities.

Facilities were adequate, but very small especially the kitchenette area. Only seating area was on the balcony and the chairs were uncomfortable and it was extremely hot between 4-19h30 pm where being in the room or balcony was unbearable.

Lana T - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lana T
With spouse/partner

Aangenaam, uitstekende waarde vir geld.

Ons insiens is dit 'n goed versorgde uiters aangename plek om in tuis te gaan. Dit is werklik ideaal vir twee mense wie van orde en versorging hou.

Anton R - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Anton R
With spouse/partner

Ongelooflike uitsig op die Knysna-meer en The Heads.

A room with a view. 'n Onbelemmerde uitsig vanuit die kamer en/of balkon op die Knysna-meer, Theissen Island en The Heads. Goed toegruste eenheid met al die basiese benodigdhede om die verblyf die moeite werd te maak. Nie geskik vir persone wat moeilik trappe klim nie.

Lizette C - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Lizette C
With spouse/partner

Very cosy and comfortable.

Definitely will come back.

Jos B - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jos B
With spouse/partner

Baie lekker wittebrood.

Ons het baie lekker gebly hier vir 2 aande vir ons wittebrood. Als was mooi skoon. Die plekkie het ook 'n baie mooi uitsig en is veilig.

Lauren B - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
2/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Lauren B
With spouse/partner

Take me back to Abalone Lodges!

Even though we were there for a quick evening, the sunset over the lake was breathtaking and the stay was very comfortable. The spa bath made me feel relaxed. Perfect for one night or three!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Vat my terug Abalone Lodges toe!

Al was ons daar vir een vinnige aand, was die sonsondergang oor die vlei asemrowend en verblyf baie gemaklik. Die spa-bad het my omtrent ontspanne gehad. Perfek vir een nag, of drie!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Leana B - Jun 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Leana B

Fantastic!

This place marks my 2017. Enjoyed my stay so much at Abalone i will definitely return in the near future. Would have loved the TV in the lounge see that we had a kid with us. I don't want to mention the spectacular views we had, I was glued to the window and balcony. Night manager was very helpful when we needed help with our TV. Great place and keep up the good work.

Salome S - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Salome S
Family with young children

Beautiful and convenient.

I think we had a big chalet. So the kitchen was spacious and equipped with all the necessities. Child slept on the sleeper couch. Lovely view. Neat and clean. Negatives: According to the internet, the check in time is 11:00. They asked us to leave and return at the right time upon our arrival at 13:00. The Jacuzzi didn't work. And the water wasn't very warm.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Pragtig en gemaklik.

Dink ons het 'n groot chalet gehad. So die kombuis was baie ruim met alles wat mens kan nodig hê in. Kind het op sleeper couch geslaap. Wonderlike uitsig. Netjies en skoon. Negatiewe: Inkloktyd op die internet was 11:00. Toe ons 13:00 daar kom is ons gevra om terug te kom op die regte tyd. Die Jacuzzi-bad het nie gewerk nie. En die water nie baie warm nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Annemie L - Apr 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Annemie L
On business

Ek het regtig hierdie verblyf baie geniet!

Die plek word elke dag skoongemaak, die uitsigte is asemrowend en hier is alles wat jy nodig het. Tien uit tien!

Kobus B - Feb 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Kobus B
With spouse/partner

Lekker rustig met mooi uitsig.

Netjies, mooi uitsig. Rustig.

Willie E - Dec 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Willie E

Luukse verblyf teen bekostigbare tarief!

Sien sterre.

Wayne H - Oct 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Wayne H
With spouse/partner

Baie goed geleë.

Baie mooi plek. Ek was regtig onkant gevang.

Hermari S - Sep 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
2/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Hermari S
With spouse/partner

Fasiliteite en netheid met aankoms baie goed!

Ligging naby dorp ideaal, maar ook ver genoeg. Selfsorg, maar sou dalk 'n opsionele skoonmaakdiens verkies. Om dalk die badkamer te kom opknap en skoon handdoeke te kry, maar dit het ons nie veel gepla nie.

Willie S - Aug 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Willie S
With spouse/partner

Wegbreeknaweek.

Het al voorheen hier gebly, en soos altyd is dit skoon en netjies en waarde vir geld, sal beslis weer op my lys wees.

Stanley S - Mar 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Stanley S
With spouse/partner

Dit was ongelooflik.

Ons sal weer kuier. Dankie vir alles .

Andrew W - Nov 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Andrew W
With friends

Wonderful stay

As above, a lovely place and stay.

Elrone B - Aug 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Elrone B
With spouse/partner

Abalone Lodge is a must for any couple/family

Hubby and I went to Abalone Lodge on our 20year anniversary weekend. Upon our arrival we were greeted and shown to our accommodation in a very friendly manner. When we stepped into our room we were pleasantly surprised with the gesture Abalone went through to make our stay special: there were lovely pink roses, chocolates, and a bottle of sparkling grape juice ready and waiting for us! In the bathroom they put rose petals all around a nice spa bath. Tip-top service from them made the weekend even more special. A big thank you to all the staff at Abalone Lodge!!!

Gernot C - Nov 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Gernot C
With friends

Lovely

Nice setting with great views!

From R700
per night (sleeps 2)
From R700
per night (sleeps 2)
From R700
per night (sleeps 2)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 30 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 20:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 20 Heron's Way, Lower Old Place, Knysna, 6570, Western Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAaGcubWjox9AW76UAJVNbAq4n3EbK4Cji2eVH42rjwarDVXWAFa?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R700  per night (sleeps 2) 56 5 1 5 20 Heron's Way Lower Old Place 6570 Western Cape 0860 022 102 14:00-20:00 10:00 -34.041151712916 23.069876879454
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!