The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Arek's Place | TravelGround
+70

Arek's Place

16 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

4.1 out of 5from 16 reviews for Arek's Place
Cleanliness
4.1/5
Service
4.3/5
Location
4.4/5
Safety
4.2/5
Value for money
3.6/5
Hendri L - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Hendri L

Skoon en netjies, maar standaard bitter ver van R800.

Geen drukking in storte, selfsorgkombuis nie ten volle toegerus en volledig. Water soms nie warm. Glad nie voldoene borde om die plek aan te wys nie, nie voldoende gangligte nie.

Karen G - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
2/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
1/5
Karen G

Although well situated, it is ill equipped.

We found the lighting insufficient, kitchen ill equipped and badly situated outside the chalet, too many stairs for elderly guests and coffee station had plastic glasses and no kettle.

Thandiwe B - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Thandiwe B
Family with young children

Loved the breathtaking interior of the unit.

Home away from home! Great care and love from owner/staff!

Pieter O - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Pieter O
With spouse/partner

Pragtige uitsig, vriendelike mense, netjies.

Was baie gelukkig. Netjiese plek en vriendelike mense, pragtige uitsig.

Corlia M - Feb 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Corlia M
Individual traveler

Nice and homey.

Will highly recommend this guesthouse.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie lekker huislik.

Sal die gastehuis ten sterkste aanbeveel.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Gloria N - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Gloria N
Family with young children

The place is secure, quiet and very clean. The owner as well as the housekeeper are very friendly.

My kids loved the place. There was enough space for my children to sleep. The owner was welcoming and made us feel at home. I would not think twice when I need a place to sleep in Krugersdorp. Arek's Place is a home from home.

Marlene J - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marlene J
Family with young children

It was great and you can sleep with peace of mind.

Arek's Place is really recommended, good location, very neat and clean. Very friendly people.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Dit was baie lekker en 'n mens kan met 'n gemoedsrus daar oorslaap.

Arek's Place word regtig aanbeveel, goeie ligging, baie netjies en skoon. Baie vriendelike mense.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Annatjie V - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Annatjie V
With friends

Baie aangename veilige en rustige verblyf.

Dit was huis weg van die huis af. Ons was vriendelik deur die eienaar verwelkom en gehelp om tuis te raak. Hy was voortdurend behulpsaam gedurende ons 12 dae verblyf. Dit is 'n skoon en veilige verblyf naby aan winkels. Uitsig is baie mooi.

Marli C - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Marli C
Family with teenagers

Do not waste your time.

We booked the largest unit with three bedrooms, a large lounge and a large dining room, but the kitchen is separate and very small that you have to share with all the other rooms. There is a very small fridge and a stove with two hobs that switch on and off all the time. There are the minimum goods in the cupboards that weren't enough just for our unit, nevermind all the other people. If one asks the owner for literally anything, he says he can not help because he is just a manager after introducing himself as the owner. He is terribly rude and just walks into your place whenever he wants to. He was of no help and was rude when we asked for toilet paper when we ran out of it. We lit a small fire and he came to tell us that we had to finish by 10 o'clock and please put our lights out. It's a very nice place and the other workers were very friendly. If there is a new owner, we can try again, but while this person is still in control, I will not recommend it to anyone. He made it a very unpleasant weekend for all of us.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Moet nie jou tyd mors nie.

Ons het die grootste eenheid bespreek met drie slaapkamers, ‘n groot sitkamer en ‘n groot eetkamer, maar die kombuis is apart en vreeslik klein wat jy met al die ander kamers moet deel. Daar is een baie klein yskassie en ‘n stoof met twee plate wat die heeltyd aan en af skakel. Daar is die minimum goed in die kaste wat nie genoeg was eers net vir ons eenheid nie nevermind al die ander mense. As mens die eienaar vra vir letterlik enige iets dan sê hy dat hy nie kan help nie, want hy is maar net ‘n manager nadat hy homself voorgestel het as die eienaar. Hy is vreeslik ongeskik en loop net in jou plek in wanneer hy wil. Hy was geen hulp nie en was lelik as mens hom net vra vir nog toiletpapier toe ons sin uitgehardloop het. Ons het ‘n klein braaitjie aangesteek buite en toe kom sê hy vir ons dat ons moet 10 uur klaar wees en asb. ons ligte dan afsit. Dis ‘n baie mooi plekkie en die ander werkers was baie vriendelik gewees. As daar ‘n nuwe eienaar is kan mens weer die plek probeer maar terwyl die persoon nog in beheer is sal ek dit vir niemand aanraai nie. Hy het dit ‘n baie onaangename naweek gemaak vir ons almal.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Arek's Place's response

Good day Marli,
Thank you for your feedback.
The reservation was done for 6 guests, however, 7 guests arrived. We then spoke to the guest regarding the extra person and they agreed to pay extra. We have never encountered this issue before so the amount was deducted from the deposit. The group did not allow the housekeeper to tidy the rooms. The guest said that they like their privacy which we respected, by not entering the rooms. The owner was out of the property for 2 days. The group arrived with a huge amount of alcohol, hubbly, smoking pipes, etc. preparing for a party which we do not allow. Our place is hardly 1 year old, all our beddings and beds are brand new and comfortable, the rooms are clean and spacious. The kitchen is big enough for our guests but this is not a place to have a party. We are sorry to hear about the unhappiness but we concentrate on creating a quiet and peaceful environment for our clients. For entertainment venues place need to be especially arranged, so we could not bother others guests.
Kind Regards,
Arek's Place

Arek's Place
Matthew B - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Matthew B
With spouse/partner

An excellent place to stay.

Very friendly and great service!

Jill C - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
2/5
Jill C
Family with young children

Goed geslaap. Vriendelike ontvangs.

Sal dit aanbeveel. Baie vriendelike diens.

Anrio K - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Anrio K
With friends

It was fantastic with a nice view.

We were at a wedding close to Arek's Place, but for the time we were there we enjoyed it. The staff and owner were very friendly and helpful, would really recommend it.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Dit was fantasties met 'n mooi view.

Ons was vir 'n troue naby aan Arek's Place, maar vir die tydjie wat ons daar was het ons dit geniet en die werkers en eienaar was baie vriendelik en hulpsaam, sal dit regtigwaar aanbeveel.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Cois S - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Cois S
Family with teenagers

Die personeel het ons baie welkom laat voel met hul vriendelikheid. Die plekkie was baie skoon en netjies.

Sien sterre.

Nana C - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Nana C
With friends

Ruim vertrekke en ideaal geleë!

Ons het heerlik gebly! Ons is hartlik ontvang en ons het alles gehad wat ons nodig gehad het. Stil, rustige omgewing en eienaar was vriendelik!

Jurine V - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Jurine V

The negative is more than the positive.

Arek gave us a friendly welcome in the very large apartment layout (we were 4 adults with one teenager). The view was wonderful and one of the quietest places one can imagine. But the reason why I would not recommend it (for now) is because all 3 beds of linen were full of stains, the dishes of the previous people were not washed (we had to do it), it's a self-catering unit with just 2 knives and a plastic teaspoon. There was enough of the other cutlery. Towels were still on the floor, there was no toilet paper, the place was full of dust and spider webs, and there is no real privacy. There are cameras outside on the veranda (which I can understand for safety reasons), but there are cameras inside the house, in the lounge as well. We brought the problems to Arek. Hope the next guests have a more pleasant experience.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Die negatiewe is meer as die positiewe.

Arek het ons baie vriendelik verwelkom in die baie groot woonstel-opset (ons was 4 grootmense met een tiener). Die uitsig was wonderlik en een van die rustigste plekke wat mens kan indink. Maar die rede hoekom ek dit nie (vir nou) sal aanbeveel nie, is omdat al 3 beddens se linne vol kolle was, die skottegoed van die vorige mense was nie gewas nie (ons moes dit maar doen), dis 'n selfsorg eenheid met net 2 messe en een plastiek teelepel. Daar was darem genoeg van die ander eetgery. Handdoeke was nog op die vloer, daar was geen toiletpapier nie, die plek was vol stof en spinnerakke, en daar is nie regtig privaatheid nie. Daar is kameras buite op die stoep (wat ek kan verstaan vir veiligheids redes), maar daar is kameras binne die huis, in die sitkamer ook. Ons het die probleme onder Arek se aandag gebring. Hoop die volgende mense het 'n meer aangename ondervinding.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Arek's Place's response

Dear Mrs Jurine,
Thank you for your remarks, they are very valuable for us and we will keep it in mind.
To advise we clean rooms daily and after every our guest leaving, which includes changing bedding and towels, which are washed every time. Towels are always on the beds or on the shelf in the bathrooms, except dark brown bath floor towel which is next to the shower purposely on the floor, because you stand on it when you finish showering. We always supply toilet paper for our guests, but if happen that you needed more, there is always someone on the property, and as we welcome the guests, I walked to the rooms and show them around, mentioning that if anything not to the expectations, please call us. That is what we are there for, to assist our guests. The same with the kitchen equipment. The kitchen is fully equipped, with the full set of cutlery, dishes, plates, cup, etc, 6 of each, everything in the cupboards in the kitchen. If you needed something more, you should just ask us, we would help with the pleasure.
Arek’s Place is situated on the top of the cliff, and especially now at the end of the winter, we are subject to heavy winds and in spite of our efforts to keep the place clean, if someone leaves the windows or door open, you could see some amount of dust on our dark wooden furniture.
Our place is monitored by civilian system installed by professionals. Cameras are situated only in the common areas for our guests comfort and security. We are trying to provide safe and quiet environment for our guests, where you can rest and enjoy your stay.
Regards,
Eric

Arek's Place
Danie O - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Danie O
Family with young children

Uitstekend! Goeie waarde vir geld. Baie spasie.

Ons was baie vriendelik verwelkom. Daar was baie spasie vir my kind om te speel. Dit is 'n goeie en veilige area, naby aan alles in Krugersdorp.

was R750
From R450
per night (for 2 people)
was R750
From R450
per night (for 2 people)
was R750
From R450
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 26 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 20:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 36 Lindhout Street, Noordheuwel, Krugersdorp, 1756, Gauteng
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAOExQjraQHXXektJ8Vwo1yDPQYLtZQDTDP83i0dAC5OPhhUSbP1?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format was R750, now From R450  per night (for 2 people) 16 5 1 5 36 Lindhout Street Noordheuwel 1756 Gauteng 0860 022 102 14:00-20:00 10:00 -26.093244375892 27.806642449074
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!