Northern Drakensberg Accommodation at Berghouse and Cottages | TravelGround
+87

Berghouse and Cottages

23 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

4.5 out of 5from 23 reviews for Berghouse and Cottages
Cleanliness
4.3/5
Service
4.5/5
Location
4.7/5
Safety
4.7/5
Value for money
4.4/5
Ronel  - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ronel
With spouse/partner

Stunning place with great views.

Very clean and well equipped cottages. Amazing views. Very relaxing.

Berghouse and Cottages's response

Hello Ronel,
Thank you for your kind review and most of all for visiting our destination in the Northern Drakensberg mountains.
It was a pleasure to host you and look forward to your return visit someday soon. With warm regards from all at the Berghouse and Cottages.

Berghouse and Cottages
Helet P - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Helet P
Family with young children

Pragtige huisies met asemrowende uitsig en geriewe.

Cottage nr. 1 was perfek vir ons 2 gesinne. Baie lekker uitleg in die eenheid met pragtige uitsig op die amfiteater. Groot tafel buite met lieflike speelareas vir die kinders. Kombuis het heerlik gewerk en ons het soos konings geëet. Sal vir seker terugkom na hierdie juweel van 'n plek.

Berghouse and Cottages's response

Hallo Helet,
Dankie vir die kuier en mooi woorde. Ek hoop dat julle een van die dae weer sal kom besoek. Alles van die beste, einaars en staff, Berghouse and Cottages.

Berghouse and Cottages
Leana M - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Leana M
With spouse/partner

Berghouse and Cottages offers wonderful, relaxing accommodation.

We had a great time. Will go again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Berghouse and Cottages bied heerlike, ontspannende verblyf.

Ons het baie lekker gekuier. Sal gerus weer gaan.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Berghouse and Cottages's response

Hallo Leana,
Dankie vir die mooi woorde and kuier. Kom besoek weer. Vriendelike groete, Vaughn en Chantal.

Berghouse and Cottages
Hanri D - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hanri D
With spouse/partner

Berghouse and Cottages is an absolute wonder. Peace and utter awe we never had anywhere else. A true blessing.

We had the most comfortable and wonderful stay in Thamela Cottage nr 1. The cottage inside was spotless and catered for far more than we expected. Words cannot describe the peace an quiet there. Whether going on adventures or simply to rest and relax, they have it all. The entire retreat is stunning, all the unique cottages, horse camps, view points and the rock pool took our breath away. We will most definitely stay there again. Grateful hearts from Rustenburg and Hibberdene.

Berghouse and Cottages's response

Hello Hanri,
Thank you for visiting us in the Northern Drakensberg and for your kind review. It was a pleasure hosting you all and hope that you will give us the pleasure of doing the same sometime soon.
With warm regards from the chilly Drakensberg.

Berghouse and Cottages
Penny S - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Penny S
Family with teenagers

Lovely family breakaway with a superb view!

Thank you Vaughn for a great stay - just what we needed to recoup as a family!

Olivia W - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Olivia W
Family with teenagers

Unbelievable.

Unbelievable views. Outstanding cottage. Just perfect. Will definitely go back. Everyone in my group loved it.

Berghouse and Cottages's response

Hello Olivia,
Thank you for your kind review, and most of all for visiting our little mountain paradise. We hope we may host you all again sometime soon, all the best. Warm regards from us all at the Berghouse and Cottages.

Berghouse and Cottages
Dian L - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Dian L
With spouse/partner

Fantastiese plekkie met die mooiste uitsig en mense!

Definitief ’n plek waarnatoe ons sal teruggaan. Baie mooi skoon en uniek. Waarlik waarde vir geld!

Petro V - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Petro V
With spouse/partner

Breathtaking experience. Will definitely be back.

Our accommodation was really nice. The atmosphere in the room as well as the area was top-notch. Peaceful soul that would recharge anyone. I can definitely recommend it to anyone in need of a peacefu place to recharge.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Asemrowende ervaring. Sal definitief weer terug.

Ons verblyf was baie lekker gewees. Die atmosfeer in die kamer sowel as by die hele gebied was van top gehalte. Die rustigheid is sielekos wat enige persoon sal verfris. Ek kan dit beslis aanbeveel vir enige iemand wat 'n rustige en lekker plek soek om te gaan rus en verfris.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Berghouse and Cottages's response

It was a great pleasure to host you both, thank you for the kind words and positive feedback! we hope you will return soon, with warm regards from the Berghouse Cottages owners and staff.

Berghouse and Cottages
Erika D - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Erika D
With friends

Stunning view, well located, neat, friendly service.

The place is well located, very original, everything nice and clean. The people were friendly and helpful. We had a pleasant stay.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Stunning uitsig, baie mooi geleë, netjies, vriendelike ontvangs.

Die plek is baie mooi geleë, baie oorspronklik, alles mooi skoon. Die mense was baie vriendelik en behulpsaam, ons het baie lekker gebly.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Francien R - Sep 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Francien R
With spouse/partner

Ubelievable

Warm reception. Clean and tidy accommodation. Stunning view, nice warm bed, got a good night's rest. Thank you very much. It was a wonderful getaway.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ongelooflik

Baie aangename ontvangs. Verblyf baie skoon en netjies. Pragtige uitsig, heerlike warm bed en het behoorlik lekker geslaap. Baie dankie. Was 'n wonderlike wegbreek.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Berghouse and Cottages's response

The pleasure of hosting you was ours! Thank you for visiting our "little mountain paradise", we wish to welcome you to our Berghouse family, and hope that it won't be too long that we see you again, with warm regards from us all at the Berghouse and Cottages

Berghouse and Cottages
Dirk L - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Dirk L
With spouse/partner

It was an inspiring experience.

The Berghouse is located in a breathtaking part of the Bergville area. If you are interested in nature and lovely views on the Drakensberg, you have to spend the night here. The accommodation was outstanding and very comfortable. Lovely fireplace in the rondawel keeping the winter cold at bay. Spoil yourself and visit Berghouse. Vaughn is a wonderful host.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Dit was 'n baie besielende ervaring.

Die Berghouse is op 'n asemrowende deel van die Bergville-omgewing geleë. As jy belangstel in die natuur en pragtige uitsigte op die Drakensberge, dan moet jy hier oorslaap. Die verblyf was uitstekend en baie gerieflik. Heerlike kaggel in die rondawel wat die winter koue uithou. Bederf jouself en gaan besoek Berghouse. Vaughn is 'n baie goeie gasheer.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Berghouse and Cottages's response

Dankie vir die besoek en mooi woorde! It was a privilege to host you both and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
With warm regards from us all at the Berghouse and Cottages, Northern Drakensberg, South Africa.

Berghouse and Cottages
Ingram A - Jan 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Ingram A
Family with young children

Arduous 5 km drive off tarmac to cottages. Ponies and horses roam the grounds, therefore many flies - bring your own spray for them!

The place is full of flies. There is no airconditioning and the fans are totally inadequate. Tap water discoloured and unpleasant, have to go to main house everytime to get clear, fresh supply. Likewise, WiFi only available at reception. Crockery missing and tin opener hasn't worked for years. Of course the unusual heat wave made for more discomfort. Don't forget clothing or anything there - the owners response: "We do not post things on"

Berghouse and Cottages's response

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.We value all contributions as we strive to make our clients stay as comfortable as possible.The driveway to the cottages is an unpaved driveway, the distance to be exact is 3 kilometers long, 6 meters wide,well maintained gravel road as advertised, with astounding views of the panoramic spectrum of the entire Central and Northern Drakensberg mountains.We are sad that the heatwave experienced throughout the country including the Drakensberg affected you so badly, we have never experienced the like before as the heatwave was 10 degrees warmer than we have ever recorded on site.We try and provide as many fans to the cottages as possible, some years the fans are not used at all.WiFi provided is free of charge, had you inquired, we would have gladly pointed out the Hotspots to you.We take an inventory of the cottages as soon as guests leave the premises, our humble apology if you found the tin opener unusable, we will take immediate action with this regard.We have a strict fly control program, we have noticed,due to the heatwave, that the fly population increased,for those few days,however, we provide all cottages with fly spray if there is a need.The water supply is from a spring,chlorinated and used for domestic purposes,drinking water is also provided in the cottages and refilled on a daily basis, we are sad to hear that you had to specially request more water, we will certainly bring this to the attention of our housekeeper. Due to the quantity of goods including clothing left behind by visitors and the recent strikes,long queues at the Post Office, we refrain from posting goods back as explained.We hope this reply assists in as positive manner as intended.We hope that you will pluck up the courage to return someday soon.

Berghouse and Cottages
Martijn V - Aug 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Martijn V
Family with young children

Magnificent views and surroundings in the Drakensberg.

Cosy, but simple cottage with great views. The cottages are situated on a hill in front of the Amfitheather. We spent two whole days on the hill hiking and horse riding. Very relaxed. Great for kids as they can feed the horses. Owners are very kind.

Carlien B - Jun 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Carlien B
Family with young children

Wonderlike plek! Die mooiste uitsig. Net wat ons nodig gehad het.

Die beligting in die kombuis is swak. 'n Mens kan niks sien as jy saans skottelgoed was nie. En die nota op die yskas wat waarsku dat jy alles moet los soos jy dit gekry het anders betaal jy R150 het my bietjie afgesit. 'n Mens gaan op vakansie om jou nie te bekommer oor beddens opmaak en skottelgoed was nie, om weg te kom van daaglikse take. Iemand het wel kom skoonmaak, maar net so bolangs. Ek het deur die skottelgoed gegaan wat ons nie gebruik het nie en dit was nie baie skoon nie.

Phil M - Apr 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Phil M
With spouse/partner

Die mooiste uitsig en netjiesste chalet.

Berghouse and Cottages was op my lysie om nog te gaan besoek. Was daar en wens ek kan sommer vinnig weer gaan. Vergeet van die stad en besige lewe. Gaan ontspan met die mooiste uitsig oor die Drakensberge. Geriewe is top-gehalte en daar is genoeg om almal besig te hou.

Erika V - Jan 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
2/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Erika V
With friends

Het werklik beter verwag.

Onderhoud is beslis nie op standaard nie. Daar was verskeie gloeilampe wat nie gewerk het nie. Dit het heelwat gereën gedurende ons verblyf, dus kon ons sien waar die dak in die sitkamer lek ─ ook naby elektriese muurproppe. Die mikrogolfoond is nie in 'n goeie werkende toestand nie. Die WiFi waarvan gepraat word, is net onder die akkerboom by die ontvangs beskikbaar! Gedurende ons verblyf, die derde nag, het 'n waterpyp in die een kamer se dak/plafon gebars. My seun moes emmers en bakke gebruik om die water op te vang ... Die beddegoed en die vloer was sopnat. As ons meer persone in die huis was, sou dit 'n goeie gemors gewees het. Hy't die volgende dag na 'n ander kamer geskuif. Die dubbelbed in die middelkamer is van swak gehalte. Ek hoop ander het beter verblyf beleef. Sal dit nie aanbeveel nie.

Kirsti W - Aug 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Kirsti W
With friends

Excellent

The Berghouse and Cottages is a fantastic place to stay. The cottages are so cute with everything you could need and the food is spectacular!

Anneke W - Jul 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Anneke W

'n Fantasties uitsig oor die berge, maar die pad is nie baie toeganklik vir 'n gewone motor nie.

'n Rustige, asemrowende uitsig!

Marius B - Jun 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Marius B
With spouse/partner

Gemaklik, gerieflik en ontspanne!

Sien die sterre hieronder.

Adele S - Apr 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Adele S
With spouse/partner

Quaint accommodation in an amazing setting.

We arrived when the weather was bad, and happily lit the fire in the fireplace, and enjoyed the provided sherry while relaxing by the fire and listening to the thunder. The morning after we saw the amazing view from our room. Really special.

Henriette R - Mar 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Henriette R

Mooi huisie om te sien; slaapkamers was mooi.

Ontvangs was vriendelik. Huisie is mooi, maar woonkamer erg klein en vol meubels. Keukentoerusting was niet voldoende. Ons het lekker gebraai en gesit op de stoep (met pragtig uitzicht op het amfitheater). Min-puntje: ons Hollanders sit graag op de stoep. De stoelen is niet fijn om te ontspan. Plus-puntje: eienaar het uitsigtpunt gemaak boonop de heuwel. Hier kan jy lekker ontspan, van die uitsigt geniet met een glaasie wyn in jou hand. (terugvoer van buitelandse gas)

Amissa K - Mar 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Amissa K
With spouse/partner

This is a lovely little place with a beautiful view, very calm and cozy.

We had a great weekend at Berghouse and Cottages. The room was very cozy with cute furniture. We really enjoyed our evenings on the little terrace with view on the mountains, braai (barbecue) and even a little fire that we made with the wood that was provided. Only thing that could be improved: the fridge is tiny :) But it wasn't a big problem, I would always recommend theis place!nnThank you very much!

Leigh C - Aug 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Leigh C
Family with teenagers

Great value for money

We enjoyed a short but relaxing stay. Beautiful surroundings, well appointed, comfortable accommodation and great hosts. We will be back.

From R1 390
per night (sleeps 2)
From R1 390
per night (sleeps 2)
From R1 390
per night (sleeps 2)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 45 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: R304 Northern Drakensberg Road, Jagersrust, Bergville, 3354, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAA6Y4lK1uluzy1PwfAxNCQYt8IwCPDCbQ8qDCKb4NQ8c7zUndT72?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R1 390  per night (sleeps 2) 23 5 1 5 R304 Northern Drakensberg Road Jagersrust 3354 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -28.63382030877 29.074459075928
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

0860 022 102 | bookings@travelground.com