The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Birdhouse | TravelGround
+45

Birdhouse

B&B

Review Summary

4.2 out of 5from 32 reviews for Birdhouse
Cleanliness
4.1/5
Service
4.0/5
Location
4.2/5
Safety
4.3/5
Value for money
4.1/5
Charles C - Nov 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Charles C
On business

Baie rustg en netjies.

Kamer was baie netjies en goed toegerus. Vriendelike personeel.

Trevor S - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Trevor S
Individual traveler

Very enjoyable.

Nice and peaceful, close to everything.

Joanne S - Aug 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Joanne S
With spouse/partner

Short break.

Had a lovely 2 night break away. The room we stayed in was lovely. Fully equipped in the kitchen, clean and neat and a lovely bathroom. Only negative was the bed. Advertised as a king size it is two singles pushed together and the middle join was somewhat uncomfortable. Overall a lovely stay with quick access to the golf course, beach and amenities.

Birdhouse's response

Good morning,
I am really happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Have a fantastic week and we hope to see you back with us soon.
Regards
Mariette

Birdhouse
Marcus Cicero R - Nov 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Marcus Cicero R
Individual traveler

3 night stay.

Other guests a bit noisy, will think twice before staying there again.

Matimba Eugene M - Sep 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Matimba Eugene M
With spouse/partner

My partner and I really enjoyed our stay at Birdhouse.

My partner and I really enjoyed our stay at Birdhouse. The location is very neat, safe and quiet.

Kobus F - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Kobus F
Family with young children

Place is neat, friendly workers.

The place is neat. The workers are friendly. Breakfast is good. Close enough to the sea.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Plek is netjies, vriendelike werkers.

Die plek is netjies. Die werkers is vriendelik. Ontbyt is goed. Naby genoeg aan die see.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Nicoline B - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nicoline B
With spouse/partner

Uitstekend.

Dit was ons 2de besoek. Goeie verblyf. Sal beslis weer gaan.

Chris V - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Chris V
With spouse/partner

Puik verblyf!

Ons was vriendelik ontvang en gou ingeboek. WiFi en satelliet TV was ‘n bonus. Naby genoeg om die see te hoor. Rustige verblyf en wonderlike ontbyt gehad volgende oggend.

Mark M - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mark M
On business

Lekker.

Netjiese kamers, goeie ontbyt.

Sherene H - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Sherene H
Family with young children

Well maintained guesthouse with friendly and helpful staff.

We enjoyed our stay at Birdhouse. Our room was neat and clean. Entertainment areas are available for guests to use and the gardens are well maintained. Belinda was our friendly hostess and she took good care of us.

Birdhouse's response

Thank you Sherene,
Always good to receive positive feedback. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Regards,
Mariette van der Vyver

Birdhouse
Johan V - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Johan V
Individual traveler

We hit the jackpot!

Birdhouse was a replacement for another booking that fell through. For the same price this B&B was exceptionally neat, safe and had a great kitchen and braai. At the other guesthouse I had already ordered dinner when learning that I had to move to another guesthouse. This cause me to hit the jackpot!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Boerpot wengevoel.

Birdhouse was 'n instaanblyplek omdat my bespreking by 'n ander gastehuis deur die mat geval het. Vir dieselfde fooi was hierdie B&B uitsonderlik netjies, veilig en met 'n lekker kombuis en braaiplek. Ek het reeds my aandete aangeskaf toe ek hoor ek moes ander blyplek vat. Dit was daai boerpot wengevoel!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Birdhouse's response

Baie dankie Johan,
Ons hoop om jou terug te verwelkom.
Groete,
Mariette

Birdhouse
Veronica V - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Veronica V
With spouse/partner

Heerlik gewees, sal vir seker weer daar gaan bly.

Dit was ongelooflik lekker, baie vriendelike en professionele personeel, ons was omtrent bederf met heerlike ontbyt soggens. Ons spesiale tydjie weg was vir seker die moeite en ver ry werd en sal ons vir seker weer daar tuisgaan.

Birdhouse's response

Goeiemore Veronica,

Ek is vreeslik bly julle het lekker gekuier.
Jammer ek het julle nie gesien nie, maar definitief volgende keer.

Groete

Birdhouse
Christian F - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Christian F

Fantasties.

Baie netjiese en mooi gastehuis. Sal dit vir enige iemand aanbeveel en sal definitief teruggaan.

Birdhouse's response

Baie dankie Christian,
Ons hoop om julle binnekort weer te verwelkom.
Sterkte met die herstel na Ironman.
Groete, Mariette

Birdhouse
Allen Mfuno M - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Allen Mfuno M
With spouse/partner

Try Birdhouse out you won't regret it!

A very conducive and attractive guesthouse I have ever been.

Birdhouse's response

Thank you for staying with us.
We hope to see you back in the future.
Travel safe.
Regards,
Mariette

Birdhouse
Dirk L - Feb 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Dirk L
With spouse/partner

Disappointed. Expensive.

Bed and pillows in bad condition. No reception and no fans in the luxury units.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Teleurgesteld. Prys baie duur

Bed en kussings in swak toestand. Daar is geen ontvangs, en geen waaiers in luxury-eenhede nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Birdhouse's response

We just want to rectify that we are a 4-star and not a 5-star Guesthouse as indicated by the guest. Nowhere do we advertise that we are a 5-star Guesthouse. We also display big in all our rooms that the rooms are "NON SMOKING" rooms which the guest ignored and we had to take off all the curtains to be washed in order to get the smoke smell out. He also booked a standard room @ R 700.00 per couple per night which includes breakfast and not a luxury room. We also provide him with a air cooler on request for a fan.

Birdhouse
Loretta H - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
5/5
Loretta H
With spouse/partner

Sparse but clean.

We were not in any of the units as shown in the picture but at the back which didn't have any outlook. The unit was clean but had no chair to sit on, only a bench outside the unit. The sink in the bathroom was not adequate to even rinse our a cup as it was so tiny. To compensate for the lack of comfort the breakfast the following morning was very good and plentiful which made up for the room.

Lilani S - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lilani S
Individual traveler

I only stayed one night. Friendly reception and the place is very tidy.

The Birdhouse is neat and in a tranquil area. Good, friendly reception. I can definitely recommend it.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ek het net een nag oorgeslaap, maar die ontvangs was vriendelik en baie netjies.

Die Birdhouse is netjies en in 'n rustige area. Die ontvangs was goed en vriendelik. Ek sal dit definitief aanbeveel.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Joseph N - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Joseph N
With spouse/partner

Eenvoudige basic kamers in achterbouw.

Rustige eenvoudige b+b. Basic kamers en acomodatie zonder meer. Lekker ontbijt. Kortbij mooie stranden en mogelijk bezoek aan East London.

Wynand I - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Wynand I
Family with young children

Excellent accommodation!

I would recommend Birdhouse & Crane's Nest to anyone. Excellent service and staff. I will definitely stay here again in the future.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Die verblyf was uitstekend!

Ek sal enige iemand aanbeveel om by Birdhouse & Crane's Nest te bespreek. Die diens en personeel was baie goed. Ek sal definitief weer in die toekoms daar oornag.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Donna D - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
1/5
Donna D
With spouse/partner

Very poor facilities in rooms, linen and towels were in a terrible state.

Plug points are dangerous, hanging in mid-air. Only 1 bedside pedestal in one bedroom. No extension cord for kettle and microwave, had to boil the kettle on the floor. Rooms were not ready to check in at 14:00 pm. One room had not been cleaned after the first night, no key to open door! No shelves in both showers to place your soap, shampoo etc. Pillows have a bad odour.

Annerine S - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Annerine S
Family with young children

Vinnige heerlike wegbreek.

Was beslis die beste keuse vir ons as gesin. Lekker blyplek en lieflike swembad naby aan winkels en hoofstrand.

Daan O - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Daan O
With spouse/partner

Baie lekker gebly. Kort afstand vanaf alle geriewe.

Het die kamerdiens en plaasontbyt elke dag baie geniet.

Tiaan J - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
2/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Tiaan J
Family with young children

Lekker.

Glad nie geskik vir klein kinders nie. Nie baie diens van personeel nie.

Carl V - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
2/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Carl V
With spouse/partner

Disappointed with a nice and pretty place far from the city.

It's a pity there were no towels, and not used to arriving late.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Teleurgesteld met 'n netjiese en mooi plekkie ver van die stad af.

Dis jammer daar was geen handdoeke nie, en is nie gewoond aan laat arriveer nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Birdhouse's response

Jammer om te hoor van die handdoeke. Daar is staf 24 uur aan diens, ek is seker dat as dit onder haar aandag gebring is sy dadelik sou aandag gee.

Birdhouse
Johan H - Apr 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Johan H
On business

The staff was very friednly and our rooms very neat.

Myself and a colleague was there for 2 weeks and the staff made it at home for us. What was a positive was that there was a laundry service and the staff was accommodating with this, (can not travel with 2 weeks cloths). On the weekend we could have breakfast later with no problems. Thanks again for the staff and management for a wonderful stay.

Gert S - Apr 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
2/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Gert S
With spouse/partner

Nie baie waffers nie.

Vir R 450/nag kon die gloeilampe in die daklig darem seker vervang word sodat 'n mens kan sien om te lees. Die bedlampie is ook maar pateties.

Hansie R - Apr 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Hansie R
Individual traveler

Dit was baie aangenaam en ek sal dit aanbeveel vir ander mense.

Die ontvangs was goed en die kamer baie netjies. Die ontbyt was ook baie smaaklik.

Vernon H - Apr 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Vernon H
With spouse/partner

Wonderlik!

Ons het nou regtig ons verblyf geniet. Vriendelike mense, goeie diens en so behulpsaam. Die verblyf was pragtig en skoon en ons sal beslis weer daar gaan tuismaak.

Erna L - Apr 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Erna L
With spouse/partner

Rustige mooi omgewing.

Dankie Priscilla vir jou vriendelike ontvangs en diens op die 24ste Maart. Ons sal sonder twyfel volgende jaar weer by die Birdhouse oornag.

Toekie W - Dec 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
3/5
Location
2/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
2/5
Toekie W
Family with teenagers

Teleurstellend.

Die badkamerdeur maak glad nie die badkamer toe nie. Met ons aankoms moes ons hoor dat ons kamer se sleutels nog by die vorige gaste is en dat hulle dit eers later sal kom afgee vir die toesighouer van die gastehuis. Die badkamerdeur in ons kamer kon glad nie heeltemal toe nie, dus was daar geen privaatheid nie. Die gastehuis is ook nie geleë op 'n gunstige plek nie, want ons moes ver ry om by Oos-Londen uit te kom.

Banele Sibusiso M - Jan 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Banele Sibusiso M
With spouse/partner

Just lovely

Beautiful place, great service and the maid Zoleka went out of her way to make our stay pleasant. Big up to the whole crew!

Rozanne V - Apr 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rozanne V
On business

Fantasties!

Ongelooflike diens en gasvryheid!

From
R750
per night, for 2 ppl
From
From R750
per night, for 2 ppl
From
R750
per night, for 2 ppl
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 16 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 21:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 3 - 16th Avenue, East London, Gonubie, 5257, Eastern Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDFjZTBmODhlLWViNzctNDc1OC1iNTc5LTRjMWJjMTNjY2IwNA?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=enhance,format,compress&q=80 From R750  per night, for 2 ppl 32 5 1 5 3 - 16th Avenue East London 5257 Eastern Cape 0860 022 102 14:00-21:00 10:00 -32.942577737124 28.023239672184
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!