The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Chartwell Guest House | TravelGround
+83

Chartwell Guest House

Guest House

Review Summary

4.6 out of 5from 26 reviews for Chartwell Guest House
Cleanliness
4.7/5
Service
4.7/5
Location
4.5/5
Safety
4.8/5
Value for money
4.5/5
John E - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
John E
Family with young children

Uitstekend.

Uitstekend en baie rustig.

Chartwell Guest House's response

Baie dankie. Thank you for your excellent review.

Chartwell Guest House
Yolandi B - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Yolandi B
Family with young children

Dankie vir lekker kuier.

Dankie Dixon, jy is 'n wonderlike gasheer. Geen moeite is te veel gevra vir jou nie.

Chartwell Guest House's response

Thank you so much for your positive review. I am glad you had a good stay.

Chartwell Guest House
Ester V - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ester V
With spouse/partner

Baie aangenaam met professionele diens!

Baie dankie, aangename ondervinding, veral die ontvangsdame, Lorainne en die kombuis personeel wat uit hul pad gegaan het om 'n vroeë ontbyt te bedien! Well done!

Chartwell Guest House's response

Dear Ester,
Thank you for your kind words and lovely review, it is very much appreciated.
We always give our best and it is very gratifying when our hard work is recognized.
Thank you for acknowledging my staff, they are wonderful indeed!
Kind regards,
Janine

Chartwell Guest House
Cornelius P - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Cornelius P
On business

Great Staff and a home away from home. Loved it.

From the moment I arrived, till I departed, I was treated like royalty and enjoyed every minute. The view and the tranquility is undeniable. I will be back! Thank you, Cleopatra, you were the star!

Chartwell Guest House's response

Wow, thank you for your wonderful review! Your kindness in acknowledging my staff and Cleo in particular is very much appreciated. My staff always give of their best, but it is not always well received or acknowledged by guests. Thank you for being one of the lovely guests who do.
Janine

Chartwell Guest House
Prsicilla M - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Prsicilla M
Family with young children

Baie geniet was in 2 suites wat heeltemal apart was wat dit baie maklik gemaak het met twee woelige kleutertjies.

Die huis en suites was baie netjies, skoon en gerieflik en kindervriendelik. Kon geen fout vind met die plekkie of ontbyt nie.

Sinah M - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sinah M
With friends

We really enjoyed staying there.

Very clean, quiet and at the centre of all our destinations.

Chartwell Guest House's response

Goeiedag Sinah,

Thank you for your very kind words. I’m thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Chartwell Guest House. You were a pleasure to host.

All the best.
Janine

Chartwell Guest House
Dirk S - Jun 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Dirk S
On business

Comfortable, clean and tidy.

Reception friendly, rooms clean and convenient and everything works. Good value for money.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Gerieflik, skoon en netjies.

Ontvangs vriendelik, kamers skoon en gerieflik en alles werk. Goeie waarde vir geld.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Chartwell Guest House's response

Baie dankie Dirk.
Ons doen altyd ons beste.
Groete
Janine

Chartwell Guest House
Jolanda D - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jolanda D
On business

Lovely, beautiful view and relaxing.

Staff is very friendly and helpful. I had a lovely stay in a clean and beautiful room. Walking distance from beach, shops and restaurants. They will definitely see me again.

Chartwell Guest House's response

Thank you for your kind words Jolanda, they are really appreciated. If a person looks for negatives, they will always find something, so thank you for focusing on the positive.

See you soon!

Regards,
Janine

Chartwell Guest House
Webster C - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Webster C
With spouse/partner

Magnificent place.

This is a place to be, outstanding - the staff is magnificent. I would go back there anytime.

Chartwell Guest House's response

Wow Webster! Thank you for your kind words. We really appreciate you giving us a 10/10. Thank you and see you soon.
Janine

Chartwell Guest House
Natasha V - Nov 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Natasha V
With spouse/partner

Very neat and comfortable and clean. It was lovely.

Really was a nice experience. Very nice staff, very friendly and helpful. Room was beautiful and clean, that means a lot to us. Had everything that we needed.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie netjies en gemaklik en skoon. Was heerlik.

Was regtig 'n lekker ervaring. Baie nice personeel, baie vriendelik en behulpsaam. Kamer was regtig mooi en skoon, wat vir ons baie beteken. Als gehad wat ons nodig gehad het.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Chartwell Guest House's response

Thank you for your kind words. We do try our best. We hope to see you again soon. All the best, Janine

Chartwell Guest House
Jolanda D - Nov 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
5/5
Jolanda D
On business

Comfortable and very friendly and helpful.

Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean and walking distance from shops, beach and restaurants.

Chartwell Guest House's response

Thank you for your kind words.
Hope to see you again soon.
All the best,
Janine

Chartwell Guest House
Boela B - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Boela B
On business

Very pleasant stay. Water in front of door - could not get out due to heavy rain. Check downpipe not flowing in drain which caused flooding.

The stay was very pleasant. Everything was in order and the reception was friendly and procedures were clearly explained. Noise by the staff in the back of the room was a bit irritating early in the mornings. All in all very enjoyable.

Chartwell Guest House's response

Dear Boela,
Thank you for your positive review. Unfortunately you stayed in KZN when most experienced extremely severe flooding. The drainage at Chartwell Guest House usually works perfectly but unfortunately when there is severe flooding no system works perfectly and thus a large puddle accumulated on the driveway. We were very fortunate to get off so lightly.
Kind regards,
Janine

Chartwell Guest House
Adriaan Jj V - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Adriaan Jj V
Family with young children

Very pleasant.

The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room was a bit cramped for 3 people.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie aangenaam.

Die personeel was uiters vriendelik en behulpsaam. Die kamer was bietjie beknop vir drie mense.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Tinus V - Jun 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Tinus V
Individual traveler

Very good.

Very impressed with Chartwell. Will call again anytime.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie goed.

Ek is baie in my skik met Chartwell. Ek sal enige tyd weer soontoe gaan.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Louise P - Jun 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Louise P
Family with teenagers

Very comfortable, neat and luxurious.

Comfortable, rooms were private, luxurious and neat. The staff were very friendly and professional.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie gerieflik, netjies en luuks.

Gerieflik, kamers is privaat, luuks, netjies en die personeel is baie vriendelik en professioneel.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Chartwell Guest House's response

Dear Louise,
Thank you for your kind words.
We always do our best to please.
Thank you for acknowledging our hard work.
Kind regards,
Janine

Chartwell Guest House
Ruby S - Mar 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ruby S
With spouse/partner

Staff of Chartwell was very helpful and friendly.

I will say that the staff should clean the showers more thoroughly on a daily basis. There is too much mildew on the shower door and tiles. It is a nice modern bathroom though. The rest of the room is very clean. Very nice breakfast and location perfect. I will definitly go there again. Thanks.

Jan B - Feb 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jan B
With spouse/partner

Echt vakantie.

Leuke meiden die alles voor je deden. Mooie accommodatie, lekkere stoelen, goed ontbijt en redelijke wifi.

Chartwell Guest House's response

Many thanks Jan for your very kind words.
Janine

Chartwell Guest House
Mari-leigh P - Sep 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mari-leigh P
With spouse/partner

As ons ooit weer in dié rigting gaan, sien julle ons weer!

Vriendelike en behulpsame ontvangs, gemaklike kamer, heerlike ontbyt en knap diens oor die algemeen.

Carina M - Apr 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Carina M
Individual traveler

Baie netjies en gerieflik. Baie vriendelike personeel. Sal definitief die gastehuis aanbeveel. Veral vir kollegas wat vir besigheid Durban toe kom.

Baie lekker geslaap. Gerieflik!

Thomas B - Mar 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Thomas B
With friends

Oornag vir 'n troue in Umhlanga

Uitstekende diens en baie netjies! Almal is baie vriendelik en ons het baie tuis gevoel. Dankie vir die top-diens, Chartwell!

Nadine V - Feb 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Nadine V
With spouse/partner

'n Lekker valentynsnaweekwegbreek

Ons het baie tuis en gemaklik gevoel!

Andre V - Oct 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Andre V
With spouse/partner

Chartwell House is in 'n rustige omgewing

Die diens was uitstekend en die fasiliteite is baie netjies en skoon. Ons het dit baie geniet.

Nicolaas F - Sep 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Nicolaas F
On business

Ruim, netjiese verblyf met uitstekende fasiliteite.

Hartlike ontvangs en hulpvaardige diens. Stil en veilige buurt naby sentrum.

John R - May 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
John R
With spouse/partner

Very nice place to stay, we felt welcome and comfortable.

Clean and well appointed room with a nice view of the ocean. Staff were excellent and very friendly, they made us feel very comfortable.

Johan B - May 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Johan B
With friends

Heerlike rustige verblyf met pragtige uitsig.

Ons het baie lekker gebly, die diens was uitstekend. Die huis is grieflik naby aan die lughawe en restaurant gelee. Die stoep bied 'n heerlike uitsig oor die see na 'n lang dag.

Brian W - Nov 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Brian W
With spouse/partner

Clean, convenient and friendly.

Locality and views were excellent.

From R1 150
per night (for 2 people)
From R1 150
per night (for 2 people)
From R1 150
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 20 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 21:00
    Check-out: 11:00
  • Address: 88 Chartwell Drive, Umhlanga Rocks, Durban, 3610, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAA9fc4d770f6fa1a4281ea6162a1326897ce0d73cc5ac472058adad84456f53460f70202c4c626580321845212e33921505a87?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R1 150  per night (for 2 people) 26 5 1 5 88 Chartwell Drive Umhlanga Rocks 3610 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-21:00 11:00 -29.738001307726 31.077307462692
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!