The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Dollery House | TravelGround
+27

Dollery House

18 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

4 out of 5from 18 reviews for Dollery House
Cleanliness
4.1/5
Service
4.1/5
Location
4.1/5
Safety
3.7/5
Value for money
4.0/5
Richard W - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Richard W
With friends

Had a great time.

We were felt at home the minute we arrived. Very neat and spacious and the quietness is just what was required. Very safe location for a breakaway rest.

Dollery House's response

Thank you for super review. Would love to host you again sometime.

Dollery House
Thandeka D - Nov 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Thandeka D
With friends

We had a great stay.

The owners were so warm and welcoming.

Dollery House's response

Thank you. Hope to see you again.
Regards Vyv and Lolly

Dollery House
Sonette L - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
5/5
Sonette L
With spouse/partner

Rustige atmosfeer.

Ja, ek sal teruggaan as ek in die omgewing is.

Dollery House's response

Thank you, you will be most welcome.

Dollery House
Elmari J - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Elmari J
On business

Was comfortable and affordable.

Our workers stayed nice and comfortable.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Was gemaklik en bekostigbaar.

Ons werkers het lekker en gemaklik gebly.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Adrienne B - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Adrienne B
With spouse/partner

Clean and comfortable.

Dollery House was clean and comfortable which is just what we needed for our stay! Our hosts were extremely accommodating and made sure that we were well looked after, thank you!

Dollery House's response

Thank you. It was a pleasure to host you and we hope to see you again.

Dollery House
Nontsikelelo L - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nontsikelelo L
With spouse/partner

The host was very welcoming and the place is very clean and neat.

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay.

Dollery House's response

Thank you for the lovely review. Hoping we can see you again.

Dollery House
Tumeka X - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tumeka X
With friends

Enjoyed staying there, everything was great.

Very beautiful, would love to come again.

Dollery House's response

Dear Thumeka,

Thank you for the great review. We enjoyed sharing our home with you.

You are most welcome to return.

Regards,
Vyv and Lolly

Dollery House
Manu P - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Manu P
Family with teenagers

Very nice place to stay.

Well equipped very spacious self catering unit in a good area, owners are very friendly, acceptable tariffs, I will visit Port Alfred often in future to visit my son at air school, will stay at Dollery house every time I visit. Only 1 negative point is that the front door does not have a security gate.

Dollery House's response

Hi. Thank you for the positive feedback. You are welcome any time.

Regards Vyv and Lolly

Dollery House
Rachelle S - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
3/5
Rachelle S
With spouse/partner

Nie op standaard vir gaste nie.

Die gehou binne is 'n laslappie-eenheid.

Tom U - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Tom U
With spouse/partner

Selfdoen-projek nog onvoltooid.

Die binnekant van die verblyf word duidelik nie professioneel gedoen nie en daar is vele voorbeelde van dinge wat beskryf kan word as "Heath Robinson". Algeheel is die plekkie "rustic" maar is tog ruim, gerieflik en goed toegerus. Die tuinslang van 'n kraan na die wasbak is darem te kru.

Sibongile M - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Sibongile M
On business

Horrible place.

No hot water on arrival. Owners harassing us for payment that was made online. We requested to check out after 10 am on Sunday and a R50 penalty fee was agreed on. First thing on Sunday morning was a knock on the door for the R50. No TV as advertised. No thank you. No form of heating in the middle of winter.

Dollery House's response

The guests arrived at 9:00 for a 14:00 check-in, hence the 'no hot water on arrival'. They also arrived before we had received confirmation of their booking. They could only supply a bank slip as proof that payment was made. With all the corruption we live with these days, I am hesitant to allow guests to check in without a formal confirmation that funds have cleared on the agency's side.

As check-out time is 10:00, we charged the guest a reasonable amount of R50 for the delay in being able to clean the unit. They promised to pay this additional amount on Saturday evening. By 10:00 on Sunday morning, I requested the payment, which by that time had not been paid.

In August, we only had TV for DVDs so had not advertised a TV in the flat at all. Since then, we installed Openview and updated the listing accordingly.

Dollery House
Caren V - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Caren V
Family with teenagers

Neat and friendly.

The house is specious and neat. We were looking for a place to stay the night and this was ideal. Owners are very friendly.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Netjies en vriendelik.

Huis is ruim en netjies. Ons het net 'n oornagslaapplek gesoek en hierdie was ideaal. Eienaars baie vriendelik.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Dollery House's response

Thank you for pleasant review. Hope we will see you again some time.

Dollery House
Johan D - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Johan D
With spouse/partner

Great hospitality and neat. Great reception. Everything was neat and in its pace.

Everything was neat and in its place.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie gasvry en netjies. Ons is goed ontvang. Alles was netjies en in plek.

Alles was in plek en netjies.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Stuart L - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Stuart L
Family with teenagers

Accommodating.

Nicely set out and spacious. Shower and toilet in passage need a little maintenance.

Dollery House's response

Hi Stuart,
Thank.you for your honesty. We enjoy feedback so can do our best to improve.

Dollery House
Wilma B - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Wilma B
With spouse/partner

Very nice.

Clean and comfortable. Owners very friendly. Will definitely recommend Dollery house to my friends. Accommodation is in a quiet area with plenty birds.

Dollery House's response

Good day,

Thank you for the lovely review. Hope to see you again in the future.

Vyv

Dollery House
Martha D - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Martha D

Rustig, waarde vir geld.

Rustig, waarde vir geld, baie netjies.

Dollery House's response

Hi. Thank you very much for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Dollery House
Grant F - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Grant F
Family with teenagers

Awesome place to stay at.

Really enjoyed our stay at Dollery House. Comfortable and has everything you need. Lovely, friendly host. Will definitely recommend it to all.

Dollery House's response

Thank you for super review. Enjoyed having you as guests and hope to see again sometime. Vyv and Lolly

Dollery House
Jan W V - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
1/5
Location
3/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
2/5
Jan W V
With friends

Owners have a lot to learn in the guesthouse industry.

Too expensive for what you'll get.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Eienaars het nog baie om te leer in verband met die gastehuis bedryf.

Te duur vir wat jy gaan kry.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

From R600
per night (sleeps 2)
From R600
per night (sleeps 2)
From R600
per night (sleeps 2)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 9 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 27 Hards Street, Port Alfred, 6170, Eastern Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAe5a4555747685f130f98b435f9d4a5eb43cd02d9513ade66f0149a31630d5edafeb6b2795be6e1eda85af94d946b44bff032?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R600  per night (sleeps 2) 18 5 1 4 27 Hards Street Port Alfred 6170 Eastern Cape 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -33.601779 26.89094
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!