Successfully reported
The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
+45

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90

Self Catering

Review Summary

4.9 out of 5from 23 reviews for Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90
Cleanliness
4.9/5
Service
5.0/5
Location
4.9/5
Safety
4.9/5
Value for money
4.9/5
Tj V - Jun 2024
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Tj V
With friends

Great stay, clean house, everything you need. Friendly and helpful host.

Great stay, clean house, everything you need. Friendly and helpful host. One of the best if not the best house to rent in Doornkop.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90 's response

Thank you TJ for the lovely review. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90
Chris H - Apr 2024
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Chris H
Family with young children

Ons kuiergroep het bestaan uit 4 volwassenes en twee babas.

Uitsonderlike verblyf! Spoggerige verblyf met alles wat jy kon verwag en soveel meer. Ons het dit ongelooflik geniet en kon nie vir meer vra nie. Hoogs aanbeveel! Dankie aan die wonderlike eienaar, who immediately responded when we requested further information.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Our visiting group consisted of 4 adults and two babies.

Exceptional stay! Fantastic stay with everything you could expect and so much more. We really enjoyed it and couldn't ask for more. Highly recommended! Thanks to the wonderful owner, who immediately responded when we requested further information.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90 's response

Thank you for staying at our home and for the lovely review. We are looking forward to hosting you and your family in the near future.

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90
Etresia A - Apr 2024
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Etresia A
Large group

We had a very enjoyable stay and would have loved to stay longer.

The house is well equipped for four couples, and I was very pleased that the single beds were made up as king beds. The renovations since our last stay are lovely. The only negatives are that we could not find a tray, and there is no pool cover for small children. The last small step from the veranda to the lapa is very dangerous because it is not a regular-sized step. My husband hurt his foot badly yesterday morning because he did not see the step. I would suggest that it should be removed and that the area should just slope down a bit.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90 's response

Thank you for the review, Etresia. I am glad you like the renovations and changes made to the house. Your insight into the improvements is valuable. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we look forward to hosting you in the future.

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90
Adele A - Jan 2024
Overall rating
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Adele A
With friends

Die uitsig en omgewing is asemrowend.

Ons het vreeslik lekker gebly en gekuier om die boma. Die swembad was groen en trappe slymerig, kort bietjie meer aandag.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

The view and surroundings are breathtaking.

We had a really nice stay and visited the boma. The pool was green and steps slimy, needs a bit more attention.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90 's response

Hi Adele, thank you for your feedback.

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90
Mari D - Nov 2023
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mari D
Large group

Will definitely recommend and stay again in the future.

The unit was beautiful with a stunning view. We were contacted by the host prior to arriving to set up rooms to our preference, but otherwise, we had complete privacy and enjoyed the weekend immensely. You can see the attention to detail, and everything you need is provided. Thank you so much!

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90 's response

Hi Mari. Thank you for the lovely review and for choosing our home. We hope to host you soon.

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90
De Vos M - Sep 2023
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
De Vos M
Family with young children

Amazing plek!

Dis regtig 'n baie lekker huis in 'n baie lekker reservaat! Ons vyfde keer by Doornkop en ons gunstelinghuis sover!

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Amazing place!

It's really a very nice house in a very nice reserve! Our fifth time at Doornkop and our favorite house so far!

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90 's response

Thank you so much for the review and kind words!
We look forward to hosting you and your family in the near future

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90
Tania D - Aug 2023
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tania D
With friends

Fantastic

Dis 'n plek waar jou siel kan rus. Wonderlike naweek daar gehad. Plek is uit die boonste rakke uit gewees en ons bediende was 'n vriedelike en hulpvaardige mensie. Sal definitely Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90 aanbeveel vir 'n groep mense.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Fantastic

It's a place where your soul can rest. Had a wonderful weekend there. Place was top notch and our maid was a peaceful and helpful person. Would definitely recommend Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90 to a group of people.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90 's response

Thank you for the kind words Tania. Christinah, our housekeeper is a real gem. I am glad to hear that you got the rest you needed and enjoyed what the home has to offer. We are looking forward to hosting you in the future.

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90
Nompumelelo M - Aug 2023
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nompumelelo M
With friends

Top billing stay, thanks Hayley, the owner, Christina, service lady, and also the agent from the website.

We had a great time, a birthday outing, the place its top billing. Went for hiking, it was great, surrounded by mountains and the view is breathtaking, the place is clean. Except for the network which I can't complain about cause did inform us prior. Thank you Hayley, the owner, for the loadshedding updates. Except for the gravel road, it is long for a private vehicle, board signs are visible.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90 's response

Thank you so much for the kind words Nompumelelo. I am glad to hear you had a wonderful time and that you were well looked after by Christinah. Hope to see you again

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90
Lindiwe M - Aug 2023
Overall rating
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lindiwe M
With friends

Home away from home Unit 90.

We loved everything about our stay in Unit 90, the house is beautiful, clean and spacious. The en-suits in all four bedrooms made life super soft and easy for everyone. The network was not as bad as it was expected for a Vodacom user, one just had to step outside for a better reception. And the Wi-Fi connection was so good to us. Ntombifuthi (the lady who was cleaning for us) was super nice and trustworthy. Even though it was my second time visiting Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve I am definitely coming back with my family soon. Thank you to Hayley for impromptu WhatsApp replies whenever I needed assistance.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90 's response

Hi Lindiwe. It wonderful to hear that your stay was so enjoyable. We look forward to hosting you and your family again.

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90
Jerome M - May 2023
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jerome M
With friends

Peaceful, relaxing.

A beautiful spot surrounded by nature views, animals and good fly fishing. The hosts were brilliant.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90 's response

Thank you so much for the kind words. It was lovely to host you and your family. You were amazing guests and we look forward to having you at our home in the near future

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90
Simone H - Mar 2023
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Simone H
With friends

Heerlike huis met 'n wonderlike uitsig.

Die huis is pragtig en is toegerus met als wat mens nodig het vir 'n heerlike naweekwegbreek. Die huis word daagliks skoongemaak deur vriendelike personeel wat sorg vir 'n lekker rus vir vroulief. Die ekstra aktiwiteite soos perdry en die winkel by die oord maak dit regtig gemaklik. Ons sal beslis weer gaan.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Lovely house with a wonderful view.

The house is beautiful and is equipped with everything you need for a wonderful weekend break. The house is cleaned daily by friendly staff who ensure a good rest for wife. The extra activities like horse riding and the shop at the resort make it really comfortable. We will definitely go again.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90 's response

Thank you Simone, for the lovely review. We look forward to hosting you again.

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90
Chaska K - Dec 2022
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Chaska K
Family with young children

Stunning house and owner.

Stunning house with great entertaining area. Would definitely visit again!

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90 's response

Thank you so much Chaska for the kind words. The porch really does offer some great space to all be together. We look forward to hosting you again.

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90
Letitia K - Aug 2022
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Letitia K
With friends

Pragtige, rustige omgewing. Die huis is baie goed ingerig en heerlik om in te bly.

Die huis is pragtig met baie mooi en gerieflike meubilering en die kombuis is goed toegerus. Dis heerlik om op die stoep te sit en ontspan en oor die omgewing uit te kyk. Dis visvang was ook goed. Definitief die moeite werd.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Beautiful, peaceful surroundings. The house is very well furnished and lovely to stay in.

The house is beautiful with very nice and comfortable furniture and the kitchen is well equipped. It's lovely to sit on the stoep and relax and look out over the surroundings. The fishing was also good. Definitely worth it.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90 's response

Thank you Letitia for the lovely review.
We were so grateful to be able to host you and your friends at our home and we hope to see you soon.

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90
Darius V - May 2022
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Darius V
Family with young children

Alles was skoon en netjies, selfs spaarligte gedurende beurtkrag.

Sien sterre.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Everything was clean and tidy, even spare lights during load shedding.

See stars.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90 's response

Thank you Darius. It was lovely hosting you and your family and we look forward to seeing you again.

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90
Annaliese K - Feb 2022
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Annaliese K
Family with young children

'n Genotvolle kuier in 'n ruim, goed toegeruste huis.

Die huis is ruim, skoon en netjies en is uitstekend toegerus. Die eienaar doen moeite met die onderhoud van die eenheid en volg op om te verseker dat die bespreking reëlings vlot verloop. Daar is WiFi en 'n groot verskeidenheid bordspeletjies vir alle ouderdomme, en dis baie bedagsaam. Die swembad is gerieflik op die patio sodat ouers 'n ogie oor kinders kan hou. Mens kan hier ontspan en die stilte geniet.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

An enjoyable stay in a spacious, well-equipped house.

The house is spacious, clean and tidy and is excellently equipped. The owner makes an effort to maintain the unit and follow up to ensure that the booking arrangements go smoothly. There is WiFi and a great selection of board games for all ages, and it's very thoughtful. The pool is conveniently located on the patio so parents can keep an eye on children. One can relax here and enjoy the silence.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90 's response

Hi Annaliese, thank you so much for your kind words. We are so happy to hear that you and your family got the rest and relaxation you needed. We are looking forward to hosting you again in the future.

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90
Karien S - Jan 2022
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Karien S
Large group

Fantasties.

Hailey baie dankie vir jou pragtige huis wat ons kon gebruik. Jy is 'n rolmodel-eienaar wat so behulpsaam was met alle vrae. As n groot groep was dit 'n fantastiese naweek met alles wat so gerieflik en mooi is. Die uitsig: fantasties.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Fantastic.

Hailey thank you so much for your beautiful home that we were able to use. You are a role model owner who was so helpful with all questions. As a large group it was a fantastic weekend with everything that is so comfortable and beautiful. The view: fantastic.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90 's response

Thank you Karien for the lovely words. It was great to have you and your family at our home. We hope to have you are our home again soon.

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90
Lisann L - Oct 2021
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lisann L
Family with teenagers

Was heerlik.

Pragtige plek met als wat mens nodig!

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Was delicious.

Beautiful place with everything you need!

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90 's response

Thank you for staying at our home. We are glad to hear you had such a wonderful time.
We look forward to having you again.

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90
Juna H - Oct 2021
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Juna H
With friends

Wonderful, relaxing, beautiful view, kudu come visit, frog choir. Wow, it was one of our best visits. Loved it.

Will definitely book again. What a wonderful venue!

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90 's response

We are so happy to hear you had a great time. The Kudus are beautiful.
We look forward to having you again.

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90
Ronelle E - Aug 2021
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ronelle E
With friends

'n Absolute 11 uit 10 blyplek.

Dit was een van die lekkerste plekke waar ons nog was. Die oord is puik, ek is nou gehook op flyfishing, het ook gaan perdry. Die huis is 'n 11 uit 10. Fantastiese ligging, ruim vertrekke. Alles wat jy wil hê is daar. Kan nie wag vir die somer om weer te bespreek nie. Moet die plonspoel uittoets.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

An absolute 11 out of 10 place to stay.

It was one of the nicest places we have ever been. The resort is great, I am now hooked on flyfishing, also went horse riding. The house is an 11 out of 10. Fantastic location, spacious rooms. Everything you want is there. Can't wait for summer to book again. Need to test out the splash pool.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90 's response

Hi Ronelle,
Thank you for such a lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you had a great time and enjoyed both the house and the estate. We look forward to hosting you and your family again.

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90
Lynelle G - Jul 2021
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Lynelle G
Family with teenagers

Rustig, verfrissend!

Pragtige akkommodasie, goeie vlieghengel-ervaring. Alles netjies en goed instand gehou. Dit was nie ons eerste besoek nie, en beslis nie die laaste nie!

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Peaceful, refreshing!

Beautiful accommodation, good fly fishing experience. Everything neat and well-kept. It wasn't our first visit and definitely not our last!

This review has been translated.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90 's response

Hi Lynelle, We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure hosting you again and we look forward to having you and your family back in the near future.

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90
Tersia Van Wyk V - Jul 2021
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tersia Van Wyk V
Family with young children

Enjoyed the stay in nature in such a lovely house!

Well-equipped and nicely decorated house.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90 's response

Thank you for the lovely review. We look forward to hosting you and your family again.

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90
Hannelie D - May 2021
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hannelie D
With friends

Girls retreat.

We just spent the most amazing weekend at Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve. Having worked in tourism for over 20 years, I didn't think I would be so pleasantly surprised by the location and house. Everything from check in to the house and the staff blew me away. This is the most perfect example of what great customer service and the perfect weekend away should look like.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90 's response

Thank you so much! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90
Corne B - Apr 2021
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Corne B
Family with teenagers

Mooiste uitsig.

Ons het heerlik gebly. Die uitsig vanaf die stoep is wonderlik, veral met al die diere wat rondom jou kuier. Doornkop bied ook vele aktiwiteite waaraan jy kan deelneem en ons het ons naweek vreeslik geniet.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Most beautiful view.

We had a wonderful stay. The view from the porch is wonderful, especially with all the animals hanging out around you. Doornkop also offers many activities in which you can participate and we enjoyed our weekend very much.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90 's response

Hi Corne,
Thank you for the positive review.

We are really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and your time at the estate.
Doornkop has so much to offer and I am thrilled to hear that you got to experience so much.

We hope to host you and your family again.

Doornkop Fish & Wildlife Reserve Unit 90
From
R2 800
per night (sleeps 8)
From
From R2 800
per night (sleeps 8)
From
R2 800
per night (sleeps 8)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 8 people
  • All ages welcome
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 18:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: Farm Doornkop 420 JT, Carolina District, 1185, Mpumalanga
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAc2383c76438424c987de06305fa8e8270efe0b553ff25fa158926e791ca1c7d36b02bbc759fdd91d57262cd6c220e25d9451?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=enhance,format,compress&q=80 From R2 800 per night (sleeps 8) 23 5 1 5 Farm Doornkop 420 JT Carolina District 1185 Mpumalanga 021 201 8900 14:00-18:00 10:00 -25.940886425724 30.243047046627
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!