Howick Accommodation at Dunning Country House | TravelGround
+64

Dunning Country House

Guest House

Review Summary

4.8 out of 5from 43 reviews for Dunning Country House
Cleanliness
4.8/5
Service
4.8/5
Location
4.7/5
Safety
4.8/5
Value for money
4.8/5
Bruce B - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Bruce B
Family with young children

Warm welcome, super friendly host, great value for money, nicely decorated cottage.

Joy is a wonderful lady and they couldn’t do enough to ensure our overnight stay was perfect.

Diane B - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Diane B
Family with young children

Charlet, Joy and the staff are friendly, welcoming and ensure your stay is a pleasurable one.

The accommodation was clean and had all the utensils you need to do your cooking and cleaning. Loved the relaxed atmosphere and will certainly visit again. It really felt like home away from home. It is close enough to the shops for items you might have forgotten and as it was winter when we visited the house was well stocked with fire wood. Really loved our stay for the 5 days we were there.

Christel H - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Christel H
Family with young children

Beautiful setting and accommodation.

The cottage we stayed in was beautiful and clean. The rooms are very spacious. The children enjoyed the playground and farm animals. Very friendly will definitely stay there again!

Dunning Country House's response

Thanks for the lovely review, Christel - we loved having you and your family here at Dunning.
Warm regards,

Charlet

Dunning Country House
Gerhard D - Feb 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Gerhard D
With spouse/partner

Very comfortable and welcoming.

The accommodation and rooms with the air con was wonderful. Everything was clean and neat.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie gemaklik en hoflik.

Die verblyf was wonderlik en kamers met lugversorging was 'n plus punt. Alles skoon en netjies.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Dunning Country House's response

Julle was 'n fees, kom kuier gou weer.

Charlet en almal op Dunning.

Dunning Country House
Daan S - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Daan S
With friends

Dit was 'n heerlike verblyfplek.

Ontvangs hartlik en vriendelik en professioneel. Akkommodasie uitstekend. Die plek is skoon en netjies. Uitstekende waarde vir geld. Kan dit met groot vrymoedigheid aanbeveel.

Stephanie J - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Stephanie J
Individual traveler

Baie geniet.

Pragtige plek en vriendelike mense. Baie lekker gekuier.

Igna D - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Igna D
Family with young children

Beautiful, comfortable stay with friendly hostess.

When we were searching for a place to stay, it was noticeable that there was no negative feedback for Dunning Country House. Now we know why! We felt like kings in our little house and the hostess was always in contact to ensure that we were happy. The crate of wood and warm reception with sherry immediately made us feel at home. The house was beautifully furnished with lots of space and a beautiful garden. The only negative was that our stay was too short! Definitely coming again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Mooi gemaklike verblyf met vriendelike gasvrou.

Met ons soek na blyplek was dit opvallend dat Dunning Country House geen negatiewe terugvoer het nie. Nou verstaan ons hoekom! Ons het soos konings gevoel in ons huisie en die gasvrou was heeltyd in kontak om seker te maak als is reg. 'n Propvol houtkas en vuurwarm ontvangs met sjerrie het ons dadelik tuis laat voel. Die huisie was so mooi gemeubileer, met baie spasie en mooi tuin. Die enigste fout met ons verblyf was dat dit te kort was! Ons kom beslis weer.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Reinette M - Jun 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Reinette M
With spouse/partner

Very hospitable!

Very hospitable and helpful.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie gasvry!

Uiters gasvry en behulpsaam.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Carol B - Feb 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Carol B
Family with teenagers

Baie lekker gebly.

Definitief waarde vir geld. Sal, indien moontlik, weer volgende jaar daar gaan bly! Skoon en netjies. Goed georganiseerd en vriendelike personeel.

Dunning Country House's response

Julle was 'n fees om hier te hê. Ons maak weer so volgende jaar.

Groete

Charlet

Dunning Country House
Martin F - Feb 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Martin F
With spouse/partner

Awesome!

Pragtige omgewing. Pragtige huis/cottage. Charlotte is 'n fantastiese gasvrou, al die staf is vriendelik.

Walda C - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Walda C
With spouse/partner

Very comfortable, friendly service.

Host went out of her way tomake our accommodation nice.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie gerieflik, vriendelike diens.

Gasvrou het uit haar pad gegaan om ons verblyf aangenaam te maak.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Elaine S - Nov 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Elaine S
With spouse/partner

Blissful

What a magical place. So peaceful and tranquil on the farm. So beautiful with gorgeous flowers everywhere and massive Jacaranda trees.

Rudolf J - Nov 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rudolf J
With spouse/partner

Lekker, net te kort.

Baie mooi blyplek en omgewing.

Neil N - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Neil N
With spouse/partner

Cosy, clean, comfortable.

I would stay here again without hesitation.

Dunning Country House's response

Thanks, Neil, it was lovely having you here at Dunning.
Do visit soon again.
Warm regards,
Charlet

Dunning Country House
Vanessa R - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Vanessa R
With friends

Fantastic.

Fair rates, central location and value for money.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Fantasties.

Billike tariewe, sentraal geleë asook waarde vir geld.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Bernice V - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Bernice V
With friends

Baie lekker gekuier, sal enige tyd weer daar tuisgaan.

Charlot en res van personeel baie vriendelik en behulpsaam, baie lekker gekuier.

De La Harpe L - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
De La Harpe L

Beautiful chalet and very helpful staff.

Appreciated it that we were upgraded to more luxurious accommodation without any extra cost. The accommodation was very luxurious and definitely value for money! Thank you very much.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Pragtige chalet en baie behulpsame personeel.

Het dit verskriklik waardeer dat ons, sonder enige verdere koste aan ons, opgegradeer is na meer luukse akkommodasie. Die verblyf was baie weelderig en beslis waarde vir geld! Baie dankie!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Jolene K - Jun 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jolene K
With friends

Beautiful area with very friendly people.

See stars.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Pragtige omgewing met baie vriendelike mense.

Sien sterre.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Lizbe S - Feb 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lizbe S
With spouse/partner

We will definitely be back.

We had a great relaxing and cosy stay on this farm and was able to explore the veld with animals. The host was great and there to make us feel comfortable and to relax in private. The staff is very professional and friendly.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ons sal Dunning Country House definitief weer besoek.

Ons het heerlik rustig en gesellig gebly op hierdie plaas en kon heerlik rondbeweeg tussen die grasvelde met diere. Die gasvrou is uit en uit ingestel om jou gemaklik, gerieflik en privaat te laat ontspan. Die personeel is baie professioneel en vriendelik.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Dunning Country House's response

Dankie lizbe en Kobus. Dit was 'n groot voorreg om julle hier te kon gehad het!
Charlet
Dunning Country House

Dunning Country House
Antonie P - Feb 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Antonie P
With friends

Perfect for the Midmar.

It's a lovely place to stay in especially during the Midmar. All the facilities are wonderful.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Perfek vir Midmar.

Dit is 'n lieflike plek om te bly veral in Midmar-tyd en alle geriewe is wonderlik.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Dunning Country House's response

Dankie Antonie. Ons hoop om jou volgende jaar weer te sien. Charlet - Dunning Country House.

Dunning Country House
Inga C - Nov 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Inga C

Absolutely lovely and unbelievable attention to detail.

A definite must. Was unbelievable with the most delicious breakfast every morning. Will definitely stay there again - maybe longer than the 2 nights!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Absoluut heerlik en ongelooflike aandag aan detail.

'n Definitiewe moet. Was ongelooflik lekker met elke oggend die heerlikste ontbyt. Sal definitief weer daar oorslaap - miskien langer as die 2 aande!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Dunning Country House's response

Dankie Inga - dit was heerlik om julle hier by ons te hê!
Hoop om julle gou weer te sien.
Charlet en almal op Dunning.

Dunning Country House
Karen H - Oct 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Karen H
With friends

Fabulous accommodation and very reasonable. Meet and greet was great!

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay there although brief. We were in Howick for a wedding. Accommodation was very comfortable and I would definitely stay there again. Zama who met us was so friendly and made sure we were comfortable. The fruit basket was a lovely surprise as were the Kit-Kats on the bed and the welcoming sherry! I must also say that Meagan from Travelground was great. She kept me informed every step of the way with directions and confirmation etc. Thank you Meagan, you are a great asset to Travelground and Dunning Country House.

Riaan J - Aug 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Riaan J

Netjiese kamers, verwarmers en alles om 'n snoesige aand deur te bring.

Baie rustige plek met al die geriewe wat jou nodig het. 'n Versteekte geheim in die Midlands.

Marthie L - Aug 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marthie L
With friends

Uitstkend en rustig.

Baie mooi, en diens was fantasties. Plek wonderlik.

Ali B - Aug 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ali B
Individual traveler

Madly in love.

Charlet, I would like to take this opportunity to say THANK YOU. It is always a daunting task sending one of our lady facilitators out on her own, especially to a place where we have never done training before. Coming from Joburg, we always have to double and triple check things and even sending her into the unknown, is a worry. I can only say thank you, and even then it does not seem enough for what you did for Natasha. You went out of your way to make her feel welcome and even more so, when the client dropped us with the venue at the last minute, you (and your staff) offered to take her to Hilton with a smile. It is not often that we come across gems like Dunning Country House, but your info will be going into my book with a “use again without a doubt” note with it. Chatting to Natasha yesterday, she smiled when I asked how her trip was and said “I loved it”. When I asked if I can book it again, her answer was “definitely”. So Charlet, to you and EVERYONE at Dunning, thank you for everything. We hope that we get to do more business in Howick again, and your booking will be done first.

Peet B - Aug 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Peet B
With friends

Very good.

Neat and clean accommodation. Owner very friendly. Good service and a beautiful area. Good value for money.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie goed.

Netjies en skoon verblyf. Eienaar baie vriendelik. Goeie diens en mooi omgewing. Goeie waarde vir geld.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Karline D - Jun 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Karline D
Family with teenagers

A beautiful old home so artfully furnished, in the most beautiful garden.

Chantel and Marietjie made us feel at home. Conveniently close to Hilton for the good schools in the area and for the Meander and golf course next to it. The old house is very beautifully furnished in the style of the era. The most delicious breakfast was also served.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

'n Pragtige ou huis so kunstig gemeubileer, in die mooiste tuin.

Chantel en Marietjie het ons baie tuis laat voel. Gerieflik naby aan Hilton vir die goeie skole in die area en vir die Meander en vir die golfbaan langsaan. Die ou huis is baie keurig gemeubileer in die styl van die era. Die heerlikste ontbyt is vir ons voorgesit.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Karien G - Jun 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Karien G
Family with young children

It was stylish, neat and had a very warm atmosphere with delicious breakfast!

We enjoyed our stay. The service was excellent. From the time of booking up until our departure. The rooms were neat and well-appointed.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Dit was stylvol, netjies en het 'n baie warm atmosfeer met 'n heerlike ontbyt!

Ons het heerlik gebly. Die diens was uitstekend. Van die bespreking af tot ons daar weg is. Kamers is netjies en alles goed ingerig.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Stefan T - Apr 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Stefan T
Family with young children

Baie mooi plattelandse opset.

Sien die sterre.

Liza J - Mar 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Liza J
Family with young children

Rustig en ons het lekker ontspan in die natuur.

Ons het die gastehuis geniet en was lekker bederf deur 'n heerlike ontbyt wat vir ons voorberei was deur Carlotte en haar span. Baie dankie vir die gasvryheid en vriendelikheid van die personeel.

Fransie M - Feb 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Fransie M
With spouse/partner

Absoluut van topgehalte in elke manier moontlik!

Definitief waarde vir jou geld! Daar is werklik nie een slegte ding wat ek kan noem nie. Ons het dit so baie geniet hier met die wonderlike gasvryheid, die lekker kos, die netheid en die pragtige plek. Alles is van puik gehalte!

Francisca P - Feb 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Francisca P
With spouse/partner

Wonderful.

Beautiful scenery. The gardens were so well kept in English style. The main house with a lovely garden and swimming pool was very rusitique and stylish decorated. The lady of the house is the warnest host we ever met! We would also recommend the 5 person apartment a real joy! Superb accomodation. Very safe with a guard doing rounds all might. Tasty breakfast and nice people.

Welma V - Jan 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Welma V
With spouse/partner

Fantasties!

Charlet van Dunning Country House is voorwaar 'n voorslag! Ons het 'n lieflike naweek gehad, met heerlike kos in die pragtige omgewing van Howick. Baie dankie vir 'n onvergeetlike tyd!

Eva S - Jan 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Eva S
With friends

Relaxed.

This was really relaxing. It was luxury and we get spoilt with a great breakfast by the hostess.

Francois B - Jan 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Francois B
With spouse/partner

Baie gasvrye diens.

Baie mooi plek in 'n mooi omgewing. Die kamers is skoon en die diens baie goed. Ons was net 1 nag daar maar is baie ingenome met die plek en die gasvrye diens want ons gekry het. Die kamers is baie skoon en gerieflik.

Nialette E - Dec 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nialette E
With spouse/partner

Pragtige, netjiese verblyf! Sal dit definitief vir enige een aanbeveel!

Pragtige netjiese verblyf! Sal dit vir enige een aanbeveel! Laat jou sommer tuis voel.

Dunning Country House's response

Dankie Nialette!

Dunning Country House
Ronel O - Dec 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ronel O
Family with teenagers

Uitstekende diens en 'n pragtige plek.

Goeie diens, goeie kos, pragtige skoon en netjiese kamers. Sal weer daar bly.

Dewalt K - Nov 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Dewalt K
With spouse/partner

My ouers kan nie uitgepraat raak oor die pragtige verblyf, gasvryheid en goeie diens wat hulle ontvang het nie.

Ek het vir my ouers bespreek by Dunning Country House, spesifiek as 'n oornagbestemming van Gauteng na KZN waar hulle 'n strandhuis het, omdat hulle ouer word en nie noodwendig meer in staat is om die lang pad in een dag te voltooi nie. My terugvoer is dus tweedehands maar ek kan bevestig dat hulle baie tevrede was met die diens en die verblyf en dat hulle nie uitgepraat kan raak oor die gasvryheid nie. Verder is selfs die kat ook verwelkom. Ek sal hierdie bestemming dus met vrymoedigheid aanbeveel.

Marnus V - Sep 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marnus V
With friends

Ongelooflik skoon, vriendelike mense, goed geleë, baie lekker kos.

Maak verseker 'n draai by Dunning House!

Anton C - Aug 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Anton C
With spouse/partner

Pragtige tuin en huis is lieflik gerestoureer.

Bestuurderes was vriendelik en bedagsaam. Die kamer was baie skoon. Dit was stil ons het lekke geslaap.

Chris R - Jul 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Chris R

Absoluut uit die boonste rakke. Dis asof jy in die hemel opgedaag het.

Ek gee die verblyf en akkommodasie met ontbyt en alles 10 uit 10.

Hester F - Apr 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hester F
With spouse/partner

Uitstekende netheid, vriendelikheid en gasvryheid.

Sal vir seker vir al ons vriende aanbeveel.

Sibongile N - Apr 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sibongile N
With spouse/partner

So serene.

A memorable holiday destination.

From R1 035
per night (for 2 people)
From R1 035
per night (for 2 people)
From R1 035
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 40 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: Off the R617/Underberg Road, Exit 99 off-ramp on N3, Howick, 3290, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJGFiNDQzMDUwLTEwM2YtNDhlOS04ZjdhLTQ3ZGNlZWMwMjNkNw?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R1 035  per night (for 2 people) 43 5 1 5 Off the R617/Underberg Road Exit 99 off-ramp on N3 3290 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -29.529297 30.221631
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

0860 022 102 | bookings@travelground.com