The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Ekukhuleni Game Farm and Cottages | TravelGround
+15

Ekukhuleni Game Farm and Cottages

Self Catering

Review Summary

4.4 out of 5from 49 reviews for Ekukhuleni Game Farm and Cottages
Cleanliness
4.4/5
Service
4.5/5
Location
4.4/5
Safety
4.5/5
Value for money
4.2/5
Monique H - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Monique H
Family with young children

Lekker rustig en naby ons familie geleë.

Ons het die verblyf gebruik omdat ons 'n troue in die omgewing bygewoon het. Mooi verblyf en baie netjies en skoon. Ons sal julle beslis weer gebruik.

Fumani S - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Fumani S
With spouse/partner

A good stay.

It's a good place to refresh your mind.

Elsje J - Aug 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Elsje J
With spouse/partner

Rustige kuierplek.

Netjiese eenheid. Baie gerieflik. Goed toegerus. Maklik bereikbaar. Sal dit weer besoek.

Claire B - Apr 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Claire B
Family with young children

Pleasant.

Although the cottage was adequate and had everything, we needed we were very disappointed not to see any animals. It is listed as a game farm. The entire area needs some attention as it looks untidy and very overgrown. There were 2 mice in the cottage including under the bed in the main bedroom.

Michelle J - Mar 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Michelle J
Individual traveler

Peaceful and quiet, perfect to unwind and just be.

The hosts are very welcoming and helpful, you feel safe and completely at ease. The cottage is lovely and comfortable and the walks available on the farm are so scenic. If you are an avid bird lover, this is the place to come to as there have been over 145 different species spotted on the farm. I loved listening to the birds and did not realize that there were so many different bird calls.

Andre V - Dec 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Andre V
With spouse/partner

Heerlik en rustig.

Lekker in die natuur en rustig, geen geraas, niks. Net dieregeluide wat jy hoor, heerlik.

Erica F - Nov 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Erica F
With spouse/partner

As jy stilte en rus nodig het, is dit die perfekte plek.

Baie netjiese chalet met alles wat jy nodig het. Goeie diens deur die eienaars. Heerlik gerus na 'n harde jaar.

Sindisiwe M - Nov 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sindisiwe M
With spouse/partner

Very relaxing and peaceful.

If you need peace and quietness Ekukhuleni Game Farm and Cottages is a place to be, plus the prices are very reasonable.

Thandazo T - Oct 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
2/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Thandazo T
With friends

We had to make the best of what we had, because it was a getaway much needed.

It's a place with a lot of potential, but requires enormous renovation. Pool area needs improvement, chairs, shelter, place where you can sit while watching others swim. Drainage systems need to be fixed. The place requires a lot of consideration and renovation. But the owner Karen is very nice.

Ryan R - Sep 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ryan R
Individual traveler

Best place to just relax.

Had a great stay to get away and feed the soul. Karen and Carl are great hosts.

Herman P - Sep 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Herman P
With spouse/partner

Dankie, dit was lekker om net weer rustig te wees na al die inperkings.

Die akkommodasie was uitstekend, netjies en skoon. Die omgewing was stil en rustig. Sal in die toekoms weer daar gaan uitspan.

Kittie U - Aug 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Kittie U
With friends

Rustig. Paradys vir voëlkykers.

Die eenheid waarin ons gebly het, was skoon en netjies, maar het dringend instandhouding nodig. Die deure se skarniere kraak en haak vas, my man moes ons badkamer s'n met kookolie bykom. Verf dop af op etlike plekke, die voordeur kan net van binne sluit met 'n hangslot en die een toilet lek. Verder is die naam Game Farm misleidend aangesien die wild tans bestaan uit 'n somtotaal van 2 koedoes.

Bennedette B - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Bennedette B
Individual traveler

Rustige wegbreek van die stad.

Geen grond om te ry nie. Was baie rustig. Het nie eers geweet daar is ander vakansiegangers daar nie. Sal definitief weer terug gaan.

Andre K - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Andre K
With spouse/partner

Awesome en rustig tyd. Geriewe is skoon en netjies en mense is super gasvry.

As jy jou wil afsny van die stad se geraas en verkeer, is dit die plek om na toe te gaan. Ek boek beslis weer.

Gert D - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Gert D
With spouse/partner

Baie rustig.

Ons is vriendelik ontvang deur Karin en Karl en het 'n groter eenheid gekry as die een wat ons bespreek het. Saterdag het die kinders en kleinkinders kom kuier en het die swembad baie geniet. Alles wat jy nodig het is in die eenheid. Ons kan die plek aanbeveel en sal enige tyd weer gaan.

Yolanda C - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Yolanda C
With spouse/partner

Heerlik gebly.

Geen wild gesien nie. Cottage 1 en 2 is ver van die swembad af. Gaste moet op 'n baie vergroeide voetpad loop of ry na dit toe. Plaaspad vanaf die teerpad is heel goed, maar die doringbosse is bietjie dig en krap voertuie. Cottage self baie mooi ingerig en gemaklik. Kan dalk voorstel hul kry OpenView HD dekodeerder vir meer opsies vir TV kyk.

Violet T - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Violet T
With spouse/partner

Extremely friendly and helpful hosts. Privacy guaranteed in beautiful surroundings. Peaceful stay!

Karen and her husband are extremely helpful, very friendly without invading your privacy as a guest. Great facilities, pool regularly maintained, beautiful surroundings. Great value for money. Cottages are homey and fully equipped. I highly recommend it! Will definitely come through again when in the area.

Tsholedi M - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tsholedi M
With friends

Place is clean, lively and is great for tranquillity.

We were welcomed well, place is nice and quiet, also very clean.

Cynthia K - Nov 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Cynthia K
With spouse/partner

Perfect.

Everything was beautiful. Karen and her husband were so friendly and waited for us because we arrived late. I will definitely go back again, we met other guest in the pool and they were so friendly. Overall our stay was extremely perfect.

Lee-anne B - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lee-anne B
Family with teenagers

Value for money.

A place to unwind from the city life. Friendly hosts.

Marlon B - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Marlon B
Family with teenagers

Baie rustig.

As jy vir stilte soek is Ekukhuleni die plek vir jou.

Carmen T - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Carmen T
With friends

Absolutely amazing!

Ekukhuleni was a fantastic getaway for those who want a quiet bush experience. The cottage was fully equipped with everything we needed. So clean and tidy and we even had our braai cleaned in the morning. Super hosts, thank you.

Steve D - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Steve D
With friends

If you looking for peace and harmony, place to go.

We loved the place, all you need for a peaceful getaway.

Rob P - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Rob P
With spouse/partner

Perfect for a relaxing long weekend.

If you are looking for a quiet, comfortable, affordable and very clean place to get away to that's close to Joburg, this is it! Although there were other guests, we felt like we had the place to ourselves while we enjoyed bird-watching, strolling around and making use of the very nice built-in braai. If you're lucky, you might even see the kudu and impala on the property. Karen and her husband were friendly and helpful hosts - the nights we were there were very chilly, so we requested extra firewood which they provided at no additional cost. We would happily return.

Janie D - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Janie D
With spouse/partner

Heerlike wegbreek, netjies en behulpsaam.

Baie vriendelik, skoon plek, baie still en sal definitief weer gaan.

Lesedi M - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Lesedi M
With spouse/partner

I would go there again.

Very beautiful place, clean and neat cottages and the owners are very friendly. Braai area cleaned daily and wood provided every day.

Basti V - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Basti V

Had a great time.

We expected a gravel road, but were met by a concrete double track road wel found welcome after the heave rains. Karen was very friendly and showed us the various chalets. We were pleasantly surprised at the size of the double room chalets. Very spacious for socialising around the braai. The pool, though quite deep, was such a welcome refreshment in the heat. Ideal for weekends close to Gauteng. Would love to go back there.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie lekker gebly en net so lekker gekuier.

Ons het 'n lang grondpad verwag, maar is begroet met 'n betondubbelspoorpad wat gehelp het met die baie reën en kondisie van die toegangspad. Karen was baie vriendelik met ons ontvangs en het ons die verskeie chalets gaan wys. Ons was aangenaam verras oor die grootte van die dubbelkamer-chalets. Baie ruim met baie plek om te braai en kuier. Swembad, alhoewel bietjie diep vir sommiges, was welkome lafenis van die warm weer. Ideaal vir naweekwegbreek as jy net wil rus en is binne trefafstand van beide Pretoria en Johannesburg. Sal beslis weer teruggaan.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Nyiko H - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
2/5
Nyiko H
With spouse/partner

Nice place.

Doors at cottage 3 need to be fixed.

Thobekile M - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Thobekile M
With friends

The place is private and perfect.

The game farm was great we had our private time and the staff didn't bother us they were there when we needed them. I wish they can put lights by the pool so that we could swim at night. The pool was clean, we enjoyed swimming and they were nice to allow us 2 hours more to check out. The check out time is so perfect, 4 pm, so we had enough time to enjoy before departure.

Zanele Z - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Zanele Z
With spouse/partner

The place is nice and the owners are really humble people.

I would recommend the place, especially to people who are looking for privacy. I would go again.

Liz T - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Liz T
With friends

The owner Karen was friendly and helpful, the cottage very spacious and clean. Not crazy about the location of the cottage or view from the veranda.

Thank you to Karen for her friendliness and assistance. The cottage was spacious and clean and the bedrooms roomy. We would probably have rated the cottage higher if our stay was in winter. We would strongly recommend that they install overhead (silent) fans in the bedrooms and lounge, as the stand alone fans were very noisy and inadequate especially in summer.

Andre V - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Andre V
With spouse/partner

Dit is heerlik, rustig en baie lekker om te ontspan, kan enige tyd aanbeveel.

Dis baie lekker in die bos, rustige atmosfeer en lekker om te ontspan van gejaagde lewe.

Irene D - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Irene D
With friends

Heerlik.

Baie lekker gebly, net te kort.

Martie V - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Martie V
With spouse/partner

Baie rustig, stilte met net die bosgeluide en reuke.

Die chalet was goed toegerus en netjies. Die bed was gemaklik en ons het regtig veilig gevoel. Het nie enige wild gesien nie, wel mis en spore. Baie voëlgeluide maar het net 'n paar gesien.

Frank M - Feb 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Frank M
With spouse/partner

Karen, 'n lieflike mens het ons hartlik ontvang, 'n beter woonplek aangebied en die stilte van die omgewing, was wonderlik.

Karen, 'n lieflike mens het ons hartlik ontvang, 'n ander woonplek aangebied (nr .4), nie nr. 2 nie. Sy het gepraat van die grassnyer wat ingegee het. Kon sien dat instandhouding tussen die wooneenhede baie werk nodig het. Kokkerotte in een kas. Geen wild gesien nie. Kragonderbreking het elke aand gebeur, net vir kort tye. Onderdakparkering by die wooneenhede sal 'n pluspunt wees.

Jurgens F - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Jurgens F
With friends

Its very nice and peaceful.

It was very nice ... Just had a problem with cockroaches..... alot of them.

Alet B - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Alet B

Dit was rustig en lekker om uit die stad te kom.

Lekker rustige atmosfeer en stilte is wonderlik. Die huisies is lekker privaat en mooi. Die stoele in die sitkamer kan net meer gemaklik wees, veral vir TV kyk en lekker kuier.

Minky V - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Minky V
With spouse/partner

Rustig, maar nie wow nie.

Bitter min wild. Word as wildsplaas geadverteer, bietjie misleidend.

Innocentia Ncamisile M - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Innocentia Ncamisile M
With friends

Good.

It's a very beautiful place but I think they need to cut trees a little bit as they are falling all over the place and also need to install remote gate to ensure safety of the guests, especially at night. We were so scared as we arrived late and we had to open the gate, ayi, it's not ayoba, but other than that everything was perfect. I love the place.

Christine N - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Christine N

Cottages was perfek vir ons behoefte.

Cottages is ruim en skoon en goed toegerus, omgewing ongerep met inheemse plantegroei, kry die gevoel jy is op die plaas, skoon swembad was groot bonus. Ons kan Ekukhuleni aanbeveel.

Lindie W - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Lindie W
With spouse/partner

Dit was 'n wonderlike rustige atmosfeer.

Dit was vir my 'n besonderse rustige naweek, vir seker 'n plekkie om net af te skakel van die besige gejaag.

Marthie B - Jun 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Marthie B
With spouse/partner

Peaceful nature.

Clean and neat accommodation. Wood provided daily and fireplace and braais cleaned daily. Peaceful area so you can relax after a week of hard work in the busy city.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Rustige natuurskoon.

Verblyf baie skoon en netjies. Vuurmaakhout daagliks voorsien en kaggel en braaie skoongemaak. Rustige omgewing sodat mens kan ontspan na 'n week van harde werk en stadsrumoer.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Lourenza H - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Lourenza H
With spouse/partner

We had a wonderful time and felt very welcome.

Good value for money. There are many tourist attractions in the area. Our cottage was tidy and clean. The braai wood is replenished every day without any additional costs. The owners are lovely people and we felt very welcome.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ons het heerlik gekuier en het baie welkom gevoel.

Goeie waarde vir geld en daar is baie toeriste-aantreklikhede in die omgewing. Ons huisie was netjies en skoon. Ons braaihout is elke dag aangevul sonder enige addisionele onkoste. Die eienaars is lieflike mense en het ons baie welkom gevoel.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Elizabeth F - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Elizabeth F
Individual traveler

It was a lovely getaway from the city. The silence and bushveld were blissful.

It's the ideal accommodation for people who want to get out of the city. The silence and nature is blissful. It's also nice and central to tourist attractions. There isn't a lot of game on the farm as indicated on the website, the obstacle course doesn't exist anymore and the walking trails are overgrown with gras which makes it difficult to walk along. It was lovely to sit by the dam though.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Dit was 'n heerlike wegbreek uit die stad, die stilte en bosveld was 'n lafenis.

Dit is ideale akkommodasie opsie vir mense wat wil wegkom van die stad. Die stilte en natuur was 'n ware lafenis. Dis ook lekker sentraal vir toerisme-aantreklikhede. Daar is baie minder wild op die plaas as aangedui op die webtuiste, die "obstacle course" bestaan ook nie meer nie en die wandelpaaie was oorgroei met gras, sodat dit enige wandelinge bemoeilik het. Dit was heerlik om by die dam te sit.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Melt V - Mar 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Melt V
With spouse/partner

Pretty area and tranquility at its best.

Ekukhuleni is relatively close to other attractions, including the Sterkfontein caves and the Cradle of Humankind. Thank you for a lovely time, away from the city's hustle and bustle.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Mooi omgewing en rustigheid op sy aller beste.

Ekukhuleni is relatief naby ander besienswaardighede, insluitend die Sterkfonteingrotte en "Cradle of Humankind" om die naweek aan te vul. Dankie vir 'n heerlike tydjie weg van die stadsrumoer.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Rudene G - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rudene G
Individual traveler

Very nice, good service and value for money.

Friendly and helpful owners. Simple but neat accommdation, value for money.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie lekker en goeie diens en waarde vir geld.

Die eienaars was baie vriendelik en hulpvaardig. Die verblyf was eenvoudig maar netjies en waarde vir geld.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Corinne D - Nov 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Corinne D
With friends

Beautiful, peaceful and relaxing.

While there were some minor maintenance issues, the place offers fantastic value for money and a very relaxing and peaceful atmosphere. Will definitely visit again.

Andre J - Nov 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Andre J
With spouse/partner

The house needs some renovating.

The house needs to be renovated - the power outages are unacceptable. The lady at reception is an exceptional person and will go out of her way to make anyone feel welcome.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Die huis het opknapping nodig.

Die huis moet opgeknap word - die krag wat afgaan is nie aanvaarbaar nie. Die dame by ontvangs is 'n besonderse mens en sal uit haar pad gaan om enige iemand welkom te laat voel.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Leon S - Oct 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Leon S
With spouse/partner

Received with a warm welcome, a tranquil/restful weekend was had.

A great weekend was had, peaceful, relaxing and comfortable.Had Kudu visiting us on the stoep early Saturday morning. A nice surprise!

From
R700
per night, for 2 ppl
From
From R700
per night, for 2 ppl
From
R700
per night, for 2 ppl
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 12 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 21:00
    Check-out: 16:00
  • Address: Ekukhuleni, RH25: R560, Hekpoort, 1791, Gauteng
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJGVlYTYyYmQ4LTdkMjUtNDU0My1iNjRhLWRmN2Q4MGJjODEwYw?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=enhance,format,compress&q=80 From R700  per night, for 2 ppl 49 5 1 5 Ekukhuleni RH25: R560 1791 Gauteng 0860 022 102 14:00-21:00 16:00 -25.912306771475 27.565523386002
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!