The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Goblin's Mead | TravelGround
+75

Goblin's Mead

19 reviews
Guest House

Review Summary

4.1 out of 5from 19 reviews for Goblin's Mead
Cleanliness
4.1/5
Service
4.1/5
Location
4.1/5
Safety
4.0/5
Value for money
4.1/5
Bulelwa N - Dec 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Bulelwa N
Individual traveler

Value for money.

Friendly. I was able to work without challenges. The staff are warm and accommodative.

Roger H - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Roger H
Individual traveler

A pleasant stay, satisfied my requirements.

Close location to my friends.

Ilze-marie E - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ilze-marie E
Individual traveler

Wow! Awesome place, you will love it.

On my arrival the reception was warm, friendly and efficient without any delay. I was surprised by the beautiful rooms and lovely house allocated to me. Safety is definitely high on their priority list. Thank you for making my stay pleasant and comfortable. Might I suggest that you look into slip prevention strips on the shower/bathroom tiles, they become quite slippery when wet.

Marieta V - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
2/5
Location
3/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
2/5
Marieta V
With friends

Weereens 'n bewys dat foto's op internet misleidend kan wees.

Opknapwerk aan plek definitief nodig. Sal beslis nie kombuis gebruik om kos voor te berei nie. Matrasse en kussings kliphard en ongemaklik. Handdoeke vuil en stukkend - kon dit nie gebruik nie. Geen wasgoedlyne beskikbaar - slegs tou. Gemeenskaplike fasiliteite skep probleme as al die gaste nie konsidererend is nie. Aluminiumstroke wat veronderstel is om diefwering te wees, is afwesig by 'n hele paar vensters - ons kamer het vrye toegang via vensters gegee vir wie dit ookal wou gebruik. Motors wat in straat moet staan is groot probleem. Baie teleurgesteld in hierdie akkommodasie wat gelys word.

Jeremy C - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jeremy C
Individual traveler

Altyd fantasties.

Ons het Goblin al 'n paar keer gebruik en is altyd tevrede, dankie.

Quinton M - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Quinton M
With spouse/partner

We were pleasantly surprised.

Accommodation was of top quality, terribly neat and very modern. It was a pleasure to stay there for the night. Will definitely go again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ons was aangenaam verras.

Akkommodasie was van baie hoë gehalte, pynlik netjies en baie modern. Dit was net 'n plesier om daar te oornag. Sal beslis weer gaan.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Jeremy C - Jun 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
5/5
Jeremy C
Individual traveler

Baie tevrede, net jammer voertuig moes buite parkeer.

Tevrede met verblyf, net jammer dat voertuig buite moes parkeer.

Maggie P - Aug 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Maggie P
Individual traveler

Hussain is 'n baie vriendelike gasheer en die kamer was gemaklik ingerig.

Hussain en personeel is baie vriendelik en die kamer was baie gemaklik ingerig. Die enigste kritiek wat ek wil lewer is dat die beddegoed oorweldigend na rook geruik het en as 'n nie-roker het dit my baie gepla. Ek het onrustig geslaap aangesien ek nie aan die rookreuk gewoond kon raak nie en my hare en klere het ook na rook gestink die volgende dag.

Cecile L - Mar 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Cecile L
With friends

Very convenient, neat and clean.

We really enjoyed the stay! Thanks for the friendly service!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie gerieflik, netjies en skoon.

Ons het baie lekker gebly! Baie dankie vir vriendelike diens!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Goblin's Mead's response

Dear Cecile, another wonderful guest that we are not paying enough, hahaha. Thank you so much for a lovely review, it was an absolute pleasure having you guys and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Warmest regards, from Brett and Rosi

Goblin's Mead
Bembise M - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
2/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Bembise M
With spouse/partner

You pay cheap, you sleep cheap.

It was okay, but not wow like in the pictures. It needs some proper cleaning. But the staff were very friendly.

Goblin's Mead's response

Dear Bembise, thank you for taking the time to send a review however, our up-to-date pictures depict exactly each and every room, which all have a full room and the amenities are clearly listed. You chose the cheapest room, even though there were other rooms available at the time of your booking. You also chose to throw your bottles and other rubbish under your bed each day, this we know because not only are all our rooms serviced daily, but you informed our cleaning staff that you had done so. I can never understand why a guest books exactly what they have chosen online, then spend their whole stay being unhappy, but telling the staff what a super time they are having when asked, and then write a bad review once they have left. A far more productive solution for both parties would be to voice your issues at the time and in most instances, you would find the establishment would bend over backwards to make you happy.

Goblin's Mead
Ivan B - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Ivan B
On business

It was smart and neat, good location.

Good value for money, neat place.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Was smart en netjies gewees, goeie ligging.

Goeie waarde vir geld, netjiese plekkie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Goblin's Mead's response

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, Ivan. It was an absolute pleasure having you and we look forward to your return visit soon. Kindest regards, Brett and Rosi

Goblin's Mead
Nangamso M - May 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Nangamso M
Individual traveler

I wouldnt visit that place again!

Getting there was a mission, place was filthy full of old cars outside with a small mark written "Guesthouse". I had to park my car on the streets because the actual garage is full of junk from the house. And when I asked why I must park outside I was told "this is Cape Town". I was welcomed by the owner full of grease and paint all over and he said he was busy with another house that he will turn into B&B and then he asked one of his garden staff to show me my room and give me the keys. Nothing was explained further! There are no wadrobes in the room, the lights did not go on for two days, the lady making the bed would not even tilt the sheet, the night before I ate rusks and i still found the pieces of rusk on the bed when I went to sleep. The safety is disastrous, the is only a door, no yard, you park outside the yard. I would not recommend this place to anybody! It was not a pleasant experience at all!

Goblin's Mead's response

Dear Nangamso, Wow, it looks like you really had a axe to grind!
It is just such a great pity that if you had such a bad time, you did not once mention it during your stay.

We pride ourselves in keeping ALL our guests happy, even if it means going the extra few miles. We are in the service industry and NOTHING is too much trouble if it means keeping our guests happy and returning, like all of our corporate guests do, month after month, and in fact 90% of all our guests send us their yearly schedule 1 year in advance so that their regular rooms and individual needs are secured and catered for.

You state that getting to us was a mission, this I find hard to believe as we send all our guests a pre welcoming letter with full directions on how to get to us, and we also include GPS co ordinates. Other than that, we offer a shuttle service to and from the airport.
As you seem literate enough to book through a website and in fact send through such a scathing review over a website, I would presume that not only can you operate a GPS but that you read our UPDATED information on this website and looked at ALL our UPDATED photos.

Our website quite clearly states "Off street parking" which is 100% safe, we have never had 1 incident in over 20 years.

As far as old cars parked outside, being wonderful weather in Cape Town both Rosi and I happened to be driving our 500 SL 1984 Mecedes convertible, and I my 1928 SSK Mercedes convertible, they may both be old but I can assure you they are far from filthy or junk.

How you managed to break into my locked garage I don't know, but I assure you it is defiantly also not full of old junk.

As far as the signage goes, how big a sign do you need?

I am so sorry that I had paint (but definitely no grease) on me when you arrived, but for us to keep up our 5 star appearances we regularly paint, especially in the months coming up to our rainy season, and because of my appearance I passed you on to our manager Hussien, who is the most wonderful, kind and helpful person I know, and I do not for 1 minute believe that he did not only show you to your room and explain where everything was, but make sure you felt at home before giving you your keys. And by the way Nangamso, not every black person in our wonderful country should be presumed to be a gardener !!!

You are quite correct, there are no wardrobes in the rooms, there are walk in cupboards, those are the things that you put your clothes in, with the shelves and hangers, remember.

If you happened to have no lights for 2 days, that switch as you enter your room is for the lights, please remember to look for one when next you check into a guest house or hotel, you press it and voila you have lights, the lights most definitely were working when you left!

As for tilting the sheets I have absolutely no idea how to tilt sheets, I have googled it but unfortunately nothing on "Tilting sheets".

If you eat rusks in the evening before you go to bed and you mess them all over the bed may I suggest that you clean them up yourself before going to bed, we do not offer a "Rusk cleaning" service to guests before they retire for the night !

Your last part about safety I do not understand, we have the outside gate that leads to the road, for which you had a key, then the front door to the guest house for which you had a key, and then your bedroom door key for which you had a key, how much more security do you want ?

Lastly may I suggest that in future you rather stay in a 6 star Hotel, so that you have staff at your beck and call 24/7 to switch on and off your lights, sweep crumbs off your bed before you sleep and post guards outside your room when you are sleeping, and of course have impeccably dressed managers and staff to greet you

Goblin's Mead
Hennie V - May 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hennie V
With spouse/partner

Vyfster-fasiliteit teen 3-ster pryse.

Baie aangename verblyf, gastehuis baie netjies, personeel baie behulpsaam. Eienaars baie vriendelik en later gevoel soos ou vriende.

Goblin's Mead's response

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, Hennie. It was an absolute pleasure having you. We look forward to showing you all the new changes that we have made since your last visit. Kindest regards, Brett and Rosi

Goblin's Mead
Gustav B - Sep 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
2/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Gustav B
On business

Mooi plek.

Die Koi-dam voor die kamer was steurend deur die nag.

Theo P - Jun 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Theo P
On business

Dit was aangenaam, soos 'n huis weg van die huis.

Privaatheid was eerbiedig. Dit was aangenaam om 'n selfsorg-eenheid beskikbaar te hê vir 'n slag asook die keuse vir ontbyt voor die dag begin. Veral die braai binnenshuis tel punte vir 'n braailiefhebber, veral as dit 'n bietjie koud is buite. Die personeel was vriendelik, hulpvaardig en aangenaam.

Goblin's Mead's response

Thank you so much Theo for taking the time to reply. It is so nice to have guests that appreciate all the hard work and effort we put in to make our guests feel at home. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kindest regards, Rosi and Brett

Goblin's Mead
Alfred S - Apr 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Alfred S
Individual traveler

Baie vriendelik verwelkom.

Baie netjies en in 'n baie rustige area geleë. Naby aan die nodige winkels en lekker wynplase!

Goblin's Mead's response

Hi Alfred, we are so glad that you had a wonderful stay at Goblin's Mead. Thank you once again for your kindness and also for the great review. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Brett and Rosi

Goblin's Mead
Marleen R - Apr 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Marleen R
With spouse/partner

Netjies en skoon.

Goblin's mead is 'n baie mooi gastehuisie in 'n goeie ligging - naby aan Canal Walk en Ratanga Junction. Die eienaars is lieflike mense en die kamer was skoon en netjies. Dis egter net baie klein.

Goblin's Mead's response

Dear Marleen, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovley review. I look forward to being able to show you our 2 latest additions to Goblins Mead, which are much more spacious, but still decorated in the homely and comfortable Goblin style. I wish you a lot of well wishes, Rosi and Brett

Goblin's Mead
Julie S - Mar 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Julie S
On business

Lekker gebly en vriendelike mense!

Kan Goblin's Mead aanbeveel, rustige atmosfeer.

Goblin's Mead's response

Dearest Julie, we are definitely not paying you enough, hahaha. Thank you for a stunning review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kindest regards, Brett and Rosi

Goblin's Mead
Sidney G - Mar 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sidney G
On business

'n Wonderlike area en vriendelike ontvangs in 'n pragtige gastehuis.

Ek sal beslis Goblin's Mead aanbeveel as 'n gastehuis wat waarde vir geld bied en seker maak dat jou verblyf 'n goeie ervaring is.

Goblin's Mead's response

Dear Sidney, it was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us. It is always so nice to meet such wonderful people, we really look forward to your next visit with us. Kindest regards, Brett and Rosi

Goblin's Mead
was R890
From R668
per night (for 2 people)
was R890
From R668
per night (for 2 people)
was R890
From R668
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 14 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 18:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 20 Lombard Way, Edgemead, Cape Town, 7441, Western Cape
  • No children under 12
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJGE2YjRiZTc0LWZiMGMtNGM5NC1hZGFlLTc0ZTlmNmUwZWFhYQ?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format was R890, now From R668  per night (for 2 people) 19 5 1 5 20 Lombard Way Edgemead 7441 Western Cape 0860 022 102 14:00-18:00 10:00 -33.876326932502 18.546064635582
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!