The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Gold Reef Lodge | TravelGround
+19

Gold Reef Lodge

Review Summary

3.9 out of 5from 16 reviews for Gold Reef Lodge
Cleanliness
4.0/5
Service
3.8/5
Location
3.6/5
Safety
4.2/5
Value for money
3.7/5
Bridget M - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Bridget M
With friends

They give the best customer service.

Gold Reef Lodge is the best place for one to travel with friends and they give the best customer service and the management and staff are so friendly and welcoming.

Xolani Nzuzo & Nokwethemba Silindile N - Nov 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
2/5
Xolani Nzuzo & Nokwethemba Silindile N
With spouse/partner

It's a good place, though is still under construction.

Bedding things are not in a good condition.

Tanya L - Mar 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
1/5
Location
2/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
1/5
Tanya L
With spouse/partner

Terrible customer service.

I have to be completely honest and say that the owner of Gold Reef Lodge (Stanton) is one of the most unprofessional people I have ever dealt with. I booked in July 2015 (seven months in advance) to stay at the Gold Reef Lodge from 26th to the 28th of February 2016 and paid the deposit of R1050. Ten days before we were due to check in to the Gold Reef Lodge, I received an email from Stanton to tell me that government officials are staying longer than expected so he has moved us to another lodge. The manager of this other lodge was also uncooperative and could not accommodate us so Stanton found us accommodation at Stanley Park. This place was secure and pleasant but it was further from our destination (Nasrec Expo center) than Gold Reef Lodge. Stanton did not give us breakfast on the Saturday (26th) or the Sunday (27th) as promised. He was also supposed to have organized a shuttle service to and from Nasrec, which he did not do. He organized a taxi at the last minute. He did not phone or come in to check up on us during our stay and then insisted on me paying cash for the amount still owing. He sent another person to come fetch the key and was very rude when I told him I would send him an EFT to pay the balance owed. I will never support his services again and would definitely not recommend anyone else to use them.

Gold Reef Lodge's response

I have to be completely honest and give my side of the story. Currently in-house I have Government Officials that have extended their stay as their mission is not over hence I had to source alternative accommodation for you at another establishment. You harassed the other establishment to such an extent that they didn't want to accommodate you anymore. You were stranded with no accommodation and you contacted me on the 18th Feb for accommodation. I made a plan and assisted you with accommodation at my luxury units called Stanley Park. My rate for Stanley Park is R 1050 per room per night inclusive of breakfast. Your second night stay, I charged you a ridiculously reduced rate of R 350.00 which you still had a problem with payment. In South Africa we don't work on an honesty policy. I don't allow clients to utilize my services and then make payment when it suits them. Payment must be done upon arrival or upon check out that is how it works in any hospitality establishment. The gentlemen that I sent to collect the money from you before you checked out is one of my managers. Richard will never be rude to anyone as this is not part of his nature or part of our business. The transport was arranged and we needed to finalize times with you upon arrival. The shuttle that you utilized is my shuttle service and not a taxi service. With regards to breakfast you were advised that breakfast will be served each morning in the unit below you, unit number 54. All my other clients were happy with this arrangement and no one complained only you had a problem. If you felt that you were so special you could have made arrangements with us to have breakfast delivered to your room. We call this room service in the hospitality industry. I have 78 rooms and I service 156 clients over this period but you were the only one to complain about everything which says a lot about a person. I will leave you to ponder on this:

“The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.” (William Arthur Ward)

Gold Reef Lodge
Rodney T - Dec 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rodney T
With friends

We had a perfect time, very helpful went the extra mile.

We were near our final destination (Turfontein).

Nischal P - Apr 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Nischal P
Family with teenagers

It was pleasant accommodation.

Notwithstanding the late change of the accommodation requirements by the lodge itself, the accommodation of my need was handled well by Stanton. Nevertheless, I would like to express my disappointment in the cancellation of my pre-booked and paid accommodation. The reasons provided, by the current management, had no relevance to myself and was as a result of the supposed former management of the lodge.

Teoda M - Apr 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Teoda M
Family with teenagers

Terrible!

Very unprofessional. Booked months in advance and when we got there the owner/manager told us that he can't accommodate us. I would definitely not recommend it.

Mala M - Feb 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mala M
With friends

People at Gold reef Lodge were very accomadating and friendly.

A lovely stay at a lovely place. Many thanks as well to my TravelGround agent Thankdeka, who was a great help and always ready to assist.

Cloretta L - Jan 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Cloretta L
Family with teenagers

Very happy with our stay.

All staff and owners are very friendly and helpful. They go out of their way to assist and make your stay comfortable.

Elvin V - Dec 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Elvin V
Family with teenagers

What a friendly place.

5 Star service.

Nobuhle S - Dec 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
2/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Nobuhle S
Family with young children

Great Stay

My family and I had a great stay and would definitely come back, and/or recommend friends to visit the guest lodge.

Lerato M - Oct 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Lerato M
With friends

We really enjoyed our time at Gold reef lodge

We really enjoyed our stay, the lodge was beautiful.

Adele V - Jul 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Adele V

Excellent

As we were a large family group with toddlers we were a bit sceptical, as not too many establishments cater for our needs. But from the moment we arrived, we knew we made the right choice. I wish the rating was out of ten stars as Gold Reef Lodge truly deserve each one. Stanton, Sylvester and all staff were wonderful and there are a few establishments that I can think of, which could go and learn from them what customer service is all about. I will definitely recommend anybody to give them a try and we will definitely return to Gold Reef Lodge, and stay longer. Thank you Stanton and Sylvester keep up the good work!

Nkele M - Jul 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Nkele M
On business

Affordable and comfortable

Friendly and helpful owner. Facilities clean. I just wish that the twin room we occupied had a bathroom door, first for privacy and secondly, to keep the bathroom warm after showering, especially in winter. Overall, a nice place!

Willem S - Jul 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Willem S
Family with teenagers

Baie aangenaam en gerieflik.

Ek kan dit met groot vrymoedigheid aanbeveel.

Sannie M - Jun 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Sannie M
With spouse/partner

A good stay

It's a lovely place for an overnight stay.

Fortunate M - Jun 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Fortunate M
On business

It was the best accommodation

Thank you, we were very happy and we will use your services again.

From R950
per night (sleeps 2)
From R950
per night (sleeps 2)
From R950
per night (sleeps 2)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 45 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 18:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 6 Dorchester street, Robertsham, Johannesburg, 2091, Gauteng
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAiWbIyu2RAS9xKQP3tZxpsLXMswrvUpyFJyHRsdYVp7fkniXQci?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R950  per night (sleeps 2) 16 5 1 4 6 Dorchester street Robertsham 2091 Gauteng 0860 022 102 14:00-18:00 10:00 -26.24955 28.010954635582
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!