Greyton Accommodation at Greyt House Self-catering | TravelGround
+29

Greyt House Self-catering

25 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

4.6 out of 5from 25 reviews for Greyt House Self-catering
Cleanliness
4.2/5
Service
4.7/5
Location
4.9/5
Safety
4.7/5
Value for money
4.2/5
Karen E - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Karen E
With friends

Wonderful host, clean and comfy and allows pets which is perfect for us.

Our host was always friendly, willing to please and attended quickly to queries. It was a privilege to stay in this lovely old house. Really enjoyed sitting on the front porch for breakfast and drinks. Our dogs were able to roam freely in the garden and they had just as much fun in Greyton!

Greyt House Self-catering's response

Karen, thank you, hope to see you again.

Greyt House Self-catering
Anneke S - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Anneke S
With friends

Dit is 'n baie lekker, ruim en goed toegeruste huis, maar het regtig verf en aandag dringend nodig.

Dit is 'n huis met ongelooflike potensiaal en ons het ons naweek baie geniet. Dit huis het baie om te bied, maar ons het gevind dat dit moeg is en kan doen met 'n bietjie verf en opknapping. Een van ons gaste het Sondag vroegoggend (+/- 2 am) 'n rot/groot muis in die kombuis sien hardloop wat onder die yskas verdwyn het! Miskien kan die eienaars hieraan aandag gee?

Philip G - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Philip G
With friends

Tranquil and relaxing but bathroom facilities are limited for a full house.

We had a good stay and, considering the fact that it is a very old house (walls badly cracked with paint that comes off, windows and exterior doors that are badly rusted, cabinets that smell musty, etc.) generally many complaints or criticisms. Some lights were dead, a hot water tap in one of the bathrooms could not open and the mixer tap in the kitchen was broken and leaked badly. These defects were somewhat annoying, but did not greatly affect our stay. What is a major deficit is a second shower. The ad is misleading here. The ad is talking about a family bathroom serving the second and third bedrooms. I would say the logical deduction is that a family bathroom will contain a bath, shower, basin and toilet and not just a bath and the rest. We were six people who all preferred to shower and assumed there were two showers that were not the case at the time. It definitely was a problem. The fireplace was a winner.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Rustig en ontspannend, maar badkamergeriewe is beperk vir 'n vol huis.

Ons het lekker gebly en het met inagneming van die feit dat dit 'n baie ou huis is (mure erg gekraak met verf wat afdop, vensters en buitedeure wat plek-plek erg roes, kaste wat muwwerig ruik, ens.) oor die algemeen nie veel klagtes of kritiek nie. Enkele ligte was dood, 'n warmwaterkraan in een van die badkamers kon nie oopdraai nie en die mengerkraan in die kombuis was stukkend en het erg water gelek. Hierdie gebreke was ietwat irriterend, maar het nie ons verblyf groot beïnvloed nie. Wat wel 'n groot tekort is, is 'n tweede stort. Die advertensie is hier misleidend. Daar word in die advertensie van 'n gesinsbadkamer gepraat wat die tweede en derde slaapkamer bedien. Ek sou sê die logiese afleiding is dat 'n gesinsbadkamer 'n bad, stort, wasbak en toilet sal bevat en nie net 'n bad en die res nie. Ons was ses mense wat almal verkies om te stort en het aanvaar daar is twee storte wat toe nie die geval was nie. Dit het beslis gepla. Die kaggel was 'n wenner.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Greyt House Self-catering's response

Philip dankie vir die terugvoer. Ons sal verseker dink aan 'n 2de stort. Die droogte en die baie potklei in Greyton het bygedra tot die krake(beweging in die grond), die advies wat ons gekry het, was dat ons eers nog kans gee vir die potklei om te herstel voordat ons die krake hanteer.
Groete,
Karin

Greyt House Self-catering
Sally H - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Sally H
Family with teenagers

Cycling weekend in Greyton.

This house is in the perfect location for a weekend in Greyton. Greyton was so cold the weekend we were there, but the beds had electric blankets and once the indoor fire was lit we all gathered around it in the evenings. Accommodation is basic, but the location is fantastic and our teens loved it as they could ride their bikes around Greyton from the house easily. The hosts were great and super in every way of communication. The boys locked us out of the house and they did everything they could to rescue us as fast as possible. We would definitely visit again.

Greyt House Self-catering's response

Thank you, Sally. We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Greyt House Self-catering
Estelle C - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Estelle C
Family with teenagers

The location was great, you can walk to nearby shops and restaurants. Will definitely go again.

The house has a great views and outside braai with a nice stoep where everyone can sit together. The comfortable beds are good. Will definitely go again.

Olivia A - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Olivia A
With friends

Perfect for friends.

The house was so quaint and sweet, perfect for a group of friends. The location was brilliant, right in the middle of town. Great value for money. It was the perfect place to stay the night before we did the Greyton-McGregor hike as they allow one-night bookings.

Greyt House Self-catering's response

Thanks, hope to see you again.

Greyt House Self-catering
Garth T - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
1/5
Garth T
Family with teenagers

Bad first impression!

When we first entered the house, everything seemed fine until we started unpacking in the kitchen. The fridge was filthy and had not been cleaned from previous occupants. The deep freeze had spillage in, microwave wasn't clean and had food spills in. The dishwasher had been unpacked, but also had food spillage all over the sides. The bathrooms were much to be desired. The shower was filthy. The house was definitely not cleaned prior to our arrival. The only thing that was clean was the bedding. The gardener was there after we had checked the house and asked him to call the cleaning lady back. A different lady arrived and we were promptly told that they were not told that we were coming and thus didn't clean the house. This is unacceptable, we booked this house in August 2018 already. Furthermore, all the rooms had left over alcohol bottles from new years. We removed them all and put them in the kitchen. The kitchen was full of empty boxes. The cleaner should have removed all this rubbish. The house is in serious need of maintenance, cracked walls, broken mats, etc. In the main room, we had one light working. Surely this is supposed to be checked. The blind was broken and laying on the floor, which we put back up again. Fan broken, the list is endless. We paid a lot of money for this house and in terms of what we received, was definitely not worth it. One last thing, when I am on holiday, I certainly do not want to hear grass being cut, etc. I try and get away from it all, so having the gardener come and work while people are in the house is unacceptable to us. I understand he has a job to do, why didn't he do it when people weren't occupying the house?

Greyt House Self-catering's response

Garth, thank you that you will make use of the free weekend that we have offered you as compensation for the inconvenience during your stay. As can be seen in other reviews, this certainly is not our standard. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Greyt House Self-catering
Frik C - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Frik C
Family with young children

Good, but expected a little more.

A Big and comfortable house with a good location. The needs to be renovated though. Some of the windows can't close properly and one of the fans didn't work. The fridge/freezer is too small for long stays. There were fleas on the one couch in the living room. A lot of flies in the kitchen because of the horse/cow manure on the gras by the back door because the fence is not secure and the animals can come in. The ceiling fan in the main bedroom didn't work. Our time in Greyton had enough things to do and the restaurants were great.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Lekker maar meer verwag.

Groot gemaklike leefhuis wat goed geleë is. Die huis het egter opknapwerk nodig. Van die vensters maak nie behoorlik toe nie. Een van die waaiers het nie gewerk nie. Die yskas/vrieskas is te klein vir langtermyn verblyf. Ons het vlooie op die een rusbank in sitkamer gehad. Baie vlieë in die kombuis area a.g.v. perde- en koeimis op gras by agterdeur want die perseel is nie volledig omhein nie en die hekke aan voorkant word maklik deur die diere oopgemaak. Die dakwaaier in hoofslaapkamer het nie gewerk nie. Die kuier in Greyton het genoeg doendinge gehad en die Restaurante was puik.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Greyt House Self-catering's response

Beste Frik,

Ek is jammer dat die huis nie aan jul verwagtings voldoen het nie, ek sou verseker 'n plan gemaak het as ek van jul ongerief geweet het.

Groete,
Karin

Greyt House Self-catering
Annelie D - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Annelie D

Baie gerieflik.

Baie lekker gebly. Die eienaar het goed gekommunikeer en reëlings insake sleutel was baie goed gereël.

Pc P - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Pc P

Peace itself.

We were lucky enough to sleep in Greyt for three days. I could never understand how one could sit on a patio and do nothing, but in this house it was almost all I wanted to do. There was a very nice breeze that cooled us off. We took our mountain bikes and rode the trails around Greyton and would recommend the Genandendal walk.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Die rustigheid vanself.

Ons was gelukkig genoeg om drie dae in Greyt House te bly. Ek kon nog nooit verstaan hoe mense op 'n stoep kan sit en niks doen nie, maar in hierdie huis was dit omtrent al wat ek wou doen. Daar was die lekkerste luggie wat ons afgekoel het. Die huis is baie sentraal en mens kan oral heen stap. Ons het ook ons bergfietse gevat en die roetes rondom Greyton gery en ek kan regtig die Genadendal-loop aanbeveel.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Greyt House Self-catering's response

Dankie! Bly jul het dit geniet

Greyt House Self-catering
Belinda R - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Belinda R
With friends

'n Heerlike naweekhuis waar ons kon rus en stap in Greyton se berge. Sal definitief aanbeveel!

Greyt House sal ek definitief aanbeveel vir mense wat sielerus wil vind. 'n Netjiese, heerlike kuierhuis met alles wat jy nodig het. Ons sal julle definitief weer besoek!

Greyt House Self-catering's response

Dankie, sien jul graag weer!

Greyt House Self-catering
Juanette M - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Juanette M
Family with young children

Lovely stay in the most beautiful town.

We enjoyed the house because it is so cosy and very well located in the town. The accommodation is very clean and spacious.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Heerlike verblyf in mooiste dorpie.

Ons het die huis baie geniet, want dis so cosy en baie goed geleë in die dorp. Die akkommodasie is baie skoon en ruim.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Greyt House Self-catering's response

Ons hoop om jul weer te sien. Dankie.

Greyt House Self-catering
Lana D - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lana D
With friends

Home from home.

Would recommend this to anyone, very central.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Home from home.

Sal dit vir enige iemand aanbeveel, baie sentraal.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Mariana F - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mariana F
Family with teenagers

Alles was perfek!

Alles was perfek, huis was ideaal vir ons gesin en die eienaar was baie hulpvaardig en vriendelik.

Greyt House Self-catering's response

Dankie Mariana, hoop om jul weer te sien.

Greyt House Self-catering
Ruth B - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ruth B
Family with young children

Family friendly house with everything we needed.

Greyt House was perfect for our family: plenty of space, electric blankets and a fireplace, well-equipped kitchen and right in the middle of town. It's nothing fancy, but it suited us down to the ground.

Greyt House Self-catering's response

Thank you for your kind remarks, see you again.

Greyt House Self-catering
Carol R - Feb 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Carol R
Family with young children

Lovely spacious house, perfect for kids!

We had a great stay over the weekend - the house is so spacious which was perfect with two kids and two dogs running around. We loved all the different seating areas - stoep, braai area, tree swing - and it was so peaceful sitting on the stoep and watching the world go by with those beautiful mountains in the background. The house was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed and we loved the chess set and other games provided which kept the kids amused in the mornings. Easy walk into town or down to the reserve, perfect location.

Dave J - Nov 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Dave J
Family with young children

Excellent venue for family gathering.

Comfortable and well positioned to enjoy the best of Greyton.

Greyt House Self-catering's response

Thank you for the feedback, Dave.

Greyt House Self-catering
Louise R - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Louise R
Family with young children

Baie aangenaam.

Pragtige uitsig oor die berge. Dankie, lekker gebly.

Danel S - Aug 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
2/5
Danel S
Family with young children

It is an old house that needs a little with of TLC but it is very neat and clean and in the middle of town.

There are a few things that didn't work 100% and some cooking equipment in the kitchen that was unnecessary. Otherwise, it was a great weekend and we had a good time.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Dit is 'n ou huis wat bietjie TLC nodig het, maar is baie netjies en skoon en in die middel van die dorp.

Daar is 'n paar goed wat nie 100% gefunksioneer het nie asook 'n paar kook gereedskap in die kombuis wat noodsaaklik was. Andersins was dit 'n baie lekker naweek en ons het lekker gekuier.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Greyt House Self-catering's response

Dankie Danel, ek hoop ons sien jul weer.

Greyt House Self-catering
Jeanne B - Jun 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jeanne B

Very neat and clean house.

You don't need anything more than what this home offers, in terms of self-catering, to experience an unforgettable weekend in Greyton.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie netjiese en skoon huis.

Mens het niks meer nodig as wat die huis bied, wat selfsorg betref, om 'n onvergeetlike naweek in Greyton te beleef nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Andrew T - Mar 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Andrew T
With friends

Wonderful, relaxing weekend.

Just what you need on a regular basis.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

'n Wonderlike rustige naweek.

Dis nou net wat jy nodig het op 'n gereelde basis.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Naomi B - Sep 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Naomi B
With friends

Amazing house; perfect location; great value for money

Our stay at Greyt House was simply sublime. The house is extremely spacious with lovely entertainment areas. The wrap-around patio is lovely for afternoon tea or evening drinks. The house is old, so don't expect modern furnishings. The place is, however, clean and tidy. The bedding is lovely! The location is perfect - you are walking distance from everything in town and super close to the amazing Saturday market. I would certainly recommend a stay here.

Greyt House Self-catering's response

Naomi, thank you for your review, hope to see you again!

Greyt House Self-catering
Gerda V - Jun 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Gerda V
With friends

Lekker groot huis, sentraal geleë.

Ons het heerlik gebly. Dit was bitter koud die naweek. Weet nie wat ons sou gedoen het sonder die elektriese komberse nie. Baie dankie!

Lawson E - Jun 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Lawson E
With friends

Best weekend in Greyton.

Thanks Karen for a lovely weekend. The house is beautifully equipped and ideal for a weekend away. Although it's quite old, it's very neat, cosy and perfectly situated. It's the ideal place for a holiday with a group of people.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Beste naweek in Greyton.

Dankie Karen vir 'n wonderlike naweek. Die huis is pragtig toegerus en ideaal vir 'n naweek weg. Die huis is redelik oud, maar baie netjies, gesellig en perfek geleë. Dit is die ideale plek om na te gaan vir groot groep mense vir vakansie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Greyt House Self-catering's response

Dankie Lawson, hoop om jul weer te sien.

Greyt House Self-catering
Zonia L - May 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Zonia L
Family with young children

It was an amazing venue for a weekend of hiking!

The Greyton House Self-catering accommodation is truly a lovely venue. Situated in a quiet street, though in the middle of the town, near the Saturday market, it is a lovely place to unwind. The house is very spacious with a lovely garden and old leivoor running through. We could even take our well trained house dog! Lovely bedding! Beautiful roses!

Greyt House Self-catering's response

Dankie Zonia, kom gerus weer.

Greyt House Self-catering
From R1 900
per night (sleeps 6)
From R1 900
per night (sleeps 6)
From R1 900
per night (sleeps 6)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 6 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 23:00
    Check-out: 14:00
  • Address: 6 Church Street, Greyton, 7233, Western Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDdlNmFjZjM2LTNlOGEtNGFkZS04M2VlLWVlOTBkM2UwNDliOA?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R1 900  per night (sleeps 6) 25 5 1 5 6 Church Street Greyton 7233 Western Cape 0860 022 102 14:00-23:00 14:00 -34.048037612431 19.60943967104
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

0860 022 102 | bookings@travelground.com