The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Home from Home | TravelGround
+19

Home from Home

Self Catering

Review Summary

4.2 out of 5from 46 reviews for Home from Home
Cleanliness
4.0/5
Service
4.2/5
Location
4.0/5
Safety
4.5/5
Value for money
4.3/5
Sylvester M - May 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Sylvester M
Family with young children

Our stay at home to home was convenient and comfortable.

We had a great time at Home from Home, the service was quick when ever we needed help or something, the area was safe and had parking for my vehicle, the rooms provided enough space, while the kitchen had all the utensils one would need, I believe with a little upgrading around the kitchen and especially bathroom, otherwise this place is ideal shot a weekend and a long weekend stay.

Jean D - Apr 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jean D
Family with young children

'n Wonderlike plek.

Daar is alles wat jy nodig het met baie vriendelike diens. Mense is so behulpsaam. Ons het regtig baie lekker gebly, baie dankie. As ons weer in Durban kom, sal ons verseker nêrens anders bly nie.

Nonhlanhla M - Apr 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nonhlanhla M
With friends

It is peaceful and awesome.

We enjoyed our stay and they gave us some privacy and they kept on asking if we still okay. But the transport to the beach it was a challenge for us.

Thabile M - Feb 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Thabile M

The manager was very welcoming and explained everything clearly.

The environment is quiet and safe.

Sam V - Jan 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Sam V
With friends

Gemaklike akkommadasie. Was gerieflik om te kon kom en gaan soos jy wil.

Met jou eie remote, was dit gemaklik om nie nodig te hê dat iemand vir jou hoef oop te maak nie.

Zanele Olgah M - Jan 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Zanele Olgah M
With friends

Was okay we appreciated.

Thank you for good service we appreciated it. Everything was perfect. Thank you so much.

Patience K - Dec 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Patience K
With friends

Awesome.

Was a good stay and the trip was amazing.

Nomathemba M - Dec 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nomathemba M
Family with young children

Awesome and safe.

Safe place to bring kids at, and really secure.

Chris B - Nov 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Chris B
On business

Good, quiet location.

Felt most comfortable and safe.

Chanelle D - Nov 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Chanelle D
With spouse/partner

Excellent experience, would love to go back soon.

Great accommodation for a couple. The place is very neat and decent. Very affordable and loved the AC in the room.

Simphiwe K - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Simphiwe K

Amazing.

Great host and clean.

Phumzile N - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Phumzile N
With friends

It was marvellous.

We really enjoyed our stay and we'll definitely hang around again.

Wendy T - Aug 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Wendy T
With spouse/partner

It really felt like home.

The hospitality was amazing.. very homely and warm environment. Il'l be visiting again soon. Cheers!

Averroes M - Jul 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Averroes M
Family with young children

Safe, clean and can accommodate children

The place was good for our budget. We had a good time with my family. I will recommend it to anyone who wants travel on a low cost and it's excellent for a family. They have a braai area with a pool, close to restaurants.

Karl H - Jun 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Karl H
Family with young children

Sien sterre.

Sien sterre.

Simphiwe K - May 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Simphiwe K
With friends

Amazing!

We loved the facility and the service was amazing! Our Host was the best definitely a home away from home.

Natasha D - May 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Natasha D
Individual traveler

Very neat, safe and comfortable.

A very cosy atmosphere.

Art S - May 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Art S
With friends

Staff is friendly.

I received accommodation well worth the price.

Neo K - May 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Neo K
With friends

Awesome.

It was awesome service overall.

Alexander L - Apr 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
2/5
Alexander L
With spouse/partner

Good customer service, poor amenities.

This accommodation is in my humble opinion more suited to student lodging than short stays for the seasoned traveller. Our host was gracious and did try to make our stay comfortable it must be said. Alas, there were too many issues to warrant a return visit for us. The aircon unit (which virtually had to be run through the night due to the lack of windows) leaked water all over the welcome mat and the kitchen looked right into a rather cramped bathroom/toilet for starters. The desktop lamp had no bulb and the DStv decoder was balanced precariously on the edge of a shelf clearly built without factoring in the units' dimensions. The pots and pans looked the worse for the wear and the pool could have done with a deep clean.

Debby C - Apr 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Debby C

Cosy unit.

Suggestion: put glasses in unit, as well as a carving knife, tupperware and a bigger fridge.

Nomampondo M - Apr 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nomampondo M
With spouse/partner

Beautiful stay.

Love the place. But they must accommodate different individuals who like loud music and fun.

Joyce M - Apr 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Joyce M
With spouse/partner

As the name say, I enjoyed.

Place is so quite and nice and the view was lovely. We enjoyed the rest of the stay.

Alan K - Mar 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Alan K
With spouse/partner

Owner was helpful.

We loved the pool and freedom to swim whenever, owner went along with me surprising a friend. Spacious enough for 4 people. One or two minor adjustments could be made (a few things were broken, but did not effect our stay). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Martin V - Mar 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
1/5
Location
2/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
2/5
Martin V
With spouse/partner

Ongerieflik.

Saterdag, ander gaste was toegelaat om geraas en dronk partytjie te hou met groot getalle familie en vriende. Was baie ongerieflik.

Nonkululeko M - Nov 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Nonkululeko M
With friends

It was okay.

The stay was okay but it was far to get to the shops in case we needed anything.

Maureen T - Oct 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Maureen T
With friends

Friendly owner

Safe and friendly nice and quiet.

Michael I - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Michael I
With spouse/partner

Great, very neat, private.

It would be nice if an aircon could be installed, to beat the Durban heat. I think that the address should be changed as the GPS did not pick 188 Alan Paton road up, but it picked up 188 McDonald road which was the address on the front of the house.

Magda W - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
2/5
Location
1/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
1/5
Magda W
On business

Won't stay there again.

Friendly host, but not a nice place. Not even a courtesy bottle of drinking water. There was a problem and we had no water. I had to find a 5L bottle and fetch water from the swimming pool to flush the toilet during the night. TV had sound but no image.

Patrick V - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
2/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Patrick V
Family with young children

Was central to all the schools.

Just look carefully at the stairs when it rains. Other than that, very nice.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Was sentraal by al die skole.

Kyk net mooi na die trappe as dit reën. Verder baie lekker.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Elzette V - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Elzette V
With spouse/partner

Alles wat jy nodig het.

Home from home is regtig 'n hidden gem. Bestuurder baie vriendelik en eenheid is soon en netjies.

Sam M - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sam M
With friends

Cleanliness is a major issue that they must really improve.

Good location, good customer service, but they need to change linen before new guests arrives and towels, bathroom and shower were not good at all.

Helen B - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
2/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
1/5
Helen B
Family with teenagers

It was an awful experience.

3 cockroaches seen. No bathroom door and this wasn't advertised. Dirty sheets and behind the toilet. No DStv though it was advertised. Kitchen right by bathroom. Sliding door was sticking. Front sliding door did not lock. Fridge was not cold when we arrived. Electricity went off the one day due to no units being bought. Tiles chipped. One bed leg broken and a brick put there.

Maureen T - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Maureen T
With friends

We enjoyed our stay.

The only thing that they must change is the bed's mattress. Thanks.

Linah L - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Linah L
With friends

Very beautiful and lovely place.

See stars.

Teresa A - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Teresa A
Individual traveler

Service was very good and the place was clean and well-equipped.

I only arrived after the check-in time, but was still welcomed with open arms. The place is very secure and safe and the flatlet had everything I needed.

Elana G - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
3/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Elana G
Individual traveler

Teleurstellend.

Die bed se springs steek deur die bokant van die bed. Die lakens is lankal nie meer wit nie. Die wasbak en toilet ruik na riool as jy die krane oopmaak. Die vloere is geverf en dop op verskeie plek af. Dan ook as jy die deur oopmaak nadat dit toegestaan het ruik dit na koue, nat muf. Voorts was die swembad grasgroen. Jy kan sien dit word nie eers skoongemaak of probeer onderhou nie. Dit lyk regtig nie soos op die foto's nie. Ek kan nie glo dat daar sulke goeie resensies is nie. Ek het volgens die kwotasie betaal vir skoonmaakdienste, maar my bed nooit opgemaak, vullismandjie nooit uitgegooi en die handdoeke nooit vervang nie. Ek sal dit glad nie aanbeveel nie.

Jaco V - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Jaco V
Family with young children

Was very happy.

Will stay there again. Had a nice stay.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie tevrede gewees.

Sal weer daar gaan bly. Baie lekker gebly.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Rynard S - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rynard S
With friends

Awesome.

Dis 'n baie lekker gaste huis om te bly naby als wat jy nodig het.

Ilana H - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ilana H
Family with teenagers

Friendly people, lovely accommodation, clean, neat, affordable. Thank you very much.

Lovely accommodation and very neat and clean. Will definitely use them again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Vriendelike mense, heerlike verblyf, skoon, netjies, bekostigbaar. Baie dankie.

Heerlike verblyf en baie netjies en skoon. Sal definitief weer gebruik maak van hulle.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Thabang M - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Thabang M
Family with young children

Very good and perfect place for family.

Very perfect place and the service was 100%.

Ntombi N - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Ntombi N
Family with young children

It was an amazing place to stay in and the owner was very friendly and helpful.

See rating.

Antionette E - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Antionette E
Family with young children

Value for my money.

Excellent accommodation!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Waarde vir my geld.

Uitstekende verblyf!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Natasha V - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Natasha V
With friends

The service was absolutely incredible, Vanessa is such a kind person.

We stayed over for 2 nights and the place is beautiful, it's really a home away from home. Vanessa is really kind and so accommodating, our transport was running late and she offered to take us to the nearest coffee shop as they were expecting guests and we supposed to have checked out already. We will definitely go there again and recommend it to a friend. Keep up the good service.

Whitney C - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Whitney C
Family with young children

Very homely and private.

Vanessa is a really good host and made us feel welcome from the moment we got there. Also very respectful of guests privacy.

Joe B - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Joe B
With spouse/partner

Netjiese verblyf, vriendelike mense.

Home from Home is 'n gerieflike, baie goed ingerigte, netjiese, skoon gastehuis, waar Kevin jou vriendelik ontvang en tuis laat voel. Ek beveel hulle graag aan.

From
R500
per night (sleeps 2)
From
From R500
per night (sleeps 2)
From
R500
per night (sleeps 2)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 8 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 21:00
    Check-out: 09:00
  • Address: 188 Alan Paton Road, Bulwer, Durban, 4001, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAmJYpRys6oMLh6i4qK3WzEpQKZOnDcOjGyhEux4egJt0Y6e7rss?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=enhance,format,compress&q=80 From R500  per night (sleeps 2) 46 5 1 5 188 Alan Paton Road Bulwer 4001 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-21:00 09:00 -29.862054313201 30.99314784418
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!