The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Hoylake Inn | TravelGround
+52

Hoylake Inn

Guest House

Review Summary

4.5 out of 5from 15 reviews for Hoylake Inn
Cleanliness
4.5/5
Service
4.5/5
Location
4.6/5
Safety
4.7/5
Value for money
4.3/5
Sharief L - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sharief L

Great stay, great hospitality!!

The accommodation was perfect for a large family, rooms are great and the establishment is located central to almost everything. The hospitality from Laura and Dylan was great as well!!

Hoylake Inn's response

Dear Sharief,
Thank you for your positive review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you to visit us again. It is happy, friendly guests like you guys who make our work joyful. Have a great year!!

Hoylake Inn
Wallace M - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
2/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Wallace M
Family with teenagers

Horrible!

The place was below par; it was too expensive for what you actually got; the stench coming from the toilets in both rooms 6 and the room downstairs that we had for 3 nights was terrible. The windows were dirty and we had to ask for a toaster, yet it is self-catering, with mini fridges, generally it was a disappointing experience.

Hoylake Inn's response

Dear Wallace.

We are very dismayed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. From the start, you originally booked the apartment for 5 people, as per our maximum capacity. However, you unexpectedly arrived with 6 people and wanted 2 additional rooms.. We emailed your family on 15 November, informing them, precisely about the apartment booked and its guest capacity. We tried to contact you to find out what time you will be arriving which we received no feedback. We managed to rearrange things and accommodate a 4th room at a discounted rate.

At this festive time of year when our staff are also entitled to some holidays, we wash windows once a week or if there is a storm. We do not wash windows on public holidays. Regarding the toaster, once we were informed we replaced it immediately. We are a B&B with some self-catering options. When booking you were given the option to book breakfast. All the relevant important information was included in the quotation.

Every time we bumped into you and your family you seemed very happy and did not communicate any other problems.

We do hope to see you again

Kind regards

Holylake Inn

Hoylake Inn
Leon S - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Leon S
With spouse/partner

Lieflike, stil omgewing.

Goed toegeruste verblyf in 'n pragtige stil omgewing. Ons was vriendelik ontvang en het dadelik tuis gevoel.

Hoylake Inn's response

Baie dankie Leon, vir u vriendelike kommentaar.
Ons was baie bly om u te ontmoet, en ons hoop dat jy weer sal kom.
Oos Londen het baie verskillende hardloop reëlings wat jy seker sal geniet.
Groete

Hoylake Inn
Hugo S - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Hugo S
Individual traveler

Dit was 'n 1 nag besigheids trip, maar die verblyf was perfek vir wat ek nodig gehad het.

Was 'n besigheids trip so nie gekyk vir toeriste goed nie. Slegs eend aand. Plek was naby restaurante en die strand.

Martin S - Sep 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Martin S
Individual traveler

Teleurstellend.

Die kamer was vuil en onnet. Teen R700/nag sonder ontbyt is dit glad nie waarde vir geld nie.

Hoylake Inn's response

We are sorry you felt that the room was dirty and untidy. Seeing as you were the only person to occupy the room, we are confused as to why you felt it was untidy? The room is as neat as it appears on the website photos. It is possible, that seeing as we decided at the last minute to upgrade you from a standard double bedroom to an upstairs studio with ocean views, lounge area, and private balcony, at no extra charge, there might have been some dust that had blown in. But I could not say that makes the bedroom dirty.

We are sorry your booking person did not make you aware of our offer which stated a "bed only" booking, but we are always upfront about that, as many of our guests prefer to utilize our kitchenettes that are equipped in each bedroom and sort themselves out. That way, we don't have to charge for a breakfast not eaten. As it is, possibly you are unaware of prices in East London - R700 is the standard rate for a booking website, and very underpriced for our large studio bedroom with ocean views, especially in the upmarket area of Bunkers Hill.

Hoylake Inn
Robert C - Mar 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Robert C
On business

Gasvry en skoon goed georganiseer.

Die bespreking deur LekkeSlaap was gemaklik. Ons verblyf was alles wat ons verwag het.

Sarah W - Nov 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sarah W
Family with young children

Absolutely Fantastic!!

We were a large family traveling together for a wedding. Laura and Kim were absolutely unbelievable in how they accommodated all of us. From some of us arriving early (with arrangement), others arriving late. The rooms were clean and more than what we needed for our stay. Breakfast was great, and that was a last night before addition, as we had not really discussed our breakfast arrangements amongst ourselves. Their staff are fantastic in how they managed around all of us. Their location is also central so it was convenient to get everywhere. We all really had an enjoyable stay and we all will be recommending them to everyone traveling to East London. Thank you so very much Kim and Laura!!

Dave M - Jun 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Dave M
With friends

Great place to stay if you are golfing

Laura is a great hostess. The the rooms are well laid-out and tastefully furnished. Secure parking is a big plus!

Ilze R - Apr 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ilze R

Rus, vrede en warm van vriendelikheid.

Dit was so gemaklik daar Die plek is pragtig en goed geleë, ek sal elke keer daar gaan bly. Ons is omring met natuurskoon en honderde bonsai-boompies.

Bradley R - Dec 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Bradley R
With friends

The BnB was nice, clean with a scenery of the beach

I had nice time, it was nice and quiet. Staff very friendly and welcoming.

Bongani Q - Jan 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Bongani Q
Family with young children

The best holiday stay.

The hosts treated us very well and I will definitely consider staying at this place again in future. The room with a seaview was excellent and we received good hospitality from the hosts.

Constance P - Jan 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Constance P
Family with teenagers

Wonderful hosts

The people at Hoylake Inn were on top of their game. They were very pro-active, and welcoming.

Pedro R - Dec 2011
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Pedro R
With spouse/partner

Perfect hosts

Perfect hosts, great attention to detail and the wonderful personal attention of their staff ensured a pleasant stay. Hoylake inn is well situated to reach all business districts making it suitable for business travellers while beaches are within easy access for those on holiday.

Laurence B - Dec 2011
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Laurence B
With spouse/partner

A pleasant place to stay in East London with great hosts

Hoylake Inn is well situated in East London with a very friendly atmosphere greated by the hosts Laura and Kim. Whilst some renovation work is being done, this does not distrub the visitor and will result in a super B&B once completed.

Muxsie M - Jul 2010
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Muxsie M
Individual traveler

Centrally situated, clean, safe with friendly service - exactly what I needed for my trip

Home from home. I had a great stay. I felt safe and the service was wonderful. Thank you.

From R940
per night (for 2 people)
From R940
per night (for 2 people)
From R940
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 25 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 6 Hoylake Avenue, Bunkers Hill, East London, 5241, Eastern Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAae35aba236156e1edef8a685338eaeb59c8b0f4372b96cb60ccf57e3a5de2ceaebb1702b90a00a2891766c81bd1804ba7c24?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R940  per night (for 2 people) 15 5 1 5 6 Hoylake Avenue Bunkers Hill 5241 Eastern Cape 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -32.998554701181 27.928273379803
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!