The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Inkunzi Cave, Zulu Hut and Diddly Squat | TravelGround
+19

Inkunzi Cave, Zulu Hut and Diddly Squat

24 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

4.9 out of 5from 24 reviews for Inkunzi Cave, Zulu Hut and Diddly Squat
Cleanliness
4.9/5
Service
4.9/5
Location
5.0/5
Safety
4.9/5
Value for money
4.8/5
Johan G - Jun 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Johan G
With spouse/partner

Picture perfect. Wonderful, romantic getaway.

Will definitely book at Inkunzi again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Prentjiemooi. Wonderlike romantiese wegbreek.

Sal vir seker weer by Inkunzi bespreek.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Lance G - Apr 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lance G
Family with teenagers

Rustic accommodation with gracious hosts and beautiful views!

My family and I had an awesome experience staying at Estelle and Steve's accommodation. We were blown away by not only the accommodation but by the hospitality of the owners, being so welcoming and lovely. We recommend it for anybody looking to get away for a few days!

Heloise L - Apr 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Heloise L
Family with young children

Stukkie uit die hemel.

Wat 'n wonderlike deeltjie uit die hemel! Ons het dit so baie geniet! Asemrowende uitsig! Unieke blyplek! Dit het ons verwagtinge oortref! Ons sal beslis weer soontoe gaan! Ons wou nie huis toe gaan na die vaal Gauteng toe nie.

Pieter L - Feb 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Pieter L
With spouse/partner

Asemrowende, romantiese en privaat paradys.

Vriendelike ontvangs by ’n stukkie hemel op aarde. Die eenheid is goed toegerus en veilig, met asemrowende uitsigte. Ons het natuurlik die privaat rotspoel gate uit geniet. Ons beveel Inkunzi Cave enige tyd aan, 10/10.

Inkunzi Cave, Zulu Hut and Diddly Squat's response

Thanks very much for the great feedback. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Inkunzi Cave, Zulu Hut and Diddly Squat
Annolien D - Feb 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Annolien D
With spouse/partner

Amazing!

Al die wonings is handgemaak deur Steve. Vanuit die 'grot' waar ons oornag het, kon jy soggens die son, pienk, oor Champagne Peak sien opkom. Al die geriewe was daar en ons kon afkoel in die rots-swembad na 'n lekker uitstappie na Monks Cowl toe. Steve en Estelle is puik gashere. Ons het dit ontsettend geniet om al die interessanthede te kon lees in die boekie wat Estelle oor Steve se lewe geskryf het. Steve is 'n wonderlike skilder/ tekenaar. Ons sal beslis weer gaan.

Adri E - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Adri E
Family with teenagers

Absolutely fabulous

Our stay at Inkuzi Cave, Zulu Hut and Diddly Squat was absolutely amazing! We stayed in the Zulu Hut and Diddly Squat and loved every second of our stay. The owners were so friendly and open and we left feeling like family. The level of detail in each of the accommodation units were so cute and fitting to the allocated theme, we had everything we needed. The views were amazing and the kids really enjoyed swimming in the rock pools. There are a lot of cute shops to visit close by and lots of things to do which only made our stay more memorable. Our stay at the Zulu Hut and Diddly Squat was so unique and special and we loved that its not your typical type of accommodation. We felt safe and welcome from the moment we arrived and will definitely be going back and I can recommend this as a holiday destination to anyone wanting to visit this part of the Drakensberg region.

Inkunzi Cave, Zulu Hut and Diddly Squat's response

Hi Adri,
Thanks so much for your kind words and the wonderful feedback. We loved meeting you and sharing our beautiful place with you.
I hope your dad's rocks are starting to take shape !!!
See you soon.
Estelle and Steve

Inkunzi Cave, Zulu Hut and Diddly Squat
Lourens B - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lourens B
With spouse/partner

Very beautiful.

We had the most awesome stay there. The place is so lovely and beautiful. The swimming pool was great in the heat.

Inkunzi Cave, Zulu Hut and Diddly Squat's response

Hi Lourens,
Thanks so much for your kind words. It was great to meet you and we hope to see you back here soon.
Regards,
Steve and Estelle

Inkunzi Cave, Zulu Hut and Diddly Squat
Mike P - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mike P
With spouse/partner

Hosts Steve and Estelle are very hospitable. Diddly Squat is the most unique accommodation ever.

This was our second stay at Diddly Squat because it is so unique and innovative. Virtually living in a cave with its Rainbow Nation feel and ambience makes it so inviting. Did I forget to mention the view of the mountains when you open your eyes in the morning? Well, I will happily say that it's the best and makes you feel so relaxed. The accommodation is centrally situated to either going for hikes from Monks Cowl, visiting the reptile park, witnessing majestic birds of prey at Falcon Ridge and a quick drive to many restaurants and eateries. This in addition to many other activities are available for all ages.

Evelyn M - Dec 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Evelyn M
With spouse/partner

Beautiful and relaxing.

What a beautiful place and the best hosts ever! We had the best time and would love to stay there again! What a special place!

Laura B - Dec 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Laura B
With spouse/partner

Gorgeous!

Loved the surroundings. Bliss.

Erik O - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Erik O
With spouse/partner

Refreshing different.

This is one of the best places we have ever stayed. Steve treat you like royalty. Not many places offer you a view of the berg when lying on your bed. Will definitely be back.

Martie V - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Martie V
With spouse/partner

Asemrowende uitsig. Gasvriendelik, fantastiese diens, beste vakansie-akkommodasie nog ooit.

Hospitality is outstanding, everything you need is there. Amazing view from all the windows. Private and romantic. A must. Do recommend this for any couple for a romantic break away. Can also take 2 small kids. The views is to fall in love with. Artwork in caves is outstanding. Uncle Steve is a real darling. I fell in love with this place.

René M - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
René M
With spouse/partner

Absolutely amazing. Highly recommended.

Stunning. Will be back!

Tiné K - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
5/5
Tiné K
Family with teenagers

Unieke ervaring.

Dit was só lekker om in die hut te bly! Dis baie groter as wat ons verwag het! Dit het 'n uitstekende ligging en besonderlik diens.

Liezl B - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Liezl B
With spouse/partner

Good. All in one.

Very nice place, beautiful views and a lot to do in the area. Will definitely return.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Puik. Als in een.

Verskriklike oulike plekkie, pragtige uitsigte en baie in die omgewing om te doen. Sal definitief weer teruggaan.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Anne H - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Anne H
With spouse/partner

Fantastiese plek.

Ongelooflik mooi. Bo-verwagtinge spesiaal. Sal beslis vir almal aanbeveel, dis baie oorspronklike akkommodasie.

Inkunzi Cave, Zulu Hut and Diddly Squat's response

Hi Anne,
Thank you so much for your kind words. Sorry we didn't get to meet you. Hope you can come again some time!
Kind regards
Estelle and Steve

Inkunzi Cave, Zulu Hut and Diddly Squat
Coen S - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Coen S
With spouse/partner

Kommervry en ontspannend met pragtige uitsig op berg.

Perfek geleë vir besoeke aan verskeie naby geleë besienswaardighede en staproetes in die omgewing.

Jakobus M - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Jakobus M
With friends

Stunningly beautiful and quiet.

Inkunzi Cave is a terribly beautifully designed place with its own rock pool, very private with a fantastic view of the Drakensberg as well as the valley, definitely recommended.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ontsettend mooi en rustig.

Inkunzi Cave, is 'n verskriklike mooi ontwerpte plek met eie rotspoel, baie privaat met 'n fantastiese uitsig oor die Drakensberge asook vallei, beslis aanbeveelbaar.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Alison L - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Alison L
With spouse/partner

Stunning views.

An absolute gem of a place. Being an older couple, I would rather book the Zulu Hut or Cave next time. However, what an experience. Steve and Estelle are superb hosts. Will definitely be back!

Jan N - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jan N
With spouse/partner

A wonderful experience.

Steve, the owner, thought every place through. We stayed in the Diddly Squat and enjoyed it very much. I can't put Steve's creativity into words. If you like something else, go and experience it. Lovely hiking routes and a one in a million artist.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

'n Wonderlike ondervinding.

Steve, die eienaar, het elke plek goed deurdink. Ons het in Die Diddly Squat gebly en het dit vreeslik geniet. Steve se kreatiwiteit kan ek nie in woorde beskryf nie. As jy van iets anders hou gaan beleef dit. Lekker staproetes en 'n kunstenaar 1000.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Gretchen D - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Gretchen D
With spouse/partner

Heerlike verblyf in 'n grot/shack met 'n lieflike uitsig!

Ons het 'n paar nagte in die klein grot/shack deurgebring, baie rustig en privaat, meestal gebraai en heerlike kampvure gemaak, een reënerige aand op die gasstofie gekook en op koue aande vuurgamaak in die houtkoolstoof. Heerlike ervaring met baie aangename gasheer en gasvrou.

Stefan H - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Stefan H
With spouse/partner

Great and lovely place!

We stayed in the Zulu Hut, which was great! Built by Steve himself. Unfortunately, we stayed only one night, but we'd love to come back one day.

Leon P - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Leon P
With spouse/partner

'n Baie goeie keuse as jy soek na verblyf wat bietjie uniek is maar tog 'n besonderse ervaring is.

Diddly Squat is dalk meer geskik vir "Backpackers" of mense wat lig reis. Inkunzi Cave is besonders. Die handewerk van Steve, eienaar en kunstenaar is oral sigbaar en besonders.

Janine M - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Janine M
Family with young children

Sprokiesmooi.

Ons verwagtinge was hoog, maar is ver oortref! Die natuurskoon is asemrowend en die gasvryheid fantasties. Ons is so bly ons het hierdie juweel ontdek!

From R700
per night (sleeps 2)
From R700
per night (sleeps 2)
From R700
per night (sleeps 2)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 9 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 20:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: R600, 8 Highlands, Champagne Valley, Central Drakensberg, 3340, KwaZulu-Natal
  • No children under 6
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAR3QVrSfPyhNcpllISBiasZay39YaS1rghoCcztrHQ06tLoPFuo?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R700  per night (sleeps 2) 24 5 1 5 R600 8 Highlands, Champagne Valley 3340 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-20:00 10:00 -29.028202296578 29.434068444771
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!