The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at King George's Guest House | TravelGround
+42

King George's Guest House

Guest House

Review Summary

4.3 out of 5from 9 reviews for King George's Guest House
Cleanliness
4.3/5
Service
4.4/5
Location
4.2/5
Safety
4.6/5
Value for money
4.0/5
Ping L - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Ping L
With friends

A place to recall history.

It's a nice place to stay in. The room is very big with some antiques.

King George's Guest House's response

Good day,

We are so glad you and your family enjoyed the short stay with us. We hope to see you again when you are visiting South Africa.

Regards,
King George's team

King George's Guest House
Elaine M - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Elaine M
With spouse/partner

Pragtige historiese gebou en baie gerieflik ingerig.

Ons het ons verblyf ten volle geniet. Die personeel is baie vriendelik en behulpsaam. Die kamers is pragtig en baie gerieflik ingerig. Ek sal enigeen aanraai om daar oor te bly en sal self ook graag weer daarheen gaan. Die ontbyt was baie lekker en keurig voorgesit.

King George's Guest House's response

Goeiedag Elaine ,
Dit was heerlik om julle by ons te hê en is so bly julle het julle verblyf geniet. Ons sien uit om julle weer by ons te verwelkom.
Groete, King George's Gastehuis span

King George's Guest House
Grant P - Sep 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Grant P
On business

Had a pleasant stay. No surprises, which is good.

Had a pleasant stay. Will come again.

Irma D - Aug 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
2/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
2/5
Irma D
Individual traveler

Cold, ugly room with dirty carpet and unpleasant smell.

Ugly room. Dirty carpet, covered in black stains. Dirty white towel in bathroom. TV might as well be removed - it doesn't work. Smell was the worst (I don't know if it was dirty or damp). No door or curtain in front of the "shower". Lots of cracks in the bath and the surface is very rough. Ice containers in one of the kitchens only filled half-way, with only a few blocks of ice. I don't know how old the ice is. A few cold drinks in the other fridge. Very disappointing for a 4 star guest house! The bed was comfortable and the linen was clean.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Koue, onaantreklike kamer met 'n vuil mat en 'n onaangename reuk in die kamer.

Onaantreklike kamer. Mat vuil en vol swart kolle. Vuil wit handdoek in badkamer. TV mag net sowel uit die kamer gehaal word, dit werk nie. Die ergste was die onaangename reuk in die kamer (ek weet nie of dit die vuil mat is of "damp" nie). Geen deur of gordyn voor die "shower" nie. Die bad se enamel het 'n klomp krake in en is baie grof. Yshouers in kombuis se een yskas is almal halfvol ys of het 'n paar blokkies in. Ek weet nie hoe oud die ys is nie. 'n Paar koeldranke in 'n ander yskas. Baie teleurstellend vir 'n 4-ster gastehuis! Die bed was gemaklik en die linne was skoon.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

King George's Guest House's response

We acknowledge receipt of the list of complaints, due to the seriousness of the complaints, I feel it is my duty to respond to them individually. It is also important to note that we have approximately between 250 and 310 bed nights in that specific room per year and it fair to say that the perceived opinion of one individual should be seen in that context. We are open for criticism and we see it as a positive and corrective action will be taken where necessary. I would therefore like to comment as follows:
- The room is not cold, our web site picture shows that it gets a fair amount of afternoon sun (Newlands room). Furthermore, it has a wall heater, electric blanket and enough quilts etc. to keep you warm.
- The room may be unattractive for some but that is only an opinion.
- There are black marks on marble floor in the bathroom. Marble sometimes comes with imperfections and there is nothing we (or anybody else) can do about it.
- The TV that she is referring to is a brand new 32 inch (80cm) flat screen TV that works. This is well within the specifications of a four star guesthouse.
- A dirty towel (possibly stained) is unacceptable. We have a very strict procedure in order to avoid such instances and if for some reason a dirty towel did make it into her bathroom, I apologise. It is a pity she did not report the instance immediately, as we could have corrected it accordingly.
- Without doing anything, the damp smell of the carpet has miraculously disappeared.
- Like most modern showers, the shower does not have a door or a curtain. It is noted that a fair amount of guests actually prefer not having a door, as it gives you more space in the shower area.
- The bath is scratched. In mitigation, however, one cannot replace the bath every time someone scratches it. We will attend to this matter accordingly.
- If the ice holders are half full or half empty is it really important.
- There may have been a few cool drinks in one fridge, but I must remind the guest that there are 3 fridges in the bar area and I can assure you, that we do a regular stock take and it is highly unlike that all 3 fridges were empty.

King George's Guest House
Dawid S - Jan 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Dawid S
With friends

Baie aangename verblyf.

Baie aangename plek om te oornag. Die huis is 100 jaar oud en is baie netjies. Dis aangenaam om te sien die huis word so mooi na gekyk. Baie vriendelike personeel en dis baie maklik om by hulle uit te kom. Ek sou lugversorging waardeer het.

Charlene C - Dec 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Charlene C
With spouse/partner

Aangename ervaring met goeie waarde vir geld.

Sien gradering.

Rianna V - Apr 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rianna V

Vriendelike, gasvrye en skoon verblyf gehad.

Ons was in PE vir 'n groot Nasionale swembyeenkoms. Die gastehuis is baie sentraal geleë: Binne loopafstand van Grey High School en 10min van die Newton Park Swembad af.

Michael K - Jan 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Michael K
With spouse/partner

It has been a home away from home

Very friendly and helpful staff.

Willem V - Dec 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Willem V
With friends

Lovely

Great customer service, felt very safe.

From R1 100
per night (for 2 people)
From R1 100
per night (for 2 people)
From R1 100
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 28 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 20:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 2 King George Road, Mill Park, Gqeberha (Port Elizabeth), 6000, Eastern Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAjbBqSeUFAihPy1BJbNmV4SRbtCRsEr6syYp8zSni32KL3qFAgm?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R1 100  per night (for 2 people) 9 5 1 5 2 King George Road Mill Park 6000 Eastern Cape 0860 022 102 14:00-20:00 10:00 -33.962156695711 25.600910058861
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!