The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at La-Peng Guest House | TravelGround
+22

La-Peng Guest House

Review Summary

3.8 out of 5from 16 reviews La-Peng Guest House
Cleanliness
3.9/5
Service
4.2/5
Location
3.4/5
Safety
3.8/5
Value for money
3.5/5
Rogini D - Dec 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Rogini D
With spouse/partner

Amazing hosts.

We had a very pleasant stay. Would have preferred our own accessibility.

Engela E - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Engela E
With friends

Arrived and nobody opened the gate. Our taxi driver had to hoot a couple of times to wake the host.

Spiders in the room, dirty curtains hanging on the floor, curtain rack falling off.

Gerrit V - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Gerrit V
With spouse/partner

Nice place, friendly owners.

Had a wonderful stay. The owner and his wife were very friendly. Received a warm welcome when first arriving. Nice view of the ocean.

Evert D - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Evert D
Family with teenagers

Very nice place with proper rooms and very nice breakfast. The host was very helpful.

A perfect place to stay. Close to the airport and very beautiful.

Malcolm P - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
3/5
Location
2/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
2/5
Malcolm P
With spouse/partner

We had a comfortable stay at La-Peng, but the establishment needs some basic maintenance.

We were warmly greeted by our host and shown to our comfortable room. I am still not sure why it’s called the black and white room. I thought the room lacked maintenance and was particularly concerned that we were unable to lock the balcony door as we perceived this to be a security risk. Although there was a guard dog that, sadly, seems to spend much of his day tethered to a chain. We prefer to have a dark room at night, but the curtains in our allotted room did not block out the reasonably bright outside lights. The TV remote was not operational but we were able to switch the unit on manually and to select channels via the DStv remote. It would be of benefit to me if there were some additional plugs in the room where we could have charged cell phones without having to first unplug the bedside lamps. The same goes for the kettle which could not be used without unplugging the fridge or TV. Breakfast was very tasty but, if I had been given a choice, I would have preferred to have had fried eggs and not scrambled. I had to kneel down to retrieve an item that I dropped onto the floor and noticed that the area under the bed appeared to have not been cleaned in some time.

Lourine P - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Lourine P
With spouse/partner

Not what we expected.

No privacy. Internet photos very nice, but not real.

La-Peng Guest House's response

Dear Lourine,
Thank you for your comments,
We would just like to respond to your remarks.
As to no privacy, you had the whole second floor for yourself, 2 bedrooms, 2 balconies with no other guest on that floor.
The photos on our web page and TravelGround were taken by us, with no touch-up or enhancements.
Kind regards,
Dorothy and Alex

La-Peng Guest House
Frikkie G - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Frikkie G
With spouse/partner

Ongelooflike lekker ervaring.

Uitstekende waarde vir geld. Gashere Alex en Dorothy is spesiale mense wat jou tuis laat voel. Gaan uit hulle pad om dit gerieflik en spesiaal te maak. Elke oggend se ontbyt was puik. Naby aan alle fasiliteite en strande.

Isak B - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Isak B
On business

Gemaklike en bekostigbare verblyf naby aan King Shaka Lughawe.

Ek is baie vriendelik ontvang. My kamer was netjies, gemaklik en goed ingerig. Mooi uitsig van die see en baie vinnig om by die lughawe uit te kom.

La-Peng Guest House's response

Dear Isak,
We thank you for your kind comments about our breakfast and are humbled you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind regards
Dorothy and Alex

La-Peng Guest House
Noel N - Feb 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
2/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Noel N
With spouse/partner

Baie vriendelik en maak spesiale moeite om 'n goeie ontbyt te bedien op stoep met see-uitsig.

Die gastehuis het ongelukkig te veel trappe wat beweging moelik maak indien jy afhanklik is van krukke (my vrou het 'n fraktuur op haar voet gehad voor ons by die gastehuis opgedaag het). 'n Huurmotor sal aanbeveel word omdat die gastehuis te ver van ander restaurante of winkels is indien gaste wil uitgaan vir aandete of 'n koeldrank wil gaan koop, sal ook 'n steuring vir ander gaste wees aangesien daar slegs een deur is na buite is. My verblyf by 'n ander lodge in Durban 'n week later was so 'n goeie, profesionele ondervinding dat ek La-Peng Guest House nie weer sal gebruik nie. Toegang tot die see ook nie moontlik nie.

Dianne L - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Dianne L
Individual traveler

Very welcoming and accommodating.

Dorothy was very helpful and accommodated my early departure. A very kind and welcoming lady. Will use them again.

La-Peng Guest House's response

Good day Dianne,

Thank you for your great review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Dorothy and Alex

La-Peng Guest House
Gill J - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Gill J
With spouse/partner

Very good hosts, breakfasts excellent, great view.

We throughly enjoyed our 2 day night at La-Peng, our hosts were very attentive and made sure we were comfortable. Guest house has a wonderful sea view, breakfasts catered to all our needs. Would recommend La-Peng Guest House to other travellers.

La-Peng Guest House's response

Dear Gill,
Thank you for taking the time to review our B&B so positively. We are so delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable and the food delicious. It was such a pleasure having you stay with us and hope to see you soon.
Kind regards, Dorothy and Alex

La-Peng Guest House
Corrie S - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Corrie S
With spouse/partner

Nice and peaceful. Alex and his wife are very nice and considerate. Would just have liked to be closer to the swimming beach.

In the future we will rather look for a more central place with a swimming beach and where it's not necessary to use transport the whole time.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Lekker en rustig. Alex en sy vrou is baie gaaf en bedagsaam. Sou graag net nader aan 'n swemstrand wou wees.

In die toekoms sal ons eerder na groter sentra kyk waar 'n swemstrand is en dit nie nodig is om heeltyd van vervoer gebruik te maak nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Eric M - Jan 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Eric M
Family with young children

Excellent customer service, personal touch, great catering and its a home

Lapeng is good. It's clean, great customer service, and has a real home away from home feeling to it.

Claudine J - Jan 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Claudine J
With spouse/partner

Aangenaam en gasvry.

Die diens was vriendelik, hartlik en gasvry. Die ontbyt was heerlik. Oor die algemeen was ons verblyf baie aangenaam. Baie dankie!

Eira K - Jul 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Eira K

Friendly and comfortable

It was a warm, friendly, comfortable experience. Nice people, interesting conversation, and tastefully presented, delicious food.

Dirk C - Apr 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Dirk C
On business

Pleasant stay.

Friendly hosts, great location.

From R1 100
per night (for 2 people)
From R1 100
per night (for 2 people)
From R1 100
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 12 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 21:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 14 Lotus, Desainangar, La-Mercy, 4399, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDk0MDdjMTU0LTU5ZmYtNGUyYy05Y2QwLTc1OTIwZmY3NmQzMA?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=enhance,format,compress&q=80 From R1 100  per night (for 2 people) 16 5 1 4 14 Lotus Desainangar 4399 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-21:00 10:00 -29.614794809072 31.152999401093
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!