Mooinooi Accommodation at Mamagalie Lodge | TravelGround
+94

Mamagalie Lodge

128 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

4.6 out of 5from 128 reviews for Mamagalie Lodge
Cleanliness
4.7/5
Service
4.6/5
Location
4.6/5
Safety
4.8/5
Value for money
4.5/5
Tilana K - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tilana K
With spouse/partner

Kind Service, Lodge very private with breathtaking views.

We had a lovely weekend at Mamagalie Lodge: serenity. This lodge is a must if you want privacy. The lodge has beautiful views. We would definitely recommend to all our people. Thanks.

Yolanda H - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Yolanda H
With spouse/partner

Asemrowend. Baie rustig. Was lekker om van die stad weg te breek.

Baie om te sien en te doen. Blyplekke is mooi in die natuur en privaat. Baie veilig. Lekker om te ontspan. Daar ook baie diere om te sien. Lekker stap plek. En die rock pools is n moet.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Yolanda,

Thank you for your kind words. So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you managed to see a lot of the game on your hike to the pools.
The perfect place to practice your "social distancing".
Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Esna E - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Esna E
With spouse/partner

Al wat ek kan sê is dit was wow!

Baie oulik en rustige plekkie. Die mense is baie vriendelik skoon en netjiese huisie. Sal dit aanbeveel vir 'n romantiese naweek weg.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Esna, It was lovely meeting and hosting you, I am so glad the lodge met your expectations. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards, Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Adrie B - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
1/5
Location
2/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Adrie B

Romantic stay!

The place is absolutely perfect. But the people have absolutely no people skills. So, we arrange booking in time to be after 3:00 pm as we cannot book in before then because you will be paying about R170 extra pp. So, we were almost there, the traffic is a big factor if you driving all the way from JHB, that is another reason why we would have love to checked in 2 hours earlier. The lady phoned me and ask me "Where are you I'm late for whatever reason". Not my problem at all as a guest is it? Nope. Remember I'm your guest I don’t owe you any damn thing. Once stopped she pulled open my door as if I'm a child. Again, not my problem if you are late for anything, I'm the guest. So, she goes through everything with us rushing. Once in the room she told us she painted the cupboards the same morning. Paint in a room smells a bit and it gave us such a headache. We couldn't really sleep because of a rat in the roof. The thing was running around like crazy. We didn't get back our key deposit in cash as she wanted it in cash. We were forced to clean the place and wash our dishes before checking out if that was not done, we would lose the key deposit. So, we were braaiing ribs on the Friday and when I opened the bag some of the marinate spilled on the table cloth I washed it out to the best of my ability. I received a WhatsApp message on a Sunday night to replace the R500 table cloth. I cannot see that it was the price at all but surely, they must have a backup for things like these. Not taking just money and fining people for every little small thing. I did not receive my R200 deposit and now I need to buy a table cloth for R500 on top of that, surely, I will not pay that for a table cloth. I have never in my life came across anything like this. I did nothing to harm the place I spilled sauce by accident. Accidents do happen. I would have replaced it by all means if I burned the thing but a stain? You get fined for this and fined for that. This is absolutely no way to handle a place like this. I'm sure if your nose bleed for any reason you need to replace the whole bed maybe not sure?

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Adrie,
I have responded to this already directly and have no intention of engaging you again other than to say your comments are not in keeping with our general review profile.
It is a great pity you will not be able to experience Mamagalie again.
Kind Regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Walter D - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Walter D
With spouse/partner

Really quiet and relaxing, even though we only had a very short stay it was really enjoyable.

Really nice set up.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Walter,

Yes, sometimes even 3 nights is not enough to fully enjoy the River Lodge. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay however and look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Venita S - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
2/5
Location
2/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Venita S

Rustig en baie lekker.

Definitief perfek om bietjie weg te breek van die gejaag af! Al wat net sleg was is dat ek eers na my bespreking uitgevind het die pad is nie ideaal vir gewone karre nie. My kar het seergekry op die pad wat slegte hoogtes het en ek kon toe nie my bespreking kanselleer nie aangesien ek eers 'n dag voor die tyd 'n e-pos van hulle ontvang het wat sê die paaie is sleg.

Joean S - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Joean S
With spouse/partner

Peaceful, wonderful place to relax and enjoy the quiet of the country. Lovely welcoming owners. will go back.

See stars.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Joean, It was wonderful meeting you and having you stay in the River Lodge. We pride ourselves on the high privacy levels we offer which adds to the peace and quiet. Look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards, Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Lienkie V - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Lienkie V
With spouse/partner

Rustig en privaat. Ons sal weer kom.

Ons het lekker gerus, die plekkie is regtig wat dit voor geadverteer word. Ons sou net meer vryheid wou he om rond te stap. Ons het die staproete baie geniet, baie mooi area.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Lienkie, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay in Serenity Lodge and that your visit was as you expected. Wishing you well for 2020 and hope to see you back with us soon.
Kind Regards, Giles.

Mamagalie Lodge
Marie B - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Marie B
With spouse/partner

Rus en vrede op sy beste!

Wonderlike rustigheid in asemrowend natuurskoon.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Marie,

As always it was a pleasure to see you again, glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Gerrit V - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Gerrit V
With spouse/partner

Vreedsame, romantiese wegbreek in die pragtige natuur.

Vreedsame, romantiese wegbreek in die pragtige natuur. Melanie was baie behulpsaam en vriendelik.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Gerrit,

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in the Tranquility Lodge, we do pride ourselves in our friendly welcome and very private offering. Look forward to seeing you again in the New Year.

Kind Regards, Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Marie B - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Marie B
With spouse/partner

Salige sielsrus.

Baie dankie aan Giles en sy vrou! Hy is 'n goeie gasheer, maar respekteer mens se behoefte aan privaatheid. Dit is 'n pragtige, rustige plek met besonderse natuurskoon, waar mens net kan asem haal en die stad se stres kan afgooi. Heerlike wandelroete met volop wild. Dis ons tweede besoek en ons sal beslis weer gaan.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Marie, as always it is such a pleasure to welcome you back, this time in the Forest Lodge. The Forest Lodge setting is very private and tranquil and always a great place to relieve the stress of daily life. All the best for 2020 and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, Giles.

Mamagalie Lodge
Daniela C - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Daniela C
Family with young children

Beautiful setting, friendly owners.

The couple running the lodge are very friendly and welcoming. The place is beautiful, but unfortunately we couldn’t experience it fully as it rained nonstop for the whole duration of our stay, plus loadshedding every night. I understand this was nobody’s fault and they tried to make our stay as comfortable as possible (brought candles, informed us of loadshedding schedule and so on), but sure if we experienced it in other circumstances we would have enjoyed it more. The chalets are well equipped and with taste. At least we got to enjoy the Jacuzzi! I was a bit unsettled by all the security measures (and I live in Johannesburg so I’m used to electric fences and all), I am not sure if the crime situation is so dire in that area, or if it is only a precaution, but I feel it takes away from the relaxing experience. Finally, I found the gates system quite cumbersome. The property has two separate gates to pass each way when going in and out, and to have them opened you have to call the owners on their cell phones for each gate each time. Phone coverage is not great so we got stuck a couple of times in front of a closed gate unable to call them to get it open. Maybe a code or a remote would be a better option. All in all, I might have to go back in more favourable conditions to experience it properly.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Daniela,

Unfortunately we have no control over the weather or Eskom, although the weather does seem more predictable! We do not have a crime issue and we like to think that it is because we are very proactive with alarms and fences. Likewise the gates, although a little more cumbersome, prevent unwanted access to the property and thereby retains the very high privacy levels we offer. We do have a couple of spare remotes which are available to guests who leave the property regularly. We would certainly love to have you back to better your opinions.

Kind Regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Jaco S - Nov 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Jaco S
With spouse/partner

Value for money.

Wow! What a great experience! Excellent service and value for money. Our hike to the water pools was memorable and something we'll do again. We loved not seeing anyone around us and having complete privacy. Only negative for me was having to phone every time you want the main gate opened. A remote or keypad system would be a lot easier.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Dear Jaco,

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the peace and quiet in the Forest Lodge.

We do have remotes available for guests that need to go on and off the farm. We have tried keypads and codes for the gates but, to be honest, have found it far more secure to open the gates on request.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Nadine V - Nov 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
1/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Nadine V
With spouse/partner

Netjies, inkom en uitgaan by lodge, 'n groot probleem.

Baie lekker gebly. Mens moet egter nie rond wil ry, en by die hekke van die lodge in en uit moet gaan nie. Jy kry nie 'n remote van die hekke nie en moet elke keer bel om hekke oop te maak. Ons was vir troue, 10h die aand toe wil die eienaar weet hoe laat kom ons terug, want sy wil gaan slaap en is bang ons kry haar nie in die hande om hekke oop te maak nie. Ek het vooraf met haar gereël dat ons na troue toe gaan en sy het gesê ons bel haar net. Sleg as jy dan 10h die aand, wanneer ons nog nie eers geëet het by die troue die boodskap kry. Die koffie, suiker en melk wat hul bied wanneer jy inboek, was te min. Toe ek daarna vra se hul hul bied nie eintlik koffie en tee aan nie, net vir by ontvangs, maar dit was ons ontvangs en die koffie was op. Verder baie netjies en regtig lekker gebly, was netjies en skoon.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Dear Nadine,

Thank you for your words. It is fair to point out that we are self-catering and therefore do not provide coffee and tea but do provide a small amount on arrival. I did go out of my way to provide you with a tin of Ricoffy which you kindly paid for after departure.

If you had advised on check-in that you were going out to a wedding, you would have been able to collect a spare remote for both gates. As far as I know, my wife did not tell you to be back at 22:00 as we do not restrict the movement of our guests but perhaps that may have been misunderstood?

Thank you for staying with us and I apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

Kind Regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Chantal V - Nov 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Chantal V
With spouse/partner

Dit is baie rustig, stil en mooi.

Sal vir seker weer gaan. Die natuur en rustigheid is onbeskryflik. As jy wil rus en vrede hê is die vir seker die plek om te gaan. Baie dankie aan Giles en Melanie julle plekke is pragtig. Hou so aan.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Dear Chantal,

I am very happy that your stay in the River Lodge lived up to expectations. It it makes us very happy when our guests appreciate the lengths we go to to provide a safe, private and natural environment.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Stephen P - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Stephen P
With spouse/partner

Waarde vir geld en privaat.

Mooi uitgelê, privaat en 'n aangename staproete.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Stephen, thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us in the River Lodge. We look forward to seeing you back at Mamagalie soon.
Kind regards, Giles.

Mamagalie Lodge
Johan V - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Johan V
With spouse/partner

Wonderlike uitsig met die natuur, beste rus wat ek in 'n lang tyd beleef het.

Ons het baie mooi wild gesien, naamlik koedoes, njala, blou wilde beeste en nog meer. Daar was 'n baie rustige atmosfeer met baie mooi flora om ons. Die kamer was baie netjies met baie spasie. Ons het rêrig 'n baie lekker tyd gehad.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Johan,
Thanks for staying with us in River Lodge. I am glad that your visit lived up to expectations and that you enjoyed the peaceful surroundings. Look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Dirk V - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Dirk V
With spouse/partner

Our stay at Serenity Lodge was very peaceful, private and quiet and really allowed us to relax and enjoy nature.

From our arrival on the premises everything went very smoothly and we were warmly welcomed and quickly accommodated in the chalet we booked. The chalet was clean and very neat and well-equipped. During our stay we were not bothered at all and we could just relax and enjoy the peace and quiet. We also visited the water pools in the mountains, which are a short walk, but we are fit and enjoyed the wildlife and fresh air very much. The lodge is really very private and the scenery unspoilt. We will definitely visit again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ons verblyf in Serenity Lodge was baie vreedsaam, privaat en stil en het regtig toegelaat om heerlik te ontspan en die natuur te geniet.

Van ons aankoms op die perseel het alles baie glad verloop en is ons vriendelik ontvang en vinnig touwys gemaak in die chalet wat ons bespreek het. Die chalet was skoon en baie netjies en goed toegerus. Gedurende on verblyf is ons glad nie gepla nie en ons kon net ontspan en die stilte en rus geniet. Ons het ook die waterpoele in die berge besoek wat 'n stywe entjie se stap is, maar ons is fiks en het die natuurlewe en vars lug uiters baie geniet. Die lodge is regtig baie privaat en die natuurskoon ongerep. Ons sal definitief weer besoek.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Dirk,
Dit was wonderlik om julle te huisves en dankie vir julle vriendelike hersiening. Sien uit daarna om u binnekort weer met ons te sien.
Groete,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Monya H - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Monya H
With spouse/partner

Wonderlik!

Pragtige plekkie tussen pragtige bome en berge.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Monya,

Thank you, I am happy that you enjoyed your stay in Tranquility Lodge. We hope you will come and stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Jaco B - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jaco B
With spouse/partner

Baie rustig en mooi!

Was great om weg te kom en absolute rustigheid te bly. Die stap rotspoele toe is ook great!

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Jaco, Thank you for your review. The Forest Lodge is certainly very private and peaceful and I am happy you enjoyed the opportunity to relax. The visit to the rock pools even in winter is a wonderful experience and something unique for our guests. We hope to see you back here soon.
Kind regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Julienne V - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Julienne V
With spouse/partner

Ontspannend.

Netjies en skoon. Heerlike handdoeke en warm beddegoed.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Julienne, Thank you so much for staying with us and for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back at Mamagalie soon.
Kind Regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Zelda W - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Zelda W
Family with teenagers

Rus vir die siel.

Die tydjie in die bos saam met gesin was super goed. Het tyd gehad vir gesels en net rus. Beveel dit aan vir almal.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Zelda,
Thank you so much for staying, it was lovely to meet you and your wonderful family. Look forward to seeing you in the Mountain Lodge again.
Kind Regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Carla B - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Carla B
With spouse/partner

Baie rustige, natuurryke plek! Stunning!

Plek is pragtig, netjies en veilig! Sal vir seker weer teruggaan. Grondpad nie die beste vir plat voertuie nie, maar verder was daar geen probleme nie!

Alwyn J - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Alwyn J
With spouse/partner

Baie rustig in die bos!

Ons het in die Forest Lodge gebly. Dit is baie mooi, baie ruimte, fireplace in sitkamer en 'n lekker ingeboude braai. Badkamer het 'n bad en stort, en daar is 'n buitestort. daar is 'n dek buite die slaapkamer, en waar die ingeboude braai is. Jy is alleen op teen die berg, naaste huisie omtrent 1 km van jou af. Daar is elektriese heining om die huisie en hy het sy eie alarm. Die pad oppad na die lodge is definitief 4x4, jy sal nie graag met 'n lae kar soontoe wil ry nie. Enigste 2 lae punte - jy kan nie self by hek uitgaan nie, jy moet eienaars bel. Als werk op gas, en as gas klaar is moet jy eienaars in kennis stel daarvan.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Alwyn, Thank you so much for taking the tiime to review us. The positive points speak for themselves so I will reply on the negatives; The roads in winter are more difficult as the gravel becomes loose and dusty without rain but to be honest we have never had a car that can not get here, and that includes a guest who arrived in a Porsche. We are obviously not able to tell how much gas is left in a bottle so regrettably, the timing of it finishing is always a lottery but this is generally sorted out within an hour of being reported. The gates are opened via cellphone to increase security and privacy as passing visitors are not able to drive onto the farm without contacting us, it is stated in the check-in book that remotes are available to guests who may want to drive off and come back after dark. All in all, I am glad that the minor issues did not prevent you from thoroughly enjoying your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Annelle C - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Annelle C
With spouse/partner

Refreshing, had a good rest and will definitely visit Mamagalie Lodge again.

Mamagalie Lodge is the best place to go if you want to get away from the busy city life. We were delighted after the weekend.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Sielsverfrissend, lekker uitgerus en sal definitief weer Mamagalie Lodge besoek.

Mamagalie Lodge is die beste plek om na te gaan as jy wil wegbreek van die besige stadslewe af. Ons is heerlik uitgerus na die naweek.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Anelle, Thank you for choosing to stay with us, it was a great pleasure hosting you. I am happy that your brekaway lived up to expectations. We hope to see you back here soon.
Kind Regards, Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Willemine V - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Willemine V
With spouse/partner

Baie romanties.

Naby, veilig en romanties.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Willemine, thank you for staying with us in the River Lodge and I am very happy that it lived up to your expectations. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards, Giles.

Mamagalie Lodge
Johann S - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Johann S
With spouse/partner

Rustige romantiese wegbreeknaweek met rotspoel-avontuur.

Die rustige natuur lewe deur die dag plaas jou in die regte stemming vir 'n laatmiddag braai en 'n romantiese bad in die heerlike jet bad. Jakkals geluide deur die nag gee die gevoel van in die bosveld, en die stap roete na die "Rock pools" is 'n belewenis.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Johann,
I am happy that the River Lodge provided the peace and quiet that you were looking for, the spa bath is certainly stunning with its glass sides. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Best Regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Jaco V - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jaco V
With spouse/partner

Simply amazing.

It was one of our best breakaways we had in a long time. The privacy is the best.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Dear Jaco,

We are very big on privacy so I am glad you enjoyed it. Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Esti P - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Esti P
Family with young children

Soms het mens 'n plek nodig waar mens niks anders kan doen as net met mekaar kwaliteittyd spandeer! Dis kosbaar!

Mamagalie het 'n spesiale plek in ons harte gekry. Ons het gevoel of ons alleen op die plaas was. Dit was so rustig! Die pragtige groot bome en die jakkalse wat roep in die nag. Soet skoon drinkwater wat uit die berg kom. Die hoogtepunt was die lang stap na die rock pool waar ons geswem het in die skoon water. Nie baie wild gesien nie, net 'n groep ape en 'n trop blouwildebeeste. Kinders het dit baie geniet en vra ons reeds wanneer ons weer gaan.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Dear Esti,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, it was lovely meeting your family. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Christo V - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Christo V
Individual traveler

Stil, privaat, rustig.

Het in Forest Lodge gebly. Privaat, in ruie bos, baie stil en rustig. Alles skoon, goed toegerus maar die gebou kort hier en daar bietjie aandag. Moet egter nie dat dit jou afsit nie. Die oop stort op die dek is fantasties. Die eenheid en Bush lodge is weg van ander eenhede en in die ongerepte natuur. Kies een van hierdie twee opsies met 'n geruste hart. Voëlkykers sal hierdie keuse geniet. Wonderlike, sagte fonteinwater.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Christo, What a pleasure to have you stay with us again, we look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards, Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
John V - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
John V
With spouse/partner

Fantastic

Baie mooi plek, sal weer soentoe gaan.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Good day John,

I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us in the Bush Lodge this past weekend. It was lovely hosting you and we look forward to seeing you on our next visit.

Kind Regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Neil Riaan S - Feb 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Neil Riaan S
With spouse/partner

It was amazing!

It was really beautiful and peaceful. Very neat and clean, and we enjoyed it a lot!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Dit was amazing!

Dit was regtig baie mooi en rustig. Baie netjies en skoon en ons het dit baie geniet!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Neil,

Thanks for your review and I am happy that your visit to Serenity Lodge lived up to expectations. We would love to see you again and look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Brenda D - Feb 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Brenda D
With spouse/partner

A piece of heaven on earth.

It was absolutely wonderful and we couldn't have asked for more. Nature, the privacy, neatness and absolute peace gave us the chance to recharge. Friendly staff and and a beautiful place were the cherry on the cake. We will definitely be back.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Stukkie hemel op aarde.

Dit was absoluut hemels, ons kon vir niks beter gevra het nie. Die natuurskoon, privaatheid, netheid en absolute rustigheid het ons die geleentheid gegee om weer te herlaai. Vriendelike personeel en 'n pragtige plekkie was die kersie op die koek. Ons gaan definitief terugkeer.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Brenda,
I am so happy you loved your stay in the River Lodge, over the years we have tried to promote an affordable getaway that offers maximum privacy in a tranquil setting. With your feedback it certainly helps to know we are acheiving our wishes. Look forward to seeing you back at Mamagalie soon.
Kind Regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Andries S - Feb 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Andries S
With spouse/partner

Very quiet and peaceful.

Hiking trail definitely worth it.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie stil en rustig.

Staproete vir seker die moeite werd.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Andries, We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and the hiking trails. Being an exclusive lodge we are able to create very high levels of privacy even on the hiking trails. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards, Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Andre S - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Andre S
With spouse/partner

It was lovely, the silence brings one back to earth.

The houses are situated between a beautiful tree world, the silence penetrates into your soul within a day and you can just relax, a short walk away is a beautiful stone waterhole where you can cool down and forget about the rest of society. Will go there again for a few days off.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Dit was heerlik, die stilte bring 'n mens terug aarde toe.

Die huise is geleë tussen 'n pragtige boomwêreld, die stilte dring binne 'n dag in jou siel in en jy kan net ontspan, 'n entjie se stap weg is 'n pragtige klipwatergat waarin jy kan afkoel en jy vergeet van die res van die samelewing. Sal gerus weer daar heen gaan vir 'n paar dae se wegbreek.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Andre,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay in the Forest Lodge, it certainly provides a lot of privacy and relaxation. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Martin K - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Martin K
With spouse/partner

Fantastic views and blissfully quiet.

We loved every minute of staying at Mamagalie Lodge. Very peaceful. Wonderful bird life. They will definitely see us again.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Dear Martin,

It was great meeting you. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay in the Bush Lodge. We are looking forward to hosting you again.

All the best,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Conrad B - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Conrad B
With friends

Wonderlike plek met lieflike rustigheid.

Was ongelooflik aangenaam met rustigheid en stilte, alles om jou weer te verfris in vandag se dolle gejaag!

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Conrad, It was a pleasure hosting you in Serenity Lodge and I am glad you enjoyed the peace and quiet during your stay, it certainly helps to recharge the batteries. Look forward to seeing you again. Best Regards, Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Ansuegnet V - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ansuegnet V
With spouse/partner

Beeldskoon, rustig en privaat.

Ons tydjie by Mamagalie was meer as wat ons verwag het. Die Bush Lodge is baie privaat, geriewe is netjies en die eienaars is vriendelik, behulpsaam en besorgd. Die rustige omgewing en pragtige uitsig beloof vir 'n ontspanne en romantiese wegbreek. Ons sal Mamagalie graag weer besoek!

Michelle S - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Michelle S
With spouse/partner

Will stay there every time! Nice and private in the bush!

See stars.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Sal elke keer daar gaan slaap! Lekker privaat en in die bos!

Sien sterre.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Michelle, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for your kind words. Best Regards, Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Minette O - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Minette O
With spouse/partner

Perfek in alle opsigte wat mens na soek om totaal en al af te sluit en rustig te wees.

Ons het vir ons tweede anniversary na Mamagalie toe gegaan. Dit was ongelooflik lekker gewees en definitief 'n plek waar mens kan rustig raak en kan ontsnap van die stad se rumoer. Ons het in Serenity Lodge gebly en was totaal en al privaat gewees met 'n mooi uitsig op die weivelde en wild. Sal enige tyd terug gaan Mamagalie toe en dit sterk aanbeveel vir enige iemand wat weg wil kom van tegnologie en geraas. Die stap na die Rock Pools is uit en uit die moeite werd. Dit is ongelooflik mooi en lekker om by af te koel. Melanie en Giles is ongelooflik baie gasvry en so vriendelik en laat mens dadelik tuis voel. Het die dierelewe so baie geniet ook.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Minette,
Thank you so much for your kind words, it makes our efforts so worthwhile when our guests appreciate the surroundings and facilities. We are very fortunate to live in such a beautiful spot and glad to share it with likeminded people such as yourselves. We hope to see you back soon.
Best wishes,
Giles and Melanie

Mamagalie Lodge
Gerrie V - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
1/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
2/5
Gerrie V
With spouse/partner

Arriving at lodge no reception, looks like you took a "wrong turn".

The "lodge" is full of farming equipment and looks like a scary movie scene.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Gerrie,
The lodge is definitely not full of farm equipment, but as it is situated on a working farm, there is farm equipment. To be honest, I have never had farm equipment described as scary so I am not sure how to respond. You did ask for an early check in so it is possible that we were not here to see you into the lodge on arrival but the route to your lodge was clearly explained when you arrived at the gate and is well signposted. We do not have a reception area as we normally check guests in at the lodge they have chosen. I am very sorry if you felt you were on a scary movie set as we really want our guests to relax during their stay.
Kind Regards, Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Ilze S - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ilze S
With spouse/partner

Incredibly beautiful.

It was truly a wonderful experience. Privacy in abundance.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ongelooflik mooi.

Dit was waarlik 'n wonderlike belewenis. Privaatheid in oorvloed.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Ilze,
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope that you will come and visit us again soon.
Best Regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Ryan D - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ryan D
With spouse/partner

A beautiful cabin in the woods with a stunning romantic atmosphere.

The lodge was beautiful. Very tidy and spacious. The lodge staff were very helpful and always on call when needed. A truly incredible experience just 100k's from Joburg. A definite diamond in the rough! We will be returning soon!

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Ryan, Thanks for your kind words about your stay in the Forest Lodge, it was a pleasure having you stay with us. We are fortunate to be so close to Joburg and Pretoria our new marketing strategy must be "less than 10 litres" from these cities. We hope to see you back soon. Kind Regards, Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Andries M - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Andries M
Family with young children

Fantasties

Dit is 'n great plek en het dit baie geniet.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Goeiedag Andries,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I am so glad you enjoyed yourself while you were here. We hope to see you back with us soon.

Best Regards
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Riandra M - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Riandra M
With spouse/partner

Natuurskoon die moeite werd!

Ons was verbaas oor die wild wat ons teëgekom het langs die pad, dit was vir ons 'n ekstra bonus. Sal Mamagalie Lodge aanbeveel vir dié wat net rus en vrede soek of selfs die "honeymooners" daar buite.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Goeiedag Riandra,

It was a pleasure hosting you and thank you for choosing to stay with us, our team looks forward to welcoming you back at Mamagalie again.

Kind Regards
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Bernadette B - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Bernadette B
With spouse/partner

Amazing.

Dit was regtig lekker! Wat ek wel kan aanbeveel is om 'n 'what to do' in die kamers te sit vir mense wat ekstra iets wil doen in die radius van Mooinooi.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Dear Bernadette,

Thank you for your comments and advice on the 'what to do'. We do list the activities when we do the initial quote but we are trying to move away from printed advertising as we believe it is not good for the environment. I will, however, try and list some activities and contact details of local entertainment in the information brochure in the lodge, thank you for the tip. Glad you enjoyed your stay, though. We hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Cobus L - Jun 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Cobus L
Family with young children

Perfect break away from the busy city life!

Very nice and quiet place hidden between the hills and forests. Lovely braai between the bushes with the sounds of animals in the background and a stream next to the house. The silence and fresh air were perfect!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Perfekte wegbreek van die besig stadslewe!

Baie lekker en stil plekkie weggesteek tussen die heuwels en bosse. Lekker gebraai tussen die bosse met die klanke van diere in die agtergrond en 'n stroompie langs die huisie. Die stilte en vars lug was perfek!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Cobus, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in the River Lodge. It was a pleasure having you stay, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards, Giles.

Mamagalie Lodge
Ignatius R - Jun 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Ignatius R
With spouse/partner

Very private and amazing nature.

The hostess is amazing. The River Lodge room is beautiful and private. If you are looking for peace and privacy, this is the place for you. We are already planning our next visit.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie privaat met asemrowende natuurskoon.

Melanie is ongelooflik gasvry. Die River Lodge is pragtig en baie privaat. As jy op soek is na stilte en privaatheid dan is hierdie die plek vir jou. Ons beplan reeds ons volgende besoek.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Ignatius, Thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to seeing you back here again.
Kind Regards, Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Coen O - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Coen O
With spouse/partner

Very nice stay in a tranquil place.

The hostess gave us an excellent welcome en made us feel at home. The nature is the bush is astounding. The area is peaceful and safe. The lodge is beautiful and well equipped. Had lovely two night stay.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie lekker gekuier in 'n rustige omgewing.

Die gasvrou het ons uitstekend ontvang en baie tuis laat voel. Die natuurskoon in die bos is asemrowend. Die omgewing is rustig en veilig. Die lodge is mooi en goed toegerus. Heerlike twee nagte gekuier.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Coen, thank you for your kind words. We are always happy when our guests reward us with comments of appreciation. It was lovely hosting you, and we hope to see you back at the River Lodge soon.
Kind regards, Giles.

Mamagalie Lodge
Mari D - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mari D
With spouse/partner

Second time staying here and will definitely be back.

We stayed in the River Lodge previously and Serenity Lodge on this trip. Each unit is completely unique and so different from one another. We will definitely return as this is excellent value for money, a stunningly beautiful location, owners are very welcoming and friendly and gave us complete privacy. We loved every minute.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Mari,
It was lovely to see you guys again, and thank you for your kind words. It was such a pleasure to host you again. We do pride ourselves on the high privacy levels in all units and it boosts our teams ego, with such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Giles.

Mamagalie Lodge
Marelize S - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marelize S
Family with young children

Pragtige en rustige langnaweek weg.

Die Lodge is heerlik rustig met 'n pragtige uitsig van die kloof oor die vallei en dam. Ons het die stap na die rock pools vreeslik geniet. 'n Lekker naweek weg.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Marelize, Glad that you enjoyed your stay in the Bush Lodge, since your visit we have added another bedroom off the front deck which has even better views of the dam and valley. I hope you will come back and try it again.
Best Regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Antoinette O - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Antoinette O
With spouse/partner

Dit was ongelooflik rustig en ons het baie lekker gebly.

Die huisie was baie goed uitgerus en die badkamer was ongelooflik romanties. Ons het elke aand voor die kaggel gesit met 'n lekker glasie rooiwyn. Ons was baie ontspanne na die lekker verblyf in die Forest Lodge.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Antoinette, thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. It was lovely meeting you, and we are happy that you enjoyed your well deserved rest. We look forward to seeing you back here again. Best regards, Giles.

Mamagalie Lodge
Mathilda B - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Mathilda B
With spouse/partner

Excellent.

We enjoy it. We needed to rest and relax.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Mathilda, Very happy that we were able to give you a restful and relaxing weekend. Hope to see you back soon.
Kind Regards, Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Madelein A - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Madelein A
With spouse/partner

A quiet little slice of heaven.

Great for a quick escape from the city. We thoroughly enjoyed the privacy, the outside shower and the double Jacuzzi bath. Lovely romantic getaway.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Madelein, we are very fortunate to have a piece of paradise within 1 and a half hours drive from the city. I am so glad you enjoyed the facilities in the River Lodge, and we hope to see you back with us soon. Best regards, Giles and Melanie.

Mamagalie Lodge
Kelvin G - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Kelvin G
With spouse/partner

Incredible place.

Incredible place to go for a weekend getaway. The peace and quiet is amazing. Allows you to unwind and spend some quality time with your partner. The views from the hiking trails are breath taking.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Kelvin, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and happy that our team was able to give you a well deserved braek. See you soon. Kind Regards, Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Edith E - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
2/5
Edith E
With spouse/partner

Rustig en net wat ons nodig gehad het.

Dit is 'n mooi uitsig, rustige atmosfeer en die natuur en diere het dit baie geniet.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Edith. It was lovely having you stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again.
Best Regards, Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Thinus D - Feb 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Thinus D
With spouse/partner

Amazing tyd.

Ons het in Tranquility gebly en glo my, die naam doen die plek "justice", jy word wakker met die apies wat baljaar en die stroompie wat onder jou huis kabbel, tyd staan stil en jy hoor en sien nie ander mense nie! Jy het sommer weer krag om die stad aan te vat na die tyd! Melanie en Giles is so vriendelik en ons het baie lekker met hulle gesels, als wat jy benodig is daar en ons sal beslis weer daar 'n draai gaan maak. Die staproete na die rotspoele is op ons lys vir 'n volgende keer. Die alarm in elke huis gee daai ekstra gemoedsrus vir 'n goeie nagrus.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Good day Thinus,

Thank you so much for your kind words, we look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.

Kind Regards
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Nicolette C - Feb 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
2/5
Nicolette C
With spouse/partner

Very friendly service!

It is truly a wonderful place. We stayed in the River Lodge and had a very good rest. I was just disappointed that we had to clean the place ourselves on Sunday, seeing as we paid quite a lot for the weekend.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie vriendelike diens!

Dit is werklik 'n lieflike plek. Ons het in die River Lodge gebly en het werklik lekker gerus. Net teleurstellend dat ons self die plek Sondag moes skoonmaak aangesien ons redelik baie betaal het vir 'n naweek.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Nicolette,
Thank you for your comments, and I am glad you relaxed and enjoyed yourselves. The R 100.00 cleaning fee is an optional extra, and if we have to include it in the accommodation charge it adds to the cost of a weekend. We really try and keep costs as low as possible, and I think if you compare us to other lodges with similar finishes and such high levels of privacy, you will find that we really are cheaper than most. We do hope to see you again.
Kind regards, Giles.

Mamagalie Lodge
Cornelius P - Feb 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Cornelius P
With spouse/partner

Nice and quiet. Some improvements needed.

Not too bad. Great security, nice and quiet to rest. They can make some improvements on route markers (people can get lost easily), being available when guests arrive in order to explain things to them face-to-face (especially when guests arrive before 20:00 as per their requirements), giving the option to drive most of the way to the rock pools instead of being forced to walk the full 3 km route. People might want to walk some days and other just take a drive. Improving the small pool at the house which is ice cold, dirty and very small might also be an improvement.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Cornelius,

Thank you for your comments.

We do try and ask our guests for an estimated arrival time, in your case you gave us between 17 and 20h00 such a big time gap makes it very difficult to plan which is why you may not have been shown up to the lodge personally, I don't recall your arrival time so my apologies if you were not taken up to the unit. Your suggestion on the route markers is noted and we will try and add some markers in, there are however maps detailing the hikes in all the information booklets placed in all the units. Regrettably, we do not allow driving past a point on the farm, this as a result of guests previously chasing the game in their 4x4 vehicles, unfortunately, a few people ruin it for the rest of our responsible guests. The plunge pool does stay cold being under a big tree but we are looking at potential options for heating them. Regrettably, this is a very expensive exercise and could result in the costs for accommodation going up which we are always reluctant to do. The pool is filled with fresh water at every visit but being under a tree there is often leaf debris that falls in even though it is covered with a net. I will see if we can look at other options to keep it clean. I hope the few issues you encountered did not spoil your weekend away and look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards, Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Cal S - Feb 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Cal S
With spouse/partner

Private and peaceful accommodation in the bush.

We really enjoyed our stay. No noise! No people in sight! Exactly what we needed and wanted. Mamagalie Lodge was rustic, secure and spacious for the two of us. Will definitely return.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Cal, It was lovely having you stay with us and that we were able to provide you with the peace and quiet you needed. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Best Regards, Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Leon S - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Leon S
Family with young children

Wonderlike fasiliteite in 'n pragtige omgewing.

Aangename gasheer, goed toegeruste eenheid en baie mooi natuur.

Mari D - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mari D
With spouse/partner

We will definitely stay there again.

We had all the amenities we could need and felt completely safe. Lovely views and wildlife all around. This was one of the best places we have ever stayed at in terms of value for money and privacy. We were looking for complete privacy and tranquillity and that is exactly what we found, we will definitely visit again.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Dear Mari,

Thank you for your kind words, it certainly makes our business more rewarding with such positive feedback. The River Lodge is definitely a very special place. Hope to see you soon but all the best for the year ahead.

Best Regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Mike S - Nov 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Mike S
With spouse/partner

Private rustige natuurwegbreek.

Mamagalie Lodge se rustigheid en privaatheid in die bos is vir enige natuurliefhebber 'n moet. Die eenhede is skoon en netjies en voldoen volkome aan 'n mens se benodighede. Die eienaars is vriendelik en professioneel in alle opsigte. Indien jy van die stad is en dringend nodig het om jou batterye te herlaai dan is Mamagalie die plek vir jou.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Mike, once again thank you very much for your very kind comments.
Best Regards, Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Andre E - Nov 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Andre E
Individual traveler

So wonderful to see experience the bush from your patio.

We stayed in River Lodge which was very well equipped, good quality linen, and the bathrooms are well finished. In my opinion even though it is self-catering the braai and the bin should be cleaned every day by the lodge. But we were impressed by the hiking trails and so lots of small game.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Is waarlik aangenaam om die samesmelting van die bos te ervaar vanaf jou voorstoep.

Was in die River Lodge wat baie goed toegerus is, goeie gehalte bed en linne, en afwerking in die badkamers. Is egter van mening alhoewel selfsorg, behoort die braai area en vullisdrom op daaglikse basis skoon gemaak te word deur die Lodge. Was egter beïndruk met die staproetes en redelik klein wild gesien.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Ralene C - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ralene C
With spouse/partner

Baie privaat en rustig.

Die stilte en privaatheid is ongekend! Hier rus jou hele mens-wees! Forest Lodge is stylvol met alles wat nodig is. Vriendelike diens.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Dear Ralene,

Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad you were able to rest and relax during your stay with us. We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Anso S - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Anso S
With spouse/partner

Heerlik rustig!

Baie mooi plek en baie rustig en privaat!

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Anso, I am happy that you enjoyed your stay in the Tranquility Lodge. We hope you will return soon.
Kind Regards, Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Ferdinand B - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Ferdinand B

Great getaway, just 60 min from Johannesburg.

My wife and adult son stayed in the Bush Lodge of Mamagalie. This is a more rustic setup - a tent on a platform under a solid roof structure but inside. We had all the best of both worlds! Lovely beds and a fireplace - yes in the tent! And we used it because of the cold weather we had the second day. The kitchen had everything and more to prepare your food. Clean and nice bathroom! All stocked with antic furniture from the old farmhouse! We did the hike to the pools and saw lots of wild animals! Will visit again if possible!

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Ferdinand, It was lovely meeting your family and I am glad we were able to make your "together" time, one to remember. Hope to see you back in the near future.
Best Regards, Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Johan En Sandra V - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Johan En Sandra V
With spouse/partner

Asemrowend mooi, rustig en stil.

Fantasties lekker gewees, sal beslis weer gaan.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Goeiedag Johan,

So glad you enjoyed your stay at the Forest Lodge, we look forward to you staying with us again.

Best Regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Kobus V - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Kobus V
With spouse/partner

Wonderful stay at Serenity.

Nice getaway in a quiet area.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Heerlik gebly by Serenity.

Lekker wegbreek in 'n stil omgewing.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Dear Kobus,

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Serenity Lodge and hope to welcome you back to stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Roxanne B - Sep 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Roxanne B
Family with young children

Breathtaking nature!

It was such a privilege to spend family time in the Lord's lovely nature. A peaceful getaway from the hectic city.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Asemrowende natuurskoon!

Dit was 'n voorreg om in die Heer se besondere natuurskoon tyd saam as 'n gesin te kom spandeer. 'n Rustige wegbreek van die gewoel van die stad.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Roxanne,
It was great meeting you and Adrian and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Forest Lodge. We hope to see you back with us soon.
Best Regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Miqualle D - Aug 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Miqualle D
With spouse/partner

Ultimate in relaxation.

If you are looking for the perfect couples retreat then this is the place to go! Quiet, secluded and tranquil, the staff go beyond what is expected and exceed your expectations! The attention to the little things makes it much more pleasant! The owner goes out of his way to make sure his guests are comfortable! We will definitely be back again! An experience unlike any other you will ever experience!

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Miqualle, Thank you for your kind words, I will pass the message on to the rest of our team. Glad you enjoyed the Bush Lodge, we look forward to seeing you again. Best Regards, Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Xandria S - Aug 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Xandria S
With spouse/partner

Our stay was wonderful, we were very happy with the friendly service and the beautiful unit we stayed in.

Our stay at Mamagalie Lodge was amazing. We had a very wonderful time. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a place where you can truly relax and unwind over a weekend.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Xandria, so glad you enjoyed your stay in Serenity Lodge, we look forward to seeing you back with us soon. Warm regards, Giles at Mamagalie

Mamagalie Lodge
Wessel B - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Wessel B
With spouse/partner

Romantic.

Wonderful romantic getaway. Highly recommended.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Romanties!

Wonderlike romantiese wegbreek vir 2 - 4 dae. Sal almal aanbeveel!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Wessel,

Thank you, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Tranquility Lodge. It was a pleasure hosting you and we hope to see you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Erika R - Jun 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Erika R
With spouse/partner

Peaceful place to enjoy peace, quiet and privacy.

Mamagalie's Serenity Lodge is the nicest place to stay at. The house is perfect for two guests and the double bath and splash pool outside are great for relaxing. Stunning birdlife and the walking trail is interesting. Unfortunately we didn't see any game, except for the blesbuck, but it was still very nice. The kitchen is well equipped for a long weekend and everything is nice and clean. We will definitely go back in the summer.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Rustige plekkie om stil en privaat tot ruste te kom.

Mamagalie se Serenity lodge is die oulikste plekkie om in te kuier. Die huisie is perfek vir twee mense, en die dubbelbad en buite plonspoel maak vir lekker ontspan. Pragtige voëllewe en die staproete is interessant. Ons het ongelukkig nie wild gesien behalwe die blesbokke nie maar dit was steeds baie aangenaam. Die kombuis is goed genoeg toegerus vir 'n langnaweek en alles is baie mooi skoon. Ons sal definitief in die somer teruggaan.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Erika,
Thank you for your review. We loved having you on the farm. See you soon.
Best wishes,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Sonette S - Jun 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Sonette S
Family with young children

Thanks for a peaceful weekend getaway!

Very relaxing, thanks! If the wood had been for free, I would've been better value for money. It was probably a bit too expensive for the amount of people we were.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Dankie vir 'n rustige naweek weg!

Heerlik rustig, dankie! Sou die hout gratis gewees het, sou dit definitief meer waarde vir geld gewees het. Dit was dalk effens duur vir die hoeveelheid mense.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Sonette. I think the Forest Lodge is exceptionally good value for money when you think of high privacy levels, fantastic finishes and that it is set on a private game farm. We do not cut any wood off the farm which means we have to buy all the wood we offer our guests, so sadly free wood is not an option. I am very glad you had a relaxing time though.
Kind Regards, Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Willem D - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Willem D
With spouse/partner

Relaxing, perfect, simple, romantic and private.

Rest for my soul.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Rustig, perfek, eenvoudig, romanties en privaat.

My siel het rus gevind.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Malcolm S - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Malcolm S
With spouse/partner

Our stay was exceptional.

We found the lodge to be just to our needs for the time which we spent there. Really a relaxing atmosphere.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Malcolm, I am so glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards, Giles.

Mamagalie Lodge
Gerrit D - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Gerrit D
With spouse/partner

A piece of heaven.

The management was very strict about conservation and the safety of the animals and visitors at Mamagalie. Just beautiful scenery all around. Giles and Melani are enthusiatic 'people of nature' who love to share the farm with those who are interested, but who consider the animals and nature their first priority. The accommodation is fantastic and well equipped. Houses are far from each other and well equipped. We are so lucky to have celebrated our anniversary there.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

'n Stukkie hemel.

Die bestuur is baie streng op natuurbewaring en die veiligheid van die diere en besoekers op Mamagalie. Net mooi mooi natuur. Giles en Melani is entoesiastiese "natuurmense" wat graag die plaas met belangstellendes deel, maar vir wie die diere en natuurskoon eerste prioriteit is. Verblyf - fantasties en baie goed toegerus. Huisies ver van mekaar, baie privaat met elkeen sy eie stukkie "hemel". Ons is baie dankbaar om ons huweliksherdenking daar te kon deel en te geniet.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Dear Gerrit and Bessie, it was lovely meeting you and thank you for your kind comments. We are so glad that we could offer you a well deserved break from the city, in the River Lodge. We hope you will come and visit us again shortly. Best Regards, Giles and Melanie.

Mamagalie Lodge
Rayno D - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rayno D
With spouse/partner

Fantastic, private and exceptional experience.

Fantastic accommodation, we would love to go back to try the other units.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Fantasties, privaat en 'n besonderse ervaring.

Fantastiese akkommodasie, ons sal graag teruggaan vir van die ander eenhede.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Good day Hannet,

Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Thank you for staying with us.

Kind Regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Wilmien F - Mar 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Wilmien F
With spouse/partner

Mamagalie Logde offered everything we needed.

We can recommend Mamagalie Logde to anyone looking for peace and silence.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Mamagalie Logde het alles gebied wat ons wou hê.

Ons kan Mamagalie Lodge aanbeveel vir enige wat graag rus en stilte soek.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Wilmien,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us, I am glad you enjoyed the peace and quiet. We look forward to welcoming you again on a future stay.
Kind Regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Priscilla W - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Priscilla W
With spouse/partner

Very peaceful.

The unit was very clean which we appreciated. Unfortunately there is no hanging space for your clothes. A small table for the tiny balcony would be an asset as we had to put our cups on the floor. We enjoyed the stay and Melanie and Giles were very helpful and friendly. Excellent place to get away from everything and rest. Highly recommended.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Priscilla,
Thank you for your comments, the hanging space is indeed a problem due to the limited space available but perhaps we could look at something. The lodge was built around the trees so the space was very limited, can perhaps look at a fold out table for the deck. I am glad you enjoyed the stay though.
Kind Regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Justine C - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Justine C
With spouse/partner

Piece and quiet!

It was a great little getaway with only the sounds of nature to surround you, beautiful little lodge, but the hike to the rock pools was a little misleading!

Daleen S - Nov 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Daleen S
With friends

Wonderful, relaxing.

Just the place to recharge your batteries. Wonderful, private and very safe. Beautiful view from Mountain Lodge. Thank you Giles for a pleasant stay. Definitely recommend it. Will stay there again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Wonderlik, ontspannend.

Net die plek om jou batterye te herlaai. Wonderlik, privaat en baie veilig. Baie mooi uitsig vanaf Mountain Lodge. Dankie Giles vir 'n aangename ontvangs. Beveel dit definitief aan. Sal teruggaan.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Heidi C - Oct 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Heidi C
With spouse/partner

Unbelievably relaxing.

See the ratings.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ongelooflik rustig.

Sien gerus die sterre.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Chante H - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
5/5
Chante H
With spouse/partner

Ideaal om weg te breek van die stad.

Was 'n heerlike, rustige en pragtige huisie. Ons het in Serenity Lodge gebly en dit was mooi ingerig en pragtig skoon en modern. Sal enige tyd weer daarheen gaan om 'n breek van die stad te kry. Baie dankie vir goeie, vriendelike diens Giles!

Thea R - Jun 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Thea R
With spouse/partner

Absolutely enriching. And romantic if you're into that kind of thing.

Aboslutely divine! Back to nature but in luxury! The staff was very helpful and friendly. I recommend this toe anyone who needs some R&R.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Absoluut verrykend. En romanties, indien dit jou soort leefstyl is.

Absoluut heerlik gewees. Terug na die natuur op 'n luukse wyse! Die personeel was absoluut behulpsaam en vriendelik. Aan te beveel vir enigeen wat bietjie batterye wil "recharge".

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Chris J - Jun 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
2/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Chris J
With spouse/partner

Very pretty and relaxed establishment.

We really enjoyed it. It is very pretty.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie mooi en rustige plek.

Ons het dit baie geniet. Baie mooi.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Christo B - May 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Christo B
With spouse/partner

The silence was awe-inspiring combined with the fireplace and braai. We couldn't have ask for anything better.

We needed a break in the middle of the week for emotional relaxation. That is exactly what we experienced here. The lovely fire in the evening and the moon that is visible through the roof provided all the peace we needed. Technology was last on our list, and there was signal, but you don't need that when you're surrounded by the silence of the bush. Thanks for a lovely, relaxing getaway. We will do it again when we need some physical rest.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Die stilte was asemrowend, met die kaggelvuur en braaivleis, ons kon vir niks beter gevra het nie.

Ons het 'n wegbreek in die midweek nodig gehad vir emosionele stilte en rus. Dis presies wat ons hier gevind het. Die heerlike kaggelvuur in die aand en die maan wat jy deur die dak kan sien het ons die rus gegee wat ons nodig gehad het. Tegnologie was laaste op die lys, daar is wel selfoon-sein, maar dis nie nodig in die stilte van die bos nie. Dankie vir 'n heerlike ontspannende wegbreek, ons sal dit weer doen as ons liggaamlike rus nodig het.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Christo, thank you, the Forest Lodge is a very special place. We hope to see you back soon.
Kind Regards, Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Chrismari D - May 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Chrismari D
With spouse/partner

Rustig en baie stil. Pragtige kamer, en jammer om in Engels te sê, maar amazing view!

Baie mooi plek! Hulle sien ons gou weer. Die area is stil en daar is niemand naby nie. Al wat ons kon hoor was die voëltjies in die oggend en middae en die apies wat verby kom in die aande en hulle bly in die bome by die huis. Alles is daar wat mens nodig het. Ons het geswem en die bad en die stort gebruik. Sjoe! Alles is puik. Net een voorstel: dalk 'n klein tafeltjie in die sitkamer gedeelte of selfs een om op te slaan as mens buite is en gemaklik wil sit by iets.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Hi Chrismari, Thank you for your kind comments. We will certainly look at a small table for the lounge area.We look forward to seeing you back soon.
Kind Regards, Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Jan C - Mar 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Jan C
With spouse/partner

Heerlik, rustig en baie mooi.

Vriendelik ontvang. Sal graag wou weet as mens bespreek dat daar slegs sonkrag en 'n gasgeiser is. Dis nie op die webblad nie. Moes die eerste aand sonder warm water stort. Geen ligte gehad nie. Is wel volgende dag uitgesorteer. Die ligging van die lodge is baie mooi.

Woutrina (wouter) S - Feb 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Woutrina (wouter) S
Family with young children

We were very impressed with the Lodge and will definately go there again for a longer stay.

The Lodge was clean, well equiped and beautifully furnished. The view from the Lodge is stunning. Very safe and peaceful and we loved hearing the jackals calling each other at night.

Marie J - Feb 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Marie J
With spouse/partner

Rustig.

Baie rustig en stil. Mooi omgewing.

Sarah B - Jan 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sarah B
With spouse/partner

A relaxing stay in stunning lodge.

My husband and I wanted a relaxing weekend to unwind before getting back to the Joburg grind. That's exactly what we experienced at Mamagalie Lodge. Melanie and Giles were friendly and accommodating from the beginning and Tranquility Lodge was simply wonderful. We loved being able to sit in our "tree house" and enjoy a glass of wine while watching the birds and monkeys. We will definitely be booking again.

Zelda W - Dec 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Zelda W

Dit was 'n ongelooflike ervaring.

Dit was ongelooflik rustig en net wat ek gesoek het.

Ilne L - Nov 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Ilne L
With spouse/partner

Enjoyed the break from the city.

Very nice place "in the middle of no where"! Comfortable and cozy. Do not try to drive there with a sedan as the roads are not good at all.

Mamagalie Lodge's response

Dear Ilne,

Thank you for your review. We have never had complaints from guests that they could not get here in a sedan, but it is true that the roads are not great. With the lack of rain we are not able to do much work on the roads as the ground is too hard for the grader. We are hoping for some rain soon thereafter we will be able to do a bit of road maintenance. Thank you for staying with us this past weekend.

Kind regards,
Giles

Mamagalie Lodge
Nicky L - Oct 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Nicky L
With spouse/partner

Heerlik rustig en ontspannend.

Ons het dit baie geniet, en sal dit vir enige iemand aanbeveel.

Madelein V - Jul 2015
Overall score