The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Maple Grove in Hogsback | TravelGround
+43

Maple Grove in Hogsback

56 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

4.7 out of 5from 56 reviews for Maple Grove in Hogsback
Cleanliness
4.6/5
Service
4.7/5
Location
4.5/5
Safety
4.7/5
Value for money
4.7/5
Carla V - Nov 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Carla V
With spouse/partner

Pragtige ligging, heerlike atmosfeer & rustigheid vir die siel.

Ek en my man sal definitief weer by Maple Grove oorbly. Ons het heerlik die naweek daar spandeer en dit is lekker sentraal in die pragtige Hogsback, naby al die besienswaardighede.

Colette S - Oct 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Colette S
With spouse/partner

Natuurskoon

Maple Gove le weggesteek in ongelooflike mooi natuurskoon. Die "Cabin" is n gerieflike selfsorg eenheid met DSTV (insluitende afrikaanse kanale) wat n bonus is.

Maple Grove in Hogsback's response

Thank you so much, we look forward to having you back at Maple Grove.

Maple Grove in Hogsback
Ryan W - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ryan W
With spouse/partner

Absolutely wonderful stay.

From the time we arrived, till the time we checked out, Nic was an amazing host. Thank you! Will definitely be back!

Pieter V - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Pieter V
With spouse/partner

Friendly, clean, neat, peaceful, safe accommodation!

Exceptionally friendly welcome and help. Value for money accommodation in a clean, fresh cottage. Everything you need is there. Very peaceful accommodation. Definitely a place we'll stay at again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Vriendelike, skoon, netjiese, rustige, veilige verblyf!

Besondere vriendelike ontvangs en hulp. Waarde-vir-geld-verblyf in 'n skoon, vars kothuis. Alles wat nodig is,is daar. Baie rustige verblyf. Beslis' n plek waar ons weer sal tuisgaan.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Anneen M - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Anneen M
With spouse/partner

Cosy, quite and relaxing.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to visiting again. The Walkers are friendly and helpful. The unit was well equipped. I would definitely recommend that you stay at Maple Grove if you are visiting Hogsback.

Maple Grove in Hogsback's response

Thank you so much Anneen, it is much appreciated. We look forward to having you stay at Maple Grove again in the near future. Warm regards, Peter and Lyndsay.

Maple Grove in Hogsback
Lisa T - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lisa T
With friends

Wonderful and peaceful stay.

Far exceeded our expectations.

Maple Grove in Hogsback's response

Thank you so much Lisa, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.

Maple Grove in Hogsback
Yolanda C - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Yolanda C
With spouse/partner

Friendly reception and excellent accommodation.

Friendly reception, great.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Vriendelike ontvangs en puik akkommodasie.

Vriendelike ontvangs, puik.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Tamsyn B - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Tamsyn B
With spouse/partner

Perfect place to reflect, meditate and recharge!

Suited us perfectly in that we wanted to do as little as possible for as long as possible. Literally to recharge for the second half of the year. Well appointed and comfortable unit, everything you require. Only downside would be that accessibility is a little 'rough' on ones vehicle. 4x4 recommended.

Maple Grove in Hogsback's response

Good day Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We value your feedback and trust that by the next time you visit Hogsback, our roads will have been upgraded by Nkonkobe Municipality.

Maple Grove in Hogsback
Dereck S - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Dereck S
With spouse/partner

Exceeded my expectations.

The accommodation and scenery was unbeatable. The following can be addressed: The outdoor braai can be replaced/upgraded. The current braai is difficult to braai and is ageing. Provide a small axe to cut the wood for the fireplace/braai. The burnt ash/coals of the braai can please be disposed of somewhere else. Currently it is thrown right next to the braai and it breaks down to the beautiful scenery.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Het my verwagtinge oorskry.

Die verblyf en natuur was onverbeterlik. Die volgende kan aandag geniet: Die buite-braai kan vervang/opgradeer word. Die huidige braai is moeilik om in te braai en dateer al so bietjie. Verskaf 'n klein byl om die hout vir die kaggel/braai mee te kap. Die uitgebrande as/kole van die braai asb. op 'n ander plek uitgooi. Huidiglik word dit reg langs die braaiplek gegooi en dit breek af aan die pragtige natuurskoon.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Maple Grove in Hogsback's response

Hi Dereck,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We welcome constructive criticism and your comments are noted. Thank you for choosing to stay at Maple Grove.
Warm regards,
Lyndsay

Maple Grove in Hogsback
Robert-john D - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Robert-john D
With friends

It was a nice place to sit and relax in front of the fireplace.

Maple Grove's staff has great service. The accommodation was very neat and well-equipped. It's a little good value for money.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Die was 'n goeie blyplek om rustig te ontspan voor die kaggel.

Maple Grove se personeel het baie goeie diens gelewer. Die verblyf was baie netjies en goed ingerig. Dit bietjie goeie waarde vir geld.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Maple Grove in Hogsback's response

Dear Robert-John,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again and hope by then the road has received some attention from the powers that be!

Warm regards,
Peter and Lyndsay

Maple Grove in Hogsback
Kaokie S - Feb 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Kaokie S
With spouse/partner

Peace in nature that make you grateful for life again.

The hosts were wonderful and gave us a warm welcome at our neat and clean unit that was everything we had expected. The area is quiet and it felt like we were alone. The fireplace and sherry was wonderful. We will recommend it to anyone and want to go back when it's snowing.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Die rustigheid waar die natuur jou weereens die lewe laat waardeer.

Die gashere is wonderlik en ons is vriendelik ontvang by 'n netjiese en skoon eenheid, wat voldoen het aan al ons vereistes vir aangename verblyf. Die omgewing is stil en dit het gevoel of ons alleen is. Ons het baie lekker gekuier. Die kaggel en die bottel sjerrie was wonderlik. Ons sal dit vir enige iemand aanbeveel en wil self teruggaan as dit sneeu.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Maple Grove in Hogsback's response

Dear Sune,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm sorry we have taken so long to respond - we were in New Zealand for 5 weeks visiting our son and family.

We hope to see you at Maple Grove again.

Warm regards,
Peter and Lyndsay

Maple Grove in Hogsback
Adriaan L - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Adriaan L
With spouse/partner

Pragtige omgewing en baie mooi en skoon woonstel.

Maple Grove is baie privaat geleë met natuurskoon om jou, ek dink net dat die toestand van die paaie in Hogsback is `n groot probleem, (gruis wat oor teer gegooi is) en stof was `n groot probleem aangesien trokke deur die dorp beweeg en baie stof veroorsaak. Dit gaan beslis toerisme negatief beïnvloed.

Maple Grove in Hogsback's response

Thank you, Adriaan, for taking the time to review us. It is such a pity about our "hobbit" roads in Hogsback and as mentioned, we fall under Nkonkobe Municipality and nothing has been done on our roads for the year. I hope by the time you visit again there will be some improvement, but glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay.
Warm regards,
Lyndsay and Peter

Maple Grove in Hogsback
Louise H - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Louise H
With spouse/partner

Comfortable and beautiful.

We had a very comfortable stay at Maple Grove. Thank you, Lyndsay, for everything.

Maple Grove in Hogsback's response

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we hope to see you again in our neck of the woods.

Maple Grove in Hogsback
Sandy M - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sandy M
With spouse/partner

Fantastic! Sad to leave!

Everything was perfect. Lyndsay was very friendly and helpful. The cottage we stayed in was beautiful, clean and had everything we needed. Lyndsay gives attention to detail and one can't but feel at home.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Fantasties! Hartseer om te gaan!

Alles was prefek. Lyndsay was baie vriendelik en behulpsaam. Die kothuis waar ons gebly het was pragtig, skoon en het alles gehad wat benodig word. Lyndsay gee vreeslik aandag aan detail en 'n mens kan nie anders as om welkom te voel nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Maple Grove in Hogsback's response

Thank you Sandy for your lovely review. We hope to see you again in our neck of the woods. Thank you so much, Lyndsay.

Maple Grove in Hogsback
Arno H - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Arno H
With spouse/partner

Snoesig, huislik en uiters aangenaam.

Lieflike oopplan-opset in 'n pragtige omgewing. Warm en knus, maar ruim genoeg dat jy nie beknop sal voel nie. Vra maar net vooraf oor die roete tot daar, want al is daar 'n mooi teerpad daarheen, verkies Google Maps die 30 km grondpad (dis 'n rowwe bergpas grondpad). Die uitsig was wel asemrowend!

Maple Grove in Hogsback's response

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Maple Grove in Hogsback
Karen R - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Karen R
With friends

Gerieflik en snoesig.

Die naweek by Maple Grove in Hogsback was werklik ongelooflik lekker. Die akkommodasie was gerieflik en die kaggel en elektriese komberse het gehelp teen die koue weer van Hogsback. Ons sal beslis teruggaan!

Mary-ann H - Jun 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mary-ann H
With spouse/partner

Warm, huislike atmosfeer wat jou laat tuis voel met alles wat jy kan nodig kry.

Ons het al 'n vorige keer daar gebly en het gekies om weer daar te bly. Ontvangs is baie vriendelik en gasvry. Is bereid om te help met raad en daad. Gesellige kuierplek vir die wat nie wil of kan al die staproetes doen nie.

Maple Grove in Hogsback's response

Many thanks for your lovely review and thank you for choosing to stay at Maple Grove once again.

Maple Grove in Hogsback
Anneliese S - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Anneliese S
With friends

Home from home with cosy warmth.

Baie hartlik verwelkom. 'n Volledige klein huis met als in en 'n kaggel vir vuur en baie hout. Baie gemoedelik. Van die kombuisgereedskap kan vervang word. Baie interessante leesstof oor die geskiedenis en wat-om-te-doen. Alles was skoon en in werkende toestand. Baie billik. Mooiste uitsigte en plantegroei. Die gastehuisie het regte charm.

Maple Grove in Hogsback's response

Thank you Anneliese for taking the time to review us. We will look into replacing some kitchen equipment, which might well be past their sell-by date. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Constructive criticism is always welcome. Warm regards, Lyndsay and Peter.

Maple Grove in Hogsback
Jaco H - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jaco H
Family with teenagers

Fantastiese omgewing met pragtige bkyblek.

Hierdie is voorwaar 'n pragtige netjiese en besonderse plek. Elke mens moet hierdie wêreld beleef en om in Maple Grove te bly maak dit nog meer spesiaal.

Maple Grove in Hogsback's response

Thank you for your lovely review we really appreciate you taking the time to review us and we hope to see you again at Maple Grove.

Many thanks,
Peter and Lyndsay

Maple Grove in Hogsback
Hester B - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Hester B
With spouse/partner

Lekker privaat.

Dit was baie aangenaam! Die natuurskoon is ongelooflik!

Maple Grove in Hogsback's response

Thank you, Kobus, we look forward to seeing you again in our neck of the woods.

Maple Grove in Hogsback
Thinus D - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Thinus D
Family with teenagers

The two days were better than the 3 weeks in Kruger, and one week in Natal, as voted by the family!

Although the hosts were in New Zealand, they did not leave a stone untouched to make our stay comfortable, relaxed and full of surprises. We'll be back asap!

Maple Grove in Hogsback's response

To come back from New Zealand to such a positive review is amazing. I am so glad Nic looked after you. We look forward to meeting you next time around. Kind regards, Lyndsay and Peter.

Maple Grove in Hogsback
Chris D - Feb 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Chris D
With spouse/partner

Rustic.

Baie lekker. Pragtige omgewing.

Saki M - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Saki M
With spouse/partner

Dit was fantasties!

Maple Grove is een van daardie weggesteekte klein skatte. Geleë tussen die natuurlike woude van Hogsback, 'n lekker plek om heeltemal af te skakel en van al jou stres ontslae te raak.

Maple Grove in Hogsback's response

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We hope to see you here again. Thank you for choosing to stay at Maple Grove.

Maple Grove in Hogsback
Mara R - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mara R
With friends

Was extremely enjoyable.

The owners were friendly and helpful. We had a very nice stay.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Was verskriklik lekker.

Die eienaars was vriendelik en behulpsaam. Het baie lekker gebly.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Maple Grove in Hogsback's response

Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you in our neck of the woods again soon!

Maple Grove in Hogsback
Mariaan O - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mariaan O
With spouse/partner

Altyd 'n treffer!

Die Walkers is altyd so gasvry en bedagsaam dat ons tyd hier sal bly wanneer ons in Hogsback is. Baie dankie vir julle hulp om ons verblyf voor die troue stresvry te maak!

Maple Grove in Hogsback's response

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, Peter and Lyndsay

Maple Grove in Hogsback
Jaco B - Aug 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Jaco B
With spouse/partner

Ons het dit baie geniet, maar sal nie weer gaan nie.

Die pad na Maple Grove is nie van die beste nie. Ons was nog nooit in Hogsback nie en het nie besef dat dit meestal grondpad is nie. Dis regtig baie mooi daar en die plekkie het baie potensiaal. Ons sou dit egter bietjie skoner verkies het, maar dis dalk net ons. Hou in gedagte dat jy na die eerste krat hout gaan betaal daarvoor. (Ons het R50 vir 2 nagte se kaggel ekstra betaal). Die cottage staan onder 'n groot boom en dit gaan met baie harde geluide gepaard op die sinkdak. Ons hou van reën op 'n sinkdak, maar dit het ons altwee nagte gereeld wakker gemaak. Dit mag dalk 'n rukkie neem om aan sulke naggeluide gewoond te raak.

Maple Grove in Hogsback's response

Dear Jaco,

Thank you for your valued input in improving our service to you our guests.

Please note that the first crate of wood is free and you should not have paid for it. Thereafter it is R50 per bin, so if you only used one bin after that, then I am more than happy to refund you. Please send me your details and I will refund you immediately.

We pride ourselves in keeping our cottages clean and comfortable and I am so sorry that we did not live up to your standards. I do hope if you are in our neck of the woods again, you will consider staying at Maple Grove, and that you will leave with a happier experience.

Kind Regards,
Lyndsay and Peter

Maple Grove in Hogsback
Richelle S - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Richelle S
With friends

Fantastic.

We recommend Maple Grove. Beautiful interior and well-equipped. Friendly reception and they made us feel welcome. Comfy beds and linen.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Fantasties.

Ons sal die verblyf by Maple Grove aanbeveel. Die eenheid is pragtig binne en goed toegerus. Ons was baie vriendelik ontvang en welkom laat voel. Lekker beddens en beddegoed.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Maple Grove in Hogsback's response

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We look forward to welcoming you to Maple Grove again in the future. Many thanks.

Maple Grove in Hogsback
Dennis G - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Dennis G
With spouse/partner

Lost our hearts in Hogsback.

WOW, what a wonderful place. Carina and I enjoyed staying in the Cabin - cosy and comfortable. The welcome was great and the Cabin is special - fantastic view of the garden and the birds. All the facilities are 100%. Lindsay and Peter are great hosts and Lindsay thanks for your caring when the electricity went down. Three evenings was not long enough!

Maple Grove in Hogsback's response

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We loved having you stay at Maple Grove and we hope to see you in our neck of the woods again in the future. Kind regards, Lyndsay and Pete.

Maple Grove in Hogsback
Ian W - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Ian W
With spouse/partner

What a wonderful experience in nature.

I never say "wow" and I never say "awesome". But Maple Grove made me say "wow" and "awesome" a couple of times. Lyndsay and Peter got some help from mother nature with regard to the location, but the rest is all thanks to them. They are friendly and helpful without being overbearing and that is quite the achievement. We stayed in The Cabin and the layout and finish is excellent and the little Queen Anne stove was just what we needed to keep the cold at bay. The deck with the BBQ is great and they also have covered parking. I write this review because we have a lot of experience staying in self-catering places, from studios to two-bedroom units, from Paternoster tot Port Alfred, from the KZN Midlands to Carnarvon and Clanwilliam, and from the Waterberg to Bredasdorp and Robertson. Maple Grove's Cabin is awesome.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

'n Ongelooflike ondervinding reg in die natuur.

Ek gebruik nooit die term "wow" nie, ek gebruik ook nie "awesome" nie. Maar Maple Grove was "wow" en "awesome". Lyndsay en Peter het bietjie hulp van die natuur gekry met die ligging, maar die res het hulle self vermag. Hulle vriendelikheid en behulpsaamheid, sonder om oorboord te gaan, is prysenswaardig. Die wooneenheid, The Cabin,se uitleg en afronding is uitstekend en die Queen Anne stofie om die koue te verdryf net wat nodig is vir die koue aande. Die dek met die braai is 'n wenner en dan is daar nog onderdakparkering vir jou voertuig ook. Ek skryf hierdie resensie teen die agtergrond van ons jarelange ondervinding van selfsorg-eenhede, van studios tot tweeslaapkamers, van Paternoster tot Port Alfred, van die KZN Midlands tot Carnarvon en Clanwilliam, van die Waterberge tot Bredasdorp en Robertson. Die Cabin van Maple Grove is 'n wenner.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Maple Grove in Hogsback's response

Thank you so much for your lovely review, Ian and Elfrieda; it is reviews like yours that make our work in the hospitality industry worthwhile. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Kind regards from both of us, Peter and Lyndsay

Maple Grove in Hogsback
Alinda L - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Alinda L
With friends

Perfect.

Beautiful place and very comfortable.

Maple Grove in Hogsback's response

Thank you for your lovely review - we hope to host you again sometime in the future.

Maple Grove in Hogsback
Fanie P - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Fanie P
With spouse/partner

Lovely experience! Just a pitty about the bad roads.

Maple Grove has everything you will need — including a peaceful environment in the bush. The roads are just in a very bad condition — probably meant for 4x4 vehicles.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Heerlike ervaring! Net jammer van die swak paaie en strate.

Die blyplek het alles wat 'n mens nodig het - ingesluit 'n rustige atmosfeer in die bosse. Die strate is egter in 'n baie swak toestand - seker bedoel vir 4X4 voertuie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Koot S - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Koot S
With spouse/partner

An unforgettable experience.

Amazing! Was lovely and relaxing and truly a peaceful getaway. Would have liked to go again if it wasn't so far from Gauteng. Could consider a flight to East London.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

'n Onvergeetlike ondervinding.

Asemrowend! Was heerlik ontspannend en werklik 'n rustige wegbreek. Sou graag weer wou gaan as dit nie so ver van Gauteng was nie. Kan 'n vlug na Oos-London oorweeg.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Leon V - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Leon V
With spouse/partner

Fantastic location. Exactly the mountain house I had in my mind's eye.

Maple Grove is an experience filled with surprises! Not only is Hogsback an experience, but Maple Grove is the perfect location to explore the beautiful town and surroundings. The cabin lacks nothing and is equipped to face the changeable weather.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ongelooflike ligging. Presies die berghuis wat ek in my geestesoog gesien het.

Maple Grove is 'n ervaring gevul met verrassings! Nie net is Hogsback 'n belewenis nie, maar Maple Grove is die ideale verblyf vanaf waar jy die pragtige dorpie en omgewing kan verken. Die "cabin" ontbreek niks en is toegerus om die wisselvallige klimaat te trotseer.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Rossouw K - Oct 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Rossouw K
With friends

Comfortable and affordable.

Incredible bird life, environment and accommodation.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Gerieflik en bekostigbaar.

Ongelooflike voëllewe, omgewing en verblyf.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Hantie C - Oct 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Hantie C
With spouse/partner

"The Cabin" is a cute and comfortable unit for 2 people. The view of the garden from the deck is beautiful.

Enjoyed the rusks and sherry and there are more than enough heating options in the cabin. Well equipped and friendly service.

Maple Grove in Hogsback's response

Thank you for taking the time to review us - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Maple Grove in Hogsback
Lana H - Aug 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lana H
With spouse/partner

Food for the soul.

Maple Grove is a well equipped holiday unit for a break from the busy city life. The fireplace is so cosy and the scenery is stunning.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Kos vir die siel.

Maple Grove is 'n goed toegeruste wegbreekplek van die besige stadslewe. Die kaggel is heerlik snoesig, en die natuurskoon is ongelooflik.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Maple Grove in Hogsback's response

Thank you for your positive review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Maple Grove in Hogsback
Francois M - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Francois M
With spouse/partner

It was a lovely quiet place to return to after a day's walking.

It was a lovely quiet little place to return to after a day of walking in the woods. Maple Grove is tranquil and peaceful. Enough wood for the fireplace is provided as well as milk in the fridge upon arrival. We had a wonderful visit, braaied, hiked and relaxed at the Walkers. It was a great getaway. All you have to keep in mind is the road. If you are visiting in the winter/rainy season, your vehicle needs to be rather high off the ground as the road can get rather ugly on the way to Maple Grove. The most of Hogsback is also dirt roads.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Dit was 'n heerlike stil plekkie om na terug te kom na 'n dag se stap.

Dit was 'n heerlike stil plekkie om na terug te kom na 'n dag se stap in die woude. Maple Grove is stil en rustig. Genoeg hout vir die kaggel word voorsien asook gerieflik melk in die yskas met aankoms. Ons het lekker gekuier, gebraai, gestap en ontspan by die Walkers. Dit was 'n goeie wegbreek. Wat in gedagte gehou moet word is die pad. As jy in die winter/reëntyd wil besoek aflê gaan jou motor redelik hoog van die grond af moet wees met die pad wat kan lelik raak op pad na Maple Grove. Die oorgrote meerderheid van Hogsback is ook grondpad.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Maple Grove in Hogsback's response

Thank you for taking the time to review Maple Grove. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you in our neck of the woods again. You will be glad to know that work has started on Winding Lane, and hopefully it wont be too long before the other roads in Hogsback are repaired as well.

Maple Grove in Hogsback
Mariaan O - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mariaan O
With spouse/partner

Wonderlike ervaring.

Het die verblyf baie geniet. Die kothuis het alles in wat jy nodig het, mooi netjies en "cosy". Ons het baie lekker Wimbledon gekyk terwyl ons rooiwyn voor die vuur geniet het. Wonderlike eienaars (los vir jou 'n flip file vol inligting oor die geskiedenis van die dorpie, die eienaars, en oulike goed om te doen). Die dorpie is reguit Lord of the Rings. Sal weer gaan!

Maple Grove in Hogsback's response

So nice to read your positive review of Maple Grove. We hope to see you again. Please tell your friends about us too! Many thanks Peter and Lyndsay

Maple Grove in Hogsback
Andra B - Mar 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Andra B
With spouse/partner

Fantasties.

Die omgewing is pragtig. Die huis is so mooi en gerieflik, met alles wat mens nodig het. Dit was 'n heerlike naweek en ons wou net langer bly.

Maple Grove in Hogsback's response

Baie dankie. We hope you will come again - next time for a longer period!
Kind Regards,
Peter and Lyndsay

Maple Grove in Hogsback
Paul N - Oct 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Paul N
With spouse/partner

Uitstekende wegbreek en rustig.

Ons het net een nag oorgebly. Die Cottage is ideaal vir wittebroodpaartjies. Alles is daar en baie snoesige atmosfeer. Kaggel, sjerrie, stile.

Francois V - Sep 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Francois V
With spouse/partner

Pragtige en rustige omgewing.

Goed toegeruste chalet met 'n huislike atmosfeer en die kaggelvuur was heerlik.

Nico G - Aug 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nico G
With spouse/partner

Kan met geen twyfel graag aanbeveel word.

Die hut is gerieflik, groot en baie knus met 'n kaggel en groot dek om die boomryk tuin te bewonder. Ongelooflik lekker gebly en by die kaggel gekuier. Waarde vir geld.

Marianne R - Aug 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marianne R
With spouse/partner

Die verblyf was heel aangenaam, veral die kaggel.

Ons kuier was baie vinnig en kort, maar sal dit by enigiemand aanbeveel. Sal definitief weer wil gaan kuier.

Lodewikus C - Jun 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lodewikus C
With spouse/partner

Dit was uitstekende verblyf. Ek sal beslis weer daar gaan slaap.

Die plek is lekker stil en in die koue was alles wat mens nodig het om jou warm te hou daar.

Jd M - Jun 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jd M
With spouse/partner

Baie lekker gebly. Baie vriendelike diens.

So lekker snoesig en warm in die koue aande. Sal verseker volgende keer weer daar gaan bly.

Derek L - May 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Derek L
With spouse/partner

Net twee aande, maar dit was onvergeetlik!

The cottage was like an Alpine chalet, it was very well appointed with everything you need and with lots of extras showing great pride in the chalet. Our hostess was Lindsay Walker and she went to a lot of trouble to make our stay so pleasant. Our stay was in autumn and the colours were amazing. Maple Grove is highly recommended.

Ruby S - Apr 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Ruby S
With spouse/partner

Aangenaam.

Baie oulike plekkie. Rustig en stil.

Marietjie S - Apr 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Marietjie S
With spouse/partner

Lekke!

Sien die sterre hieronder.

Willie M - Mar 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Willie M
With spouse/partner

Baie mooi en

Baie lekker gebly en die aandag van die eienaars uitstekend. Die eenheid was silwerskoon en die stofie 'n wenner!

Hannelie J - Jan 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hannelie J
Family with young children

Hogsback, wat 'n wonderlike ervaring !

Om Hogsback te besoek was nog altyd een van my "bucket list"-drome. Maple Grove het absoluut aan al ons verwagtinge voldoen: wondelike gashere, besonder goed toegeruste verblyf.

Anton V - Jan 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Anton V
Family with teenagers

Perfect for a much needed relaxing weekend away! 5*****

Great family Visit. I would recommend Maple Grove to anyone. Fantastic, quiet, and great setup.

Elma A - Dec 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
5/5
Elma A
Family with young children

Truly a nice stay and experience

Fantastic accommodation with friendly people. Advise to future guests: use a higher vehicle to reach here, as most of the roads leading to Hogsback are in a terrible condition. However, it was a very good experience all round, if roads are not considered.

Diederik O - Nov 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Diederik O
With spouse/partner

Uitstekend.

Dit was kos vir die siel - rustig, veilig en ontspannend. Vriendelike en gasvrye eienaars.

James T - Nov 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
James T
Family with young children

A very good option for a few days in Hogsback

Positives: very friendly & attentive (but not overbearing) hosts, fantastic welcoming attention to small details in the cottage (eg. flowers, rusks, muscadel, wood & fire ready to lights), very nice gardens & peaceful atmosphere. Amazing value for money & well designed accommodation. The Negatives: the cottage is starting to show just a little of its age & small maintenance needs are starting to surface. The 3 Jack Russell dogs kept us awake until 11pm barking one night while the owners were out - but I don't think this is usual. Maple Grove is just a little far from the main "centre" of Hogsback - but the price makes up for it.

Andries M - Sep 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Andries M
With spouse/partner

The host and cottage was wonderful and the setting is superb.

I will definitely recommend Maple Grove to anyone visiting Hogsback. The hosts were absolutely wonderful with our planning and stay.

Wayne L - Jul 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Wayne L
Family with teenagers

Baie lekker, veral met die kaggel.

Dit was 'n heerlike verblyf, en ons sal dit aanbeveel. Ons het veral van die kaggel gehou.

From R800
per night (for 2 people)
From R800
per night (for 2 people)
From R800
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 8 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 3 Winding Lane, Hogsback, 5721, Eastern Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJGI3ODI1MDQyLTgyNTUtNDFjZi05YWI0LTRkODE3OWUxYzFjYg?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R800  per night (for 2 people) 56 5 1 5 3 Winding Lane Hogsback 5721 Eastern Cape 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -32.57934269129 26.917737722397
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!