Southern Drakensberg Accommodation at Mkomazana Mountain Cottages | TravelGround
+51

Mkomazana Mountain Cottages

Review Summary

4.3 out of 5from 29 reviews for Mkomazana Mountain Cottages
Cleanliness
4.3/5
Service
4.4/5
Location
4.5/5
Safety
4.3/5
Value for money
4.1/5
Pieter C - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Pieter C

Te kort.

Betty en haar man is besonder vriendelik en behulpsaam. Eenhede is goed toegerus. Ontspanningsgeriewe en buitelug aktiwiteite is voldoende.

Johann P - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Johann P
With spouse/partner

Quiet, beautiful and serene.

The location was excellent as it was our intention to drive up the Sani Pass. My only negative would be the lack of connectivity at the Lodge. In today's world it is essential to be connected, be that for work or pleasure.

Wimpie D - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Wimpie D
With spouse/partner

Food for your soul.

Comfortable and neat accommodation. Great idea of supplying fresh scones daily to guests. Great location to access beautiful places in the area. Trip up Sani Pass once again surpassed all our expectations.

Mkomazana Mountain Cottages's response

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will return soon.

Mkomazana Mountain Cottages
Marietjie S - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Marietjie S
With friends

Rustige ouwêreldse verblyf in 'n goed toegeruste huis en pragtige omgewing.

Stone Cottage se ligging is privaat en die oop stoep bied genoeg sitplek vir heerlike kuiers. In die aand het die kaggel die ruim sitkamer snoesig verhit. Die kombuis - ook met 'n tafel en stoele in - is goed toegerus. Die warm scones en hout wat afgelewer word was 'n aangename bonus. Ons het Sani top op 'n sonskyndag beleef en ook lekker op die Mkomazana terrein rondgestap. Gaan Mkomazana Mountain Cottages toe as jy wil rus!

Paul D - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Paul D
With spouse/partner

Tranquil accommodation.

Spacious and tastefully furnished cottage with a warm fire place that keeps the cold out. Tranquil farm environment with a walkway in the hills. Delicious, fresh and warm baked scones are delivered every morning. Owner and his wife are very friendly and great company. Was a really tranquil and quiet holiday.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Luilekker rustige verblyf.

Ruim en smaakvol gemeubileerde kothuis met warm kaggel wat die koue sommer gou verdryf het. Rustige plaas-omgewing met looppad in koppies. Heerlike, vars, warm gebakte skons word elke oggend afgelewer. Eienaar en sy vrou baie vriendelik en gesels baie lekker. Was regtig 'n rustige en stil vakansie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Johan K - Feb 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Johan K

Excellent value for money in a beautiful and quiet area.

If you are looking for peace in a quiet area with a beautiful view, lots of bird life, and a big variety of fauna, this is a good choice. Will come again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Uitstekende waarde vir geld in 'n pragtige stil omgewing.

As jy op soek is na rustigheid in 'n stil omgewing met 'n pragtige uitsig, groot voëllewe en groot verskeidenheid fauna, is hierdie 'n goeie keuse. Sal weer kom.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Anne H - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Anne H
Family with teenagers

Our fourth time there - we really love it. We are disappointed that we are now only allowed to book for a minimum of two nights (this did not use to be the case) - this makes it difficult and largely unaffordable.

A beautiful setting, comfortable accommodation, friendly people. Well worth the visit - and this was our fourth stay. We are disappointed, though, that a minimum of two nights' accommodation is required. This makes it difficult if you want a weekend break (and can only leave on Saturday morning), and, for us, financially demanding (the cottage we stayed in sleeps 6, which works out quite reasonable, but there's only 4 of us - and two nights pushes us over what we can really afford).

Klarissa T - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Klarissa T
With spouse/partner

Gerieflik, rustig en pragtig.

Beeldskone omgewing wat ons ten volle kon geniet sonder selfone en tv's. Heerlike kagelvuur vir die reënweer en smaaklike skons in die oggende om aan te smul. Dankie vir die lekker verblyf!

Ian D - May 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ian D

Beautifully, stunning cottage in a breathtaking location.

My wife and I stayed here for one night with our adult son and daughter with her husband. We just wish we could have stayed here longer. A fine cottage in a great location, surrounded by stunning scenery. The hosts were friendly and the freshly baked scones delivered to our door in the morning were delicious. If only we knew of the pub the evening before we would have enjoyed a nightcap before retiring for the night.

Deon N - May 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Deon N
With spouse/partner

As jy net wil ontspan is dit die plek. Pragtige deel van die Drakensberge. Ou plaas atmosfeer. Wonderlik.

Ons het die stilte geniet. Weg van alles. Ons het ook die Sanipas opgegaan wat sommer daar is. Die oggendbotterbroodjies was baie spesiaal en heerlik. Betty en haar man is vreeslike oulike mense wat mens so tuis laat voel. Die warm komberse was natuurlik 'n bonus.

Yvonne D - Jan 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Yvonne D
Family with teenagers

Rustig en asemrowende natuurtonele.

Hier kom jou siel en liggaam bymekaar. Fotograaf se droom! Bobbejane was 'n wesenlike probleem en is eers na die eerste onderonsie gewaarsku dat die vensters en deure moet toegehou word. Ek sou graag wil sien dat daar ordentlike tralies by die venster aangesit word sodat die vars berglug en geluide geniet kan word. Die vars gebakte skons elke dag is werklik 'n bonus.

Anne E - Nov 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Anne E
With friends

Fantastic service.

This location is ideal for those travelling up, or down, the Sani Pass. Very clean, comfortable and well equipped with the added extra of hot scones delivered to your kitchen every morning! We had to change our booking by 2 days and we not only got the new date but were up-graded by very friendly people!

Uwe H - Nov 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Uwe H
With spouse/partner

Lovely setting with great hospitality, very peaceful

A very peaceful and scenic location with great hospitality; we would not hesitate to visit again.

Callie S - Oct 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Callie S
With spouse/partner

Wonderlik, naby Sani en ander mooi plekke.

Baie dankie vir alles, dit was wonderlik en ons gaan beslis weer kom.

Rod M - Aug 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rod M
With spouse/partner

Fantastic. Loved the scones, and the fireplace

Thanks. Awesome weekend!

Petra A - Jul 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Petra A
With spouse/partner

Heerlik rustig met baie vriendelike diens!

Ons is baie hartlik deur die eienaars ontvang en met heerlike warm botterbroodjies die volgende oggend verras! Die hout van die kaggel was bietjie nat, maar ons het droë hout in die motor gehad en kon 'n heerlike aandjie voor die kaggel geniet!

Karmen S - Jun 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Karmen S
Family with young children

It is a beautiful setting. Spectacular area for kids and adults alike.

We had a great holiday! Loved the setting and large, openness of the grounds, which the kids enjoyed running around.

Rian N - Jun 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Rian N
With spouse/partner

Baie netjies en baie vriendelike gasheer en gasvrou.

Sien die sterre hieronder.

Sharon V - May 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Sharon V
With friends

Lekke!

Sien maar met die sterre hieronder.

Francois M - May 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Francois M

'n Lekker huis om in te bly met baie geskiedenis en karakter.

Die huis was baie mooi skoon, maar die badkamers was nie baie goed nie, kort herstelwerk en 'n lekker stort sal welkom wees. Dit is 'n lekker ruim huis met 'n kaggel. Die huis het baie geskiedenis en karakter.

Zwahne V - Jan 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Zwahne V
Family with teenagers

Wonderlike wegbreek in die pragtige Cottage en rustige natuur

Ons gesin van 6 was mal oor die pragtige Cottage en sal defnitief jaarliks wil terugkeer na die bederf in die berge. Die natuur is pragtig en ons bergfietse het die Sani pas sommer elke dag verken

Gerda H - Jan 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Gerda H
With spouse/partner

Rustig!

Salig sonder 'n TV.

Molebogeng M - May 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Molebogeng M
With spouse/partner

Out of this world

Peace and tranquility Mkomazana cottages a place to find that. Fireplace and the scenery in the mornings are superb.

Hilda M - May 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Hilda M
With friends

'n Wonderlike bestemming naby aan Sanipas!

Dit was heerlik om so vinnig by ons oornag bestemming vanaf Sanipas te arriveer. Dis letterlik die 1ste oornag opsie met die afkom. Coot kothuis is pragtig gelee en baie gerieflik ingerig met die mooiste uitsig oor die dam reg teenaan die huis. Die kaggelvuur was wonderlik op 'n baie koue aand wat tot onder vriespunt gedaal het. Ongelukkig was die 1 badkamer se warm water toevoer gevries die volgende oggend, maar kon ons wel die ander badkamer gebruik vir stort. Teen 8 vm is ons bederf met heerlike warm skons! Dit was 'n groot bederf. Ons sal graag weer daar oornag in die toekoms.

Tarryn R - May 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
4/5
Tarryn R
With spouse/partner

Comfy, clean accommodation and fantastic staff

Did a 4hr hike up to the salt and pepper shakers and relaxed at the trout dam. Amazing scenery and bird life.. 3 new birds spotted! The fireplace was much appreciated in the evenings - chilly this time of year but the days were pleasantly warm. Fresh scones in the morning were lovely. Thanks Betty and Mike!

Lee Z - May 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Lee Z

Clean

Fresh, and the morning scones were a great!

Patty A - Jan 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Patty A
With spouse/partner

What a lovely place - very comfortable

We really loved our stay and would definitely recommend it to friends. Our stay was a bit short (only a weekend). We would have liked to go up Sani but heavy rain prevented this.

Darren P - Sep 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Darren P
With spouse/partner

Perfect location and a great atmosphere

My fiance and I had a wonderful stay in the Stone cottage. It was very nicely appointed. Travelground was a pleasure to deal with, from finding my accommodation to being booked in about 2 hours, that included me taking my time to decide.

Lynette N - Jul 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Lynette N
Family with teenagers

Beautiful cottage on a lake,great ambiance

Betty our host made us feel very welcome.the warm scones in the morning was delicious.Great location if you want to travel Sani Pass.

From R1 090
per night (sleeps 2)
From R1 090
per night (sleeps 2)
From R1 090
per night (sleeps 2)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 22 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: Sani Pass Road, Sani Pass, Southern Drakensberg, 3257, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJGIzYWNkYmFhLWI2MGYtNGRkMi1hMTRjLTE5OTc0MWNmNTkxOA?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R1 090  per night (sleeps 2) 29 5 1 5 Sani Pass Road Sani Pass 3257 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -29.631013678286 29.419026374817
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

0860 022 102 | bookings@travelground.com