The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Montpellier De Tulbagh | TravelGround
+161

Montpellier De Tulbagh

Guest House

Review Summary

4 out of 5from 42 reviews for Montpellier De Tulbagh
Cleanliness
3.7/5
Service
3.9/5
Location
4.4/5
Safety
4.1/5
Value for money
3.8/5
Alida D - Sep 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Alida D
With spouse/partner

Oornag.

Sharon en Manny het ons gou tuis laat voel. Diens baie goed. Verblyf baie netjies. Lizzy se ontbyt was baie lekker.

Adri B - Jul 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Adri B
With spouse/partner

Baie lekker op die plaas.

Ons het baie lekker gebly.

Tasneem D - Apr 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Tasneem D
Family with young children

A peaceful experience.

Everything was lovely.

Vonroy D - Feb 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
4/5
Vonroy D
Individual traveler

Vreedsame kuier in natuur.

Mooi tuine. Gawe personeel. Baie ruimte vir bergfietsry.

Paul W - Jan 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
2/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Paul W
With spouse/partner

Wonderful location but lacking upkeep.

It looks like Covid has affected this location as there are distinct signs that upkeep is lacking. On the positive side the venue is very quiet, peaceful, green and lush. We were there over 3 hot days (not unusual for Tulbagh) and were surprised and disappointed to find no air-con in the room. We asked to move and luckily there was a room with an air-con available otherwise we would seriously have considered leaving and driving home that night. It was unbearable. Also the pool was murky and unserviced the entire time we were there and the flies were everywhere - fly traps were up but again were full and were not changed. Also all the rooms have awkwardly small/short baths and not showers. Why? Baths are luxurious but you don't want to run 2 baths every night before you go out for dinner! And a shower can cool you down on those hot days. Not a great decision. I would 100% recommend a visit but in its current state I would not recommend staying over.

Monique D - Jan 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Monique D
Family with young children

Relaxing weekend with my beautiful family.

We enjoyed our family vacation. Beautiful self catering house amongst the trees. However they should definitely consider re-doing the bathroom as our toilets water was runnning the whole weekend, which really disturbed our sleep! Furthermore we enjoyed our stay.

Darren B - Jan 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
1/5
Location
4/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Darren B
With spouse/partner

Dissapointing and misleading.

Firstly there was no fridge in the place. We had to use a cooler box supplied by the establishment which I had to purchase the ice for myself. The ad doesn't stipulate there is no fridge and for R1500 I would honestly expect better. This cooler box also leaked water throughout the place. Front door of the place couldn't close properly and this was a great concern as the establishment was not access controlled or gated off. Literally anybody could access the farm. Also, the ad says braai facilities. There was no braai at the chalet. The braai was removed and we were told we can braai at the main building which I had to drive to and park and walk a distance from the parking to get to where we need to braai. The place had a mosquito net that had numerous holes in so on top of it all we were attacked by mosquitoes. The Friday morning our water at the chalet was off from around 08h00 until we checked out at 12h00. I made contact with Leana from the establishment regarding this matter and she ignored the message. We cut our stay short, because this was not what I expected and not what the ad portrays. The bed must've been the worst I've slept on by far. The bed was caved in and woke up with back aches after only a few hours of interrupted sleep. We checked out the very next day after checking in and up until today nobody from the establishment has made contact to find out why we checked out earlier. I was not happy with what we received at all. The ad shows no transparency. If I had known that is what we will get I would've much rather booked to go camping because then I know what I'm in for for half the price. This rate should seriously be reviewed and amended.

Rone M - Jan 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
1/5
Rone M
With friends

Die kamer is baie basies ingerig, was nie behoorlik skoon nie en was oortrek met spinnekoppe en groot krieke.

Montpellier is ongelooflik mooi en 'n mens wil glo dat van die ander eenhede baie oulik is. Die plaaswerfkamers is egter baie basies ingerig en ongelukkig nie die prys per nag werd nie. Die kamer was nie behoorlik skoon nie - daar was spinnerakke, spinnekoppe en duisendpote in die kamer en water, moontlik van die stort, op die vloer die hele tyd wat ons daar was. Toe ons laat na 'n troue by die huis kom was die kamer oortrek met massiewe krieke (al was al die vensters toe) wat in ons klere ingeklim het en nog uit ons tasse gekom het toe ons al terug in die Kaap was. Ons het bestuur gebel vir 'n ander kamer, maar is ingelig dat Montpellier volbespreek is en dis daar gelaat. Vir die prys het ons effens meer gemak en netheid en beter diens verwag.

Erica F - Jan 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Erica F
With spouse/partner

Heerlik rustig.

Die Rietdakkies is afgesonder van die ander verblyf en was heerlik stil en rustig met 'n mooi uitsig. Ons het ons verblyf geniet terwyl ons die omgewing verken het.

Gary V - Jan 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Gary V
With spouse/partner

Good value for money - BUT.

There is n infestation of crickets, the owner should spend a night in the room I occupied, killed 20 crickets in one night. Would suggest a small fridge and microwave would prove helpful. Also consider a braai at each unit. Otherwise beautiful setting.

Esther C - Jan 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Esther C
Family with young children

Nice, grateful for mosquito nets and the swimming pool.

Overall the cottages were clean, but they are in need of TLC. The roads to the cottages are horrrid if you do not drive a 4x4.

Mathilda E - Jan 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mathilda E
Family with young children

Dis 'n asemrowende mooi plaas.

Ons het baie lekker gebly. Die cottage is baie mooi en gerieflik. Die perkte wegbreek plek vir 'n naweek.

Carmen Z - Dec 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Carmen Z
With spouse/partner

Breathtaking views and relaxing atmosphere.

The beds was comfortable, rooms were clean and staff was friendly.

Samantha J - Dec 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Samantha J
Family with young children

Perfect getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city. We loved the tranquility and the early morning walks.

What an enjoyable stay for the whole family, including our fur baby.

Mike G - Dec 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mike G
With spouse/partner

Goeie wegbreek in Tulbagh-omgewing.

Talle goeie restaurante en omgewing vol kultuurerfenis. Montpellier se tuin is pragtig en die woud is vol karakter. Die ontbyt was heerlik en baie goeie waarde vir geld. Die besoek word aanbeveel vir mense wat lief is vir die natuur.

Gerdi V - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Gerdi V
With friends

Lieflike wynplaas met wonderlike skoonheid en heerlike wyne, MCC. Maar Rietdakkies is nie aan te beveel nie.

Ons het in Rietdakkies no. 2 geslaap. Die kraan in die badkamer was heeltemal los. Lugversorging het nie gewerk nie. Stort was baie vuil. Geen ekstra kombers nie (was koue naweek). Dankbaar vir skoon linne en handdoeke, maar die plekkie kort aandag.

Rehan N - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rehan N
With spouse/partner

Boomhuis was 'n belewenis.

Die boomhuis was 'n belewenis en sal definitief weer teruggaan. Enigste kritiek wat ek het is dat daar nêrens genoem word dat die pad tot by die boomhuis nie 100% geskik is vir normale/platter motors nie (veral nie as dit reën nie). Sal great wees as dit in die beskrywing geplaas kan word.

Cisca V - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Cisca V
With friends

Heerlike plaaskuier!

Baie lekker verblyf met baie potensiaal. Sal beslis volgende keer langer kom om meer tyd op die plaas te spandeer. Enigste kritiek is dat die badkamers skoner en beter ingerig wees.

Stephan V - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Stephan V
Family with teenagers

Baie aangenaam.

Ons het baie lekker gebly. Klein, maar gemaklik. Alles wat jy nodig het vir 'n lekker oornag.

Hester S - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Hester S

Lekker, net n grasperkie gemis vir piekniek.

Dis ’n lekker huisie, net baie karre wat in die nag verbyry en mens wakker maak. Verder is dit netjies en gerieflik.

Jacques H - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jacques H
Family with young children

Pragtige plaas.

Baie mooi tuine en opstal. Ideaal vir funksies of troues.

John C - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
John C
With spouse/partner

Bang for buck; Nice getaway spot.

Nice to get out of town, stop hearing the buzzing of the city, and just relax and unwind. Well worth it!

Ryan J - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ryan J
With spouse/partner

Fantastic!

At a loss for words.

Rayne T - Sep 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Rayne T
Family with young children

Pragtige plek met 'n amazing view!

Dit was 'n prentjiemooi plek! So lekker pizza geëet onder die bome! Die Rietdakkies waar ons gebly het was wel bietjie vuil en kort bietjie aandag maar behalwe dit het ons baie lekker gebly.

George W - Sep 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
George W
With spouse/partner

Opwindend.

Ontspanne atmosfeer. Musiek effe te hard Sat. middag. Honde blaf vroeë oggendure.

Carmel C - Sep 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
2/5
Carmel C
With spouse/partner

Weekend farm stay.

The farm is lovely and picturesque, and the staff warm and attentive. I had booked a Farmyard room, but on arrival were given a Manor room. While the exterior of the Manor house is beautiful, the rooms need some maintenance and TLC (e. g the plumbing needs to be sorted out) and are extremely basic.

Denise B - Sep 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
1/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
1/5
Denise B
With friends

It was loud and not a quite country getaway as envisioned.

If you don't mind loud music blasting from 9am to 5pm every day from speakers in trees, then this is the place for you! The speakers in the trees are right where the accommodation is situated on the farm and thus you are subject to a variety of sounds from a playlist which makes no logical sense...and I mean... makes no sense! It jumps all over the place and is hard to follow without feeling anxious. Forget sleeping in or afternoon naps. Sometimes, they even have 2 songs playing at the same time which is an assault to ones ears and we were told that this 'does happen' with a shrug. As a music lover I found this experience extremely unpleasant. It was definitely not a relaxing experience and a further assault to my ears. We assumed this will only be played during outdoor lunchtime, but no, it's every day, whether they are serving lunch that day or not. Furthermore, there is no ventilation in the loft rooms or windows to open and with the thatch roof it feels like you are suffocating and will more than likely suffer from headaches due to the stale air as the rooms are not aired out. Lastly, don't bother paying R120 for breakfast as it's like a camp breakfast from school days gone by. You won't even asked how you want your eggs and there's nothing special on the plate for that price. Rather go find a Wimpy - even if it's in the next town - it's cheaper and tastes better! All in all a very disappointing experience and definitely not the tranquil country getaway we were striving for.

Elize V - Sep 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Elize V
With spouse/partner

Baie aangenaam.

Pragtige kamer in 'n uitsonderlike mooi, geskiedkundige huis. Baie mooi tuin en area.

Erika D - Sep 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Erika D
With friends

Pragtige plaas en opstal en goed geleë ten opsigte van Tulbagh. Baie vriendelik ontvang.

As jy die opstal besoek waar jy inklok dan verwag jy dat verblyf soortgelyk sal wees maar was bietjie teleurgesteld, huisies het definitief TLC nodig. Vir oornag is dit nie te sleg.

Marieta O - Sep 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marieta O
Family with young children

Fantastic.

Great accommodation in a very beautiful part of the country. Gorgeous gem.

Karen V - Aug 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Karen V
With friends

You get what you pay for.

Very old house and furniture, with very few kitchenware. The shower tap leaked and didn't work. Sewerage smell as the drain was blocked at the back of the house. Bath towels had stains on. Security also not good as anyone from the streets can drive up to the house. The fresh air and evening braai was the only highlight of the place.

Montpellier De Tulbagh 's response

Hi Karen ,

So sorry for the experience you had. Did you report this to management ? I am sure they would have moved or helped you in any way they could. Please let me know if there is something I can do to make this better ? Maybe a visit to one of our other accommodation units.

Kind Regards

Montpellier De Tulbagh
Shirley-ann B - Aug 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Shirley-ann B
With spouse/partner

Dit was lekker!

Baie lekker naweek gewees. Veilig en rustig met baie vriendelike en behulpsame personeel. Sal beslis vir enige iemand aanbeveel en self weer gaan.

Marc B - Aug 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marc B
With friends

Overall, excellent stay!

Everyone was friendly and accommodating. The venue is great, and the Stable Rooms amazing. Two small things - on our first day, the rooms were not cleaned and tea/coffee supplies not updated. The lady in our group suggested maybe a dressing table for putting on make up. A suggestion for breakfast is to make sure the toast is served with the breakfast as it was cold by the time we received our food.

Linlee S - Jul 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Linlee S

Fantasties. Pragtig.

Ek kan amper nie glo dat ek al 25 jaar in die Kaap woon en nog nooit by Montpellier du Tulbagh gebly nie. Ek is nou spyt dat ek nie vroeër van die beeldskone plaas geweet het nie. Die kamer in The Stables was vreeslik romanties, die uitsig was "to die for", die staf was baie vriendelik en hulpvaardig en die tuin ... sjoe! Jy kan nie mooier nie. Baie dankie. Ons sal weer terugkom.

Jolene S - Jul 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Jolene S
Family with young children

Beautiful farm getaway.

It was a lovely little winter getaway for our family and will definitely recommend it to others if they just need a little sanity out in the countryside or even if they are planning a wedding.

Vernon B - Jul 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
5/5
Vernon B

Waarde vir jou geld.

Ek was baie goed ontvang, ek het dadelik tuis gevoel. Die kliëntediens is van hoë gehalte.

Jacolet V - Jul 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jacolet V
With spouse/partner

So rustig soos kan kom.

Ons het 'n wonderlike tyd op die plaas gehad. Baie spasie om rond te beweeg en baie om te sien. Die diens was uitstekend.

Gail C - Apr 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
2/5
Gail C
With spouse/partner

Baie lekker en mooi, maar vir seker nie die prys werd nie, heeltemal te duur vir wat mens kry.

Vir daai prys het mens baie meer verwag. Beddens is deur geslaap. Pype van bad loop uit in wasbak as bad uittap. Sou TV in kamer verwag. Niks spesiaals vir daai prys.

Henko S - Feb 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Henko S
With spouse/partner

Veilige en ontspanne atmosfeer.

Die tuin is onbeskryflik mooi met al die kronkelpaatjies, bruggies en interessante hoekies. Pizzas wat saam met wyn geniet kan word by die restaurant. Ontbyt onder die bome met rustige agtergrondmusiek, puik personeellede.

Magda-lize R - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
1/5
Location
2/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
1/5
Magda-lize R
With spouse/partner

Teleurstelling.

Ons het in die Rietdakkies gebly. Alhoewel alles skoon was, is die plek verwaarloos. Die deure van die akkommodasie val half uit mekaar. Wanneer jy die gordyne oop of toe wil trek, val die gordynrelings af. Die stoep het spykers wat half uittrek en gevaarlik is. Party van die planke staan op en maak dit gevaarlik. Dit is jammer dat ‘n plek met soveel karakter so verwaarloos word. Die oggend wat ons uitgeboek het, voor 10, was die mense wat die sleutel by ons gekry het, se opmerking: “Ons het gewonder wanneer gaan julle nou uitboek.” Emmanuel, by ontvangs waar ons ingeboek het, is werklik die enigste hoogtepunt.

Adele D - Dec 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
3/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Adele D
Family with young children

Woning was van lae standaard en vuil.

Kan waarskuwing gee rakende die reuk en muskiete. Reuk was riool wat erg gestink het en hulle kan meer as net te voorsien vir muskiete. Een persoon het plek skoongemaak terwyl ons daar arriveer het 14h. Dink meer was nodig aangesien vorige gaste volgens skoon maker die plek in 'n haaglike toestand gelos het.

Talmira V - Dec 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Talmira V
Family with young children

Beautiful scenery

The Rietdakkies cottage needs a lot of attention. The deck is broken and not safe.

Montpellier De Tulbagh 's response

Dear Talmira,
Thank you so much for staying with us, we value your feedback and will inform our maintenance team about the broken deck with immediate effect.
Have a great holiday further.
Regards,
Montpellier Management

Montpellier De Tulbagh
From R900
R900 R600
per night (sleeps 2)
From R900
R900 R600
per night (sleeps 2)
From R900
R900 R600
per night (sleeps 2)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 84 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 17:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: Twee Jongen Gezellen Road, Tulbagh, 6820, Western Cape
  • No children under 18
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAA41fa29a7c375be06717d0c3284acfa0525d5851fb36fddfa189ca6e3b707b0a5f669bc7bc9a570fc31f32758ceaaff921bbf?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=enhance,format,compress&q=80 was R900, now From R600  per night (sleeps 2) 42 5 1 4 Twee Jongen Gezellen Road Tulbagh 6820 Western Cape 0860 022 102 14:00-17:00 10:00 -33.274840164165 19.11098340385
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!