The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Muckleneuk Manor | TravelGround
+35

Muckleneuk Manor

Guest House

Review Summary

4.8 out of 5from 22 reviews Muckleneuk Manor
Cleanliness
4.8/5
Service
4.8/5
Location
4.6/5
Safety
4.9/5
Value for money
4.7/5
Annerietha D - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Annerietha D
With friends

Fantastic!

We've enjoyed our stay. The room was beautiful and the staff so friendly. I will stay there again.

Willem P - Nov 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Willem P
Individual traveler

Great experience and friendly hostesses.

Great aesthetics and superb food and cleanliness.

Louisa V - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Louisa V
With spouse/partner

Pleasant experience in quiet environment.

Room was clean, newly redecorated, linen excellent, owner pleasant person who was welcoming to us and very helpful. TV channels were satisfactory and met our needs. Parking very secure. Good Afrikaans hospitality!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Aangename ervaring in rustige omgewing.

Kamer was skoon, nuut oorgedoen, linne puik, eienaar aangename mens wat ons vriendelik ontvang het en baie behulpsaam was. TV-kanale was bevredigend en het in ons behoeftes voldoen. Parkering baie veilig. Goeie Afrikaanse gasvryheid!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Muckleneuk Manor's response

Hello Louisa,
Dit was heerlik om julle hier te gehad het. Dit is gaste soos julle wat 'n mens motiveer om net te probeer beter te doen. Mooiste wense vir julle. Ons deure is altyd oop vir julle. Geseënde Paastyd.
Vriendelike groete
Vivienne en Die Manor Span

Muckleneuk Manor
Stephan D - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Stephan D
With spouse/partner

It was homey, clean and warm, warm service.

Met all expectations and have no reason to complain about anything.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Dit was huislik, skoon en warm, hartlike diens.

Aan alle verwagtinge voldoen en het geen rede om oor enige iets te kla nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Agnes S - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Agnes S
On business

The place looks exactly like the pictures displayed on their website.

I enjoyed my stay at Muckleneuk Manor.

Annah K - Feb 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Annah K
Individual traveler

Very pleasant and comfortable.

Staff very friendly. They went all way out to make sure that I was comfortable. Rooms very clean and yummy breakfasts. Thanks Rory and Vivian you guys are the best!

Suzette B - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Suzette B
With spouse/partner

Gerieflik en tuis gevoel, baie beïndruk.

Ons was baie beïndruk met hulle gasvryheid. Die kamers is baie goed ingerig en natuurlik baie netjies. Ons sal definitief weer daar oorslaap in die toekoms.

Cecilia G - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Cecilia G
On business

I felt at home!

I stayed for a week and appreciated the hospitality of the staff and excellent customer service. I truly felt right at home and will definitely return to Muckleneuk Manor in future.

Joyline N - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Joyline N
With spouse/partner

Great hospitality service is offered at this manor, I would recommend it to anyone any day.

Beautiful place with a fabulously done interior and garden. The rooms are well appointed with everything a weary traveller needs. Loved the crisp fresh luxurious linen, not to mention the gorgeous breakfast prepared with a lot of love. The location suited our needs to a T. Above all, the hostess Vivienne went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and memorable. Words are not enough to describe this kind and helpful soul. Another visit is definitely on the cards.

Muckleneuk Manor's response

Thank you for your inspiring words. We love our Manor. Hope to see you again in the future. Vivienne, Rory and The Manor Team

Muckleneuk Manor
Mari V - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mari V
On business

Rooms were comfortably furnished en nice and clean.

Kindly received and felt at home on arrival. Delicious breakfast the next morning on the patio.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Kamers was gerieflik ingerig en pragtig skoon.

Vriendelik ontvang en het sommer tuis gevoel met aankoms. Heerlike ontbyt die volgende oggend op die stoep.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Erna M - Nov 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Erna M
With friends

Was lovely, hospitable and cosy.

Felt like home after 14 hours on the road and after a busy day in the city it was so relaxing to just "go home".

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Was heerlik, gasvry en gesellig.

Dit het soos huis gevoel na 14 ure op die pad en na 'n besige dag in die stad was dit heerlik om 'huis' toe te gaan.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Tinette D - Nov 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tinette D
Individual traveler

Absoluut heerlik, dit was hartseer om te ry.

Die plekkie is pragtig en omring met die mooiste wit rankrose! Dit lyk asof Muckleneuk Manor geklee is met die pragtige witrose wat jou begroet wanneer jy daar stop en by die voordeur inloop. Die ontvangs is absoluut vriendelik en dit laat jou sommer baie tuis voel. Jy word bederf met 'n glasie sherry wat jou daai ekstra spesiaal laat voel. Die dekor is pragtig en sorgvuldig gekies en dis net genoeg. Die kamer (no. 1) waar ek tuis gegaan het, is ruim en baie verwelkomend, netjies en baie klassiek. Die res van Muckleneuk Manor is pragtig en daar is baie plekkies waar jy kan ontspan of boek lees. Die swembad-area is ook pragtig en al die plante in die tuin laat jou so ontspanne voel. Dan wil ek afsluit deur te sê baie dankie ook vir die heerlike ontbyt! Julle plekkie kry 'n 10 uit 10 by my!

Corné V - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Corné V
With spouse/partner

Fantastiese gasvryheid.

Werklik 'n "home away from home" ervaring.

Werner W - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Werner W
On business

Ongelooflike rustige en welkome atmosfeer. Top akkommodasie.

Was al voorheen hier en ek sal vir seker weer daarheen gaan. Die kamers is ruim en netjies. Ligging is maklik om te kry en ook naby lekker rondloopplekke. Gasvrou is baie behulpsaam en die ontbyt is ongelooflik.

Helen L - Sep 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Helen L
On business

There is only one drawback to staying at Muckleneuk Manor: you will never be able to enjoy any other B&B or guest house or hotel thereafter by comparison.

My stay was even for longer than intended, yet the proprietor found a way to let me keep my room. It was incomparable from start to finish. Mostly this is down to the extraordinary character and nature and professionalism of the proprietor Vivienne Gunning who is on the premises a good deal of the time and responds personally to each and every guest's needs as if they were staying in her own home. This is not just a committed guest house manager who wants business to thrive. We are talking about someone who is an accomplished artist in oils and acrylics, pencil and charcoal, whose canvasses are all around the Manor, landscapes that rival what you see in museums and in art galleries. And the accommodation itself is her canvas. Everywhere you look there are aesthetic, thoughtful touches which bespeak someone's considering your comfort and good taste. The place oozes quiet and unpretentious class and beauty. There is a growing open garden with all sorts of delights, there are terraces to every room with draping bougainvillea but not to much of it. And I haven't even mentioned the breakfasts that come with the room fee. Each day is different, this is Michelen style dining, beautifully composed plates of eggs and rashers and condiments each of which is carefully presented and delicious; with different breads each day. The coffee is so good it makes me blush. There is a generosity in the protocols allowing guests a selection of wines and access to the kitchen facilities, all beautifully laid out. The place is impeccably clean in every corner. Living most of my adult life on the equator I was cold in Pretoria in August. So I learned that my room could be toasty at any time, not just the bed. I much preferred this to a five star hotel I stayed at in Amsterdam which was fully equipped including heated marble bathroom floors. Nothing compares with the excellence of Muckleneuk Manor's comfort and style. It's a three minute walk to UNISA as well, in case you are attending a conference as I was. You are crazy to stay anywhere else.

Josiah N - Aug 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Josiah N
Family with young children

My stay was superb.

My interaction with Rory from booking to my stay and my leaving was exceptional, I will book again on my next visit.

Pieter M - Jun 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Pieter M
Individual traveler

Fantastic.

For the first time in a long time, we got the feeling that we were special as guests. The owner and her team went out of their way to make us feel at home. The service was excellent and very professional, but at the same time it felt like a home away from home.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Fantasties.

Vir die eerste keer in 'n lang tyd kry jy weer die gevoel dat jy as gas, spesiaal is. Die eienaares en haar span het uit hul pad gegaan om 'n mens te laat tuis voel. Die diens was uitstekend en baie professioneel maar in dieselfde asem kan ek sê dit was my huis weg van my huis af.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Werner W - Nov 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Werner W
With friends

Absolutely brilliant, unbelievable.

The host was so friendly and helpful. The staff are gems. Neat, spacious accommodation. Breakfast was such a treat.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Absoluut ongelooflik, puik.

Gasvrou is ongelooflik behulpsaam en uiters vriendelik. Personeel is juwele. Die verblyf is baie netjies en ruim. Ontbyt is groot bederf.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Suzelle S - Nov 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Suzelle S
On business

Homely, warm and friendly environment.

We received a friendly welcoming in a very relaxed environment. Room were excellent and well-equipped with everything to ensure a good night's rest. Within reach of our business location. Would definitely recommend this lovely guesthouse. Vivienne and het staff really went to great lengths with the delicious breakfast. Thank you, Vivienne.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Huislike warm en vriendelike atmosfeer.

Ons was hartlik ontvang en het 'n baie rustige atmosfeer beleef. Kamers was uitstekend en daar is alles wat nodig is vir 'n goeie nagrus. Baie sentraal geleë aan ons besigheids-bestemming. Sal defnitief hierdie pragtige gastehuis aanbeveel. Vivienne en haar personeel het werklik moeite gedoen met 'n heerlike ontbyt. Dankie Vivienne.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Muckleneuk Manor's response

Hello Suzelle

Hierdie is 'n ou woning wat met baie liefde en deernis herstel word. Ek waardeer jou insette en weet dat ek aandag aan dit gee.
Ons kontak nommer/s van Muckleneuk Manor is definitief nie buite werking nie.
Jy het die trappe verbruikers onvriendelik beskrywe? Enige voorstelle oor hoe dit verbeter kan word?
Ek gaan onmiddellik aandag gee aan alles wat jou gepla het en nooi jou uit om in die toekoms weer hier te bly.
Ons is besig om met die stadsraad te onderhandel om die inry se aanslag te verbeter. Muckleneuk is een groot heuwel en baie eiendomme sukkel met die vlakverskil vanaf straathoogte tot huis vlak.
Vriendelike groete
Vivienne Gunning

Muckleneuk Manor
Stephane J - Sep 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
2/5
Location
1/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
1/5
Stephane J
Individual traveler

Not nice.

Contact number given was out of order. Had to get out of car and climb a hill to ring the bell for attention. Stairs were not user-friendly in the building. Difficult to sleep, had to use earplugs etc. because of "plumbing errors".

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Nie aangenaam nie.

Kontak nommer wat verskaf is was buite werking. Moes uit die voertuig klim en 'n bult klim om die klok teen die muur te lui vir aandag. Trappe was nie gebruikersvriendelik in die gebou nie. Slaap was moeilik, met oorproppe en al a.g.v. "plumbing errors".

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Muckleneuk Manor's response

Hello Stephane
I do appreciate your comments and we will do our utmost best to improve on it. We care therefore we pay attention.

Have we done so bad?
Cleanliness 40%. This is something that we pride ourselves. We really need to know as we have always tried to maintain a very high standard, giving attention to hygiene and the overall appearance of The Manor.
Location 20%. This depends where you would like to be. We are close to all mayor highways, various hospitals, embassies etc.
Customer service 40%
Value for money 20%.

We would like to invite you back and we appreciate feedback, whether it is positive or negative. That is the only way we can even improve our standard to a higher level.

Have a great day.

Vivienne Gunning
Owner Muckleneuk Manor

Muckleneuk Manor
Johann S - Jun 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Johann S
With spouse/partner

Excellent.

Vivienne received us personally and went to a lot of trouble to make us feel special. I felt as if I was at home.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Puik.

Vivienne het ons persoonlik ontvang en moeite gedoen om ons spesiaal te laat voel. My aanvoeling was ─ ek is by die huis.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Muckleneuk Manor's response

Baie dankie Johann. Ons waardeer die terugvoering. Positiewe kritiek motiveer my en my span om net nog beter te doen. Dankie!

Muckleneuk Manor
Anel K - Apr 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Anel K
With spouse/partner

Mooiste gastehuis waarin ons nog gebly het en uitstekende diens. Ons is mal oor die gastehuis en sal dit vir enigeen aanbeveel.

Mooiste gastehuis waarin ons nog gebly het. Vivviene het ons so welkom en spesiaal laat voel en ek sal dit vir enigeen aanbeveel om daar te gaan oorbly. Dis regtig 'n stukkie paradys in die groot stad.

Muckleneuk Manor's response

Beste Anel,
Jou woorde is 'n inspirasie. Baie dankie. Dit was ook vir ons heerlik om julle as gaste te huisves.
Die Muckleneuk Manor Span.

Muckleneuk Manor
was R890
From R623
per night (for 2 people)
was R890
From R623
per night (for 2 people)
was R890
From R623
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 16 people
  • Check-in: 12:00 to 21:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 270 Mears Street, Muckleneuk, Pretoria, 0002, Gauteng
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDk5OTYxMzZkLTE1YTYtNGQ1MS05ODhiLThjYjkyMTY4ODY5Ng?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=enhance,format,compress&q=80 was R890, now From R623  per night (for 2 people) 22 5 1 5 270 Mears Street Muckleneuk 0002 Gauteng 0860 022 102 12:00-21:00 10:00 -25.762067030568 28.199857074022
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!