The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Nutmeg Guesthouse | TravelGround
+41

Nutmeg Guesthouse

Review Summary

4.4 out of 5from 23 reviews for Nutmeg Guesthouse
Cleanliness
4.4/5
Service
4.4/5
Location
4.4/5
Safety
4.7/5
Value for money
4.3/5
Mardine K - Oct 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mardine K
Individual traveler

Pragtige plekkie met die vriendelikste diens

Waarde vir geld, pargtige plek met mooi terrein. Die eienaar is baie vriendelik en behulpsaam. Die ontbyt was uit die boonste rakke.

Stefan L - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Stefan L
With friends

Most enjoyable stay.

As a self-catering party, we took extra food preparing utensils with. The food preparing utensils supplied by the guest house was very limited for self-catering. Notwithstanding this, we really enjoyed the stay as well as our food preparation on the amazing SMEG gas stove. Thank you, we'll be back!!

Carina C - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Carina C
Family with young children

Netjies maar nie luuks nie. Baie gawe personeel.

Meubels bietjie oud.

Jenny W - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jenny W

Home away from home.

It was the perfect place to stop on the way to the berg.

Andrew J - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Andrew J
With spouse/partner

Spacious 4 bedroom suite. Nice.

We enjoyed staying at Nutmeg as it is set in a big peaceful garden. Our 4 bed suite was spacious. Close to shops and restaurants.

Andries F - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
2/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Andries F
With spouse/partner

Surprise.

Unfortunately, location of guest house in noisy environment (neighbours and traffic) is to its disadvantage. Furthermore, accommodation was very pleasant.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Verrassing.

Ongelukkig is ligging van gastehuis in raserige omgewing (bure en verkeer) tot sy nadeel. Verder was verblyf heel aangenaam.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Cisco S - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Cisco S
On business

Die verblyf was van korte duur, maar aangenaam.

Uitstekende diens en gasvryheid. Die hadida's was dalk 'n bietjie te veel.

Terry S - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Terry S
Individual traveler

Goeie waarde en gerieflik vir my doeleindes.

Het aan my behoeftes voldoen terwyl ek ouers in die stad besoek. Het nie tyd daar deurgebring nie. Baie skoon en gemaklik en goeie waarde vir geld.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Good value and convenient for my purpose.

Met my needs very well whilst visiting parents in the town. Didn't spend time there in the day. Very clean and comfortable and good value for money.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Melinda S - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Melinda S

Gerieflik.

Vriendelike, gerieflike en rustige atmosfeer.

Petri D - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Petri D

Good, but a few small things could made it even better.

Lovely, peaceful place. We had enough space. Friendly staff and owner lady. Lovely breakfast! A bit tricky to get out of the allocated parking spaces if other bigger cars are all parked there. Suggestions: Real milk in pyramids (e.g. Parmalat) will be welcome in addition as not everyone loves Cremora. Air freshener in the bathroom wasn't supplied. Staff should also clean the sunken in areas of the shower door frame, but all the rest was nice and clean. Only one coffee mug - more are needed. But overall, we appreciated the quiet surroundings, comfortable beds and good looking furniture.

Morne G - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Morne G
Individual traveler

It was peaceful there.

The place was clean and neat, can see the owners is still busy with renovations, so it's going to look awesome when it's finished.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Dit was rustig daar.

Die plek was skoon en netjies, kan sien die eienaar nog besig om te restoureer, so dit gaan awesome lyk as hy klaar is.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Chantelle W - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Chantelle W
Family with young children

Lovely clean and comfortable stay.

We travelled down from the Sterkfontein Nature Reserve, which was so disappointing and it was a pleasant relief to have booked in at Nutmeg where everything was as promised on the website and as per our booking.

Stefanie V - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Stefanie V
With spouse/partner

Nice accommodation with friendliness and hospitality.

We had a great cosy overnight stay at Nutmeg Guesthouse. The host is very helpful and friendly. Definitely value for money and highly recommended.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

'n Aangename verblyf met vriendelikheid en gasvryheid aan die orde van die dag.

Ons het heerlik snoesig warm oornag by die Nutmeg Gastehuis. Die gasheer is uiters hulpvaardig en vriendelik. Definitief waarde vir geld. Ek beveel die gastehuis aan.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Liezel O - Feb 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Liezel O
Individual traveler

Netjies en gemaklik met als wat nodig is.

Goed ontvang, kamer was netjies met alles wat mens nodig het na 'n lang dag agter die blad. Baie lekker geslaap.

Gerrie J - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Gerrie J

Ons was op soek na relatief aangename, goedgeleë en bekostigbare oornagverblyf nie te ver van Durban af nie en Nutmeg Guesthouse is presies waarna ons op soek was.

Dis nie luuks of indrukwekkend nie, maar dit is waarde vir geld. Ontvangs en verblyf: Baie vriendelik, gerieflik en aangenaam. Ontbyt die volgende oggend: Heerlik en waarde vir geld! Aandete in 'The Black Olive' (so aanbeveel deur die gastehuis): Beslis die moeite werd! Ligging: Maklik om te kry vanaf die N3. Aanbevelings: (1) Die koffiebekers en glase, van verskillende groottes, wat nie een bymekaar pas nie, kort beslis 'n opgradering. (2) Twee van ons handdoeke was in 'n besonder gehawende toestand en moet vervang word. (3) Een senior lid van ons geselskap loop met 'n 'roller'. Alhoewel daar 'n paadjie vir hom was, was die paadjie se hekkie gesluit na aandete en ons kon nie die slot by ontvangs, wat toe al gesluit was, bekom nie.

Abraham V - Aug 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Abraham V
With spouse/partner

So nice and peaceful. Peter is very friendly and helpful.

This accommodation is in the town of Howick and easy to find. It is clean and the owner is very helpful. Value for money.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie lekker and rustig. Peter is baie vriendelik en behulpsaam.

Die blyplek is in die dorpie Howick en baie maklik on the kry. Akkommodasie is baie skoon en die eienaar is baie behulpsaam. Waarde vir geld.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Christa V - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Christa V
With spouse/partner

Friendly welcome, nice and neat and private.

We enjoyed a wonderful getaway. The breakfast was also tasty.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Vriendelike ontvangs, mooi netjies en privaat.

Ons het 'n heerlike oorslaap geniet. Die ontbyt was ook smaaklik.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Patrys R - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Patrys R
With spouse/partner

Acceptable overnight accommodation.

Door handle remains in your hand after you have closed the door - room 2. Already fixed with silicon. The non-matching crockery isn't pretty. We are alos in the hospitality industry and it will do a lot to get uniform crockery. Two plates different types and sizes. Old, hard towels. Linen and mattress same story. The place is quiet old. We stayed two nights and it was fine. No complaints about friendly owner. I didn't like the fact that the staff entered our room everytime we left. I booby-trapped the closet door to know if they opened it, no reason for it, they should tell the staff to not snoop around in the guests' stuff. There was nothing to do late afternoon after we lefte for the wedding, so they went into our room and arranged my shoes. Why? I've got a good mind to stick a piece of paper on the door instructing them to stay out, because it wasn't necessary. Just befor we left they asked us what we wanted to drink, we requested coffee and sugar since there weren't any tea. There never was any tea but it didn't bother me because I don't take my tea with powdered milk, but I also don't drink coffee. They brought the basket and we had to help ourselved and then they still entered the room when we left. Why? I didn't appreciate it at all. Next time I will bring my own lock so they can respect my privacy. Thanks.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Aanvaarbaar vir 'n oorslaap.

Deurknop bly in jou hand agter in kamer 2. Dis reeds met silicon reggemaak. die non-matching breekgoed was nie vir my baie mooi nie. Ons is self in gastebedryf en dit sal vir die kamer meer doen as dit mooi eenvormig is, twee borde, verskillende soorte en grootte. Handdoeke maar baie hard en oud en beddegoed en matras ook. Dit is maar 'n ou plek. Ons het net oorgeslaap vir twee nagte en dit was in orde. Geen klagte oor vriendelike eienaar. Ek het niks daarvan gehou dat die personeel elke keer as ons ry in die kamer in is nie. Ek het die deur van my hangkas "gedokter" dat ek geweet het hulle het dit oopgemaak en daar was geen rede voor nie, so hulle moet met hul personeel praat om nie onnodig in mense se goed te krap nie. Daar was niks om te doen laatmiddag na ons vir die troue vertrek het nie, en hulle het ingegaan en my skoene byvoorbeeld netjies reguit gesit. Waarvoor? Dit maak dat ek volgende keer 'n papier sal wil opsit wat geen diens versoek, want daar was nie nodig om te loer nie. Hulle het byvoorbeeld net voor ons gery het ingekom om te hoor watse drinkgoed ons wou he, en ons het koffie en suiker geneem, want daar was nie tee nie. Die hele tyd was daar geen tee, maar dit het my nie gepla nie omdat ek nie tee met poeiermelk drink nie, maar ek drink ook nie koffie nie. Hulle het die mandjie gebring en ons moes neem, en ook toiletpapier, en toe ons ry, het hulle nogtans ingegaan. Vir wat? Daarvan hou ek niks nie. Dit sal maak dat ek volgende keer 'n loper insit sodat my privaatheid respekteer word. Dankie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Estie S - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Estie S
With spouse/partner

Baie netjiese gastehuis, vriendelike gasheer en pragtige omgewing.

Die gastehuis is in 'n pragtige groot erf met lieflike bome. Netjiese kamers. Baie vriendelike gasheer. Ons het nie van die ontbyt gebruik gemaak nie maar die restaurant lyk baie netjies en mooi.

Ria V - Jun 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Ria V
With spouse/partner

Satisfactory.

3-star accommodation. Neat and clean.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Bevredigend.

3-ster-verblyf. Netjies en skoon.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Larry H - May 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Larry H
With spouse/partner

Old-world English house, friendly host and delicious breakfast.

We were 3 people who booked a self-catering unit for 3-5. Breakfast is extra, but you'll pay more for less food in town. Other guests were also very friendly. In summertime the swimming pool will be great. Self-catering for light meals with a fridge and basin, but it's no hotel kitchen. It's perfect for people on business in town. The warm water is really warm and there's proper shower facilities. Not the type of shower you have to run around in to get wet.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Lekker outydse Engelse huis, vriendelike gasheer en die ontbyt lekker.

Ons het as 3 mense in die 3-5 bed selfsorg-eenheid bespreek. Ontbyt is ekstra, maar jy sal meer betaal vir minder kos in die dorp. Ander gaste ook baie vriendelik. Somertyd sal die swembad baie lekker wees. Selfsorg is ligte maaltye, yskas en wasbak, maar nie hotel se kombuis. Dis net reg vir mense wat besigheid in die omgewing doen. Die warm water is warm en ordentlike stortgeriewe. Nie die tipe waar jy moet rondhardloop in die stort om nat te word nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Danie B - May 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Danie B
With spouse/partner

Lekker rustig, gerieflik sonder tierlantyntjies.

Sien gerus die sterre.

Loreen M - Apr 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Loreen M
With friends

Friendly reception and clean accommodation.

Great value for money! Super friendly and helpful staff.

From R800
per night (for 2 people)
From R800
per night (for 2 people)
From R800
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 22 people
  • Check-in: 12:00 to 21:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 9 Dicks Street, Howick, 3290, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAA5VJwIYrHLkdcazYpTjY55nalfbOIxtI8AsCxojAXJBvH6ESYsG?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R800  per night (for 2 people) 23 5 1 5 9 Dicks Street Howick 3290 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 12:00-21:00 10:00 -29.48305 30.228431
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!