North West Accommodation at Ouplaas Farm Guest House | TravelGround
+31

Ouplaas Farm Guest House

Guest House

Review Summary

4.8 out of 5from 8 reviews for Ouplaas Farm Guest House
Cleanliness
4.9/5
Service
5.0/5
Location
4.6/5
Safety
4.8/5
Value for money
4.9/5
Natie P - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Natie P
With spouse/partner

Heerlik.

Vriendelike ontvangs.

Marijke B - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Marijke B
With spouse/partner

Beautiful.

Beautiful house, comfortable bed, delicious breakfast!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Pragtig.

Pragtige huisie, gemaklike bed, heerlike ontbyt!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Duncan N - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Duncan N
With spouse/partner

We arrived as guests and left as friends, Ouplaas is a destination, not a one night stopover.

We cannot recommend Ouplaas highly enough. We decided to break a trip between Augrabies and Johannesburg and Ottosdal seemed like a good point, about 6 hours from Augrabies, and not a big detour off the N14 so not adding much distance to our journey. The web photos of Ouplaas suggested it would be serene, steeped in history and in a beautiful rustic setting. Several storms on the road delayed our arrival, eventually getting to the farm after 8 pm, to be greeted by Coert and Magdalena (and their Anatolian Shepherd, Melker) with a very welcome glass of sherry and hot tea. The house is complete serendipity: so beautifully furnished with many antique pieces combined with enough balance of family memorabilia to make it feel authentic and homely. The bedrooms were furnished with everything we needed, attention to detail apparent throughout. The only disappointment was that Magdalena had been trying the whole day to contact us to ask if we wanted to join them for dinner, and as is our habit on holidays, our phones were on silent. The magnitude of our loss was made so much more apparent at breakfast the next morning where we ate what were arguably the best omelettes I have ever eaten. The garden sparkled in it's autumn colours after the night's rain and Ouplaas radiated the beauty of this grand old dame. My measure of the quality of any hospitality establishment is the relationship one develops with the people one interacts with during the stay. In the space of 12 hours (most spent sleeping) we got to know an incredible couple in Coert and Magdalena. Their warmth, genuine interest in us and willingness to provide for all our needs was exceptional. For sure we will be back, not as a stopover, but as a destination, for several days, not as guests, but as friends.

Mauritz K - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mauritz K
With spouse/partner

Absolutely wonderful surprise and much more than the standard guesthouse experience - it is more like a visit to good ol' friends.

The historic farmhouse and grounds provided the setting for a superior, award-winning guesthouse experience, but then Ouplaas provided so much more - the hospitality at the farm was more than we even expected. The stay really felt like a visit to good friends, was way too short, and we must plan the next visit soon.

Andre En Petro O - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Andre En Petro O
With spouse/partner

Big treat!

Ottosdal was just a dot on the road map to kick off our Cape Town tour. The let the reviews lead us and chose Ouplaas. We booked the family suites with their own exit to the sidewalk. We were greeted with a very spacious room, a seating area with two comfortable chairs, a fridge, coffee and tea making facilities and everything that any guest needs. The bathroom is beautiful and the carpets in the room are soft and lush. The king size bed, bedding and pillows are excellent. We felt like kings. We were treated very well by our hosts, Magdalena and Coert. We ordered dinner and breakfast and, once again, we were treated like royalty with meals served with extreme care and taste. The friendliness and hospitality was like a fresh breeze. Magdalena and Coert are set up to offer only the best for their guests. That was apparent in every experience during our stay. One does not expect such a stay in a small town like Ottosdal, and we were knocked off our feet. Thank you, Magdalena and Coert - you are indeed an example. We will take a detour again to stay with you if we are in the area!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Groot bederf!

Ottosdal was net 'n kol op die padkaart om ons Kaaptoer af te skop. Die resensies het ons gelei en ons kies toe Ouplaas en bespreek die gesinsuite met sy eie uitgang na die stoep. Ons is gegroet met 'n baie ruim kamer, 'n sitarea met twee gemakstoele, 'n yskas, koffie- en teemaakgeriewe en alles wat enige gas nodig het. Die badkamer is pragtig en die matte in die hele kamer is sag en weelderig. Die koninggrootte-bed, beddegoed en kussings is uitstekend. Ons het soos konings gevoel. Ons is op die hande gedra deur ons gashere Magdalena en Coert. Ons het aandete en ontbyt bestel en weereens was ons soos koninklikes behandel met etes wat met uiterse sorg en smaak opgedis is. Ook was die vriendelikheid en gasvryheid soos 'n vars briesie. Magdalena en Coert is ingestel om net die beste vir hulle gaste aan te bied. Dis was duidelik in elke ervaring tydens ons verblyf. Mens verwag nie sulke verblyf in 'n klein dorpie soos Ottosdal nie, en ons voete is onder ons uitgeslaan. Dankie Magdalena en Coert - julle is voorwaar 'n voorbeeld. Ons sal weer 'n ompad ry om by julle te bly as ons in die omgewing is!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Ouplaas Farm Guest House's response

Dit sal 'n voorreg wees om julle weer te sien, julle het diep in ons harte geklim.

Ouplaas Farm Guest House
Veronica B - Mar 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Veronica B
With spouse/partner

Heerlik!

Ons is hartlik verwelkom. Die hele span het alles moontlik gedoen om aan ons behoeftes te voorsien. Ons was in Ottosdal vir Teikenskiet Uitdunne wat alreeds 06:00 Saterdagoggend begin het. Die Ouplaas-personeel het ons ook van kospakkies vir die dag voorsien.

Lappies L - May 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lappies L
With spouse/partner

Ongelooflik lekker.

Met Coert en Magdaleen aan die spits van sake is dit absoluut van huis tot huis om op die plaas te kuier. Die gasvryheid ken geen gelyke nie. Dit was baie lekker en het alreeds weer daar bespreek.

Pieter E - Apr 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Pieter E
Family with teenagers

Wonderlike verblyf! Het dit vreeslik geniet op die rustige plaas.

Dit was besonders lekker om op Ouplaas te kom ontspan. Die etes was iets uit die boonste rakke en Magdalena en Koert het ons op die hande gedra. Sal definitief weer 'n draai daar maak.

From R800
per night (sleeps 2)
From R800
per night (sleeps 2)
From R800
per night (sleeps 2)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 6 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 22:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: Farm Holfontein, Ottosdal, 2610, North West
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDQ5ZmM2NzhjLTFiNmItNDgyZi1hMjJhLTBhODI2MTYxMTJjNA?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R800  per night (sleeps 2) 8 5 1 5 Farm Holfontein Ottosdal 2610 North West 0860 022 102 14:00-22:00 10:00 -26.723903 26.088379
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

0860 022 102 | bookings@travelground.com