The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Paperbark Cottage | TravelGround
+26

Paperbark Cottage

33 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

4.8 out of 5from 33 reviews for Paperbark Cottage
Cleanliness
4.8/5
Service
4.8/5
Location
4.8/5
Safety
4.9/5
Value for money
4.8/5
At V - May 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
At V
With spouse/partner

Rustig

Ruim, rustig en netjies.

Chantal T - Apr 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Chantal T
With spouse/partner

Beautiful surroundings

We enjoyed our stay. The cottage looks exactly like the pictures we saw online. If you are looking for a safe place to stay, while you explore the surrounding areas, this would be it.

Gerald V - Apr 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Gerald V
Individual traveler

Excactly what was expected.

The cottage is cozy. Everything you need and more. A perfect sleepover if you enjoy the beauty of nature.

Marius S - Feb 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Marius S
With spouse/partner

Lieflike tuin. Baie stil. Mooi woonstel

Baie mooi ruim en woonstel. Gemaklike bed en alles het gewerk wat moet. Gasheer was vriendelik en behulpsaam. Die enigste klagte is netheid maar mense het seker maar verskillende standaarde. Die mikrogolfoond het sleg geruik en my vrou het dit gewas. Die vadoek wat daar was was vuil. Van die eetgerei was ook nie skoon nie en die sitkamerbanke kort ook 'n goeie was.

Ivan L - Feb 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Ivan L
Individual traveler

Baie rustig en mooi ligging.

Dis baie skoon en perfekte ligging, een kant en geen steurnis.

Dr Althea V - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Dr Althea V
On business

Leaving Paperbank Cottage with a grateful heart.

Beautiful and spacious with a super comfortable bed, a lovely bathroom and a great host. Will definitely go back.

Erika S - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Erika S
With spouse/partner

Fabulous.

Great location. Nice neighborhood. Well kept. Friendly hosts.

Alan K - Dec 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Alan K
With spouse/partner

Beautiful scenery, spacious, safe location and area is very nice.

Had no problems there, the hosts were helpful and the garden is amazing.

Anton D - Dec 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Anton D
With spouse/partner

Baie mooi natuurskoon, tuin lyk soos 'n woud.

Tarryn en Anthony was baie behulpsaam en vriendelik.

Sharon V - Oct 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Sharon V
On business

Pleasant and quiet

The cottage was neat and tidy, quiet and private: A few things to consider: The fridge is far to small to enable self catering and should have been de frosted before guests arrive. Maybe a small ice tray would be nice. There should be more crockery and cutlery especially glasses. I had work collogues come for meetings and catch up and didnt have much to offer. And it said there was Netflix and yet there was nothing but a snowy SABC1?

Paperbark Cottage's response

Thank you for the review and feedback. Please consider the following, the cottage is listed for 2 guests only and therefore the fridge, crockery and cutlery that service 4 pax, is perfectly acceptable as we are not listed as a meeting/entertaining venue. However, should you have brought this to our attention, we would have happily supplied more as we have done in the past.
Sorry to hear about the Netflix, we absolutely do have Netflix in the cottage and if we had known that you were battling to connect, we would have happily showed you how.

Paperbark Cottage
Marthie B - Sep 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marthie B
With spouse/partner

Very nice cottage with everything you need. Beautiful surroundings.

Hosts were very friendly and accommodation was excellent. Thank you for the milk in the fridge as well as the coffee, tea and rusks. We will definitely be back.

Sibusiso N - Aug 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Sibusiso N

Beautiful, cosy cottage, well fit for a quiet retreat for an individual or with your partner.

The cottage is situated in the quite suburb of Kloof with breathtaking garden view, that makes you feel like you're in the country side

Phillip B - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Phillip B

Was a wonderful experience. Location is very nice and convenient. My daughter and I stayed there. Truly value for money.

What a wonderful stay in a very peaceful and quiet area with the most beautiful gardens. When you sit outside it feels like you are sitting in a rainforest somewhere in the world and nobody knows about you. What a beautiful place, where you find rest for your soul.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Was 'n heerlike ervaring. Plek is baie mooi en gerieflik. Ek en my dogter het daar gebly. Voorwaar waarde vir geld.

Wat 'n wonderlike verblyf in 'n baie rustige stil omgewing met die mooiste tuine. As jy buite sit voel dit of jy in 'n reënwoud êrens in die wêreld sit en niemand van jou weet nie. Wat 'n mooi plek, waar jy rus vir jou siel kry.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Jonathan M - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jonathan M
With spouse/partner

The cleanest place the wife and I have stayed at.

Immaculate garden, lovely little cottage only a short drive from the beach (30 min or s ) - far enough away that you don't get locked in on bad traffic days. Fantastic hosts, and a complete value for money.

Ntuthuko N - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ntuthuko N
With spouse/partner

Place was clean and the owners where very friendly.

The place is a very safe and is very quite. It's very clean and the owners are very friendly. Definitely going back.

Corinna V - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Corinna V
With spouse/partner

A lovely place to stay. Affordable and like a home away from home!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We specifically chose this cottage because it has a shower as well as a bath! We have a few recommendations: The kitchen is very sparsely equipped for self-catering, it would be better if the crockery, cutlery and glasses could be increased to 4 of each instead of 2 of each, there is not a glass bowl for a salad either. The frying pan was a bit dilapidated and needs replacement. The small fridge needed defrosting as the freezer compartment was so heavily iced that we could not put our ice packs in there for our cooler box (which we needed for travelling). Apart from these things, we truly enjoyed our stay in this lovely cottage which is set in the most beautiful woodland/forest type of garden! It is a true haven of peace and tranquillity. We will definitely go back there whenever we are in that area again! Blessings!

Paperbark Cottage's response

Dear Corinna,

Thank you for the feedback.

We will definitely make the changes you suggested.

Regards,
Paperbark Cottage

Paperbark Cottage
Klippie M - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Klippie M
With spouse/partner

Baie gerieflike, rustige en mooi plekkie om by te oornag.

Paperbark Cottage was so lekker en perfek geleë vir ons behoeftes. Tarryn en Ant is vriendelik en het selfs gehelp met 'n braaier toe ons graag wou braai. Sal enige tyd weer daar bly.

Sand B - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sand B
Individual traveler

Very comfortable accommodation.

Paperback cottage is very nice and spacious in a tranquil area with Wi-Fi and Netflix. Will definitely book again whenever I'm in Durban.

Bernadette G - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Bernadette G

Very nice stay. A bit of tranquillity in the city.

Clean and neat. Value for money.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie lekker gebly. Stukkie rustigheid in die stad.

Skoon en netjies. Waarde vir geld.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

David W - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
David W
With spouse/partner

A well placed cottage for Hillcrest, Gillitts and Kloof area. Nicely appointed, comfortable and situated in a lovely garden.

Our stay at Paperbark Cottage was excellent. Tarryn was a very pleasant and gracious hostess and the cottage is very comfortable and situated in a lovely garden. It certainly met all our requirements and we will happily return for another visit.

Annetjie S - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Annetjie S
With friends

Enjoyed, beautiful area.

Very friendly people, recommend it, beautiful place. Peaceful.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Geniet, pragtige ongewing.

Baie vriendelike mense, beveel aan, pragtig daar. Rustig.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Chris V - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Chris V
With friends

Briljant.

Rustige natuur bestemming.

Tinus D - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tinus D
Family with young children

Friendly and helpful, a joy to stay.

The people were very friendly and accommodating, would stay with them in future and can recommend them.

Gerald V - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Gerald V
On business

Kan nie vir beter gevra het nie.

Paperbark Cottage was die perfekte blyplekkie. 'n Gasheer wat by aankoms my verwelkom het en als gou verduidelik het. Die eenheid is 100% netjies, pragtige tuin om na werk te ontlaai en sagte beddegoed het verseker dat ek die volgende dag vars gevoel het. Ek sal vir seker weer hierheen kan kom. Baie dankie.

Danie B - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Danie B
On business

Netjies, rustig, gasvry en waarde vir geld!

Paperbark Cottage is 'n baie netjiese plek om weg te breek vir 'n couple en vir besigheid is dit goed geleë en waarde vir geld! Ek sal hul aanbeveel en weer gaan. Mooiste tuin en naby aan alles. Weg van verkeer so dis lekker stil!

Nomonde N - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nomonde N
With spouse/partner

Cost effective accommodation in a safe area.

Quiet, spacious cottage in a secure area with a beautiful garden and I would definitely go back there again.

Estelle K - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Estelle K
With spouse/partner

Rustig met 'n pragtige tuin.

Pragtige cottage. Rustig en veilig.

Sandra W - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sandra W
Individual traveler

Lovely gardens and really nice cottage. I will stay there again. Very safe and with a garage for your car.

Close to the M13 and Hillcrest shopping mall. Very neat clean guesthouse, has lovely gardens, safe and with a lock-up garage.

Phumulani K - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Phumulani K
With spouse/partner

Wonderful atmosphere.

Value for money, wonderful atmosphere, great place to get away from the busy world. The owners are warm and friendly, their garden is breathtaking. Truly a peaceful place.

Christine M - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Christine M
With spouse/partner

Beautiful and clean.

It was nice and clean and neat with special finesse.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Pragtige en skoon.

Die lekker was skoon en netjies met 'n spesiale finess.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Sarita R - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sarita R
With friends

Beautiful gardens and private space.

The place is beautiful and we really enjoyed our time. Although we went to Kloof to support my son at Kearsney College and not really for a holiday we were really impressed with this part of our country.

Eddie C - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Eddie C
With spouse/partner

Make you feel at home.

Really enjoyed it and will go back anytime.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Laat jou werklik tuis voel en alles is daar.

Het dit baie geniet en sal enige tyd weer bespreek.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Jonathan G - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jonathan G
Individual traveler

Baie beïndruk met cottage. Baie netjies en ruim. Eienaars baie behulpsaam.

Eienaar was behulpdaam. Die woonstel baie ruim, met die nodige. Sal weer daar oorbly enige tyd.

From R550
per night (sleeps 2)
From R550
per night (sleeps 2)
From R550
per night (sleeps 2)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 2 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 20:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 15 Lynnwood Road, Kloof, Durban, 3610, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAoNk2rcWAu09uG0TGamg5wIJ6hkgRsxACGa1qOaXvIHu5GJQoaV?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R550  per night (sleeps 2) 33 5 1 5 15 Lynnwood Road Kloof 3610 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-20:00 10:00 -29.797670501025 30.808635890294
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!