Ficksburg Accommodation at Poplar Guesthouse | TravelGround
+44

Poplar Guesthouse

8 reviews
Backpacker

Review Summary

2 out of 5from 8 reviews for Poplar Guesthouse
Cleanliness
1.9/5
Service
2.1/5
Location
2.3/5
Safety
2.4/5
Value for money
1.3/5
Madeleine M - Nov 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
1/5
Madeleine M
With spouse/partner

Uncomfortable.

On arrival everyone was friendly, but the listed activities on site are untrue. No fishing or bird watching. Sliding door leading to the street. Gate that must be unlocked and pushed by hand. On the yard, building materials lie around (with no sign of construction work). Rooms have no refrigerator or cooling (not even a fan). Struggling with keys. Very disappointed and feel unhappy for the price I paid.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ongemaklik.

Met die aankoms was almal vriendelik, maar die gelyste aktiwiteite op perseel is onwaar. Geen visvang of voëlkyk nie. Skuifdeur wat uitloop op straat. Hek wat met die hand oopgesluit en gestoot moet word. Op die erf lê bou materiaal rond (met geen teken van konstruksiewerk nie) kamers het geen yskas of verkoeling (nie eers 'n waaier) in nie. Gesukkel met sleutels. Baie teleurgesteld en voel ingedoen met die prys wat ek betaal het.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Poplar Guesthouse's response

Ons vra julle om verskoning, die gastehuis is nog onder konstruksie.
Ons het die sand en klip so geplaas dat niemand daar kan loop nie, teen die muur. Voelkyk word agter Staford hill gedoen en visvang word by Meulspruitdam ontspaningsoord.

Poplar Guesthouse
Puseletso S - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
1/5
Puseletso S
With friends

They must try to clean the rooms because first impressions last.

Too expensive.

Salome K - Nov 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
1/5
Salome K
With friends

A great disappointment!

The room was small and cramped with no place to move and no facilities - no chair, cupboard, mirror, no place to put your case or hang out some clothes. We were aware that we would have to share a bathroom with 2 other rooms. The area was very noisy with dogs barking and alarms going off all night. In stead of 3 nights we only stayed one and were happy to leave.

Poplar Guesthouse's response

Dear Salome,

Thank you for your feedback.

Eating of food is not allowed in the rooms. When Hester responded to dust somewhere in the room, she asked the guests not to eat on the beds. There is a big steel table and chairs 6 meters from the room where guests can eat.

We try our best to keep the place clean due to the dry and hot weather that is experienced here, something which guests visiting are aware of.

Thank you for your booking with us.

Regards,
Poplar Guesthouse

Poplar Guesthouse
Refiloe S - Nov 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
2/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
2/5
Refiloe S
With spouse/partner

The room was clean, safe and peaceful.

The guesthouse is in a quiet area and we found it to be safe. I was impressed with the cleanliness on the room and especially the bathroom.

Poplar Guesthouse's response

We are busy to improve year by year. We spent over R20 000 the last year. The next year shall be the same with new TV sets and open view TV. Lighting damaged 3 of our TV sets. Let us show the guests what we can do to improve. Thanks to all the guests that came to Ficksburg.

Poplar Guesthouse
Adriaan J - Dec 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Adriaan J
With spouse/partner

Die kamer is definitief nie op standaard nie.

Daar is geen plek om tasse te sit of klere uit te pak nie. Daar is geen laaie of hangplek nie. Daar is 15 oop pype en kabels teen die mure. Dit lyk asof die badkamer gedeel word deur 3 kamers.

Caren D - Nov 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
2/5
Location
1/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
1/5
Caren D
Family with young children

Foto's en realiteit twee verskillende goed.

Foto's en realiteit vertel twee verskillende stories. 'n Badkamer deel tussen verskillende kamers was nêrens genoem nie. Kamers direk op die straat in besige, lawaaierige buurt. Ons het liefs huis toe gery na die Kersiefees en nie daar oorgeslaap nie.

Cheryl B - Nov 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Cheryl B
With spouse/partner

Vrot, sleg, vuil, lelik, negatief, bedrieg en baie teleurgesteld.

Die ontvangs was chaos. Die mense het nie geweet watter sleutels werk waar nie, kaste was toegesluit met kettings en slotte, daar was geen stoel en geen TV nie, net een muurprop, 'n stukkende lig, onnet gordyne, 'n stink kamer en 'n ou bed in die hoek ingedruk. Ons het wakker gesit die hele nag sodat ons vroeg kon uit die volgende oggend. Vuil toilet en ons wou nie eers bad of stort nie! Dit was 'n totale negatiewe ondervinding, en ek sal glad nie die plek aanbeveel eers vir my tuinwerker nie. Ek wou nie eers op een ster klik nie, want dit is nie eers een ster werd nie!

James M - Nov 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
James M
With spouse/partner

It was very bad.

For me the place did not look like a guesthouse. The wardrobes were locked with a chain. I was very uncomfortable and decided to leave in the middle of the night.

Poplar Guesthouse's response

Hi Mr, J. Moses ,
We removed all chains and locks , sorry that this practice disturbed you and your couple in Room 4 ,you had the full right to complain immediately and we should response to your complain no problem what so ever , See you at next year ‘s Jazz Festival

Poplar Guesthouse
From R600
per night (for 2 people)
From R600
per night (for 2 people)
From R600
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 18 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 18:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 57 Bester Street, Ficksburg, 9730, Free State
  • No children under 4
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAy34dyr7siQ7Tq4Nea5BzCqBc1ksvFKn8FXZks9njvYw216e8Eo?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R600  per night (for 2 people) 8 5 1 2 57 Bester Street Ficksburg 9730 Free State 0860 022 102 14:00-18:00 10:00 -28.875762871548 27.882131027116
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

0860 022 102 | bookings@travelground.com